Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Thu Aug 17, 2017 9:35 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 264 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 514 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2006 11:46 am 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2004 3:11 am
Posts: 198
Location: Paris, somewhere in France,you know?
hello, after a few time off, i'm finally back with a building.
it's still work in progress but before i finish it i need to know what you think about and what can i do to improve it. this building is inspired by my own house. (here's a pic of it IRL)

thanks in advance!


Attachments:
File comment: my building IRL
5LKpyu0YOXYaWNrcofc6jMfw==.jpg
5LKpyu0YOXYaWNrcofc6jMfw==.jpg [ 16.57 KiB | Viewed 6601 times ]
File comment: WIP
building1.PNG
building1.PNG [ 4.96 KiB | Viewed 6563 times ]

_________________
there are things known and things unknown and in between are the doors.
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2006 1:20 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2004 12:30 pm
Posts: 16662
Location: Almere, The Netherlands
Needs texturing, and the color is a bit wrong, IMO. The shape is very nice tho. Keep up the good work.

_________________
Contributor to the The 2cc Set and Dutch Trainset. Inventor of the Metro concept. Retired Graphics Artist.
Image Image
Download TT | Latest TTDPatch | OpenTTD | OpenTTDCoop | BaNaNaS: OpenTTD content system | 2048² OTTD scenario of the Netherlands
GRF Codec | GRF Crawler | GRF Maker | Usefull graphics & tools sites | NML Documentation Wiki | NFO Documentation Wiki
All my graphics are licensed under GPL. "Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else."


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2006 1:20 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2002 10:36 am
Posts: 13158
Location: The Netherlands
Ah, great. Altough people (may) loath this building we're slowly moving towards responsible architecture on this forum. Time to ask a question about living experience: is living in a Unité d'Habitation as marvellous as Le Corbusier said it would be, lt gable?

_________________
Image
Dutch Trainset for OpenTTD | Dutch Trainset Topic | Combined Roadset v0.10


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2006 1:27 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2004 10:02 am
Posts: 2732
Excellent shape, I look forward to seeing what you can do with texturing and shading the thing!

_________________
Former NewGRF Coder and Sprite Artist

14:40 <orudge> I can't say I discriminate against any particular user
14:41 <Aegir> orudge: I can!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2006 1:33 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2004 3:11 am
Posts: 198
Location: Paris, somewhere in France,you know?
well living there is pretty strange because it fits to 70's style of life, so in 2006 it's slightly outdated but the building itself it in a pretty good condition (inside and outside) but this is not a complete unité d'habitation because it doesnt contains all the infrastructure as the orginial project: school on the roof, shops at ground level. here it's only residential building for low cost rents (you can also buy a part of em which is my case) but the system needs oil to work prefectly... this building is a part of utopia by itself.

EDIT: added a newer version!


Attachments:
File comment: still needs some noise and some more funnels on the roof+ technic locals)
building1.PNG
building1.PNG [ 5.01 KiB | Viewed 6526 times ]

_________________
there are things known and things unknown and in between are the doors.
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2006 2:26 pm 
Offline
Chairman
Chairman

Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2006 8:06 am
Posts: 801
Location: Plymouth, England
looking good so far...

can u plz tell me the dimensions of a ground square? (and if theres a height limit...


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2006 2:39 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 02, 2003 4:01 pm
Posts: 2108
Location: Belgium
Looks nice from a distant, but your scale is way to small, you have used 3 pixels per floor, 5 to 6 (6 is my minimum) ll fit to the game.
I know that with 6 pix floor levels your building doesnt fit (it ll look to high), so be creative and delete some levels, it ll still look like the original :wink:

@M4rak:
There is a hight limit, i have reached it once and had to correct the building.
Maximum hight is 255 pixels, but them we talk about a massive skyscraper.

_________________
Hodie Mihi Cras Tibi


Last edited by Zimmlock on Mon Sep 11, 2006 2:43 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2006 2:42 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2004 3:11 am
Posts: 198
Location: Paris, somewhere in France,you know?
yeah it's stange scale but i think a building can't fit more than 2x2 squares otherwise i would have made it bigger, maybe i'm wrong but i havent seen any building bigger than 2x2 other than an industry in TTD

_________________
there are things known and things unknown and in between are the doors.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2006 2:47 pm 
Offline
Chairman
Chairman

Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2006 8:06 am
Posts: 801
Location: Plymouth, England
i believe that 2x2 is the limit of buildings....if it wasnt then HQs would be considerably larger

EDIT:and plz, what is the dimensions of a single ground square? its a bit hard to work on a building if you dont know the base...


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2006 3:04 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 8:19 pm
Posts: 17023
Location: Harringay, North London
It's 64 pixels... I think. Someone will confirm or correct that.

Buildings can only be bigger than 2x2 if they are industries.

_________________
Albion: A fictional Britain

Official TT-Dave Fan Club
Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2006 4:15 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 12:00 pm
Posts: 1983
Skype: m3hww-henry
Location: University of Southampton
Dave Worley wrote:
It's 64 pixels... I think. Someone will confirm or correct that.
Buildings can only be bigger than 2x2 if they are industries.
i think he means in meters?

_________________
The occasional look back at your past can teach you a great many things...


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2006 4:15 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2004 3:11 am
Posts: 198
Location: Paris, somewhere in France,you know?
I added noise to the roof and grass areas and changed the scale of the windows to fit to TTD scale, let's hope it's better!
the roof still needs more things on them but yet i try to get the right scale before detailing. waiting for your constructive comments.

_________________
there are things known and things unknown and in between are the doors.


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2006 4:33 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 7:31 pm
Posts: 5957
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire
oh well done!
Excellent work! 10/10

_________________
Image
Worst Behaved IRC Member of 2008, 2009 & 2010 - Go Me!


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2006 4:40 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2004 12:30 pm
Posts: 16662
Location: Almere, The Netherlands
Needs more texturing IMO.

_________________
Contributor to the The 2cc Set and Dutch Trainset. Inventor of the Metro concept. Retired Graphics Artist.
Image Image
Download TT | Latest TTDPatch | OpenTTD | OpenTTDCoop | BaNaNaS: OpenTTD content system | 2048² OTTD scenario of the Netherlands
GRF Codec | GRF Crawler | GRF Maker | Usefull graphics & tools sites | NML Documentation Wiki | NFO Documentation Wiki
All my graphics are licensed under GPL. "Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else."


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2006 4:56 pm 
Offline
President
President
User avatar

Joined: Wed Apr 27, 2005 10:44 pm
Posts: 931
The original window pattern you had was quite better. Now it just looks rather plain. Good work though!

_________________
Canadian Stations Set North American City Set North American Roads Set North American Industry Set Tropic Refurbishment Set


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2006 5:11 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 18, 2004 3:11 am
Posts: 198
Location: Paris, somewhere in France,you know?
well the windows werent shaded hopefully, now it's done! and i've shaded the concrete parts of the buildings and i've added the techincal locals on the roof and some funnels. it now looks slightly better i think,but you're the judges!


Attachments:
File comment: WIP
building1.PNG
building1.PNG [ 5.72 KiB | Viewed 6386 times ]

_________________
there are things known and things unknown and in between are the doors.
Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2006 5:34 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Dec 03, 2002 10:36 am
Posts: 13158
Location: The Netherlands
Lovely, lt gable! Looks very good imho.

_________________
Image
Dutch Trainset for OpenTTD | Dutch Trainset Topic | Combined Roadset v0.10


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2006 6:42 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Mar 30, 2004 12:30 pm
Posts: 16662
Location: Almere, The Netherlands
The road needs texturing too IMO.

_________________
Contributor to the The 2cc Set and Dutch Trainset. Inventor of the Metro concept. Retired Graphics Artist.
Image Image
Download TT | Latest TTDPatch | OpenTTD | OpenTTDCoop | BaNaNaS: OpenTTD content system | 2048² OTTD scenario of the Netherlands
GRF Codec | GRF Crawler | GRF Maker | Usefull graphics & tools sites | NML Documentation Wiki | NFO Documentation Wiki
All my graphics are licensed under GPL. "Always remember you're unique, just like everyone else."


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2006 7:03 pm 
Offline
Chairman
Chairman

Joined: Sun Sep 03, 2006 8:06 am
Posts: 801
Location: Plymouth, England
nope, i meant pixels


Top
   
 Post subject:
PostPosted: Mon Sep 11, 2006 7:25 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 8:19 pm
Posts: 17023
Location: Harringay, North London
Purno wrote:
The road needs texturing too IMO.


You're demanding enough this evening.

m4rek wrote:
nope, i meant pixels


Use the quote button so we know which bit of the thread you refer to.

_________________
Albion: A fictional Britain

Official TT-Dave Fan Club
Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 264 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 4 514 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: sanderNL and 12 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.