System Requirements?

OpenTTD is a fully open-sourced reimplementation of TTD, written in C++, boasting improved gameplay and many new features.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

Post Reply
User avatar
DanMacK
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3903
Joined: 27 Feb 2004 20:03
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

System Requirements?

Post by DanMacK » 07 Mar 2004 01:30

This may seem like a dumb question, but will OTTD work on any system the original TTD is compatible on? Also, does it cause any conflicts with an original version of TTD? As I'm running the DOS version under Win98, how would I go about running this? (Forgive my ignorance - It's been a long day and I'm tired...lol)

User avatar
Born Acorn
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 7571
Joined: 10 Dec 2002 20:36
Skype: Bornacorn
Location: Wrexham, Wales
Contact:

Post by Born Acorn » 07 Mar 2004 01:35

you NEED the windows smaple.cat and tg1r.grf files in the directory :!:

User avatar
DanMacK
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3903
Joined: 27 Feb 2004 20:03
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Post by DanMacK » 07 Mar 2004 01:58

Dangit - and where would I get those?

Otherwise, will it work on a 300MHzw/32B of RAM?

CobraA1
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 480
Joined: 07 Nov 2003 17:52
Location: USA

Post by CobraA1 » 07 Mar 2004 05:06

You'll need those files from your original TTDX game.

Actually, here's what you need, spelled correctly:

sample.cat
trg1r.grf
trgir.grf

Yes, one file has an "i" and the other a "1".

They're for music and graphics. Hopefully, somebody will create some"default" music and gfx for those who don't own TTDX? But for now, you must use TTDX's files.

As far as system requirements go, it's probably similar to TTDX - any Pentium with DirectX (or SDL).
"If a man does not keep pace with his companions, perhaps it is because he hears a different drummer. Let him step to the music he hears, however measured or far away" --Henry David Thoreau

User avatar
DanMacK
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3903
Joined: 27 Feb 2004 20:03
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Post by DanMacK » 07 Mar 2004 05:25

And these have to be the Windows Versions of these files? i.e. I'd need to DL a Windows version to get Open TTD to run?

CobraA1
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 480
Joined: 07 Nov 2003 17:52
Location: USA

Post by CobraA1 » 07 Mar 2004 05:34

I don't know, probably yes. Hopefully in the future that will change, though.
"If a man does not keep pace with his companions, perhaps it is because he hears a different drummer. Let him step to the music he hears, however measured or far away" --Henry David Thoreau

User avatar
Bart
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1110
Joined: 02 Mar 2003 13:43
Location: Stompetoren, the Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Bart » 07 Mar 2004 08:06

Yeah, we need custom graphics for that. For the vehicles, I doubt that will be a problem, but then we need a new interface, landscape, etc...
[url=CALLTO://Sgreehder]Image[/url]

User avatar
Roman
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 312
Joined: 12 Oct 2003 17:16
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by Roman » 07 Mar 2004 09:35

I suggest we first make sure that it runs correctly, because there are still some bugs, such as wrong graphics at the bottom when playing in a higher resolution or wrong tree sprites on snow level. I addition, I'd find it nice if all the bugs of TTD (listed here) could be fixed before adding new features, just for reasons of order. Otherwise we'll end up in an awful mess, I think.
Image

User avatar
Roman
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 312
Joined: 12 Oct 2003 17:16
Location: Switzerland
Contact:

Post by Roman » 07 Mar 2004 10:24

To come back to the topic: It works on my PII/380 Mhz notebook with 64 MB RAM without Problems.
Image

User avatar
Hyronymus
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 13189
Joined: 03 Dec 2002 10:36
Location: The Netherlands
Contact:

Post by Hyronymus » 07 Mar 2004 11:02

I don't understand why you only need two grf-files, there are 3 grf-files with climate-specific sprites. Aren't we forgetting trgcr.grf?

User avatar
Dinges
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2865
Joined: 07 Jan 2003 18:00
Location: Fryslân Boppe!
Contact:

Post by Dinges » 07 Mar 2004 11:07

You'll need all grf files to play all landscape types.

And it runs fine on a 233mhz 64mb RAM PC
Dinges

Who is the other person in me?

my Blog (dutch) - my Last.fm profile

Owner of http://ttdgraphics.cjb.net/ ! Temp addr: http://ttdgraphics.owenrudge.com/

User avatar
Killer 11
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2452
Joined: 06 Jan 2004 18:38
Location: Kaunas, Lithuania
Contact:

Post by Killer 11 » 07 Mar 2004 12:14

It works great on my dad's pentium 180MHZ 48MB ram 4mb video card :P

User avatar
Born Acorn
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 7571
Joined: 10 Dec 2002 20:36
Skype: Bornacorn
Location: Wrexham, Wales
Contact:

Post by Born Acorn » 07 Mar 2004 15:01

DanMacK, you should download it when they actually implement something new, like higher tunnels.

Now, its just your average windows version of TTD

User avatar
vear
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 643
Joined: 15 Jan 2004 13:55
Location: Kraków, Poland
Contact:

Post by vear » 07 Mar 2004 19:19

Celeron 2,4 GHz & 512 DDRAM works fine :mrgreen: . Even faster than normal TTD4Win
see my transportation photos on fotozajezdnia

SHADOW-XIII
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 13749
Joined: 09 Jan 2003 08:37

Post by SHADOW-XIII » 07 Mar 2004 20:04

Born Acorn wrote:DanMacK, you should download it when they actually implement something new, like higher tunnels.

Now, its just your average windows version of TTD
In my opinion first they should try add TTDPatch features/compatibility and then they should try add something more
what are you looking at? it's a signature!

User avatar
DanMacK
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3903
Joined: 27 Feb 2004 20:03
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Post by DanMacK » 07 Mar 2004 23:15

Well, it works fine on my system - I downloaded it last night. As you say, it's pretty much a basic port of TTDWin. Still, it offers so many possibilities for expansion.

Still, it's remarkable what Ludde's done. Now...any way to prevent the game from starting in 2023... :lol:

User avatar
Killer 11
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2452
Joined: 06 Jan 2004 18:38
Location: Kaunas, Lithuania
Contact:

Post by Killer 11 » 08 Mar 2004 13:28

download the latest version from this forum and it will start in 1950

Ps it's in New release topic
NOTE you will need to copy signalsw.grf into the exe folder too.

Post Reply

Return to “General OpenTTD”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 3 guests