v1.8 no matter what town names NEWGRFs I install; its always British?

OpenTTD is a fully open-sourced reimplementation of TTD, written in C++, boasting improved gameplay and many new features.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

Post Reply
MarkShot
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 118
Joined: 27 Mar 2019 11:30

v1.8 no matter what town names NEWGRFs I install; its always British?

Post by MarkShot » 02 Apr 2019 12:19

(see topic)

Thanks.

User avatar
acs121
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1944
Joined: 03 Nov 2017 18:57
Location: Courbevoie, near Paris, France

Re: v1.8 no matter what town names NEWGRFs I install; its always British?

Post by acs121 » 02 Apr 2019 12:22

You need to go in the game options to change the town names to the ones your NewGRF adds.

User avatar
Pyoro
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2475
Joined: 17 Oct 2008 12:17
Location: Virgo Supercluster

Re: v1.8 no matter what town names NEWGRFs I install; its always British?

Post by Pyoro » 02 Apr 2019 12:23

... and start a new game.

MarkShot
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 118
Joined: 27 Mar 2019 11:30

Re: v1.8 no matter what town names NEWGRFs I install; its always British?

Post by MarkShot » 02 Apr 2019 12:43

v1.9 too

MarkShot
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 118
Joined: 27 Mar 2019 11:30

Re: v1.8 no matter what town names NEWGRFs I install; its always British?

Post by MarkShot » 02 Apr 2019 12:44

I did add the NEWGRF and start a new game, but didn't do anything in the options.

MarkShot
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 118
Joined: 27 Mar 2019 11:30

Re: v1.8 no matter what town names NEWGRFs I install; its always British?

Post by MarkShot » 02 Apr 2019 12:51

Got it! Thanks a lot.

Can I put those in the static section so all my town names default as such?

Thanks.

User avatar
planetmaker
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 9330
Joined: 07 Nov 2007 22:44
Location: Sol d

Re: v1.8 no matter what town names NEWGRFs I install; its always British?

Post by planetmaker » 02 Apr 2019 13:02

MarkShot wrote:Got it! Thanks a lot.

Can I put those in the static section so all my town names default as such?

Thanks.
No. static NewGRFs have no effect on the game beyond simple replacement of sprites (in a strict technical sense). Most NewGRFs, including town names, do not fall under that category.

You can think of it roughly by answering the question:
"can I play this game on a server and one person has the NewGRF activated and the other not and get identical results?"

User avatar
eekee
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 89
Joined: 23 Jun 2005 19:45
Location: Cyberspace

Re: v1.8 no matter what town names NEWGRFs I install; its always British?

Post by eekee » 02 Apr 2019 16:33

OpenTTD remembers what choices you made last time you started a new game. It defaults to the same next time. It tries to remember even if you remove the GRF; if you see "undefined string" in game options, you need to add the GRF.
Extreme network builder. screenshot thread

Post Reply

Return to “General OpenTTD”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests