Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Fri Dec 14, 2018 4:15 pm

All times are UTC

PostPosted: Sat Dec 30, 2017 8:06 pm 
Engineer
Engineer

Hey all,

What's your preference when building track for a high-volume, multiple train, long train (6 tiles+ is long to me, I'm sure someone else will think I'm silly) run of track between two industries? When I just started playing recently I was building one-way track with block signals and path signals to control traffic flow into the station platforms, but I was goofing around on the Wiki and saw the screenshots of bi-directional track with path signals and started messing around with that. Is there a particular advantage to using one style or the other? I like how the bi-directional track allows for re-routing around broken down trains, but I'm having a hard time telling if it's better or worse for traffic in the line.

PostPosted: Sat Dec 30, 2017 8:37 pm 
Chief Executive
Chief Executive

I always go for single directional track, since it is easy and consistent. I can see the advantage of bi-directional running, especially with 3 tracks (the middle for overtakes). I should perhaps try it out...

PostPosted: Sat Dec 30, 2017 10:31 pm 
Tycoon
Tycoon

One-way tracks have higher throughput and will not create gridlocks, which you can get with bidirectional tracks. A bidirectional track is nice if you need some additional capacity next to the one-way tracks but in most cases you are then better of to make 2 additional one-way tracks instead of one bidirectional track.

PostPosted: Sun Dec 31, 2017 7:00 am 
Chief Executive
Chief Executive

I think this would be a good use for entry/exit pre-signals. That would be one way of avoiding gridlock.

PostPosted: Sun Dec 31, 2017 7:08 am 
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Gwyd wrote:
I think this would be a good use for entry/exit pre-signals. That would be one way of avoiding gridlock.