Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Fri Nov 16, 2018 10:44 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 38 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Jun 01, 2018 11:12 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Wed Feb 15, 2006 12:00 pm
Posts: 1984
Location: Hampshire
A generous lineup indeed.

I must admit lately I've been enjoying starting with UKRS2 in 1870 with the low TE spinners.

_________________
The occasional look back at your past can teach you a great many things...


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jun 04, 2018 10:44 pm 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 8:19 pm
Posts: 17146
Location: Harringay, North London
I like it.

_________________
Albion: A fictional Britain

Official TT-Dave Fan Club
Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 06, 2018 12:44 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 2:34 am
Posts: 258
Location: at home
I had a rather unorthodox idea...
We could do a separate set of 10 locomotives for each zone, i.e. UK for temperate, US for arctic, Oceania for Tropical, and Toyland? We don't talk about toyland.
Just a thought.
e: it has been 5 minutes and I feel like an imbecile for posting this. Oh well.

_________________
Jetrain
========
I'm drawing things... you'll see what soon.
========
I want a sandwich.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 06, 2018 7:05 am 
Offline
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 1:21 pm
Posts: 5305
Location: The Moon
trainman1432 wrote:
We could do a separate set of 10 locomotives for each zone, i.e. UK for temperate, US for arctic, Oceania for Tropical, and Toyland? We don't talk about toyland.
Just a thought.


In the good ol' days, we used to have climate limited sets, so you could have games with different sets without swapping out the configs. :)

But yes, 10CC sets can definitely be developed faster. and can be playable earlier in their development cycle. The first public release of UKRS3 will only have about half the locos in it, but will still be a playable set with no major gameplay gaps, because the "10CC" locos have been prioritised.

_________________
Pikkarail.com blog | Patreon
Dev reference: NML Specs - NewGRF Specs - Savegame Internals - NoAi API - NoGo API


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jun 22, 2018 11:27 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 7:25 pm
Posts: 1723
Location: Warrington UK
I wholeheartedly look forward to what you put out there Pikka. I have loved playing with both UKRS (1+2) and NARS2 for many years.

As for suggestions based on the current game (mainly passenger operations) I am playing with UKRS2 I have found I lean to the following Units:
Steam:
2-2-0 Planet - As I like to start in 1835 :)
0-4-0 Coppernob - For additional pulling power and speed
0-6-0 Long Boiler -Because tractive power becomes my main issue.
4-4-2 Suburban - This becomes my 'standard' workhorse
4-4-0 Edwardian - Pulls my express trains as the faster locos are much more expensive.
2-6-4 Suburban - Replace the 4-4-2 Suburbans as they come to the end of their life.

Diesel Loco:
English Electric Type 1 - Useful for branch lines and short freight ops.
Sulzer Type 2 - Fantastic loco that I throw at
Brush Type 4 - Powerful loco used for mix of passenger and freight.
EMD Class 66 - For later game replacements of the Brush Type 4
EMD Class 67 - Loco Hauled Passenger and fast freight.

DMU:
Metro-Cammell DMU - First DMU is used to remove steam from branch lines.
Sprinter / Express Sprinter - Used as standard DMU to replace the 1st Gen and replace some of the Loco Hauled passenger work. I think the two classes could be merged though.
Turbostar - Modern DMU to replace the sprinter towards the end of the game.
BR HST - Fast Passenger DMU
Bombardier Voyager - Replace the HSTs

25kv Loco:
AEI AL1 / English Electric AL6 - The first 'proper' electric locos, I don't think both are really required though.
BREL Class 90 / GEC Class 91 - I use these as replacements for the above, again I think only one of these is really required.

25kv EMU:
BR AM10 - First Gen 25kv EMU
BREL Class 321 - Sometimes used to replace the above (where I want 100mph) but I often jump straight to the Electrostar, In some ways I would prefer to see this replaced with a Class 319 as the type would be more useful as a dual voltage unit.

750dc EMU:
Southern EMU - As my first 3rd Rail Type
BREL Renewal EMU - To replace the above.

Dual Voltage EMU:
Electrostar - Becomes my standard EMU for anything that isn't long distance express.

Wish List:
As the UK is going a little Bi-Mode crazy at the moment I would find it interesting to include:
Class 800/1/2 - Merged into a single unit to provide Bi-Mode express services.
Class 88 - As the last mile diesel engine would give something a little different to replace the Class 90/91

I didn't quite manage 10 with 23 that I use in the UKRS2 set with another 2 as wishes. I suspect the number is so high as I like playing big maps over long periods of time (~200 years) which is one of the reasons why I love UKRS/NARS. One other thing I would like to see is a GRF parameter to increase capacity on the suburban units for games played with cargodist to simulate standing room as I find it difficult to play some of the trains profitably.

Hopefully some of the above is helpful, I am really interested to know what other people consider to be the 'must' includes :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jun 23, 2018 8:58 am 
Offline
Moderator
Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 26, 2005 8:19 pm
Posts: 17146
Location: Harringay, North London
Hey it’s Grew!

Careful calling HSTs multiple units you’ll upset someone :lol:

Really like the commuter parameter idea! I guess people would just abuse it and use it for everything though.

_________________
Albion: A fictional Britain

Official TT-Dave Fan Club
Dave's Screenshot Thread! - Flickr


Why be a song when you can be a symphony? r is a...


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jun 23, 2018 10:32 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jul 25, 2004 7:25 pm
Posts: 1723
Location: Warrington UK
Dave wrote:
Hey it’s Grew!

I consider myself welcomed back :)

Dave wrote:
Careful calling HSTs multiple units you’ll upset someone :lol:

OK, 2x Class 43 locos with some Mark 3s in the middle ;)

Dave wrote:
Really like the commuter parameter idea! I guess people would just abuse it and use it for everything though.

I guess the game has a certain element of trust anyway.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jun 23, 2018 11:42 am 
Offline
Director
Director
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2017 4:52 pm
Posts: 627
Location: Western Ile-de-France Region
The way to stop the abuse of commuter setting is to have a shorter cargo aging period for commuter trains, so they become useless over long distances


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jun 23, 2018 5:23 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 12:20 pm
Posts: 82
Location: Kaon Prison, Cybertron
Going in a bit late, but here's my list:

1 - GWR 5700
2 - Peppercorn A1
3 - Standard 4MT
4 - Class 20
5 - Class 45
6 - Class 43
7 - Class 58
8 - Sprinter
9 - Class 87
10- Class 92

Not sure about the steam locos, but the rest of the line up is basically what RUKTS will end up being :P

_________________
Some links to stuff I've made:
-=RUKTS=- | -=NML Py-Patcher (a Python 3.0 pre-compiler)=- | -=Screenshots=- | -=Doom Soundtrack port to OpenTTD=-


Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jul 29, 2018 2:10 am 
Offline
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 1:21 pm
Posts: 5305
Location: The Moon
Hi all,

I've put the current development version up on Bananas, as a first public release of the set for some wider feedback. :) The set currently contains about half the planned locomotives, passenger/mail cars, and the initial and most mid-game freight wagons (although some are missing cargo graphics), so while far from complete it should be at least somewhat playable.

Let me know what you think - what's good, what's bad, what's indifferent.

_________________
Pikkarail.com blog | Patreon
Dev reference: NML Specs - NewGRF Specs - Savegame Internals - NoAi API - NoGo API


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jul 29, 2018 9:37 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 12:20 pm
Posts: 82
Location: Kaon Prison, Cybertron
The public release you've put out is looking great!
Graphics are amazing as always :bow:
I have noticed that all the graphics on North/South views are 2 pixels to left than what they should be with the tracks.
And my only other nit pick is the Brush Type 5. What TOPS class is that meant to be?? From stats and looks I could decifer a Class 56 but they were built by BREL and some Romanian company with Ruston-Paxman engines, so I'm confused.

Amazing work otherwise!

_________________
Some links to stuff I've made:
-=RUKTS=- | -=NML Py-Patcher (a Python 3.0 pre-compiler)=- | -=Screenshots=- | -=Doom Soundtrack port to OpenTTD=-


Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jul 29, 2018 1:42 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 21, 2010 12:15 am
Posts: 1031
Location: Fitzroy North - 96
Just Chiming in to note that the 1959 EMU seems to have a life of 0 years.

_________________
Image
Trolleybi! Trucks and Buses -- Docklands -- Unspooled -- MLSS


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Aug 22, 2018 9:01 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 2:34 am
Posts: 258
Location: at home
Is this an OTTD glitch or
Image


Attachments:
catenary glitches.PNG [30 KiB]
Not downloaded yet

_________________
Jetrain
========
I'm drawing things... you'll see what soon.
========
I want a sandwich.
Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Aug 22, 2018 10:36 pm 
Offline
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 1:21 pm
Posts: 5305
Location: The Moon
trainman1432 wrote:
Is this an OTTD glitch or


I imagine it's something to do with whatever that catenary comes from. Do other trainsets show the same issue?

_________________
Pikkarail.com blog | Patreon
Dev reference: NML Specs - NewGRF Specs - Savegame Internals - NoAi API - NoGo API


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Aug 23, 2018 5:38 am 
Offline
Director
Director
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2017 4:52 pm
Posts: 627
Location: Western Ile-de-France Region
Yes, I know for a fact that they do


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Aug 23, 2018 6:27 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Oct 14, 2017 11:06 am
Posts: 376
Location: Mariupol, Ukraine.
Maybe we can add to GRFs new higher catenary lines what are be optional thru parameter?

_________________
Image
Sprite artist and NewGRF developer, NML coder. My projects:
Screenshots: New York City Subway Episodes
NewGRFs: Not Enough Subways Set | North American Passenger Railroads | Elevated Subway Bridge | Over-sized Train Set | Tony Pixel's Subway Equipment Set

I use GPLv2+ license.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Aug 25, 2018 11:05 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Sun Aug 24, 2014 12:20 pm
Posts: 82
Location: Kaon Prison, Cybertron
Isn't that the UK Finescale track set? I've never noticed that issue using that track set, and I've used it for nearly 5 years now!

_________________
Some links to stuff I've made:
-=RUKTS=- | -=NML Py-Patcher (a Python 3.0 pre-compiler)=- | -=Screenshots=- | -=Doom Soundtrack port to OpenTTD=-


Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Sep 01, 2018 10:58 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 2:34 am
Posts: 258
Location: at home
FulliAutomatix wrote:
Isn't that the UK Finescale track set? I've never noticed that issue using that track set, and I've used it for nearly 5 years now!

Yes, it is the finescale set. no custom catenaries, but this happens sometimes on straight tracks too.

_________________
Jetrain
========
I'm drawing things... you'll see what soon.
========
I want a sandwich.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 38 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: habell and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.