Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Mon Nov 20, 2017 2:27 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2008 10:43 am 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2004 2:56 pm
Posts: 132
Location: 10.0.1.254
Hello,
#openttdcoop created a new game mode: the Scenario Quest/Competition. Every month we will release a new, tricky and difficult scenario to play. You can take part at the competition, because we are searching for the cleverest solutions. The winner will be awarded and placed in the HoF.

Of course you can just download and play the scenario too. But if you get in touch, you might sign up for the competition.

Get more information + download of the game at: http://openttdcoop.ppcis.org/osqc/
or read at the teasers:
http://openttdcoop.ppcis.org/blog/2008/ ... c-is-here/
http://openttdcoop.ppcis.org/blog/2007/ ... mpetition/

We are still searching for judges which feel able and have the time to analyse and judge the submitted games. Contact us via forum, irc, pm or email (ottdcoop@ppcis.org)

Enjoy the Game

_________________
Image

Image
#openttdcoop blog | #openttdcoop wiki | #openttdcoop public server | #openttdcoop member zone | #openttdcoop networking guides |
#openttdcoop Scenario Quest/Competition


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2008 8:04 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2007 11:53 am
Posts: 191
Looks like a nice challenge.

I do have a question about the cargoes. You have Pikka's industries, but no road vehicles or ships to support some of the new cargo (fuel oil and plastic). Is this intended?


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2008 8:35 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2004 2:56 pm
Posts: 132
Location: 10.0.1.254
Youri219 wrote:
Looks like a nice challenge.

I do have a question about the cargoes. You have Pikka's industries, but no road vehicles or ships to support some of the new cargo (fuel oil and plastic). Is this intended?


RVs and ships are not intended to be the main transport options. Cargo should go went through the bottleneck via train.
I updated the vehicle settings:
max_trains: 2500
max_rv: 250
max_airplanes: 10
max_ships: 10

_________________
Image

Image
#openttdcoop blog | #openttdcoop wiki | #openttdcoop public server | #openttdcoop member zone | #openttdcoop networking guides |
#openttdcoop Scenario Quest/Competition


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2008 8:52 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 9:07 pm
Posts: 1710
Location: Czech Republic
Looks nice, but are there any set rules? Like what openttd versions have to be used, whether I can change the settings (and which of them) or whether I can't, or if there are any other limitations ...

_________________
If you need something, do it yourself or it will be never done.

My patches: Extra large maps (1048576 high, 1048576 wide) (FS#1059), Vehicle + Town + Industry console commands (FS#1060), few minor patches (FS#2820, FS#1521, FS#2837, FS#2843), AI debugging facility

Other: Very large ships NewGRF, Bilbo's multiplayer patch pack v5 (for OpenTTD 0.7.3)


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2008 8:57 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2007 11:53 am
Posts: 191
I've encountered another problem. Due to stockpiling you simply can't transport everything (except when building a new industry).

What to do with newly built industries, should those be served as well?

EDIT: I'll try the new version.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2008 9:01 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 11:07 am
Posts: 20
Location: War Saw ;)
And what about terraforming? It says on the webpage that we should use the terrain.
OK, that's kind of challenge not to flatten all the land ;), but sometimes you have to change the terrain a little bit... how will you judge that?


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2008 9:17 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2004 2:56 pm
Posts: 132
Location: 10.0.1.254
Bilbo wrote:
Looks nice, but are there any set rules? Like what openttd versions have to be used, whether I can change the settings (and which of them) or whether I can't, or if there are any other limitations ...

I'll write down the Terms of Playing as soon as possible. The game limitations should be set within the patches, but there are only a few important like vehicle limits, some economy things, the breakdown handling and city layout, station spread and some others.
It is not permitted to change those settings if you want to take part at the competition.
It is not permitted to change the difficulty settings of the game.


Versions to use are 0.6-beta2 or the latest nightlies.

Youri219 wrote:
I've encountered another problem. Due to stockpiling you simply can't transport everything (except when building a new industry).

What to do with newly built industries, should those be served as well?

EDIT: I'll try the new version.

If you really get in trouble you are allowed to build more industries close to the first one to increase the capacity. You could also try other systems like re-submitting.

Wookie wrote:
And what about terraforming? It says on the webpage that we should use the terrain.
OK, that's kind of challenge not to flatten all the land ;), but sometimes you have to change the terrain a little bit... how will you judge that?

Its a challenge, if you terraform less you might become better rating of the judges, if you terraform more you might not. It is not 'not-permitted' and it is not minimal or low terraforming. Give the game the perfect look and feel, that's the most important fact.


This first osqc is really beta, I appreciate all your help and thoughts. I am working hard to get all the stuff besides the scenarios done, if you have great ideas for the a osqc you might contact me. I really planned to have this monthly. Enough time for all the busy persons too.

Osai

_________________
Image

Image
#openttdcoop blog | #openttdcoop wiki | #openttdcoop public server | #openttdcoop member zone | #openttdcoop networking guides |
#openttdcoop Scenario Quest/Competition


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2008 9:48 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 9:07 pm
Posts: 1710
Location: Czech Republic
Also, what I have not found, is information about ending year. Can I submit game with state from 2050? Or is there some time limit, like no 2000 or later games accepted? Or there is no limit, but the earlier you have your game, the higher score?

_________________
If you need something, do it yourself or it will be never done.

My patches: Extra large maps (1048576 high, 1048576 wide) (FS#1059), Vehicle + Town + Industry console commands (FS#1060), few minor patches (FS#2820, FS#1521, FS#2837, FS#2843), AI debugging facility

Other: Very large ships NewGRF, Bilbo's multiplayer patch pack v5 (for OpenTTD 0.7.3)


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2008 10:52 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2004 3:28 pm
Posts: 313
And another question (poor Osai ;-)), is it allowed to destroy the given roads, bridges and tunnels?


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jan 01, 2008 10:55 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 11:07 am
Posts: 20
Location: War Saw ;)
Good question, Timitry. I have already destroyed part of the road in the bigger city in order to build large railway station :D


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jan 02, 2008 4:25 am 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2004 2:56 pm
Posts: 132
Location: 10.0.1.254
Timitry wrote:
And another question (poor Osai ;-)), is it allowed to destroy the given roads, bridges and tunnels?


It is.

_________________
Image

Image
#openttdcoop blog | #openttdcoop wiki | #openttdcoop public server | #openttdcoop member zone | #openttdcoop networking guides |
#openttdcoop Scenario Quest/Competition


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 03, 2008 6:27 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Sat Apr 28, 2007 11:53 am
Posts: 191
osai wrote:
If you really get in trouble you are allowed to build more industries close to the first one to increase the capacity. You could also try other systems like re-submitting.


You can't. Pikka's industries requires them to be built near a town (except in the scenario editor). As a matter of fact, you can not even build the required factory due to these limitations. Do you mind if I cheat the factory in by loading a save game into the scenario editor?

Re-submitting will only result in a station with a huge stock (which gets lost anyway I think).


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 03, 2008 6:42 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2004 2:56 pm
Posts: 132
Location: 10.0.1.254
You can build the factory. I updated the instructions, the factory must be in the area of 'Mounty Py Village'.

Bilbo wrote:
Also, what I have not found, is information about ending year. Can I submit game with state from 2050? Or is there some time limit, like no 2000 or later games accepted? Or there is no limit, but the earlier you have your game, the higher score?


I can't use criteria like that. It is very easy to manipulate the game-time via Editor. I.e. someone just turns back time 20 years and then starts the scenario. Facts like speed and money and all that stuff would be only interesting if we are not publishing the source and make the game only playable with a special build of osqc. But due to the license this is not possible.

_________________
Image

Image
#openttdcoop blog | #openttdcoop wiki | #openttdcoop public server | #openttdcoop member zone | #openttdcoop networking guides |
#openttdcoop Scenario Quest/Competition


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jan 03, 2008 7:58 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Dec 30, 2007 11:07 am
Posts: 20
Location: War Saw ;)
And what about the extra Steel Mill? This can't be done... :/


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jan 04, 2008 3:53 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 01, 2004 3:28 pm
Posts: 313
Are we maybe maybe allowed to activate the option "Allow drive-through station stops on town owned roads"?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jan 05, 2008 8:49 am 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Wed Sep 22, 2004 2:56 pm
Posts: 132
Location: 10.0.1.254
Wookie wrote:
And what about the extra Steel Mill? This can't be done... :/

If you really need it, build the steel mill at least on the same side as the current steel mill. In fact near 'lasoscena' town

Timitry wrote:
Are we maybe maybe allowed to activate the option "Allow drive-through station stops on town owned roads"?

Some people deleted all the roads etc. in the beginning to have an optimal game start. Means: You might turn it on. Anybody should care about this setting because its not a main task to have those stops.


Attachments:
File comment: You can build the 2nd steel mill here
2ndsteelmill.png [268.15 KiB]
Downloaded 140 times

_________________
Image

Image
#openttdcoop blog | #openttdcoop wiki | #openttdcoop public server | #openttdcoop member zone | #openttdcoop networking guides |
#openttdcoop Scenario Quest/Competition
Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 6:45 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jun 06, 2007 9:07 pm
Posts: 1710
Location: Czech Republic
osai wrote:
You can build the factory. I updated the instructions, the factory must be in the area of 'Mounty Py Village'.

Bilbo wrote:
Also, what I have not found, is information about ending year. Can I submit game with state from 2050? Or is there some time limit, like no 2000 or later games accepted? Or there is no limit, but the earlier you have your game, the higher score?


I can't use criteria like that. It is very easy to manipulate the game-time via Editor. I.e. someone just turns back time 20 years and then starts the scenario. Facts like speed and money and all that stuff would be only interesting if we are not publishing the source and make the game only playable with a special build of osqc. But due to the license this is not possible.


Technically, there could be many ways to cheat (changing settings, then playing, then change settings back before saving the "final" save), but some of these changes are detectable (Like if demolishing town-owned roads is forbiddent and in the final save, some roads originally owned by town are missing) and if they are not detectable, then it means you could have done that anyway, just perhaps in some harder way.
So people using any cheats either gets discovered or they won't help much themselves...

Also, the issue with time manipulation and such could be solved by requiring to play the scenario using multiplayer on one of your servers made up for that purpose (the server will make it sure no cheats of any kind are used), though it will be slightly less comfortable.

_________________
If you need something, do it yourself or it will be never done.

My patches: Extra large maps (1048576 high, 1048576 wide) (FS#1059), Vehicle + Town + Industry console commands (FS#1060), few minor patches (FS#2820, FS#1521, FS#2837, FS#2843), AI debugging facility

Other: Very large ships NewGRF, Bilbo's multiplayer patch pack v5 (for OpenTTD 0.7.3)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jan 06, 2008 11:08 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 10:44 pm
Posts: 9022
Location: Sol d
osai wrote:
Youri219 wrote:
Looks like a nice challenge.

I do have a question about the cargoes. You have Pikka's industries, but no road vehicles or ships to support some of the new cargo (fuel oil and plastic). Is this intended?


RVs and ships are not intended to be the main transport options. Cargo should go went through the bottleneck via train.
I updated the vehicle settings:
max_trains: 2500
max_rv: 250
max_airplanes: 10
max_ships: 10


Ahhhh! You killed my solution with this post! I've a couple of dozen ships running around, transporting the primaries from N to S, leaving the bottle neck for PAX and secondary...

_________________
Image
OpenTTD: manual | online content | translations | Wanted contributions and patches
#openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | DevZone | NewGRF web translator
DevZone - home of the free NewGRFs: OpenSFX | OpenMSX | OpenGFX | Swedish Rails | OpenGFX+ Trains|RV|Industries|Airports|Landscape | NML


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:31 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2008 5:44 am
Posts: 86
Location: Canada
Pardon my ignorance, but what GRF's do I need.

I just did a fresh install of Beta 2 because I usually play with the stable version and don't have any GRF's.

Thanks,


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jan 07, 2008 10:52 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Thu Dec 20, 2007 12:49 pm
Posts: 3653
ev.delen wrote:
Pardon my ignorance, but what GRF's do I need.

I just did a fresh install of Beta 2 because I usually play with the stable version and don't have any GRF's.

Thanks,

Just download the openttdcoop grf pack.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 26 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.