Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Fri Feb 22, 2019 11:44 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Oct 28, 2018 10:20 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 7:00 am
Posts: 6
Is there a way to get arriving trains to choose the furthest platform on a terminus station so that they're quicker to leave the station? Right now trains have to wait even with free platforms.

Image

Attachment:
Screen Shot 2018-10-28 at 3.13.32 PM.png [1.12 MiB]
Not downloaded yet


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Oct 28, 2018 10:46 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 12:14 am
Posts: 7281
easiest way to influence the pathfinder is to put down a reverse signal or a road crossing

_________________
You might not exactly be interested in Ferion, but if you are, have fun :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2018 1:49 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 7:00 am
Posts: 6
How would you place the reverse signal?

The road crossing trick works, but isn't very pretty or realistic


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2018 8:56 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2015 1:16 pm
Posts: 52
'Path' signal facing each platform. :wink:

Also move the signals on the outbound tracks at least a train length away from the junctions.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Oct 29, 2018 8:52 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2017 6:57 pm
Posts: 1695
Location: Courbevoie, near Paris, France
Double-way Path Signal facing the platforms as said mak.

_________________
NewGRFs by Tony Pixel :
North American Passenger Railroads
Not Enough Subways


My screenshots


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Oct 31, 2018 5:11 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Mon Apr 06, 2009 7:00 am
Posts: 6
Like this? Train still choosing closest platform.

Image

Or like this? That looks to work better. What if you have more than 2-3 platforms on a terminus though?

Image

Also placed the exit signals further from the intersection by the way. What does that change


Attachments:
Screen Shot 2018-10-30 at 7.00.04 PM.png [1017.19 KiB]
Not downloaded yet
Screen Shot 2018-10-30 at 7.04.23 PM.png [687.29 KiB]
Not downloaded yet
Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Oct 31, 2018 7:48 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2015 1:16 pm
Posts: 52
Ahh.

As far as I know there is not a way to pick the platform any train uses.

In your first layout the train in the station was blocking all the other platforms, so any approaching train had to wait until it left.

Second layout (all platforms with path signals) even with a train in the station any approaching train could enter the station, any free platform, so enabling more than one train to load/unload.

Third layout (top platform without signal) any train entering the top platform would 'block' all other tracks until it left.

Reason for moving signals on outbound track is that any train leaving, will not stop at the first signal and block the station/junction.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Oct 31, 2018 9:52 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2004 5:35 pm
Posts: 15186
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
You can also redesign the entry so that trains automatically pick the "right" one. The path of least resistance, simply. Every crossing, signal, and so on has a value. The higher the value, the less keen a train is to go there.

_________________
Image
Newest screenshots published January 9, 2019
Chrill's scenarios:
ArchipiƩlago Hermoso
(Latest Release: Version 3.2)
Turnpike Falls (Latest Release: Version 0.91)


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Oct 31, 2018 11:19 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 12:14 am
Posts: 7281
you can also mess around with the "platform too long" penalties

_________________
You might not exactly be interested in Ferion, but if you are, have fun :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Oct 31, 2018 2:31 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2004 5:35 pm
Posts: 15186
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Here's an example of a station with 4 platforms handling 3 trains at once:

Image

The ones coming from the bottom tend to stick to the left-most platform. The ones from the right stick to the right-most platform. Any additional trains thereafter will automatically slot into the middle two platforms. This can of course be optimised further (I've since rebuilt it a lot).

_________________
Image
Newest screenshots published January 9, 2019
Chrill's scenarios:
ArchipiƩlago Hermoso
(Latest Release: Version 3.2)
Turnpike Falls (Latest Release: Version 0.91)


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Oct 31, 2018 3:37 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed Sep 30, 2015 1:16 pm
Posts: 52
Another example:

12 platform station, multi train movements, sometimes more than two between junction and platforms.

Just an example probably not the best. :(

If you look bottom right then one train leaving and another approaching, in the same 'block'


Attachments:
File comment: A total of 57 trains use this station and very rareley have to wait.
Frenningpool Falls Transport, 1994-08-11.png [1.43 MiB]
Not downloaded yet
Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Oct 31, 2018 11:22 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed May 24, 2017 12:51 pm
Posts: 38
Location: East Texas
You could separate the routes in and out of the station. I've attached an example but the wiki has a lot more to say about stations.
https://wiki.openttd.org/Railway_station


Attachments:
NexGen, Jan 16th, 1942.png [199.7 KiB]
Not downloaded yet

_________________
Unless otherwise stated, all my code is GPL v2.
Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Oct 31, 2018 11:37 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2017 6:57 pm
Posts: 1695
Location: Courbevoie, near Paris, France
Right now the pathfinder always tried to find the quickest way to get to its destination.
If you want to have X platforms for X trains, place 3 waypoints. To do this, select the waypoints, then place one, place another one while holding Ctrl, then click on "Build a separate waypoint" and repeat the second steps for all platforms.

Then order the trains you want to the waypoint.

_________________
NewGRFs by Tony Pixel :
North American Passenger Railroads
Not Enough Subways


My screenshots


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Nov 01, 2018 9:11 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 1:51 am
Posts: 5560
Location: East Coast MainLine
I also tend to find approaching stations on a straight rather than round a corner reduces conflicts as trains have to cross paths less, and thus reduces queuing, though it isn't always possible to have a straight approach.

_________________
Soccer Mad Boffins
Watch my YouTube Channel


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Nov 01, 2018 5:32 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 5:15 pm
Posts: 6463
Location: Eastern KY
Kevo00 wrote:
I also tend to find approaching stations on a straight rather than round a corner reduces conflicts as trains have to cross paths less, and thus reduces queuing, though it isn't always possible to have a straight approach.


Indeed, and from looking at the screenshot, it seems to me that it might even better to extend the line from the bottom to merge with the one coming from the left.

_________________
Do you like drones, quadcopters & flying toys? Check out Drone Strike Force!
Image

Base Music Sets: OpenMSX | Scott Joplin Anthology | Traditional Winter Holiday Music | Modern Motion Music
Other Projects: 2CC Trams | Modern Waypoints | Sprite Sandbox & NewGRF Releases | Ideabox | Town Names | Isle of Sodor Scenario | Random Sprite Repository
Misc Topics: My Screenshots | Forgotten NewGRFs | Unfinished Graphics Sets | Stats Shack | RoadTypes?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 23, 2018 5:33 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Sat Nov 29, 2014 11:23 pm
Posts: 185
Luckily the fella has enough track lengths between his junction and platforms to accommodate impeding signals. Although possibly unsightly, his easiest solution would be to place 3 signals on his bottom track, 2 on his centre one, and a single one on his top one. I've happened to have just resolved the same pestersome matter myself by lobbing an additional backward signal at the 2nd bottommost platform to impede traffic arriving from the bottom of the screen (see attached).

Image

Although I do prefer the practicality to his setup as he built it there!


Attachments:
Anglo Anglers, 29th Jun 2031.png [250.27 KiB]
Not downloaded yet
Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 24, 2018 11:46 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 6:34 pm
Posts: 2668
acs121 wrote:
Right now the pathfinder always tried to find the quickest way to get to its destination.
If you want to have X platforms for X trains, place 3 waypoints. To do this, select the waypoints, then place one, place another one while holding Ctrl, then click on "Build a separate waypoint" and repeat the second steps for all platforms.

Then order the trains you want to the waypoint.

The pathfinder doesn't take the quickest path, it takes the path with the lowest penalty. Normally that is the shortest path (as every tile adds to the penalty), but stations/waypoints, level crossings and the back of two way path signals add to the penalty, making the pathfinder prefer a longer path if those additions are on the short path. Should the path be occupied by a train, it would still take the other path (as a train also adds to the penalty), while in your solution it would not do that as the platform is fixed by the waypoint.

_________________
Coder of the Dutch Trackset | Development support for the Dutch Trainset | Coder of the 2cc TrainsInNML


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 25, 2018 11:15 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Mon May 15, 2017 12:48 pm
Posts: 31
I think your problem is that the crossing tracks are at the junction of the two main lines. The outbound train has a lock on the whole junction.

Simplify the junction and move the crossing tracks adjacent to the stations. Then put a one-way path signal on the inbound track just outside the crosses, and a one-way path signal the other way on the outbound side.

Steve


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 18 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2019 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2019.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.