Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Tue Oct 16, 2018 11:07 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2015 2:12 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 10:02 pm
Posts: 1272
For the past three game years Green Victory has been working on a coal run from an ideal spot (between two productive mines).
But in its time period,the underpowered available equipment is reduced to 1 mph taking laden trains uphill.
Stronger engines will be available soon...but loading-station ratings are hard to keep up and productivity has flagged.
Is it best to have really low ambitions while the engines are weak,and let the mines fade away?


Attachments:
GreenVictoryRailroad,1stJul1870.sav [441.79 KiB]
Downloaded 70 times
Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2015 3:57 am 
Offline
President
President
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 9:25 pm
Posts: 958
Location: ::1
Either shorten the trains, or add second/third engines to each trains, assuming you don't want to change the weight multiplier and slope steepness settings, which are really killing these early engines.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2015 6:51 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Dec 18, 2004 5:35 pm
Posts: 15085
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Consider tunnels or going around that hill. Those are steep slopes even 100 years later. I rarely place a slope within 5 tiles of another slope.

_________________
Image
OpenTTD Scenarios:
ArchipiƩlago Hermoso
(Latest Release: Version 3.2)
Turnpike Falls (Latest Release: Version 0.91) 2016-06-23


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jul 22, 2015 6:02 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 10:02 pm
Posts: 1272
There wasn't money for tunnels,but I cut a ravine to reduce the up-slope.Everyone's been saying trains should be max length...I had not considered double-heading,which may actually be economical given the much higher running costs of the alternative engines...I am thinking that when the Goods engine comes out and reaches peak reliability I can use it to replace the Long Boilers and Tanks.(Now 6 trains in the group).


Attachments:
GreenVictoryRailroad,1stJan1873.sav [475.02 KiB]
Downloaded 22 times
Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jul 26, 2015 4:44 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 10:02 pm
Posts: 1272
Double-heading has helped,there and on a passenger line nearby that also had the 1mph problem.


Attachments:
GreenVictoryRailroad,1stJan1875.sav [506.59 KiB]
Downloaded 22 times
Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jul 26, 2015 5:26 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 5:03 am
Posts: 4671
Location: home
Ha, just brutally straight up the mountain eh? :)

You can do it with one engine too for the passengers train (as the cargo is not so heavy), just by adding some track:
Attachment:
slowly_up.png
slowly_up.png [ 136.1 KiB | Viewed 1987 times ]


Put your signals at some distance from the next slope, so a stopped train has room to make some speed (although it doesn't seem really needed here).
I only changed the track upward, as openttd allows you to go straight down without danger for derailment.

You can of course change the down track too in a similar way, so it looks more realistic.

_________________
Being a OpenTTD developer does not mean I know what I am doing.
Also, other OpenTTD developers may have different opinions.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jul 26, 2015 6:16 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 10:02 pm
Posts: 1272
Do the cost of the additional infrastructure for the long roundabout route and the resulting loss of income for the slower passenger arrival allow for a net gain when offset by not buying another locomotive?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jul 26, 2015 6:52 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 5:03 am
Posts: 4671
Location: home
I don't know, but it looks great. Double steam engines also look great though, so it's a tough choice :)

Infra structure costs raise very rapidly as your company grows, so at some point I guess just more engine power will be cheaper.


Note that you only get this zig-zag pattern due to the steep hill. In your coal example, you can go around the mountain without zig zag tracks.
It's a little longer, but not that much.
(I tried it, but the load is too big, you also need shorter trains there.)

_________________
Being a OpenTTD developer does not mean I know what I am doing.
Also, other OpenTTD developers may have different opinions.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jul 26, 2015 7:35 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 10:02 pm
Posts: 1272
The cut through the mountain made the coal line work,along with the new Goods engine (my first train had a lone Long Boiler).

If you REALLY want to see an early railroad constrained by weak equipment,see attached game save as of the day of Queen Victoria's accession...the other save,as of the day of her death,shows how the options changed in her time...


Attachments:
TillydeanGrandVictorianR.R.,20thJun1837.sav [3.07 MiB]
Downloaded 28 times
JubileeRailGroup,22ndJan1901.sav [474.11 KiB]
Downloaded 28 times
Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jul 27, 2015 5:50 am 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 5:03 am
Posts: 4671
Location: home
There is no need to go up and down over mountains by Queen Victoria, the two stations are just a few levels different in height, so it can be a mostly level journey.

The track around the mountain looks similar in length, the track around the valley is a bit longer, due to the large bend next to the town. You can make it considerably shorter by raising some land a level, but I prefer to play around land obstacles.


Attachments:
Tillydean Grand Victorian R.R., 1837-10-16.sav [3.13 MiB]
Downloaded 24 times

_________________
Being a OpenTTD developer does not mean I know what I am doing.
Also, other OpenTTD developers may have different opinions.
Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jul 27, 2015 7:32 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 10:02 pm
Posts: 1272
That last save crashes with a message about an unreferenced town name?


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jul 28, 2015 5:08 am 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 5:03 am
Posts: 4671
Location: home
Ugh, no idea :(

I'll attach a picture instead.

Edit: I left your tracks as they were, so you should be able to use those for reference.


Attachments:
mostly_level.png [248.23 KiB]
Downloaded 1 time

_________________
Being a OpenTTD developer does not mean I know what I am doing.
Also, other OpenTTD developers may have different opinions.
Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 14, 2016 8:08 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 10:02 pm
Posts: 1272
The advance in equipment technology has provided Green Victory RR with the tools it needs...now 8 trains in the group,the newest with two-bay hoppers.
Just in case anyone wanted to see an update of how things had gone on the "Coal Mine Run" from Nantditch Mines.


Attachments:
GreenVictoryRailroad,1stJul1903.sav [563.99 KiB]
Downloaded 21 times
Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Sep 12, 2016 10:04 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 10:02 pm
Posts: 1272
See the "Financial Effect of Start Year" topic for another updated condition of the Coal Mine Run,now 16 trains with ro-ro loading.Double-heading is finally becoming obsolete,with the new standard Texas engine hauling 50-foot gondolas now set to replace the still-preponderant double-Freight-engine set-up.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Mar 02, 2018 1:48 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2014 10:02 pm
Posts: 1272
The Coal Mine Run,after over 165 years of operation,has now traded its Brush 92s for maglevs.
The tools are there!


Attachments:
GreenVictoryRailroad,1stJan2034.sav [579.11 KiB]
Downloaded 14 times
Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 15 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: glavinics and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.