Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Sat Dec 15, 2018 9:59 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 
Author Message
 Post subject: England and Wales SCN
PostPosted: Fri Aug 14, 2009 12:04 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun May 31, 2009 7:37 pm
Posts: 10
Heres the place to discuss my England and Wales Scn. I know theres a load of places missing but i am working on it everyday if you live somewhere in the map and want your place added list it here along with any other suggestions for the SCN

Thanks DX


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Aug 14, 2009 4:39 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Dec 07, 2005 7:22 pm
Posts: 272
I think, perhaps, the scenarios and savegame board would get you more interest. :)

_________________
Denver & Rio Grande Railroad AI


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Aug 14, 2009 8:22 am 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Fri May 18, 2007 12:47 pm
Posts: 485
Location: Oxford
And a link/attatchment to said scenario would be mighty handy.

_________________
Real Tycoons do it on Trains!

JAMI: Just Another Moronic Intelligence


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Aug 14, 2009 11:42 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2009 11:41 am
Posts: 4
Tidy, I'd love to try this


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Aug 14, 2009 3:12 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun May 31, 2009 7:37 pm
Posts: 10
for anyone who can't use the available online content in game here you go and yes please could admin move this topic to the right place as im a forum noob (too busy in game )


Last edited by Dreamxtreme on Sun Aug 23, 2009 4:11 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Aug 23, 2009 3:08 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun May 31, 2009 7:37 pm
Posts: 10
Its Very quiet in here. Can people please let me know about any errors ive made or their comments

I'm now on 0.3 update because 0.2 had Industry problems and ive added Stoke and around that area

Enjoy!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Aug 23, 2009 4:11 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun May 31, 2009 7:37 pm
Posts: 10
0.4 just finished added the places in Lincolnshire and corrected names and locations


Last edited by Dreamxtreme on Tue Sep 01, 2009 8:55 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Aug 25, 2009 11:44 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Fri Aug 14, 2009 11:41 am
Posts: 4
I like the scenario but some of the cities seems a little large?

I'll play a little more and leave some feedback.

Thanks for posting it!


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Aug 25, 2009 4:44 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed Jan 21, 2009 12:24 pm
Posts: 72
It looks like it could be quite a good map but there's a few things I thought I'd mention. The industries are either extremely sparse or way over the top. The IOW for example has 5 oil refineries amongst the multitude of industries on there.

How about having less industries and have them in areas that are more famous for having those industries. And I personally aren't a huge fan of maps with massive towns. I like to start off small and build them up. I know some of the towns like London are large in real life but maybe if the map started in say 1950 then it'd be more fun/challenging.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Aug 25, 2009 4:49 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 25, 2009 4:42 pm
Posts: 2364
Location: Location, Location
BUG: Ipswich has no t

_________________
AroAI - A really feeble attempt at an AI

It is practically impossible to teach good programming to students that have had a prior exposure to BASIC: as potential programmers they are mentally mutilated beyond hope of regeneration. --Edsger Dijkstra


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Aug 25, 2009 10:18 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2009 6:36 pm
Posts: 2379
Location: Alberta, Canada
Are we just supposed to guess which version of OpenTTD this was made with ?

_________________
Image
Total Alpine Replacement Set: Industry, Town, Objects
**ATTENTION**: If anyone would like me to help draw snow stages in any of their GRFs let me know. I genuinely enjoy drawing them.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2009 8:43 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun May 31, 2009 7:37 pm
Posts: 10
what does it matter what version that is was made with its a very basic map and no dependencies. If you run the latest like most people do you'll be fine


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Aug 28, 2009 8:52 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 25, 2007 5:03 pm
Posts: 2185
Location: ~/
Dreamxtreme wrote:
what does it matter what version that is was made with its a very basic map and no dependencies. If you run the latest like most people do you'll be fine

It does matter. A lot.

There is probably 50-ish different patchpacks/special builds of OpenTTD out there, used by a lot of people. If you are running a recent nightly, or the latest Stable version, just say so. It's quite simple, actually. Just say "I used OpenTTD 0.7.1".

And also, "the latest" is not an OpenTTD build.

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Aug 30, 2009 4:31 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun May 31, 2009 7:37 pm
Posts: 10
ah yes now that i think about it you are correct i was just a little annoyed of how he asked. :roll:

I always run the most recent standard stable build as i do not know of any other special builds or such so i will write the latest version which currently is 0.7.2 into the info on the Scenario


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Aug 31, 2009 10:52 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2009 6:36 pm
Posts: 2379
Location: Alberta, Canada
Quote:
i was just a little annoyed of how he asked.

Well, people aren't going to play it if they keep getting errors about a mismatch in version are they ? How was I, or anyone else for that matter, supposed to know that you always run the latest stable ?

_________________
Image
Total Alpine Replacement Set: Industry, Town, Objects
**ATTENTION**: If anyone would like me to help draw snow stages in any of their GRFs let me know. I genuinely enjoy drawing them.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Sep 01, 2009 9:00 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun May 31, 2009 7:37 pm
Posts: 10
0.6 Added and should supply everyone with the right information heres the info for the map. please read before you download

England and Wales Layout and Cities taken from the Hightmap

Made in: Openttd 0.7.2 Stable (Normal Build)

NewGRFS needed for best experience:
UK Renewal Set 3.4 , UK Renewal Set Addon Pack 3.4 , UK Roadset 1.1a , Generic Cars 0.2 , TaI UK Houses 0.2

Update Changes: Added even more places around the map
Made By: Dreamxtreme
Map Size: 2048x2048
Starting Year : 1975

You need to unzip BOTH files before you play them as its over 4MB it wont fit on here as a single file


Attachments:
England&Wales.part1.rar [3.3 MiB]
Downloaded 635 times
England&Wales.part2.rar [1017.24 KiB]
Downloaded 576 times


Last edited by Dreamxtreme on Mon Sep 14, 2009 5:42 pm, edited 2 times in total.
Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Sep 07, 2009 11:39 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator

Joined: Wed Sep 20, 2006 11:43 pm
Posts: 330
Location: UK
can you post the height map you used to generate this?#

thanks


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 17 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 2 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.