Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Sat Dec 16, 2017 1:35 am

All times are UTC




Forum locked  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 88 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 Next
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 26, 2003 2:20 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2003 2:51 pm
Posts: 3849
Location: Broadstone, Dorset
Maybe have it as a announcement if a train does not make a delivery in 6/12 months?


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 26, 2003 7:01 pm 
Offline
Cymedrolwr
Cymedrolwr
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2002 8:36 pm
Posts: 7571
Skype: Bornacorn
Location: Wrexham, Wales
new kind of message?



Train 5 is not profitable

_________________
Image
FacebookFlickr PhotosBlogTwitterHosting


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Wed Nov 26, 2003 8:17 pm 
Offline
Retired Moderator
Retired Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 28, 2002 7:08 am
Posts: 20670
Location: Belgium
The new sort by profit does that :wink:


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 27, 2003 12:37 am 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor

Joined: Fri Nov 07, 2003 5:52 pm
Posts: 480
Location: USA
I hope the the track laying will be better than TTD: In TTD, straight (well, straight relative to the isometric grid) tracks can be layed in long lengths, but diagonal tracks must be layed one at a time. I hope taht TTS will have something better - perhaps like Sim City 2000/3000? Where you can build diagonal roads/tracks without a lot of clicking.

_________________
"If a man does not keep pace with his companions, perhaps it is because he hears a different drummer. Let him step to the music he hears, however measured or far away" --Henry David Thoreau


Top
   
 
PostPosted: Thu Nov 27, 2003 10:36 am 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor

Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2003 6:36 pm
Posts: 441
Location: The Codecave
CobraA1 wrote:
I hope the the track laying will be better than TTD: In TTD, straight (well, straight relative to the isometric grid) tracks can be layed in long lengths, but diagonal tracks must be layed one at a time. I hope taht TTS will have something better - perhaps like Sim City 2000/3000? Where you can build diagonal roads/tracks without a lot of clicking.

Well known problem :)
In TTS diagonal track can be dragged over a longer distance too.

_________________
"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding." - Albert Einstein


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 27, 2003 10:37 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2003 2:51 pm
Posts: 3849
Location: Broadstone, Dorset
What about track removal?

Will that be draggable too?

_________________
ImageDownloadsImageWikiImageLinks
Image Image Image Image Image


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 27, 2003 11:04 am 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor

Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2003 6:36 pm
Posts: 441
Location: The Codecave
Prof. Frink wrote:
What about track removal?

Will that be draggable too?


Guess so, if we can make draggable track laying I think that's easy too :).

The actual idea of draggable didn't pop in our minds though. But we did had the idea of a draggable destruction tool.

_________________
"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding." - Albert Einstein


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 27, 2003 11:10 am 
Offline
TTDPatch Developer
TTDPatch Developer
User avatar

Joined: Fri Mar 07, 2003 1:10 pm
Posts: 3602
Location: Germany
Chris Sawyers could add drag-remove to TTD, but he didn't because he was to confused by his own code I think ;)


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 27, 2003 3:52 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2003 2:51 pm
Posts: 3849
Location: Broadstone, Dorset
eis_os wrote:
Chris Sawyers could add drag-remove to TTD, but he didn't because he was to confused by his own code I think ;)
Does that mean it would be possible (but not necessarily easy) to implement via TTDPatch (And yes I know... Wrong forum...)
[Back on topic: TTS suggestions]
Another idea I had while reading this topic was to have 'buildonslopes' as a separate tool (Called "terraces" or something), you would click the tool on a square and it would raise and place the terraces to make it flat without affecting the squares around it, it would then act like normal flat groud, except for the raise/lower land tools.

_________________
ImageDownloadsImageWikiImageLinks
Image Image Image Image Image


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 27, 2003 3:56 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 1:58 am
Posts: 11772
Location: Washington DC, USA
Naaahhh, I think it's better to just have the terraces automatically built under whatever needs them. Basically it's just the bridges, everything else already works that way in the Patch.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Thu Nov 27, 2003 10:47 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jan 08, 2003 11:09 pm
Posts: 333
Location: Copenhagen, Denmark
Or maybe you could have the terraces being built automatically if they were required for some operation, but also a tool to build them manually. I don't know how useful that would be, maybe mostly for looks. But it might be possible then to make the terraces stay even after destroying whatever was on top of them, ie. for re-using them. (Not wasting money having first to remove them and then rebuild them shortly after, if you're eg. rebuilding a section of track.)


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 28, 2003 12:10 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sun Oct 26, 2003 6:32 pm
Posts: 1050
Location: Somerset, UK
I notice you talk about compiling ideas on here and your other forum. Havign compiled all the suggestiosn for TM/TE I suggest that if you want this you start sooner rather than later. It takes a surpising amount of time to read, interpret, cehck if it is a duplicate, and then write each idea. The TM suggestions document is the culmination of about 14 hours work all together.

Chris

_________________
Anything can be achieved if you don't care who gets the credit
--Author Unknown


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 28, 2003 4:34 pm 
Offline
Cymedrolwr
Cymedrolwr
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 10, 2002 8:36 pm
Posts: 7571
Skype: Bornacorn
Location: Wrexham, Wales
I think we should be able to raise a single square of land wiothout affecting nearby squares, to create cliffs and Flat land on slopes.

_________________
Image
FacebookFlickr PhotosBlogTwitterHosting


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 28, 2003 4:44 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 1:58 am
Posts: 11772
Location: Washington DC, USA
That would be kind of cool but a major disruption of the terraforming code I think.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Nov 28, 2003 11:55 pm 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor

Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2003 6:36 pm
Posts: 441
Location: The Codecave
krtaylor wrote:
That would be kind of cool but a major disruption of the terraforming code I think.

Jup, and not to mention the landscape drawing routines.

_________________
"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding." - Albert Einstein


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 06, 2003 9:56 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2003 2:51 pm
Posts: 3849
Location: Broadstone, Dorset
Inspired by this thread:
Set trains priority - so if there's two trains waiting at signals a high-priority one will go first, and also will load first at a station.

_________________
ImageDownloadsImageWikiImageLinks
Image Image Image Image Image


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 06, 2003 1:51 pm 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor

Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2003 6:36 pm
Posts: 441
Location: The Codecave
Prof. Frink wrote:
Inspired by this thread:
Set trains priority - so if there's two trains waiting at signals a high-priority one will go first, and also will load first at a station.

That's funny, I've had exactly the same idea yesterday, while I was thinking about the signal handling code (not that it's time for that yet, but I always think in advance).

_________________
"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding." - Albert Einstein


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 06, 2003 2:16 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 1:58 am
Posts: 11772
Location: Washington DC, USA
I don't think we want to get too fancy - three levels would suffice. Slow, Medium and Express I think.

Or you could have the game calculate it for you based on the speed sensitivity of whatever was on the trains.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 06, 2003 5:17 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Nov 13, 2003 8:26 pm
Posts: 1109
Location: Finland
What about some sort of parallel track laying, where instead of laying a single stretch of track, you could automatically lay two or more stretches side by side. You would have a window where you could set how many tracks to lay, what direction they should have signals pointing in and any other features (classes?). These setttings could also apply to tunnels/bridges/etc. It would make it a lot easier to build multi-rail track. :idea: :?:

questions, comments, doubts, worries, concerns ???


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Dec 06, 2003 6:18 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 07, 2003 1:58 am
Posts: 11772
Location: Washington DC, USA
I know what you mean, but I don't think that's the best way to do it, because you would be completely redesigning the track building interface. How would you handle all the possible permutaions? I think the right solution is to keep it as it is, one track per square, but since the map is bigger you can make the distance between cities, industries, etc. greater. Thus the effect would be the same, more room for stuff. Of course the station catchment areas are going to be larger, that's already a given.


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 88 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.