How do I ever fix this?

OpenTTD is a fully open-sourced reimplementation of TTD, written in C++, boasting improved gameplay and many new features.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

Post Reply
User avatar
Expresso
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1720
Joined: 09 Aug 2004 00:14
Location: Gouda, the Netherlands

How do I ever fix this?

Post by Expresso » 22 Dec 2018 21:20

Ok. I managed to get myself in a bit of a hairy situation. The junction you see in the screenshot needs improvement, as frequently trains are queing up. Has anybody got an idea how to fix this junction on a stamp?
The Connected Country, Jan 22nd, 2146.png
(558.23 KiB) Not downloaded yet
It's about the junction between Einddorp and Einddorp North.

User avatar
jfs
Director
Director
Posts: 536
Joined: 08 Jan 2003 23:09
Location: Denmark

Re: How do I ever fix this?

Post by jfs » 22 Dec 2018 21:38

Maybe try adding another track to Einddorp North, and have the line entering from south-east bridge over, so the south-east line enters the two central tracks on North, and the trains from the main station enter the two outer tracks.

User avatar
Dave
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 17199
Joined: 26 Dec 2005 20:19
Location: Harringay, North London
Contact:

Re: How do I ever fix this?

Post by Dave » 23 Dec 2018 00:12

A big step, but one not beyond the realms of reality, would be to build a cut off line for those trains crossing the junction north to south away from the city. Presuming of course some trains run through Einddorp North non stop.
Official TT-Dave Fan Club

Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Albion: A fictional Britain
Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...

User avatar
Expresso
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1720
Joined: 09 Aug 2004 00:14
Location: Gouda, the Netherlands

Re: How do I ever fix this?

Post by Expresso » 23 Dec 2018 13:57

I fixed it!

I separated traffic from the south in flows to Einddorp North and Einddorp. I managed to cram a bridge in roughly the same amount of space. The bridge eases traffic pressure from Einddorp to Einddorp North.

MT3269
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 126
Joined: 04 May 2004 05:44
Location: Australia

Re: How do I ever fix this?

Post by MT3269 » 23 Jan 2019 03:42

I tend to build completely separate corridors for different cargo types. I would recommend building a separate line that enables trains to bypass this junction completely, unless they are serving any of the stations shown in the image.

Cities/towns can be a nuisance. As a result , a tiny number have become ghost towns for not cooperating with me :). Ideally you would keep your consists moving at speed as much as possible, which is not possible with the route shown.

Post Reply

Return to “General OpenTTD”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests