Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Wed Nov 14, 2018 12:20 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jun 01, 2018 2:42 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 1:51 am
Posts: 5509
Location: East Coast MainLine
I must admit I default to 7 tiles far too much. I use all sorts of NewGRFs, but I am usually lazy and stick to 7 tiles. Usually I don't need to double head.

Experimenting with 14 tiles on a larger map at the moment though; I think it can work well for far flung industries as longer trains should mean fewer overall trains needed to maintain station ratings.

_________________
Soccer Mad Boffins
Watch my YouTube Channel


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jun 01, 2018 4:11 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2013 5:13 am
Posts: 119
Kevo00 wrote:
I must admit I default to 7 tiles far too much. I use all sorts of NewGRFs, but I am usually lazy and stick to 7 tiles. Usually I don't need to double head.

Experimenting with 14 tiles on a larger map at the moment though; I think it can work well for far flung industries as longer trains should mean fewer overall trains needed to maintain station ratings.


well i done the experiment
and in one of my route i broke the train into 3.5 trains
and then i run the do different scenarios for years and show the profit they made and they were the same

doubling the trains in the network i was afraid of jams but because of the short length everything was smooth and i can say it even work a bit better than 7 tile train
well it helped the special design of the station to load that permit multiple option routes for train and smaller train even broken blocked smaller part and depending where they broke some times they did not affect at all the traffic !!!!!!

while bigger trains if you play with breakdowns you will cost you a lot if break in the station blocking it

the experiment was to see if i can make more money due to faster deliver times but the industry i had was coal so there was not anything to notice.

also smaller train will pass faster junctions, ill need smaller turning space and many other goodies.

can you report you finding if you do the test and try 14 tile length train?/
can you have the game saved with 7 tile train and 14 tile train at same time more or less you will need some time to make the change and normalize the network

and tell us the profit was up or down??
are you planning to build 14 long length stations also??


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jun 02, 2018 7:29 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Tue Feb 22, 2011 6:34 pm
Posts: 2654
Kevo00 wrote:
I must admit I default to 7 tiles far too much. I use all sorts of NewGRFs, but I am usually lazy and stick to 7 tiles. Usually I don't need to double head.

Experimenting with 14 tiles on a larger map at the moment though; I think it can work well for far flung industries as longer trains should mean fewer overall trains needed to maintain station ratings.

That is not correct, station ratings also depend on frequency, and with less trains you have a lower frequency, so ratings drop (which might have a negative effect on production increases).

_________________
Coder of the Dutch Trackset | Development support for the Dutch Trainset | Coder of the 2cc TrainsInNML


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jun 02, 2018 7:38 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 07, 2004 1:51 am
Posts: 5509
Location: East Coast MainLine
But a longer train will spend longer loading on full load, and if there is always a train loading, station rating improves.

Sent from my Moto E (4) using Tapatalk

_________________
Soccer Mad Boffins
Watch my YouTube Channel


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jun 02, 2018 7:41 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 17, 2013 5:13 am
Posts: 119
Transportman wrote:
Kevo00 wrote:
I must admit I default to 7 tiles far too much. I use all sorts of NewGRFs, but I am usually lazy and stick to 7 tiles. Usually I don't need to double head.

Experimenting with 14 tiles on a larger map at the moment though; I think it can work well for far flung industries as longer trains should mean fewer overall trains needed to maintain station ratings.

That is not correct, station ratings also depend on frequency, and with less trains you have a lower frequency, so ratings drop (which might have a negative effect on production increases).


thats not ttrue
it is all about not having the station without having a train loading
in a route i had a retired some trains and even with fewer trains i got even better rating

from having 3 train loading in the station i end up with 1 train loading in the station and another coming a bit before the other was full
so even with 2 trains less my rating went better


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 25 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.