Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Thu Apr 19, 2018 9:24 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 93 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 16, 2004 8:56 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2003 5:32 pm
Posts: 1102
Location: Paris, France
I think it should be great to change the way the transportation cost is calculated.

In fact, when starting in 1950, trains are very slow (even the speedest one), and then when the course is 50 cases long or 200 cases long, the profit is the above the same due to low speed. So my "giant" lines don't make profit and loose money !

I think distance should be more important in the way of calculating the revenues.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 16, 2004 9:22 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 1:27 am
Posts: 1628
Location: Netherlands, Enschede
hmmmm

or perhaps cargo should "age" more slowly

_________________
Creator of the Openttd Challenge Spinoff, Town Demand patch
The path to riches, a report on playing on a daylength server on ultra hard mode.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 16, 2004 9:41 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2003 5:32 pm
Posts: 1102
Location: Paris, France
Korenn wrote:
hmmmm

or perhaps cargo should "age" more slowly

Depending the sort of cargo would be fine :)

Currently, I just tested with Coal, and coal should not depreciate with age (or very few).
However, goods and mail should depreciate a lot.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 16, 2004 10:18 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Mon Mar 08, 2004 12:51 pm
Posts: 72
Location: Netherlands
Isn't that the way it is and always has been?

Just take a look at the Cargo Payment rates, and some things devaluate very slowly while other do very fast. What's new about this idea?

_________________
Protect the Banana


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 16, 2004 11:00 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 1:27 am
Posts: 1628
Location: Netherlands, Enschede
no there's nothing new about it, but the trips are now so incredibly long that even coal goes down to zero.

_________________
Creator of the Openttd Challenge Spinoff, Town Demand patch
The path to riches, a report on playing on a daylength server on ultra hard mode.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 16, 2004 11:58 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 02, 2003 3:48 pm
Posts: 118
Location: Cambs, UK
downloaded and tested, and i have to say that is one HOOOOOOOGE map. Would be a lot better though when u sort out the higher generation of cities and industries! good work though

_________________
---------------------------
Warspite
Aspiring Poet


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 16, 2004 1:00 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Sat Jun 07, 2003 7:46 pm
Posts: 147
Location: CZ / Prague
On parts of maps , wich are offside original map - i cannt build on costs - it says Too close to edge of map, and i cant lower terrain ( first it send me error , second game crashes )


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 16, 2004 2:24 pm 
Offline
Director
Director
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 19, 2002 2:47 pm
Posts: 531
Location: Sweden
I get graphical errors sometimes when I raise land (look at picture).
And I often get messages when trying to build something or rase/lower land, like "to close edge of map" or "to high". In the attached picture there is a coal mine in the way :D


Attachments:
raise_land.png
raise_land.png [ 53.29 KiB | Viewed 3001 times ]
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 16, 2004 4:06 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 1:27 am
Posts: 1628
Location: Netherlands, Enschede
jacke wrote:
I get graphical errors sometimes when I raise land (look at picture).
And I often get messages when trying to build something or rase/lower land, like "to close edge of map" or "to high". In the attached picture there is a coal mine in the way :D

lol isn't it obvious there's a coal mine there? :mrgreen:

I already fixed this for the new version, I'm right now ironing out an AI bug and trying to determine new cargo payment rates. expected next release date this weekend.

_________________
Creator of the Openttd Challenge Spinoff, Town Demand patch
The path to riches, a report on playing on a daylength server on ultra hard mode.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 16, 2004 4:15 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Sun Aug 10, 2003 11:09 pm
Posts: 137
Interesting to see the side effects of bigger maps.

I personally would not tinker with the actual devalue rates
of de different individual cargo types.
But applying a general ratio change to all the cargo rated.
Maybe something like increasing the allowed transport time by X,
So instead of having something like 90(example) days to
deliver cargo before it hits zero, you would have
(1024*256)*90 days.

A additional ratio could be added to make bigger maps not
completely play the same as normal maps, like
(1024*256*RATIO)*90.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 16, 2004 6:49 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2003 5:32 pm
Posts: 1102
Location: Paris, France
MadEgg wrote:
Isn't that the way it is and always has been?

Just take a look at the Cargo Payment rates, and some things devaluate very slowly while other do very fast. What's new about this idea?

ratios should be changed to be realistic with long distances. currently it seems to be buggy for long distances.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 16, 2004 6:58 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Aug 28, 2003 9:38 am
Posts: 3311
Everytime i try play the bigmap vers, it crashes blabbling something about water.c or something releated to water(whenever i go in view of water))


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 16, 2004 7:38 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2003 5:32 pm
Posts: 1102
Location: Paris, France
Try to use :
City : Low
Climat : Temperate

It seems to be the most stable parameter.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 16, 2004 8:12 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 1:27 am
Posts: 1628
Location: Netherlands, Enschede
or wait till the next release, it's a lot more stable.

_________________
Creator of the Openttd Challenge Spinoff, Town Demand patch
The path to riches, a report on playing on a daylength server on ultra hard mode.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 16, 2004 9:00 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2003 11:42 pm
Posts: 107
Location: Toulouse, France
I've just tried big maps... great work, that's very impressive

(but it only works well with "low" settings for towns and industries as others noticed)

I think that feature will make the "realplanespeed" switch useful once/if it's implemented in openttd, since it would make the game more realistic with so big maps: trains are never used for more than 1000 km or so in real life, so in the game too planes should replace them for bigger distances...


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 16, 2004 9:20 pm 
Offline
Cymedrolwr
Cymedrolwr
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2002 8:36 pm
Posts: 7571
Skype: Bornacorn
Location: Wrexham, Wales
the poll in graphics says that hardly anyone likes planespeed, and that you should be able to set a percentage

_________________
Image
FacebookFlickr PhotosBlogTwitterHosting


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 16, 2004 9:38 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 23, 2003 11:42 pm
Posts: 107
Location: Toulouse, France
Born Acorn wrote:
the poll in graphics says that hardly anyone likes planespeed, and that you should be able to set a percentage


i don't like it either with normal maps, what i was saying is that it had much more interest with big maps

_________________
It would be better if i was gliding
Image


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 16, 2004 9:49 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2003 5:32 pm
Posts: 1102
Location: Paris, France
Emeric Pro wrote:
I've just tried big maps... great work, that's very impressive

(but it only works well with "low" settings for towns and industries as others noticed)

I think that feature will make the "realplanespeed" switch useful once/if it's implemented in openttd, since it would make the game more realistic with so big maps: trains are never used for more than 1000 km or so in real life, so in the game too planes should replace them for bigger distances...

Hey, there are many night train that deserve the line Paris <-> Roma for exemple.

And then http://www.maporama.com says :

Distance totale: 1406 km
Durée du trajet: 14h 04
Vitesse moyenne: 99 km/h

With french common trains (Corail) that run at 160 kmh-1 it "just" less that 9 hours (a night :D) time...

And when Italy will be equiped with LGV (TGV railroad) it will be only 4h45, so it will be possible ti do daytime trains (and it will take the same amount of time than plane, because airports are generaly far from cities, so you spend a lot of time to join the city ;)

And what about the Moscou <-> Vladivostock line ? ;)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 16, 2004 9:53 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 15, 2003 5:32 pm
Posts: 1102
Location: Paris, France
And message for Korenn :

-> Can't you give us a pre-version of the bug-free version ? :D
Because currently the game hangs too much often to be playable... :(


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Apr 16, 2004 10:27 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 26, 2004 1:27 am
Posts: 1628
Location: Netherlands, Enschede
MagicBuzz wrote:
And message for Korenn :

-> Can't you give us a pre-version of the bug-free version ? :D
Because currently the game hangs too much often to be playable... :(

well I could, but the new release is incompatible with old save games and the bugs (and cargo!) I'm working on will (probably) do that again.
I'll rather wait a few days 8)
[edit: everything's done except one ai bug, hope to do that tomorrow]

_________________
Creator of the Openttd Challenge Spinoff, Town Demand patch
The path to riches, a report on playing on a daylength server on ultra hard mode.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 93 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.