Australian Railway Tracks

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3516
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Australian Railway Tracks

Post by GarryG »

AuzRailSet:
Attachments
AuzRailSet.grf
(1.38 MiB) Downloaded 88 times
Soot Happens
Screenshot Of The Month Winner March 2020
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
AuzProjectReleases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3516
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Australian Railway Tracks

Post by GarryG »

Hi all, been slack with the tracks as busy with other projects especially roads.

Kruemelchen's "Country Roads (NRT)" gave me an idea. The snow templates he made for roads, why not also use them for railway tracks?

So I been experimenting and got this result.
Snow Ploughed-1.png
Snow Ploughed-1.png (29.89 KiB) Viewed 2106 times
Now a question for those we live where it snows and near railway lines. When they snow is ploughed along the railways .. does this uncover the sleepers as well? OR maybe the sleepers stay hibernating and just the rails can be seen like in the image above.

Here my AuzRailSet file for you to try and let me know if I should show the sleepers or leave them as they are?
Attachments
AuzRailset.grf
(3.56 MiB) Downloaded 70 times
Soot Happens
Screenshot Of The Month Winner March 2020
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
AuzProjectReleases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3516
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Australian Railway Tracks

Post by GarryG »

While I was making Footbridges for my station set got idea for the catenary for the rail set.

What if I reduce the gap between the top Catenary Wire and the Contact Wire. This slight change to help the top wire to fit better under bridges and other items that go over the top of the tracks.
This diagram will give you and idea what I talking about (I hope).

On Left is old style and right is the new style of Catenary. (But not sure which is the better)
Catenary with Footbridge.png
Catenary with Footbridge.png (31.83 KiB) Viewed 1974 times
So I tried this idea with the Gantry Catenary.
Previous version.
Gantry Catenary-1.png
Gantry Catenary-1.png (21.02 KiB) Viewed 1974 times
and new version.
Gantry Catenary-2.png
Gantry Catenary-2.png (19.23 KiB) Viewed 1974 times
The new version has allowed me to add the Contact System to the Gantry. Previous version because the top wire so close to the gantry there wasn't much room to add the Contact System.

Next post will upload the game file so you can test it yourself and let me know if I on the right track.
Soot Happens
Screenshot Of The Month Winner March 2020
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
AuzProjectReleases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3516
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Australian Railway Tracks

Post by GarryG »

Here the game file.

Only the "Electrified Rail 1 Pylons (Rail & Wire Fence)" and "Electrified Rail 1 Gantry (Rail & Wire Fence)" been changed.

The "Electrified Rail 2 Pylons (NO Fence)" and "Electrified Rail 2 Gantry (NO Fences)" still the old way .. this so can compare the difference.

If no objections I will change all the catenary to match this new idea.
Attachments
AuzRailSet.grf
(3.57 MiB) Downloaded 119 times
Soot Happens
Screenshot Of The Month Winner March 2020
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
AuzProjectReleases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3516
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Australian Railway Tracks

Post by GarryG »

So many of you seem to like the alteration I made to the catenary by lowing the top wire.

I've have now altered all the catenary tracks to use this new idea. Also looking at another idea.

The Gantry Catenary I removed the pylons from one of the sets so you can get this effect.
Gantry Catenary-3.png
Gantry Catenary-3.png (31.01 KiB) Viewed 1883 times
There are 2 Gantry Pylon Catenary sets.

The "Electrified 1 Gantry (Wire Fence)" is the outer tracks with the fence and pylons.

The "Electrified 2 Gantry (NO Pylons and Fence )" is the 2 centre tracks.

Also changed the pylon colours to one set and called it "Electrified New Pylons (NO Fences)". Because it new looking I set these to become available in 1970. There is no Gantry set to go with these.

Here both the game file and the source for those who like to use any of what I done for their own sets.
Attachments
AuzRailSet.grf
(3.57 MiB) Downloaded 103 times
AuzRailSetsSource16Feb2020.rar
(7.55 MiB) Downloaded 55 times
Soot Happens
Screenshot Of The Month Winner March 2020
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
AuzProjectReleases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3516
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Australian Railway Tracks

Post by GarryG »

Hi all,

One of our members called LaRoso added a screenshot over on "Screenshot Of The Month Competition" at viewtopic.php?p=1229888#p1229888 and in his display are some sound proof fences from the Korean Object set.

These are similar to what I been working on previous but never finished mine as they needed alterations made to the fence templates due to their height. But seeing what was in that screenshot got me motivated to have another try at what I was doing.

This is the result.
SoundProofFences1.png
SoundProofFences1.png (50.77 KiB) Viewed 1315 times
The sound proof object fences at the front showing some of different heights from the Korean set. Be nice if I be allowed to change the style of my fences to match these so they will look better if both are used in a game.

But they are Creative Commons Licence so will need to contact the maker see if give permission to use their style.

Until I can get that permission here the updates version of my AuzRailSet if any one like to try.
Attachments
AuzRailSet.grf
(3.57 MiB) Downloaded 47 times
Soot Happens
Screenshot Of The Month Winner March 2020
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
AuzProjectReleases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3516
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Australian Railway Tracks

Post by GarryG »

The fences on the slopes didn't look right so I edited them and now they look like this.
SoundProofFences2.png
SoundProofFences2.png (108.48 KiB) Viewed 1195 times
Here the update. Also making some object sets of these fences.
Attachments
AuzRailSet.grf
(3.57 MiB) Downloaded 32 times
Soot Happens
Screenshot Of The Month Winner March 2020
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
AuzProjectReleases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3516
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Australian Railway Tracks

Post by GarryG »

If any one wants to try building their own railway lines here the source to what I done so far.
Attachments
AuzRailSetsSource22ndMarch2020.rar
(7.58 MiB) Downloaded 38 times
Soot Happens
Screenshot Of The Month Winner March 2020
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
AuzProjectReleases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3516
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Australian Railway Tracks

Post by GarryG »

Uttam7623 wrote:
04 Jun 2020 13:31
Thank you for your help. I'm looking for something like that
Your welcome .. when you make your own set also show in credits to Quast65 as he helped a lot with coding.

Cheers
Soot Happens
Screenshot Of The Month Winner March 2020
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
AuzProjectReleases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

Ragin1_
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 10
Joined: 10 Dec 2018 05:58
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Australian Railway Tracks

Post by Ragin1_ »

Is it possible to get a new grf that's just the signals? They'd work great in one of my current games.

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3516
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Australian Railway Tracks

Post by GarryG »

Ragin1_ wrote:
17 Jun 2020 06:32
Is it possible to get a new grf that's just the signals? They'd work great in one of my current games.
Sorry pal, but the signals are part of a track set you can't separate them. (At least not to my knowledge).

In my AuzWaypoints in the AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390forum forum, there are some signals in there .. they don't control trains but still look nice and they are Path Aware which they do clear to green for a train and return to stop when a train passes.

If you place a before them a actual Path Signal, when a train passes that Path Signal it will put the Waypoint Path Signal to green which will return to stop when the train passes them.

Hope they might help.

Cheers

EDIT:

This might help explain .. this a crossing loop for single line. The Starting Signals in the look and main line are Actual Path Signals. The Home and Distance signals approaching the crossing loop are Waypoints.
Signalling.png
Signalling.png (70.7 KiB) Viewed 445 times
When the train passed the distance signal it returned to stop position and the next signal the home signal showing clear and it will go to stop when the engine passes it.
Soot Happens
Screenshot Of The Month Winner March 2020
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
AuzProjectReleases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3516
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Australian Railway Tracks

Post by GarryG »

I keep forgetting some things .. here a copy of the Waypoints game file save you hunting for it .. plus it updated to the version on Bananas.
Attachments
AuzWaypointsV4.grf
(1.1 MiB) Downloaded 11 times
Soot Happens
Screenshot Of The Month Winner March 2020
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
AuzProjectReleases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3516
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Australian Railway Tracks

Post by GarryG »

Ragin1_ wrote:
17 Jun 2020 06:32
Is it possible to get a new grf that's just the signals? They'd work great in one of my current games.
Curiosity pal, were the waypoints suitable for what you wanted? Or was it a different signal set you looking for?

Cheers
Soot Happens
Screenshot Of The Month Winner March 2020
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
AuzProjectReleases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

Ragin1_
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 10
Joined: 10 Dec 2018 05:58
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Australian Railway Tracks

Post by Ragin1_ »

Sorry about the delayed response, I've been fairly busy the past few days. Main thing I wanted was a set with just the signals like Combined us signal set or dutch signals to use with different track sets, thanks for the help though :)

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3516
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Australian Railway Tracks

Post by GarryG »

Ragin1_ wrote:
23 Jun 2020 03:44
Sorry about the delayed response
That ok .. I was just curious how you wanted to use them .. when we make the tracks we can have 2 sets of signals .. one suppose to be the "semaphore signal" and the other the "light signals". But can have what ever type we like. But its Unfortunately we can not make the signals as a separate stand along file unless we use the Waypoints or even just as objects but they don't control the trains .. they just for show.

Was thinking to make a rail track track with the lower quadrant signals for the "semaphore signal" and when the year comes to upgrade they change to the upper quadrant semaphore signal instead of the "light signals".

I used to work for the NSW Railways from 1970 yo 1994 and when I left "lower quadrant semaphore signal" was still in use on many branch lines and the main line between Parkes and Broken Hill. Probably other places too so a rail track that does not upgrade the signal type be something I be looking at later as well once I catch up on some other projects I working on.

I see your a novcastian too :D

Cheers pal
Soot Happens
Screenshot Of The Month Winner March 2020
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
AuzProjectReleases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

Ragin1_
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 10
Joined: 10 Dec 2018 05:58
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Australian Railway Tracks

Post by Ragin1_ »

I reckon lower quadrant signals could be a pretty good thing to see so if you can I'd say go for it.

Novocastrian pride :)

User avatar
Quast65
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1671
Joined: 09 Oct 2011 13:51
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Australian Railway Tracks

Post by Quast65 »

Ragin1_ wrote:
23 Jun 2020 10:56
GarryG wrote:
23 Jun 2020 07:18
But its Unfortunately we can not make the signals as a separate stand along file
Yes you can.
It is possible to make a little GRF that only replaces the graphics of the signals (Base Graphics Replacement, via Action-0A in NFO, REPLACE in NML ), that can then be used in combination with other tracksets.
See for example your trackset with Dutch signals:
Example528.png
Example528.png (124.99 KiB) Viewed 188 times
Projects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3516
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Australian Railway Tracks

Post by GarryG »

Quast65 wrote:
25 Jun 2020 08:09
Yes you can.
It is possible to make a little GRF that only replaces the graphics of the signals (Base Graphics Replacement, via Action-0A in NFO, REPLACE in NML ), that can then be used in combination with other tracksets.
See for example your trackset with Dutch signals:
Looks like I got something new to learn. :D .
Soot Happens
Screenshot Of The Month Winner March 2020
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
AuzProjectReleases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
Quast65
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1671
Joined: 09 Oct 2011 13:51
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Australian Railway Tracks

Post by Quast65 »

GarryG wrote:
25 Jun 2020 08:20
Looks like I got something new to learn. :D .
I forgot to mention, you also need to replace graphics with Action-05 (REPLACENEW in NML), as a lot of the signals are in OGFX-extra (only the basic ones and the menu-sprites are in the base-graphics).

I dont think you need to redraw anything (you should be able to use the graphics you made for your trackset) and you can use the data (sizes and offsets) from your trackset-code.

NFO information:
Action-0A
https://newgrf-specs.tt-wiki.net/wiki/ActionA
Action-05
https://newgrf-specs.tt-wiki.net/wiki/Action5

NML information:
Replace (and further on also ReplaceNew)
https://www.tt-wiki.net/wiki/NMLTutoria ... eplacement
ReplaceNew (additional information)
https://newgrf-specs.tt-wiki.net/wiki/N ... ew_sprites
Projects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: STD and 9 guests