TTS , transport tycoon clone

A TTD clone that was under development. Development has now been stopped.
Locked
Prof. Frink
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3849
Joined: 20 Jan 2003 14:51
Location: Broadstone, Dorset
Contact:

Post by Prof. Frink » 17 Nov 2003 13:16

It shows that they have (had - they're re-encoding from C to C++) something that at least partially works - You can create trains that follow tracks, which is more than I've seen in any other TTD clone / sequel.

User avatar
DominionSpy
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1429
Joined: 03 Oct 2003 23:59
Location: Lancashire, UK
Contact:

Post by DominionSpy » 17 Nov 2003 13:27

They're not showing that they nearly finished. They're showing how far they've got.

From the video, I gather a few things:
1. They have the main interface working (and it looks like TTD - ie it uses the TTD graphics correctly).
2. There is a landscape or map in the game.
3. The map can be moved around inside the screen.
4. They have windows in the game.
5. They have object placement (putting the trains and track in the game).
6. The trains follow the rail paths (very important step in terms of the programming).
Anybody add anything else?

The fact that the trains run through each other is very common at this stage during programming. There is a whole module called collision detection. This can be a very complex part to do. And you generally need to get all the movement of objects done before you can even start on it.

[Edit: Why does Prof. Frink always get there just before me :wink: ]
Image
You're saying I'm a Dominion spy, and don't even know it! - Dr. Bashir
That's the Joker in my avatar, not me. No wait it is me.

Hans

Hans is niet gek

Post by Hans » 19 Nov 2003 10:15

The official site is down at the moment.

Blur

Re: Hans is niet gek

Post by Blur » 19 Nov 2003 10:24

Hans wrote:The official site is down at the moment.
Looks hacked if you ask me..

User avatar
ThorRune
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5762
Joined: 09 Oct 2003 14:00
Location: Nordland, Norway
Contact:

Post by ThorRune » 19 Nov 2003 10:27

Huh? Its not down!

[Edit:] And how can guests reply???

[edit:] As gusts cant dowoad, i'll use the IMG tag for hans and karl to see it:

Image
Attachments
NOT down.jpg
NOT down.jpg (67.04 KiB) Viewed 11524 times
Last edited by ThorRune on 19 Nov 2003 10:34, edited 1 time in total.
Alcohol is not the answer, it just makes you forget the question.

Zetor2003RE

Post by Zetor2003RE » 19 Nov 2003 10:31

Oh, its posible! But why cant guests downoad? These setings suck!

Zetor2003RE

Post by Zetor2003RE » 19 Nov 2003 10:35

Can guest use img tags?

[IMG]

Bor

Forum is down

Post by Bor » 19 Nov 2003 12:49

Zetor2003 wrote:Huh? Its not down!

[Edit:] And how can guests reply???

[edit:] As gusts cant dowoad, i'll use the IMG tag for hans and karl to see it:

[IMG]
The site isn't down but the forum over there is.

topcat19

As, I can post here I am

Post by topcat19 » 19 Nov 2003 16:12

When I checked the server was up, it was probably DDoS attack, that disabled mySQL on the server.

Love the site, thanks.
top_cat19

Have a nice day ;)

Bor

Re: As, I can post here I am

Post by Bor » 19 Nov 2003 17:46

topcat19 wrote:When I checked the server was up, it was probably DDoS attack, that disabled mySQL on the server.

Love the site, thanks.
top_cat19

Have a nice day ;)
The administrator disabled the forum at the official site.

topcat19

Post by topcat19 » 20 Nov 2003 08:00

Oh, Now I understand.

Also, anyone know when the forum will be up back on the TTS site

SHADOW-XIII
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 13749
Joined: 09 Jan 2003 08:37

Post by SHADOW-XIII » 20 Nov 2003 08:06

if someone would know it would be posted here or on the main page
what are you looking at? it's a signature!

Locked

Return to “Transport Unlimited”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest