Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Fri Dec 15, 2017 6:29 am

All times are UTC




Forum locked  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 38 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2
Author Message
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 16, 2004 12:10 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2003 8:00 am
Posts: 1787
Location: NSW, Australia
You could genearate oxegen using plants and feed plants carbon dioxide by burning stuff


So yup im thinking realism :twisted:

_________________
Great Game Websites to Visit

http://www.cybernations.net
http://www.lunarwars.net


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 16, 2004 12:24 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jan 20, 2003 2:51 pm
Posts: 3849
Location: Broadstone, Dorset
Stylesjl wrote:
You could genearate oxegen using plants and feed plants carbon dioxide by burning stuff
What do you burn? Carbon based compounds (eg. wood)
What do you burn it with? Oxygen
Net oxygen producion: 0 te/y

_________________
ImageDownloadsImageWikiImageLinks
Image Image Image Image Image


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 16, 2004 1:24 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive

Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2003 7:35 am
Posts: 655
Location: Cambridge, England
You don't produce your carbon dioxide by burning stuff but by collecting that which the inhabitants of the colonies have produced.
In other words there is a complete cycle of oxygen/carbon dioxide, if the oxygen producers/ hydroponics also produce food for the colonists (which contains the carbon.)


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 16, 2004 2:10 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2002 5:10 pm
Posts: 6939
I don't really like this idea.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 16, 2004 9:39 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2003 8:00 am
Posts: 1787
Location: NSW, Australia
well it is the year 2100 so more things are possible


About a fusion reactor (no waste, hydrogen powered) to produce oxegen (and other elements) and energy


Actually wait a minute fusion doesn't break down elements :?

_________________
Great Game Websites to Visit



http://www.cybernations.net

http://www.lunarwars.net


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 16, 2004 10:35 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2002 5:10 pm
Posts: 6939
Fusion reactors only create Helium from Hydrogen. If you want to create Oxigen with them you won't get a very high output.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 16, 2004 10:55 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive

Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2003 7:35 am
Posts: 655
Location: Cambridge, England
Arathorn
using fusion reactors to produce materials involves producing them from their compound via energy intensive electrolysis method, not producing the atoms directly. Although this would have to be combined with an efficient hydroponics oxygen recycling system, many metal ores are oxides, so the oxygen produced during the extraction could be used to top up the oxygen supplies in the habitable areas.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 16, 2004 11:06 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2002 5:10 pm
Posts: 6939
If I have to follow your explanation, where's the fusion?


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 16, 2004 11:19 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 09, 2003 8:37 am
Posts: 13748
Location: London, UK
as for me ... moon climate also is possible in TTD (worse if you need to change some names though) ... so simple suggestion to TTU to be able to change names easly with extra graphics etc ...

_________________
what are you looking at? it's a signature!


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 16, 2004 11:36 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun May 04, 2003 11:00 am
Posts: 2720
Location: Torquay, England
Quote:
Fusion reactors only create Helium from Hydrogen. If you want to create Oxigen with them you won't get a very high output.


Hydrogen contains no neutrons therefore cannot make anything neuclearly. Helium or heavier is required to make oxygen.

Quote:
so the oxygen produced during the extraction could be used to top up the oxygen supplies in the habitable areas.


VERY good idea! :idea:

Quote:
as for me ... moon climate also is possible in TTD (worse if you need to change some names though) ... so simple suggestion to TTU to be able to change names easly with extra graphics etc ...


really? industries? thought about that? hmm?

_________________
<!-- End Of Post !-->
Image


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jan 16, 2004 11:41 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 30, 2002 5:10 pm
Posts: 6939
BobXP wrote:
Quote:
Fusion reactors only create Helium from Hydrogen. If you want to create Oxigen with them you won't get a very high output.


Hydrogen contains no neutrons therefore cannot make anything neuclearly. Helium or heavier is required to make oxygen.

Read this Einstein: ;) :roll: http://www.windows.ucar.edu/tour/link=/ ... l&edu=high


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 17, 2004 2:49 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 11, 2003 8:00 am
Posts: 1787
Location: NSW, Australia
Okay so what is the programmers final word?

_________________
Great Game Websites to Visit



http://www.cybernations.net

http://www.lunarwars.net


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 17, 2004 12:04 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 20, 2003 5:11 pm
Posts: 1645
Location: Budapest - Theresienstadt, Hungary
Well, I'm not the programmer, I just wanna tell you how you can generate oxygen.
1) Polar ice-caps on Moon: H2O + electricity => hydrogen and oxygen.
2) SiO2. That can also be separated. And Moon is made of silicates.

Is that enough? And then you can plant trees in greenhouses and so on. Realism? Yes!

_________________
Indivisibiliter ac inseparabiliter


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 17, 2004 1:19 pm 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor

Joined: Wed Jul 30, 2003 6:36 pm
Posts: 441
Location: The Codecave
I'm afraid I still have to dissapoint you all.

Of course, such a feature could be nice, I don't deny that. But still, it's a transport game, made to resemble TTD. I'm sure you could understand that a double-map (cuz that's what it's all about really) feature is not high-priority for us.

First we want to make TTU work, and even after that there will be nicer features to implement than this I guess.

_________________
"Peace cannot be kept by force. It can only be achieved by understanding." - Albert Einstein


Last edited by TBOT on Sun Jan 18, 2004 12:57 am, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 17, 2004 2:46 pm 
Offline
Chief Executive
Chief Executive

Joined: Wed Dec 03, 2003 7:35 am
Posts: 655
Location: Cambridge, England
Maybe th ideas in this thread should be moved to the TTDPatch graphics topic, as bein on the moon would make a good replacement for the toyland graphics set.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jan 17, 2004 3:22 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 20, 2003 5:11 pm
Posts: 1645
Location: Budapest - Theresienstadt, Hungary
There's already a Mars-set for that...The Moon-thingy would be another sort of issue, it's not a different climate, but more like...like SC4's regions.

_________________
Indivisibiliter ac inseparabiliter


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Fri Jul 02, 2004 7:40 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Wed Dec 18, 2002 5:49 pm
Posts: 200
I like the idea, but I think it should be Mars, not the moon. My first reason is simply that we already have some graphics to work with, so its less work, beyond that, a transport network is much more likly on Mars, given the planet is much larger and has much more potential for colinization.


Top
   
 
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Sat Jul 03, 2004 5:23 am 
Offline
Transport Empire Developer
Transport Empire Developer

Joined: Thu Dec 26, 2002 4:39 pm
Posts: 3610
Location: Over there --->
Your post: 2 July. Previous post, 7 January. So tell me: are you genuinely blind, or merely stupid? ;)


Top
   
 
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Forum locked  This topic is locked, you cannot edit posts or make further replies.  [ 38 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 1 guest


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.