Switzerland in 1800 - a call for assistance in scenario development

OpenTTD is a fully open-sourced reimplementation of TTD, written in C++, boasting improved gameplay and many new features.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

fridu
Engineer
Engineer

Switzerland in 1800 - a call for assistance in scenario development

Post by fridu »

Ladies and Gentlemen

I am still a newbie at openTTD (actually running v1.7 on Debian Buster) but I got hooked in scenario development. I played a bit around with the existing scenarios containing Switzerland but am not entirely happy with them (too small, too simple, and am missing a lot of important locomotives like all BLS engines and the very important 1000mm narrow gauge rails). And then I tumbled over the Tokaido scenario and it became quickly an addicting favorite of myself. Being Swiss, I like the precision and details of that scenario. So why not doing a similar high-quality scenario for Switzerland? That is why I have started to plan in earnest a big scenario of my own country. But as this is quite a bit of work I seek guidance and assistance before loosing myself in some beginner's errors.

What do I have?
- a great heighmap (based on ASTER data) which gives a perfect 4096x2048 map of Switzerland (or a 4096x4096 which then roughly goes from Stuttgart to Genova)
- some 2700 Swiss community names and good geography knowledge and access to precise online maps (NOT Google earth :-) )
- solid knowledge of Swiss trains and transportation. Actually I am building a more or less complete list of Swiss locomotives for being able to choose the right ones for a newGRF "Swiss locomotives" (not just the SBB-CFF-FFS ones)
- practical experience in researching history and already good knowledge of industry history of Switzerland.
- no fear of a console solution. I am not a programmer but manage my private Linux system since Debian Rex - sometimes with bloody fingertips but at least it worked until now...

What do I miss?