Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Sat Sep 23, 2017 6:21 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next
Author Message
 Post subject: OpenTTD New Installer
PostPosted: Mon Mar 29, 2004 3:18 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 11:45 pm
Posts: 58
Location: Pierce County, Washington, USA
I've decided to switch to Nullsoft's installer (they're the makers of Winamp).

What would you like to see the installer do? I will consider your requests seen on this topic.

The latest version is 0.1.4.

_________________
RaggieSoft - maker of the OpenTTD Installer (up to version 0.1.4 / Release 6)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 29, 2004 3:23 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2002 3:08 pm
Posts: 8684
Location: Enschede, The Netherlands
Make sure it is in MUI... :roll:
I hate the 'standard' UI.

_________________
GoneWacko. Making #tycoon sexy and exciting since 1784.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 29, 2004 3:53 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 11:45 pm
Posts: 58
Location: Pierce County, Washington, USA
GoneWacko wrote:
Make sure it is in MUI... :roll:
I hate the 'standard' UI.


It already is. I also use the XP interface. CobraA1 is creating a dialog that will demand the TTD location (so I no longer need the bulky 100kb RSSW file GRFCopy.exe)

_________________
RaggieSoft - maker of the OpenTTD Installer (up to version 0.1.4 / Release 6)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 29, 2004 6:20 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 11, 2004 11:26 am
Posts: 293
Location: 52º31'20"N 13º17'51"O
it would be nice if it could work without the original cd.
Isn't it for Open TTD? (Cause i don't have an orignal win-ttd but i've got the original tto and ttdlx-cd's....

_________________
Bernhard

http://ttdlxhq.raysworld.ch


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 29, 2004 6:26 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 11:45 pm
Posts: 58
Location: Pierce County, Washington, USA
Bernhard wrote:
it would be nice if it could work without the original cd.
Isn't it for Open TTD? (Cause i don't have an orignal win-ttd but i've got the original tto and ttdlx-cd's....


It does work without the CD starting with version 0.1.4. Simply tell Setup where your GRF files are. It wants the CD mainly to be sure the files are unaltered.

_________________
RaggieSoft - maker of the OpenTTD Installer (up to version 0.1.4 / Release 6)


Top
   
 Post subject: Read This First!
PostPosted: Mon Mar 29, 2004 6:45 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 11:45 pm
Posts: 58
Location: Pierce County, Washington, USA
I noticed that so far people are asking for features already included with the installer. Before asking for a feature, check out the actual installer at http://members.cox.net/tallwoodband/openttd.

* Your TTD CD isn't required (but recomended to be sure you are using unaltered graphics) any more!
* CobraA1 is working on a better way to ask for the folder. Expect to see it in the next release.
* If you want to see TTD like graphics during install, simply submit a BMP file to TallwoodBand@cox.net
* It must be this size: 150 x 57
* It should fade into white whereas the white side is on the right side

_________________
RaggieSoft - maker of the OpenTTD Installer (up to version 0.1.4 / Release 6)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 29, 2004 7:12 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2002 3:08 pm
Posts: 8684
Location: Enschede, The Netherlands
RaggieSoft wrote:
GoneWacko wrote:
Make sure it is in MUI... :roll:
I hate the 'standard' UI.


It already is. I also use the XP interface. CobraA1 is creating a dialog that will demand the TTD location (so I no longer need the bulky 100kb RSSW file GRFCopy.exe)


I made an NSIS installer once that simply browsed the registry for the location of TTD (Windows version only ofcourse).
Copying a file shouldn't be much of a problem :)

_________________
GoneWacko. Making #tycoon sexy and exciting since 1784.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 29, 2004 7:39 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 11:45 pm
Posts: 58
Location: Pierce County, Washington, USA
GoneWacko wrote:
RaggieSoft wrote:
GoneWacko wrote:
Make sure it is in MUI... :roll:
I hate the 'standard' UI.


It already is. I also use the XP interface. CobraA1 is creating a dialog that will demand the TTD location (so I no longer need the bulky 100kb RSSW file GRFCopy.exe)


I made an NSIS installer once that simply browsed the registry for the location of TTD (Windows version only ofcourse).
Copying a file shouldn't be much of a problem :)


That's going to be in the next version :D
Setup will look for the Registry entry. If it's not found, then you'll be asked for the TTD Folder. You can always override that. I'll do this to get the GRF, CAT, and GM files.

_________________
RaggieSoft - maker of the OpenTTD Installer (up to version 0.1.4 / Release 6)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 29, 2004 9:29 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Feb 24, 2003 6:45 pm
Posts: 3053
Location: Hong Kong
RaggieSoft wrote:
GoneWacko wrote:
RaggieSoft wrote:
That's going to be in the next version :D
Setup will look for the Registry entry. If it's not found, then you'll be asked for the TTD Folder. You can always override that. I'll do this to get the GRF, CAT, and GM files.

Why do you guys want the registry? OTTD doesn't need the registry and hopefully never will. A lot of people have registry problems, or access conflicts, don't make it hard for them :)

_________________
TrueLight: "Did you bother to read any of the replies, or you just pressed 'Reply' and started typing?"
<@[R-Dk]FoRbiDDeN> "HELP, this litte arrow thing keeps following my mouse, and I can't make it go away."


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Mar 29, 2004 10:34 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Fri Mar 19, 2004 6:22 pm
Posts: 9
I don't think they are suggesting to store anything concerning ottd in the registry, but rather use it to find the files needed for installation so you don't have to select the directory yourself. It's a lot more convenient that way, and if you want it from a different location, you can still do that as well.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2004 1:46 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 11:45 pm
Posts: 58
Location: Pierce County, Washington, USA
Wuntvor wrote:
I don't think they are suggesting to store anything concerning ottd in the registry, but rather use it to find the files needed for installation so you don't have to select the directory yourself. It's a lot more convenient that way, and if you want it from a different location, you can still do that as well.


Yes, that's correct. In the future, my setup program will look for the Registry key that holds the path to the TTD for Windows installation path. This way, you won't need the CD. The only other reason is to populate Add / Remove programs with information. I will never have my installer access the Registry to modify OpenTTD settings!

_________________
RaggieSoft - maker of the OpenTTD Installer (up to version 0.1.4 / Release 6)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2004 6:54 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2002 3:08 pm
Posts: 8684
Location: Enschede, The Netherlands
Darkvater wrote:
RaggieSoft wrote:
GoneWacko wrote:
RaggieSoft wrote:
That's going to be in the next version :D
Setup will look for the Registry entry. If it's not found, then you'll be asked for the TTD Folder. You can always override that. I'll do this to get the GRF, CAT, and GM files.

Why do you guys want the registry? OTTD doesn't need the registry and hopefully never will. A lot of people have registry problems, or access conflicts, don't make it hard for them :)


The registry _MUST_ have an entry for TTWin95, under LOCAL_MACHINE/SOFTWARE/Fish <something>/TTWin95/ IIRC.
THat will make it easier to find the files to copy, because A. it checks if TTD is actually installed, and B. it finds the files on it's own.

DOS users will either not be able to use the installer (won't run under dos :roll: ) or will have to install manually.
Ofcourse there's a work around. He can just make a selection page: Dos or Windows.... :roll:

_________________
GoneWacko. Making #tycoon sexy and exciting since 1784.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2004 7:20 am 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor

Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2003 5:52 pm
Posts: 480
Location: USA
I've given RaggieSoft something which I think is close to what the final installer will be. Hopefully, it won't be long until the next version of the installer is out :). I'll wait and see what he thinks, though.

_________________
"If a man does not keep pace with his companions, perhaps it is because he hears a different drummer. Let him step to the music he hears, however measured or far away" --Henry David Thoreau


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Read This First!
PostPosted: Tue Mar 30, 2004 4:10 pm 
Offline
Administrator
Administrator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 26, 2001 8:18 pm
Posts: 23785
Skype: orudge
Location: Banchory, UK
RaggieSoft wrote:
* Your TTD CD isn't required (but recomended to be sure you are using unaltered graphics) any more!


Hmmm, I applied the Tahoma font set to the OpenTTD graphics and that was fine... I think the altered graphics thing was fixed (at least for this).

_________________
Owen Rudge
owenrudge.net | Owen's Transport Tycoon Station | Owen's Locomotion Depot | The Transport Tycoon Wiki


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Read This First!
PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 11:04 am 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 1:55 pm
Posts: 642
Location: Kraków, Poland
orudge wrote:
RaggieSoft wrote:
* Your TTD CD isn't required (but recomended to be sure you are using unaltered graphics) any more!


Hmmm, I applied the Tahoma font set to the OpenTTD graphics and that was fine... I think the altered graphics thing was fixed (at least for this).

On my PC altered graphics with OpenTTD works fine, without any problems :)

_________________
see my transportation photos on fotozajezdnia


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Read This First!
PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 4:51 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 11:45 pm
Posts: 58
Location: Pierce County, Washington, USA
RadekK wrote:
On my PC altered graphics with OpenTTD works fine, without any problems :)


Hmm. I'd like to see some screen shots. Once I see more proof of it working, then I'll change the requirements.

_________________
RaggieSoft - maker of the OpenTTD Installer (up to version 0.1.4 / Release 6)


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 5:12 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 11:45 pm
Posts: 58
Location: Pierce County, Washington, USA
On the CD Browse dialog, Setup won't allow me to avance when I tell it the TTD CD is in drive D:

My CD Drive is D
I'm using the Windows 95 version of TTD

It works just fine when I use C:\MPS\TTWin95 as the folder. I'm thinking that this is a limitation of NSIS(?)

Other than that, the installer is nice. If the CD Browse dialog can be fixed, expect to see it for the next release of OpenTTD.

If there's no workaround, then I'll have Setup ask for the TTD install folder. It'll default to the location set in the Registry (obviously only if win version is installed). If the key isn't found, then the folder wil be blank (could someone tell me where the DOS version usually installs to?).

_________________
RaggieSoft - maker of the OpenTTD Installer (up to version 0.1.4 / Release 6)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Read This First!
PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 5:39 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 1:55 pm
Posts: 642
Location: Kraków, Poland
RaggieSoft wrote:
RadekK wrote:
On my PC altered graphics with OpenTTD works fine, without any problems :)


Hmm. I'd like to see some screen shots. Once I see more proof of it working, then I'll change the requirements.

No problem.


Attachments:
File comment: Altered graphics working :D
ottd.JPG
ottd.JPG [ 101.28 KiB | Viewed 6141 times ]

_________________
see my transportation photos on fotozajezdnia
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: Read This First!
PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 5:50 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Sat Mar 06, 2004 11:45 pm
Posts: 58
Location: Pierce County, Washington, USA
RadekK wrote:
No problem.


Not bad. Would anyone else support changing my installer's demands of unaltered graphics? Maybe I could set the install folder to ask for either the CD or your TTD installation folder. Here's what I plan to do:


* Set the folder to the D: drive (since it's the most typical CD Drive). Not found?
* Set the folder to the Windows Registry key. Not found?
* Leave the field blank

Any DOS TTD users out there? I'd like to know what the default install folder of the DOS version is. Also, what is the structure of the DOS version CD? This way, instead of leaving the field blank, I'll use the DOS install folder.

_________________
RaggieSoft - maker of the OpenTTD Installer (up to version 0.1.4 / Release 6)


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Mar 31, 2004 5:59 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 15, 2004 1:55 pm
Posts: 642
Location: Kraków, Poland
Default DOS TTD install dir is C:\MPS\TTDLX.
On my DOS TTD cd, grf files are in main CD directory.

_________________
see my transportation photos on fotozajezdnia


Last edited by vear on Wed Mar 31, 2004 6:01 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.