Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Thu Sep 20, 2018 11:13 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 178 posts ]  Go to page Previous 15 6 7 8 9 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Sun Jun 17, 2018 6:14 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 2482
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Hi all,

Been asked by a few people if could remove the ballast I have with some of my stations sets with the Freight Platforms so they will look better with the track sets they use.

So what I going to do is first make a extra track to go with the track set called Marshalling Yards and Sidings with a sped of 40 km/h. This track set has the grey crushed ballast same as the freight platforms. This will allow me to remove the ballast from the freight platforms and those who liked the ballast can use this new track I did.
Attachment:
Marshalling Yard and Sidings.png
Marshalling Yard and Sidings.png [ 13.03 KiB | Viewed 883 times ]

On making this set since it wasn't planned to be used with bridges, I removed all the sleepers as the crushed ballast covers them anyway and discovered by removing the sleepers it improves the look of the tracks crossing bridges so did this to the other sets a well and got this result on bridges I have made.
Attachment:
New Track designs.png
New Track designs.png [ 83.96 KiB | Viewed 883 times ]


I'll put the bridges in post below this one if like to try.


Attachments:
AuzTracks.grf [722.93 KiB]
Downloaded 15 times

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jun 17, 2018 6:19 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 2482
Location: Newcastle, Australia
I been playing around making some bridges ,. it no where near completed but if like to se what been done so far.

To learn how to make these bridges I used the coding and sprites from the American Bridges set.


Attachments:
australian_bridges.grf [89.6 KiB]
Downloaded 21 times

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jun 25, 2018 2:58 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 2482
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Hi all,

Seeing if I can add a variety of signals .. hoping each track could have its own set of signals.

Early tracks can have the Lower Quadrant semaphore signals.

Later versions can have the Upper Quadrant semaphore signals.

With colour lights we have the single colour light indications and on busy tracks they have multi light signals.

The new tracks I added recently .. the Marshalling Yards and Sidings .. most of these types of yards and sidings didn't have the tall signals like you see on main lines .. they have a smaller signal known as Dwarf Signals, some people called them dolly signals,

Well I started to add a set to those new tracks.
Attachment:
New Signals-1.png
New Signals-1.png [ 54.66 KiB | Viewed 806 times ]

I've only done the "semaphores" dwarf signals so far. Hope to do the colour light type in next day or so.

The 2 tracks in the diagram .. middle track has the previous signals and outer track has the dwarf signals.

You can try if like .. but remember only the semaphore for the Marshalling Yards done so far.

Cheers


Attachments:
AuzTracks.grf [751 KiB]
Downloaded 11 times

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jun 25, 2018 1:48 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 2482
Location: Newcastle, Australia
I did some more signalling.

There are now 3 types of signals.

The Marshalling Yard and Sidings had Dwarf signals as shown above.

All the other tracks up to the 80 km/h has older style main line signals such as Lower Quadrant and Single colour lights.

The high speed tracks 120 km/h and faster have more modern type signals .. upper quadrant and multi colour signals.

If you like to play around with them and let me know if I missed anything or maybe improve any of the signals, please let me know.

Will place the source here soon.

Cheers


Attachments:
AuzTracks.grf [780.42 KiB]
Downloaded 13 times

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Jun 25, 2018 11:39 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 2482
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Having a go at improving the ballast between tracks.

2 things I trying as can see if this image.
Attachment:
BALLAST-1.png
BALLAST-1.png [ 57.97 KiB | Viewed 684 times ]


Left 2 tracks I transitioned the ballast which you often see in real .. less ballast between the 2 sets of tracks and out to the boundary.

The tracks to right has the same and also the grass fencing I did I made it a bit narrower.

Just wondering now if I really need the green fence with the ballast transitioned each side?

Whatcha all reckon?

Do I continue the idea of the transitioning?

Do I remove the green fencing?

Cheers

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2018 6:09 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 2482
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Doing more to the railway tracks.

Those who love the snow they are now catered for. All tracks have snow now.
Attachment:
SnowTracks-1.png
SnowTracks-1.png [ 14.6 KiB | Viewed 639 times ]


I've transitioned all the tracks except the Marshalling Yards and for the moment removed fences (green grass as they hide some signals).
Attachment:
Transition Ballast no fences-1.png
Transition Ballast no fences-1.png [ 14.27 KiB | Viewed 639 times ]


Also the green fences didn't look to good when used with Artic and Tropic.
Attachment:
Transition Ballast no fences-2.png
Transition Ballast no fences-2.png [ 13.65 KiB | Viewed 639 times ]


Other changes:

As those who used this set previous seen the different types of Depots.

Now there are 3 different types of signals.

The 40 Km/p Pioneer Line and the Marshalling Yards have dwarf signals.

The early main line and branch line tracks have Lower Quadrant and single light signals,

The Main Line High Speed and Main Line Vert High Speed have a more modern type signals .. upper quadrant and double light signals.

In a few moments I will put them in next post and if no complaints or problems found hope to release on Bananas soon.

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2018 6:41 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 2482
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Here the latest version of AuzTracks.

This is AuzTracks4.

If you find any thing you like to change or maybe add let me know.

Read post above (or the change log file in the sources) to what changes I have made.

Does any one have some NML coding and source to tunnels they could let me have a look at as love to add some tunnels for the different track types.


The Source includes all graphics to tracks, level crossing, catenary and signals.
Attachment:
AuzTracks4.rar [2.02 MiB]
Downloaded 8 times


If you prefer just the game file here it is on its lonesome.
Attachment:
AuzTracks.grf [727.89 KiB]
Downloaded 16 times


Cheers all

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2018 8:27 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 05, 2013 2:34 am
Posts: 256
Location: at home
Why is this so good?

_________________
Jetrain
========
I'm drawing things... you'll see what soon.
========
I want a sandwich.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2018 12:50 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 2482
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Thanks Trainman1432 for your compliments.

Hope everyone more happier with these new sets.

Cheers all

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2018 2:12 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 2482
Location: Newcastle, Australia
This rail set will be altered some more as Thanks to the makers of Swedish Rails I see if I can learn from their coding and graphics of tunnels.

This image of tunnels I transferred from the Swedish set and practice to see if I be able to change the portals.
Attachment:
Tunnels-1.png
Tunnels-1.png [ 62.34 KiB | Viewed 575 times ]


One tunnel portal has brick entry which I did to see if what I like to do will work .. and so far so good.

So plan to design my own tunnels to what I seen here in my Country.

Brick portals and later have concrete types of different styles .. at least I hope I can do this.

Cheers all

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2018 4:28 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2011 1:51 pm
Posts: 1598
Location: The Netherlands
Is this correct for the Pioneer lines?
Attachment:
Example437.png
Example437.png [ 58.43 KiB | Viewed 546 times ]

Both pioneerlines dont have sleepers under the tracks when you put switches in them.

_________________
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 26, 2018 9:46 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 2482
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Quast65 wrote:
Is this correct for the Pioneer lines?


That not meant to happen .. wonder why I not notice those things. :roll:

Will fix tomorrow as got appointments today ..

Thanks

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 12:47 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 5:15 pm
Posts: 6165
Location: Eastern KY
GarryG wrote:
Quast65 wrote:
Is this correct for the Pioneer lines?

That not meant to happen .. wonder why I not notice those things. :roll:


It's the beavers. They'll take all the wood! :lol:

_________________
Do you like drones, quadcopters & flying toys? Check out Drone Strike Force!
Image

Base Music Sets: OpenMSX | Scott Joplin Anthology | Traditional Winter Holiday Music | Modern Motion Music
Other Projects: 2CC Trams | Modern Waypoints | Sprite Sandbox & NewGRF Releases | Ideabox | Town Names | Isle of Sodor Scenario | Random Sprite Repository
Misc Topics: My Screenshots | Forgotten NewGRFs | Unfinished Graphics Sets | Stats Shack | RoadTypes?


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 4:16 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 2482
Location: Newcastle, Australia
kamnet wrote:
It's the beavers. They'll take all the wood!


You could be right, I was thinking maybe the farmers took them as they like the longer timber sleepers that go under switchers (points).


I found out what happened. These sleepers are missing from all the tracks, but just not easy to notice with those with stone ballast.

I was experimenting with the tracks going other bridges and they looked better without the sleepers, but forgot to se what happens back at switchers.

So looks like I have to get the fettlers out to put those sleepers back.

Those who love snow, it started to snow on the depot roofs too.

Cheers all

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 9:50 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 2482
Location: Newcastle, Australia
I retrieved the stolen sleepers so junctions between tracks should look a lot better.

This version I putting here has the Tunnel from Swedish Set, but this tunnel I plan to later replace with a design of my own. Need to go train riding a do some walking to visit an old abandon tunnel made from red bricks as I hope to design my tunnels from that. Hope to do my travels one day next week.

Those who like playing in the snow, snow has fallen on the roofs of the Depots. and can only just see the tracks as had a lot of snow.

Any way if like to give it a try what I done so far here is the latest.


Attachments:
AuzTracks.grf [751.96 KiB]
Downloaded 23 times

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 6:51 pm 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor

Joined: Sun Apr 03, 2016 8:19 pm
Posts: 429
GarryG wrote:
I retrieved the stolen sleepers so junctions between tracks should look a lot better.

This version I putting here has the Tunnel from Swedish Set, but this tunnel I plan to later replace with a design of my own. Need to go train riding a do some walking to visit an old abandon tunnel made from red bricks as I hope to design my tunnels from that. Hope to do my travels one day next week.

Those who like playing in the snow, snow has fallen on the roofs of the Depots. and can only just see the tracks as had a lot of snow.

Any way if like to give it a try what I done so far here is the latest.


You asked about the grass fences with the ballast, please keep the fences. It looks even better with the transitions!

_________________
Licenses for my work...
You automatically have my permission to re-license graphics or code by me if needed for use in any project that is not GPL v2, on the condition that if you release any derivatives of my graphics they're automatically considered as ALSO GPL v2 (code may remain unreleased, but please do provide it) and carry this provision in GPL v2 uses.
Please ask someone in-the-know to be sure that the graphics are done by me. Especially TTD-Scale, long story.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jun 27, 2018 11:58 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 2482
Location: Newcastle, Australia
SimYouLater wrote:
You asked about the grass fences with the ballast, please keep the fences. It looks even better with the transitions!


What I do is make 2 sets one with and one with out the grass.

The grass some places was a bit to wide and interfered with signals, but by narrowing it a bit it looked better. Will make a grass copy and hope have it read soon.

Cheers

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2018 8:53 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 2482
Location: Newcastle, Australia
For those who like the grass covering some of the ballast along the edges here is AuzTracks5.

It has the different signals and a tunnel like the other version has.

But both this set and the other one will change once I make the tunnels I want.

Cheers


Attachments:
AuzTracks5.grf [772.52 KiB]
Downloaded 15 times

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jun 28, 2018 11:46 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 2482
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Hi all,

Been have problems aligning fences and tracks when making my track set, so decided to make a test track.

I colour coded everything to see how tracks and fences are used.

Maybe you might like to use this as well, and improve it if you see an area improvements can be made.

Fence alignment is a issue I can not find the answer for.

I can get the fence at the front to align correctly with the tile edge, but the other side is several pixels short. I got no idea how to make the back fence align better.

I colour coded the switches so can see how the layers work.

If you like to try this and use for own projects here the source in NML.
It still has my new signals and several of the depots so can se how I coded the extras.

It only contains one track to test with an it in those pretty colours so can see it better and how they work.

Cheers


Attachments:
Fence Alignment1.png
Fence Alignment1.png [ 19.51 KiB | Viewed 272 times ]
AuzTracksTest.rar [938.37 KiB]
Downloaded 7 times

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jun 29, 2018 12:21 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 11:16 pm
Posts: 1254
i might be missing something obvious, but what do you mean by "the other side is several pixels short" ?

right now the other side fence is not on the tile edge, and if putted on the back edge line (green and red) it seems just fine, but that obvious, so there must be something else...

what kind of fence are you trying to make exactly ? are you trying to make them asymetric in term of distance to the rails ?


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 178 posts ]  Go to page Previous 15 6 7 8 9 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: perverted monkey and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.