[OTTD] Over-sized Train Set

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

Post Reply
Tony Pixel
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 406
Joined: 14 Oct 2017 11:06
Location: Ukraine

[OTTD] Over-sized Train Set

Post by Tony Pixel » 06 Apr 2018 15:13

Generally, everyone agrees, what bigger sprites easier paint, so I took the initiative create one of the Locomotion-like trainset in the OpenTTD. xUSSR uses bigger than 32px sprites, exactly 60px long. My set will use 10/8 length sprites, 40px length. Set will contain popular trains and locomotives from all world, like TGV, British Rail EMU's and DMU's, russian VL-series and american F- and E-units etc. Write all Your wishes which trains You want to see there. Note, what I don't stop my attention on the certain country or railroad, so there will be 3-8 cars from country.
Image
Sprite artist and NewGRF developer, NML coder. My projects:
Screenshots: New York City Subway Episodes
NewGRFs: Not Enough Subways Set | North American Passenger Railroads | Elevated Subway Bridge | Over-sized Train Set | Tony Pixel's Subway Equipment Set

I use GPLv2+ license.


User avatar
Gwyd
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 691
Joined: 17 Apr 2017 16:52
Location: Western Ile-de-France Region

Re: [OTTD] Over-sized Train Set

Post by Gwyd » 06 Apr 2018 18:19

I feel like the class 399 would also be a useful addition for the UK

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/British_Rail_Class_399

Tony Pixel
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 406
Joined: 14 Oct 2017 11:06
Location: Ukraine

Re: [OTTD] Over-sized Train Set

Post by Tony Pixel » 07 Apr 2018 05:35

Ok, I add them to set. Any more heavy rolling stock, like Class 416?
Image
Sprite artist and NewGRF developer, NML coder. My projects:
Screenshots: New York City Subway Episodes
NewGRFs: Not Enough Subways Set | North American Passenger Railroads | Elevated Subway Bridge | Over-sized Train Set | Tony Pixel's Subway Equipment Set

I use GPLv2+ license.

Tony Pixel
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 406
Joined: 14 Oct 2017 11:06
Location: Ukraine

Re: [OTTD] Over-sized Train Set

Post by Tony Pixel » 07 Apr 2018 07:30

As example, 3 liveries of the one train:
BR Class 416 Network SouthEast.png
BR Class 416 Network SouthEast.png (5.46 KiB) Viewed 1848 times
BR Class 416 Green.png
BR Class 416 Green.png (5 KiB) Viewed 1848 times
BR Class 416 Blue and Grey.png
BR Class 416 Blue and Grey.png (5.24 KiB) Viewed 1848 times
Anyone can help me make the livery refit in NML?
Image
Sprite artist and NewGRF developer, NML coder. My projects:
Screenshots: New York City Subway Episodes
NewGRFs: Not Enough Subways Set | North American Passenger Railroads | Elevated Subway Bridge | Over-sized Train Set | Tony Pixel's Subway Equipment Set

I use GPLv2+ license.

User avatar
Gwyd
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 691
Joined: 17 Apr 2017 16:52
Location: Western Ile-de-France Region

Re: [OTTD] Over-sized Train Set

Post by Gwyd » 07 Apr 2018 08:34

Sorry, I was going to write an explanation for you for this: I got caught up in other stuff.
First you need a switch like this:

Code: Select all

switch(FEAT_TRAINS,SELF, switch_name,cargo_subtype){
0:	spriteset_first_livery; 
1:	spriteset_second_livery; 	
2: spriteset_third_livery; 	
3:...
Then you need the subcargo text:

Code: Select all

switch(FEAT_TRAINS,SELF,other_switch_name ,cargo_subtype){
0:	return string(str_livery_1_name); 
1:	return string(str_livery_2_name); 
2:	return string(str_livery_3_name); 	
3:...
return CB_RESULT_NO_TEXT;
 }
Then finally you need to put that in the callbacks

Code: Select all

graphics { ...
cargo_subtype_text: other_switch_name;
default: switch_name;
} }

Tony Pixel
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 406
Joined: 14 Oct 2017 11:06
Location: Ukraine

Re: [OTTD] Over-sized Train Set

Post by Tony Pixel » 07 Apr 2018 08:38

Thanks :D . I will add it to this project.
Image
Sprite artist and NewGRF developer, NML coder. My projects:
Screenshots: New York City Subway Episodes
NewGRFs: Not Enough Subways Set | North American Passenger Railroads | Elevated Subway Bridge | Over-sized Train Set | Tony Pixel's Subway Equipment Set

I use GPLv2+ license.

Tony Pixel
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 406
Joined: 14 Oct 2017 11:06
Location: Ukraine

Re: [OTTD] Over-sized Train Set

Post by Tony Pixel » 07 Apr 2018 15:00

Yess it works. And one more question: how to make ore than one railtype which supports this item?
Image
Sprite artist and NewGRF developer, NML coder. My projects:
Screenshots: New York City Subway Episodes
NewGRFs: Not Enough Subways Set | North American Passenger Railroads | Elevated Subway Bridge | Over-sized Train Set | Tony Pixel's Subway Equipment Set

I use GPLv2+ license.

User avatar
acs121
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1901
Joined: 03 Nov 2017 18:57
Location: Courbevoie, near Paris, France

Re: [OTTD] Over-sized Train Set

Post by acs121 » 07 Apr 2018 20:06

Tony Pixel wrote:Yess it works. And one more question: how to make ore than one railtype which supports this item?
In the track_type property, you can define on which track can go this train. It can be ANY trackltype, if it is available - it depends if the tracktype is defined by a NewGRF. 3RDR, for example, is defined by many NewGRFs, including Metro Track Set or Finescale. MGLV is defined by the base set.

User avatar
Gwyd
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 691
Joined: 17 Apr 2017 16:52
Location: Western Ile-de-France Region

Re: [OTTD] Over-sized Train Set

Post by Gwyd » 07 Apr 2018 21:08

You can also help this in the railtype table. You can set redundancies:

Code: Select all

railtypetable {
RAIL, 
ELRL,
SAA3: ["3RDR", ELRL],
SAAZ: ["3RDC", ELRL],
SAA4: [SAA3, ELRL],
}
The brackets after the main railtype is the railtype to use if the first stated type is unavailable.

Tony Pixel
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 406
Joined: 14 Oct 2017 11:06
Location: Ukraine

Re: [OTTD] Over-sized Train Set

Post by Tony Pixel » 08 Apr 2018 04:31

Ok. I had made it before you wrote. Because I made it specifically, so train will a bit change self position after round out.
Image
Sprite artist and NewGRF developer, NML coder. My projects:
Screenshots: New York City Subway Episodes
NewGRFs: Not Enough Subways Set | North American Passenger Railroads | Elevated Subway Bridge | Over-sized Train Set | Tony Pixel's Subway Equipment Set

I use GPLv2+ license.

Tony Pixel
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 406
Joined: 14 Oct 2017 11:06
Location: Ukraine

Re: [OTTD] Over-sized Train Set

Post by Tony Pixel » 08 Apr 2018 06:16

Can anyone send me wav-format class 426 engine sounds?
Image
Sprite artist and NewGRF developer, NML coder. My projects:
Screenshots: New York City Subway Episodes
NewGRFs: Not Enough Subways Set | North American Passenger Railroads | Elevated Subway Bridge | Over-sized Train Set | Tony Pixel's Subway Equipment Set

I use GPLv2+ license.

Tony Pixel
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 406
Joined: 14 Oct 2017 11:06
Location: Ukraine

Re: [OTTD] Over-sized Train Set

Post by Tony Pixel » 25 Apr 2018 17:58

Gwyd wrote:You can also help this in the railtype table. You can set redundancies:

Code: Select all

railtypetable {
RAIL, 
ELRL,
SAA3: ["3RDR", ELRL],
SAAZ: ["3RDC", ELRL],
SAA4: [SAA3, ELRL],
}
The brackets after the main railtype is the railtype to use if the first stated type is unavailable.
Thanks, one question: can I make what train is aviable on more than one railtype at the same time?
Image
Sprite artist and NewGRF developer, NML coder. My projects:
Screenshots: New York City Subway Episodes
NewGRFs: Not Enough Subways Set | North American Passenger Railroads | Elevated Subway Bridge | Over-sized Train Set | Tony Pixel's Subway Equipment Set

I use GPLv2+ license.

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: piratescooby and 8 guests