Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Sat Jul 21, 2018 9:57 am

All times are UTC




Forum locked  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 38 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Wed Jan 14, 2004 12:41 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2003 8:00 am
Posts: 1787
Location: NSW, Australia
A new "moon" climate



When the 22nd century comes you should be able to switch between two "maps"


Whatever climate and the moon



On the moon you could transport passengers to other conolys or passengers from earth to moon or vice versa


You could transport minerals from mines to factorys and water to colonies

You could get shuttles and moon trains :lol:


What do you think?

_________________
Great Game Websites to Visit

http://www.cybernations.net
http://www.lunarwars.net


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 14, 2004 8:53 am 
Online
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2002 10:36 am
Posts: 13174
Location: The Netherlands
What did you eat :wink: ? I don't think this makes sense, you should have a missile launch site to get your company to the moon first. And I'm afraid you need awful good brakes...

_________________
Image
Dutch Trainset for OpenTTD | Dutch Trainset Topic | Combined Roadset v0.10


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 14, 2004 10:00 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Oct 09, 2003 2:00 pm
Posts: 5762
Location: Nordland, Norway
Hyronymus wrote:
And I'm afraid you need awful good brakes...


I don't think so, the weight is lowered but the friction stays the same, meaning brakes will improve.

I like the suggestion :)

_________________
Alcohol is not the answer, it just makes you forget the question.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 14, 2004 10:06 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2003 2:51 pm
Posts: 3849
Location: Broadstone, Dorset
WRONG!
The weight is reduced to about 1/6 yes - but weight is not used in calculating acc'n - mass is. This will stay the same.
The friction is where the weight comes in -
Friction = (coefficient of friction) x (Normal reaction)
When travelling on flat ground, (Normal Reaction) = Weight.
Therefore friction is reduced to 1/6 while mass stays the same, so they'll take 6 times as long to stop.

_________________
ImageDownloadsImageWikiImageLinks
Image Image Image Image Image


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 14, 2004 10:27 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Tue Nov 25, 2003 12:13 pm
Posts: 20
Location: Nottingham, UK
Not if you use maglevs! Then you're just braking using magnetic fields parallel to the direction of travel. Voila, weight is not important. And mass stays the same, so acceleration and decelleration happen at the same speeds - but a lot less energy is needed to keep the maglev floating. I'm basing all this on the TransRapid system, of course :)


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 14, 2004 10:33 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2003 2:51 pm
Posts: 3849
Location: Broadstone, Dorset
Well MagLevs are a totally different system - you can just increase the power of the brakes to slow it down faster. On conventional rails increasing the effectiveness of the brakes would just lead to a skid.

_________________
ImageDownloadsImageWikiImageLinks
Image Image Image Image Image


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 14, 2004 12:50 pm 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Fri Jan 17, 2003 9:52 am
Posts: 420
If there is seriously work done on the moon climate (painting images etc) I'd be interested to integrate this into Simutrans, too.

Said the other way round: If you want to create a moon climate, and Simutrans is ok for you, just contact me. I'm very interested in new climates for Simutrans. But our manpower is too small, we need more help to create additional climates.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 14, 2004 4:17 pm 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor

Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2003 6:36 pm
Posts: 441
Location: The Codecave
I think the 'dual' approach (transporting passengers/goods from earth to moon) is not really something you would definitely want to see in a transport game. I'd rather put work in some other features already requested (even though this is looking quite far into the future).

A moon climate on itself (even with it's own type of vehicles) will be possible within the current ideas. But as hyronymus said, a link between two maps would require a launch facility, and internally it would require something to register 'where' a train is for example, and adjust it's behaviour to that.
I say it's too much and would require too many changes.

_________________
"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding." - Albert Einstein


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 14, 2004 4:56 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2002 3:08 pm
Posts: 8684
Location: Enschede, The Netherlands
Hmm I actually supplied that same idea for TE... Space exploration with the ability to switch between maps.

_________________
GoneWacko. Making #tycoon sexy and exciting since 1784.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 14, 2004 6:44 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed Dec 24, 2003 5:00 pm
Posts: 7
Location: the Netherlands
You can say a lot about it but I like it!


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 14, 2004 8:02 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 04, 2003 11:00 am
Posts: 2720
Location: Torquay, England
TBOT -> I was thinking how about just make it so when you get to 2100 or whenever, "unlock" the hidden moon climate which you can get to by starting a new game.

_________________
<!-- End Of Post !-->
Image


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Jan 14, 2004 9:54 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2003 8:00 am
Posts: 1787
Location: NSW, Australia
You could have a shuttle be "lanuched" and dissappear and than reappear on the moon where it would load/unload than take off and so on



Prahaps you can scroll through the abyss to go to the moon :lol:

_________________
Great Game Websites to Visit



http://www.cybernations.net

http://www.lunarwars.net


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2004 12:47 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 04, 2003 11:00 am
Posts: 2720
Location: Torquay, England
The problem with launching is the isometric viewpoint. The rocket or whatever wouldn't appear to get smaller as it went up, and if it just dissapeard in the air it would look strange.

_________________
<!-- End Of Post !-->

Image


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2004 3:49 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 10, 2002 3:08 pm
Posts: 8684
Location: Enschede, The Netherlands
Hmm... To be honest, I was planning on giving Moon landscape a go once I am finished with the TTOD project... Maybe even with new trains... Not sure... Planning it a lot... It would mean having a new track type to play with though... Monorail, Mag-Lev + something else I guess... Even faster/slower... :roll:

Trees would have to be replaced by rocks... but Rocks don't grow ^^ So I should just remove them...

/me jots it all down... :)

_________________
GoneWacko. Making #tycoon sexy and exciting since 1784.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2004 5:24 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive

Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2003 7:35 am
Posts: 655
Location: Cambridge, England
Simple enough. On the moon there is no atmosphere, and so craters would be able to appear and them fill with dust.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2004 8:38 pm 
Offline
Cymedrolwr
Cymedrolwr
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2002 8:36 pm
Posts: 7571
Skype: Bornacorn
Location: Wrexham, Wales
you should be able to get loads and loads of money for Inter-planetary transport (just a spaceship taking off vertically and leaving screen, then clicking the 'earth button' and watch it land on reeaaaly long runway

_________________
Image
FacebookFlickr PhotosBlogTwitterHosting


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Jan 15, 2004 11:50 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2003 8:00 am
Posts: 1787
Location: NSW, Australia
BobXP wrote:
The problem with launching is the isometric viewpoint. The rocket or whatever wouldn't appear to get smaller as it went up, and if it just dissapeard in the air it would look strange.



You could have a shuttle rising... rising..... dissapear

Switch to moon veiw appear.... lowering...lowering.......landing


Kind of like planes in TTD

So it wouldn't look strange (unless TTD planes are)

_________________
Great Game Websites to Visit



http://www.cybernations.net

http://www.lunarwars.net


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 16, 2004 10:15 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 20, 2003 5:11 pm
Posts: 1645
Location: Budapest - Theresienstadt, Hungary
That's a good idea! I was wondering on this 5-6 years ago...If this is unlimited, then, why not?! It could be done! And, you could have new industries, such as oxygen generator &c. And then trees could grow. Maybe some terra- (or rather luna-)forming units? But it sounds very Alpha Centauri-like...But it'd be different since you have to transport goods and passengers. Maybe there could be a new disaster: meteor hit!

_________________
Indivisibiliter ac inseparabiliter


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 16, 2004 10:22 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2003 2:51 pm
Posts: 3849
Location: Broadstone, Dorset
I had previously not really like this idea - but then I realised that this would effectively give you a whole new map to play on towards the end of the game when you've connected up all of the industries and towns on the map and you're just optimising the network and upgrading trains.

_________________
ImageDownloadsImageWikiImageLinks
Image Image Image Image Image


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 16, 2004 11:29 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 04, 2003 11:00 am
Posts: 2720
Location: Torquay, England
Endre wrote:
That's a good idea! I was wondering on this 5-6 years ago...If this is unlimited, then, why not?! It could be done! And, you could have new industries, such as oxygen generator &c. And then trees could grow. Maybe some terra- (or rather luna-)forming units? But it sounds very Alpha Centauri-like...But it'd be different since you have to transport goods and passengers. Maybe there could be a new disaster: meteor hit!


And where on the Moon does oxygen come from? It can't. You need to either grab it from Earth, or from stars, or manufacture it using nuclear reactors. The first would make Earth's atmosphere thinner, the second is very risky, and the third could create radiation and wipe out half the pl- er, moon. Think people think! REALISM!!!!!!!!!!! :!: :!:

_________________
<!-- End Of Post !-->

Image


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 38 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.