How To: Generate Superb Heightmaps :)

OpenTTD is a fully open-sourced reimplementation of TTD, written in C++, boasting improved gameplay and many new features.

Moderator: OpenTTD Developers

Timeflyer
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 123
Joined: 29 Feb 2016 15:24

Re: How To: Generate Superb Heightmaps :)

Post by Timeflyer » 25 Mar 2016 21:20

Try this one
Size: 1024x512
Attachments
TryNuna.png
(48.81 KiB) Not downloaded yet

Keplergamer
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 7
Joined: 04 Aug 2015 03:05

Re: How To: Generate Superb Heightmaps :)

Post by Keplergamer » 12 Jul 2016 05:51

An HM I made for Train Fever that can also work here. Expect more to come soon. Also. Transport-fever.net is a great source for PNG heightmaps.
Attachments
heightmap.png
(15.7 MiB) Not downloaded yet

Keplergamer
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 7
Joined: 04 Aug 2015 03:05

Re: How To: Generate Superb Heightmaps :)

Post by Keplergamer » 15 Jul 2016 20:59

Another 2, one with erosion applied and the other not. This time I tried to make it using a scale that suits OpenTTD maps, not train fever. OpenTTD 4k maps are like 30x bigger.

Try around 150-100 usable height for a 4K x 4K map.
Attachments
output terraces.png
(17.69 MiB) Not downloaded yet
output harsh.png
(22.73 MiB) Not downloaded yet
Last edited by Keplergamer on 16 Jul 2016 02:30, edited 1 time in total.

Eddi
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 7420
Joined: 17 Jan 2007 00:14

Re: How To: Generate Superb Heightmaps :)

Post by Eddi » 15 Jul 2016 21:06

you forgot the attachments.
You might not exactly be interested in Ferion, but if you are, have fun :)

Keplergamer
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 7
Joined: 04 Aug 2015 03:05

Re: How To: Generate Superb Heightmaps :)

Post by Keplergamer » 16 Jul 2016 02:31

Yeah, started uploading them right after I posted, but minimized the window and only saw it now.

User avatar
Mr Bruco
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 32
Joined: 21 Jul 2016 11:10

Re: How To: Generate Superb Heightmaps :)

Post by Mr Bruco » 23 Jul 2016 11:51

This is a video on how to create heightmap could be useful!

User avatar
NekoMaster
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3945
Joined: 16 Aug 2008 22:26
Skype: neko-master
Location: Oshawa, Ontario, CANADA

Re: How To: Generate Superb Heightmaps :)

Post by NekoMaster » 06 Oct 2016 00:39

The instructions on the first post don't seem to be working for me, I installed the SRTM thingy for Google Earth and nothing shows up. I'm using Google Earth Pro 7.1 on Windows 10 64-bit



Honestly though it'd be a hell of a lot easier if I could just find a nice big heightmap of Canada (2048x2048 and bigger) that includes the major rivers and waterbodies like lakes. I want to make a HUGE Canada scenario so that people like me can have fun trying to cover the expanses of Canada with roads and rails. I want a huge map so I can have the space to place most of the major towns and cities as well as space for industries.



If someone could help me get the data for all of Canada to make my own heightmap, or if someone could just generate a map for the entirety of Canada, either would be great (though the latter would be better since I have no idea what I'm doing with DEM and satellite stuff)

EDIT : It'd be nice if I could get this kinda detail for Canada's waterways as seen in this map http://kurld.com/images/canada-map/canada-map-04.jpg

I imagine that kinda detail may require a height map around 4096x4096.
Image Proud Canadian Image
Nekomasters Projects! (Downloads available on BaNaNaS!) \(>^w^<)/
# NARS ADD-ON SET 2CC | 2cc Rapid Transit For Me! (2ccRTFM) | 2cc Wagons In NML (2ccWIN)
# NML Category System (Organize your GRFS!) <- TT-Forums Exclusive Download!

User avatar
Andrex
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1308
Joined: 22 Nov 2002 05:08
Contact:

Re: How To: Generate Superb Heightmaps :)

Post by Andrex » 15 Jul 2018 00:21

Mr Bruco wrote:This is a video on how to create heightmap could be useful!
That's a great idea, +1

Bad Hair Day
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3134
Joined: 22 Oct 2005 21:01
Location: Leicester - Britland

Re: How To: Generate Superb Heightmaps :)

Post by Bad Hair Day » 03 Oct 2018 01:21

I've been creating heightmaps in World Machine, steadily learning as I go. I'm going to continue messing about with the program, but I think I'm done with this particular map. I may make a scenario from it in future but if anyone wants to use it, feel free. As the heightmap is a composite of sixteen 512x512 images there will be some minor issues at the seams, and the coastlines need some manual tweaking in some areas. The .tmd file of the world is included if anyone wants to tweak it further.
Attachments
v9.png
The Heightmap
(1.36 MiB) Not downloaded yet
screenshot#5.png
Example of the terrain generated
(800.25 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Heightmap 9.rar
TMD file in WinRAR archive
(71.04 KiB) Downloaded 71 times
My OpenTTD screenshot thread.

Formerly known as Lankku.

Bad Hair Day
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3134
Joined: 22 Oct 2005 21:01
Location: Leicester - Britland

Re: How To: Generate Superb Heightmaps :)

Post by Bad Hair Day » 09 Oct 2018 15:13

So I tried a different approach with World Machine, only to find what I was doing originally worked better, so I went back to working on the heightmap I posted before. With version 13 I have a heightmap I am satisfied with enough to turn into a scenario. I have figured out how to reduce differences between the tiled heightmaps by not using the erosion tool too much as at leads to significant differences at the borders of tiles. I may create a basic tutorial at some point because even the free version World Machine has a lot of potential for creating scenarios, despite its limitations.
Attachments
v13.png
(907.54 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Heightmap 13.rar
(73.46 KiB) Downloaded 67 times
screenshot#6.png
(825.14 KiB) Not downloaded yet
My OpenTTD screenshot thread.

Formerly known as Lankku.

User avatar
MAGNUM_PI
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 9
Joined: 01 Jun 2009 11:07
Location: Barcelona (Catalunya)

Re: How To: Generate Superb Heightmaps :)

Post by MAGNUM_PI » 24 Oct 2018 12:22

I am not able to make a height map. I followed the tutorial but SRTM 4.1 does not show me any option, drop down or button to download any DEM in Google Earth 7.3.2 (x64). In the drop-down, only "elevation", "logo" and "logo2" are shown, but nothing. It's strange, years ago I created a map of heights for Openttd and apart from simple, I do not remember having done all this, but the tutorial is from 2010, it had to be the same method. What am I doing wrong? Thank you.

User avatar
vesgo
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 51
Joined: 10 Sep 2004 17:06
Location: Switzerland

Re: How To: Generate Superb Heightmaps :)

Post by vesgo » 06 Feb 2019 09:50

Sorry for digging the post, but i figured it out how to generate the maps, using everything in the first post with the exception of google earth. (I Can explain it if anyone needs it)
Been playing with the tools, read all the topics related, i can get nice detailed maps but its missing something...
Just wondering if there is any tool like the The city import patch by Zydeco to import citys in an automated way or any update to this patch to do this.
Trying to refresh some maps and it would be cool to have this.

Thx in advance


skummel
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 73
Joined: 18 May 2002 19:03
Location: Randers - Denmark

Re: How To: Generate Superb Heightmaps :)

Post by skummel » 03 Mar 2019 10:03

I can give a little update
The DEM data from google Earth dont works, but i manage to get those i needed from http://srtm.csi.cgiar.org/srtmdata/
Choose the cell you want, make sure to move the dot from Geo TIFF to Esri ASCII
I choosed Tile 5x5 degree

Download , take a cup of coffe

Microdem , i downloaded one named Build 2019.1.11.1 and follow the guide in the first post how to raister and merge , worked fine
How can the same S*** happens to the same guy ----- twice

John McClane

Post Reply

Return to “General OpenTTD”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: chrisrose1993 and 4 guests