Changing NewGRFs in scenarios / ingame

OpenTTD is a fully open-sourced reimplementation of TTD, written in C++, boasting improved gameplay and many new features.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

SonicTTD
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 19
Joined: 03 Feb 2010 21:12

Re: Changing NewGRFs in scenarios / ingame

Post by SonicTTD »

Sorry,

But I have to point this out once again because you still dont understand! Please now, read this closely:

I don't want to keep people from breaking their games by adding or changing newGRF AFTER they started a new game, I want to make sure THEY KNOW they cant change stuff after they started a game BEFORE THIS HAPPENS EVEN THE FIRST TIME, -> So that they don't run into a such frustrating position like I got into where I noticed that my game got evily hard because I just didnt set it up right!

Its a little shool everyone needs to know how powerful and also not so much making happy this system can be like at its current state!

Alberth
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 4763
Joined: 09 Sep 2007 05:03
Location: home

Re: Changing NewGRFs in scenarios / ingame

Post by Alberth »

How is that different than generating with the wrong map size, unlucky landscape, wrong climate, wrong year, wrong city, industry density, and probably a few others I forgot now?

In all these cases, you cannot change it after you started.

Supercheese
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1660
Joined: 16 Dec 2007 22:24
Location: Idaho, USA

Re: Changing NewGRFs in scenarios / ingame

Post by Supercheese »

I, for one, would support a text notice or "help" button somewhere obvious in the newgrf window that has a quick explanation of what newGRFs are, a reference to the "online content" button to download newgrfs, how to add them to the list, an explanation that the newgrfs must be added to the list before a new game is started for them to take effect, and other such relevant data. A first-time-run notice like the mockup posted earlier (although I don't like the glaring red) would work too. This, as mentioned, would help inform new users about the newgrf system. Heck, even a button that links to the relevant wiki page would be helpful.
Eyecandy Road Vehicles | Fake Subways | Supercheese's NewObjects

"Fashions and cultures change, but steam trains shall always be majestic."
-Professor Hershel Layton

User avatar
FLHerne
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1541
Joined: 12 Jul 2011 12:09
Location: St Ives, Cambs, UK

Re: Changing NewGRFs in scenarios / ingame

Post by FLHerne »

Alberth wrote:How is that different than generating with the wrong map size, unlucky landscape, wrong climate, wrong year, wrong city, industry density, and probably a few others I forgot now?
Most of those have behaviour and consequences that should be obvious when changing the setting - anyone reducing 'industry density' should be able to realise that the game will be harder. All climates are playable under normal conditions, and I would suggest a warning for 'Date < 1950'.

The effects of NewGRFs are much harder to predict, especially the many that don't have a readme. For example, how is a new user supposed to know that UKRS2's (and most other GRF trainsets') purchase and running costs are vastly higher than the default ones? Or that they need a NewGrf vehicle set when using almost any industry grf? Or that multiple industry grfs break each other...except the many ECS ones that don't?

None of these things are explained anywhere, nor can they be inferred from any information available in OpenTTD, so I would support the addition of an in-game 'NewGRF FAQ'-style page. Of course it couldn't cover things specific to individual NewGRFs, but it could at least warn new players about some common pitfalls.

P.S. - I'm not an OpenTTD noob now, and haven't been for several years now, but I do still remember my first try at NewGRFs. I added the 2cc set, thought "Why the **** do all these vehicles cost so much!?", bought a couple, and then went bust within five years...

Also, not that long ago I wrote this wall-of-text post about NewGRFs, which is entirely not what I'd want to see in OTTD. It's far too long and tedious.
Temporary Permanent signature filling text. Content coming soon delayed indefinitely! Oh, and I have had a screenshot thread.
Linux user (XMonad DWM/KDE, Arch), IRC obsessive and rail enthusiast. No longer building robots; now I ring church bells.
Author of an incredibly boring stickied post about NewGRFs.

gravelpit
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 20
Joined: 26 Feb 2015 14:49
Location: Poland

Re: Changing NewGRFs in scenarios / ingame

Post by gravelpit »

About chanching newgrf in game ...i remamber when changing whas easy but dont know what wose the version openttd ,now you can change discryption in openttd directory files ....Scenario_developer from false to true or cross that dont remembre. But now i play on android end i'm pist that can't change it!!! If someone know givet to me 😣😣

User avatar
kamnet
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7258
Joined: 28 Sep 2009 17:15
Location: Eastern KY
Contact:

Re: Changing NewGRFs in scenarios / ingame

Post by kamnet »

gravelpit wrote:
17 Apr 2020 09:34
About chanching newgrf in game ...i remamber when changing whas easy but dont know what wose the version openttd ,now you can change discryption in openttd directory files ....Scenario_developer from false to true or cross that dont remembre. But now i play on android end i'm pist that can't change it!!! If someone know givet to me 😣😣
It's the same way, the Adroid port is a direct port. But you'll probably need a physical keyboard and mouse attached to your device.

gravelpit
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 20
Joined: 26 Feb 2015 14:49
Location: Poland

Re: Changing NewGRFs in scenarios / ingame

Post by gravelpit »

Sorry but in adroid cant found directory file like in windows

C:/Users/Documents/OpenTTD

Android have difrent specyfication!

User avatar
planetmaker
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 9414
Joined: 07 Nov 2007 22:44
Location: Sol d

Re: Changing NewGRFs in scenarios / ingame

Post by planetmaker »

I install stuff to my SD card and find OpenTTD under the default place where you find in similar folders the data of other applications, too. So nothing strange:

SD-Card -> Android -> data -> org.openttd.sdl -> files -> .openttd

gravelpit
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 20
Joined: 26 Feb 2015 14:49
Location: Poland

Re: Changing NewGRFs in scenarios / ingame

Post by gravelpit »

planetmaker wrote:
27 Apr 2020 10:34
I install stuff to my SD card and find OpenTTD under the default place where you find in similar folders the data of other applications, too. So nothing strange:

SD-Card -> Android -> data -> org.openttd.sdl -> files -> .openttd
Exaclly but what eals you dont have data file to change scenario developer dont make mess
You cant do it like this!

User avatar
planetmaker
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 9414
Joined: 07 Nov 2007 22:44
Location: Sol d

Re: Changing NewGRFs in scenarios / ingame

Post by planetmaker »

Get yourself a file system browser on your phone and a text file editor and all config settings are yours to change. E.g. TotalCommander is (also) available for Android.

gravelpit
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 20
Joined: 26 Feb 2015 14:49
Location: Poland

Re: Changing NewGRFs in scenarios / ingame

Post by gravelpit »

planetmaker wrote:
30 Apr 2020 13:25
Get yourself a file system browser on your phone and a text file editor and all config settings are yours to change. E.g. TotalCommander is (also) available for Android.
Im usin total commander and this files are emty you can change only scenari,heightmaps,newgrf,music and maby some one not importent

gravelpit
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 20
Joined: 26 Feb 2015 14:49
Location: Poland

Re: Changing NewGRFs in scenarios / ingame

Post by gravelpit »

gravelpit wrote:
05 May 2020 06:50
planetmaker wrote:
30 Apr 2020 13:25
Get yourself a file system browser on your phone and a text file editor and all config settings are yours to change. E.g. TotalCommander is (also) available for Android.
Im usin total commander and this files are emty you can change only scenari,heightmaps,newgrf,music and maby some one not importent
If you mean file openttd.sdl \file\game\libre or anything else theare is nothing important ,write what about file you to change scenario_developerscript...?

gravelpit
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 20
Joined: 26 Feb 2015 14:49
Location: Poland

Re: Changing NewGRFs in scenarios / ingame

Post by gravelpit »

gravelpit wrote:
05 May 2020 10:17
gravelpit wrote:
05 May 2020 06:50
planetmaker wrote:
30 Apr 2020 13:25
Get yourself a file system browser on your phone and a text file editor and all config settings are yours to change. E.g. TotalCommander is (also) available for Android.
Why you just write open file openttd.cfg !

User avatar
planetmaker
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 9414
Joined: 07 Nov 2007 22:44
Location: Sol d

Re: Changing NewGRFs in scenarios / ingame

Post by planetmaker »

Please don't double-post. Instead edit your previous posting.

Additionally I have no clue what you are trying to say. So please, at the same time, edit your posting for clarity.

Post Reply

Return to “General OpenTTD”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 17 guests