Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Fri Dec 14, 2018 2:11 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu May 06, 2004 2:56 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 3:53 am
Posts: 7
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Are there problems with Train Stations / Signal / Route Finding procedures in OTTD 0.3.1 or am I just doing something wrong?

Example:

If I have a multi platform Train Station with signals at either end, Trains that enter from the east with orders to return to the east, leave the station to the west (in the direction that they were heading originally). They continue on in that direction until they find a U Turn (or a Depot) and then return via a different platform! :?

Shouldn't the trains be about facing on the spot and waiting at the signals? Is there something I should be doing with Pre-Signals to avoid this time waster?

If that made any sense does anyone have any ideas?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 06, 2004 5:04 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Apr 10, 2004 3:06 pm
Posts: 59
Location: The Netherlands
Look at your diffuculty settings. :)


Attachments:
settings.JPG
settings.JPG [ 27.43 KiB | Viewed 1761 times ]

_________________
"A script is what you give the actors. A program is what you give the audience."
-Larry Wall
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 06, 2004 5:47 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 3:53 am
Posts: 7
Location: Melbourne, Australia
There's no problem there, I've got at the end of lines and at stations set. Sometimes they reverse at stations other times they don't.

Here'a Screenshot of what I'm talking about. The train performing a U turn should have just reversed in the platform that it came from and waited at the signals.


Attachments:
trainreversing.gif
trainreversing.gif [ 94.76 KiB | Viewed 1433 times ]
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 06, 2004 6:56 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 8:37 am
Posts: 13749
dJP wrote:
There's no problem there, I've got at the end of lines and at stations set. Sometimes they reverse at stations other times they don't.

Here'a Screenshot of what I'm talking about. The train performing a U turn should have just reversed in the platform that it came from and waited at the signals.
it is not reversing at the end of line ... nor at the station .... if you want to force train going straight ... just put waypoint after the station

_________________
what are you looking at? it's a signature!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 06, 2004 7:07 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 3:53 am
Posts: 7
Location: Melbourne, Australia
SHADOW-XIII wrote:
dJP wrote:
There's no problem there, I've got at the end of lines and at stations set. Sometimes they reverse at stations other times they don't.

Here'a Screenshot of what I'm talking about. The train performing a U turn should have just reversed in the platform that it came from and waited at the signals.
it is not reversing at the end of line ... nor at the station .... if you want to force train going straight ... just put waypoint after the station


I don't mind work arounds but in the situation of the screenshot I posted earlier I'd have to have checkpoints on every platform and allocate platforms to trains. The problem there is that I have more trains than platforms and I'd end up with train confusion if two trains which were assigned the same checkpoint arrived at the station at the same time.

I guess it's just a pathfinding issue that I'll have to deal with :(


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 06, 2004 7:13 am 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2003 12:55 pm
Posts: 768
Location: Bonn, Germany
I think the train leaves to that side, because the signal is red on the other side.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 06, 2004 8:03 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 3:53 am
Posts: 7
Location: Melbourne, Australia
dominik81 wrote:
I think the train leaves to that side, because the signal is red on the other side.


You're probably right. It must see the Green Signal and U Turn behind it as an alternative route to it's destination since it's not really too far out of it's way. I guess the problem is that the pathfinding algo doesn't scan for signals further down the line or something. hmm... I wonder if the problem would exist if the lines were split earlier rather than just before the station... :?


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu May 06, 2004 12:06 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 6:56 pm
Posts: 232
Simple solution is to redesign your station so that it's either 100% Ro-Ro, or that trains that terminate there go onto terminus tracks.

_________________
-mike[F]
Caught in the rush of the crowd, lost in a wall of sound...


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 8 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.