Iron Horse "Quicksilver" Add-On

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

User avatar
acs121
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1944
Joined: 03 Nov 2017 18:57
Location: Courbevoie, near Paris, France

Re: Iron Horse "Quicksilver" Add-On

Post by acs121 »

Dobbleposting.
Just because i made an electric railcar using the sprites from the Electra from IH1, plus the roof from the Broken Nose.
The engine name is in the file name.

EDIT : Thought i'd give stats if you ever want to code it.

Thunder
Introduced : 1960
Maximum speed : 120 kph
Capacity : 90 passengers
Power : 988 hp
Weight : 55 t
Attachments
Thunder.png
Thunder.png (3.11 KiB) Viewed 2364 times
Last edited by acs121 on 04 Jun 2018 15:03, edited 1 time in total.

SimYouLater
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 676
Joined: 03 Apr 2016 20:19

Re: Iron Horse "Quicksilver" Add-On

Post by SimYouLater »

acs121 wrote:Dobbleposting.
Just because i made an electric railcar using the sprites from the Electra from IH1, plus the roof from the Broken Nose.
The engine name is in the file name.

EDIT : Thought i'd give stats if you ever want to code it.

Thunder
Introduced : 1960
Maximum speed : 120 kph
Capacity : 90 passengers
Power : 988 hp
Weight : 55 t
The lighting on the Thunder is off, please fix it before we can include it.
Licenses for my work...
You automatically have my permission to re-license graphics or code by me if needed for use in any project that is not GPL v2, on the condition that if you release any derivatives of my graphics they're automatically considered as ALSO GPL v2 (code may remain unreleased, but please do provide it) and carry this provision in GPL v2 uses.
Please ask someone in-the-know to be sure that the graphics are done by me. Especially TTD-Scale, long story.

User avatar
acs121
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1944
Joined: 03 Nov 2017 18:57
Location: Courbevoie, near Paris, France

Re: Iron Horse "Quicksilver" Add-On

Post by acs121 »

SimYouLater wrote:
acs121 wrote:Dobbleposting.
Just because i made an electric railcar using the sprites from the Electra from IH1, plus the roof from the Broken Nose.
The engine name is in the file name.

EDIT : Thought i'd give stats if you ever want to code it.

Thunder
Introduced : 1960
Maximum speed : 120 kph
Capacity : 90 passengers
Power : 988 hp
Weight : 55 t
The lighting on the Thunder is off, please fix it before we can include it.
Modified the sprite post.

SimYouLater
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 676
Joined: 03 Apr 2016 20:19

Re: Iron Horse "Quicksilver" Add-On

Post by SimYouLater »

Source for v4.8 is now available.
Licenses for my work...
You automatically have my permission to re-license graphics or code by me if needed for use in any project that is not GPL v2, on the condition that if you release any derivatives of my graphics they're automatically considered as ALSO GPL v2 (code may remain unreleased, but please do provide it) and carry this provision in GPL v2 uses.
Please ask someone in-the-know to be sure that the graphics are done by me. Especially TTD-Scale, long story.

User avatar
acs121
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1944
Joined: 03 Nov 2017 18:57
Location: Courbevoie, near Paris, France

Re: Iron Horse "Quicksilver" Add-On

Post by acs121 »

acs121 wrote:Dobbleposting.
Just because i made an electric railcar using the sprites from the Electra from IH1, plus the roof from the Broken Nose.
The engine name is in the file name.

EDIT : Thought i'd give stats if you ever want to code it.

Thunder
Introduced : 1960
Maximum speed : 120 kph
Capacity : 90 passengers
Power : 988 hp
Weight : 55 t
May we include it now that i modified the sprites ?

SimYouLater
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 676
Joined: 03 Apr 2016 20:19

Re: Iron Horse "Quicksilver" Add-On

Post by SimYouLater »

acs121 wrote:
acs121 wrote:Dobbleposting.
Just because i made an electric railcar using the sprites from the Electra from IH1, plus the roof from the Broken Nose.
The engine name is in the file name.

EDIT : Thought i'd give stats if you ever want to code it.

Thunder
Introduced : 1960
Maximum speed : 120 kph
Capacity : 90 passengers
Power : 988 hp
Weight : 55 t
May we include it now that i modified the sprites ?
The shading is now incorrect in the opposite way. You should have left some of the sprites as they were!
Licenses for my work...
You automatically have my permission to re-license graphics or code by me if needed for use in any project that is not GPL v2, on the condition that if you release any derivatives of my graphics they're automatically considered as ALSO GPL v2 (code may remain unreleased, but please do provide it) and carry this provision in GPL v2 uses.
Please ask someone in-the-know to be sure that the graphics are done by me. Especially TTD-Scale, long story.

User avatar
acs121
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1944
Joined: 03 Nov 2017 18:57
Location: Courbevoie, near Paris, France

Re: Iron Horse "Quicksilver" Add-On

Post by acs121 »

...i don't understand. What is "the opposite way" ?

SimYouLater
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 676
Joined: 03 Apr 2016 20:19

Re: Iron Horse "Quicksilver" Add-On

Post by SimYouLater »

acs121 wrote:...i don't understand. What is "the opposite way" ?
/ sprite should have lighting in the other direction from \ sprite.
Licenses for my work...
You automatically have my permission to re-license graphics or code by me if needed for use in any project that is not GPL v2, on the condition that if you release any derivatives of my graphics they're automatically considered as ALSO GPL v2 (code may remain unreleased, but please do provide it) and carry this provision in GPL v2 uses.
Please ask someone in-the-know to be sure that the graphics are done by me. Especially TTD-Scale, long story.

User avatar
Quast65
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1662
Joined: 09 Oct 2011 13:51
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Iron Horse "Quicksilver" Add-On

Post by Quast65 »

Also (if we are talking about the graphics of the Thunder posted last sunday) in one of the backviews the front headlights are on, rather than the red backlights ;-)
Example431.png
Example431.png (7.67 KiB) Viewed 2063 times
Projects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.

User avatar
acs121
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1944
Joined: 03 Nov 2017 18:57
Location: Courbevoie, near Paris, France

Re: Iron Horse "Quicksilver" Add-On

Post by acs121 »

Corrected lighting.
Attachments
Thunder.png
Thunder.png (2.44 KiB) Viewed 2055 times

User avatar
Quast65
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1662
Joined: 09 Oct 2011 13:51
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Iron Horse "Quicksilver" Add-On

Post by Quast65 »

The shading of the vehicle is still incorrect:
Example434.png
Example434.png (16.28 KiB) Viewed 2050 times
Ill try to explain ;-)
The sun is in a fixed position, to keep it simple, its on the right.
So, that means when you start out with graphic nr2, the long side is facing the sun and the short side is facing the shadow.
So, colors used for the long side should be lighter than colors used for the short side.
When you flip your image, to get the other direction, you also have to change the shading!
So, then the long side is in the shadow and the short side is facing the sun.
Keep this also in mind for curved roofs!! (flat roofs can usually keep the same shading, no matter what direction of the vehicle)

EDIT:
By the way, to make it even better looking, you should also keep in mind where the details are placed on the roof.
So in this case the connection to the powerlines is at the front of the train (so at the side where the yellow lights are).
Make sure they stay there, as it is a bit odd that when a train for example runs in a circle, that the details swap from side to side :mrgreen:

EDIT-2:
To illustrate what I mean:
Example435.png
Example435.png (13.56 KiB) Viewed 2042 times
By the way, this is why I stick to stations and objects, those dont move... :mrgreen:
Projects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.

SimYouLater
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 676
Joined: 03 Apr 2016 20:19

Re: Iron Horse "Quicksilver" Add-On

Post by SimYouLater »

Source code updated to 5.6, now that I've fully tested the sprite adjustments for the Quicksilver.
Licenses for my work...
You automatically have my permission to re-license graphics or code by me if needed for use in any project that is not GPL v2, on the condition that if you release any derivatives of my graphics they're automatically considered as ALSO GPL v2 (code may remain unreleased, but please do provide it) and carry this provision in GPL v2 uses.
Please ask someone in-the-know to be sure that the graphics are done by me. Especially TTD-Scale, long story.

User avatar
acs121
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1944
Joined: 03 Nov 2017 18:57
Location: Courbevoie, near Paris, France

Re: Iron Horse "Quicksilver" Add-On

Post by acs121 »

Skipping the electric railcar, i suggest a diesel one :
DB VT 97.png
DB VT 97.png (1.72 KiB) Viewed 1828 times
Stats :

Companion Cube
Introduced : 1945
Max. speed : 120 kph
Power : 653 hp
Weight : 44 t
Capacity : 90 passengers

User avatar
acs121
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1944
Joined: 03 Nov 2017 18:57
Location: Courbevoie, near Paris, France

Re: Iron Horse "Quicksilver" Add-On

Post by acs121 »

Also made a metro by the same occasion.
ret_rsg3.png
ret_rsg3.png (5.85 KiB) Viewed 1823 times
Thames
Introduced : 2006
Max. speed : 125 kph
Power : 892 hp
Weight : 64 t
Capacity : 166 passengers

User avatar
trainman1432
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 308
Joined: 05 Jan 2013 02:34
Location: at home

Re: Iron Horse "Quicksilver" Add-On

Post by trainman1432 »

edit nevermind, but the shades aren't too obvious.
edit two: also
ret_rsg3.png
ret_rsg3.png (11.26 KiB) Viewed 1791 times
Jetrain
YATTC

User avatar
acs121
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1944
Joined: 03 Nov 2017 18:57
Location: Courbevoie, near Paris, France

Re: Iron Horse "Quicksilver" Add-On

Post by acs121 »

trainman1432 wrote:edit nevermind, but the shades aren't too obvious.
edit two: alsoret_rsg3.png
Because of the sun position they aren't. It's the screen indicating the train destination, and even in real life the text may look darker following the sun position.

SimYouLater
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 676
Joined: 03 Apr 2016 20:19

Re: Iron Horse "Quicksilver" Add-On

Post by SimYouLater »

Source code has been updated to 6.0; note that several locomotives have been dummied out but are still in the source code and can easily be re-enabled with some editing.
Licenses for my work...
You automatically have my permission to re-license graphics or code by me if needed for use in any project that is not GPL v2, on the condition that if you release any derivatives of my graphics they're automatically considered as ALSO GPL v2 (code may remain unreleased, but please do provide it) and carry this provision in GPL v2 uses.
Please ask someone in-the-know to be sure that the graphics are done by me. Especially TTD-Scale, long story.

SimYouLater
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 676
Joined: 03 Apr 2016 20:19

Re: Iron Horse "Quicksilver" Add-On

Post by SimYouLater »

Up to 7.6, but this time I have the issue with compiling figured out (always delete .nmlcache AND the compiled .nml file left over from the last compile), so we should only go up one number at a time from now on. Quicksilver should be the only vehicle available, since the others aren't properly aligned to the Iron Horse rolling stock.
Licenses for my work...
You automatically have my permission to re-license graphics or code by me if needed for use in any project that is not GPL v2, on the condition that if you release any derivatives of my graphics they're automatically considered as ALSO GPL v2 (code may remain unreleased, but please do provide it) and carry this provision in GPL v2 uses.
Please ask someone in-the-know to be sure that the graphics are done by me. Especially TTD-Scale, long story.

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests