Australian Railway Tracks

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

Post Reply
KeldorKatarn
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 274
Joined: 13 Apr 2010 21:31

Re: Australian Railway Tracks

Post by KeldorKatarn » 29 Apr 2018 17:49

Can you try that with my version of the game? I changed the way compatibility is set. If one Grf track set says it's compatible with vanilla electric rail and other grf says EL rail is compatible to IT, then the game uses the transitive assumption and makes both grfs compatible with eachother. That makes sure two GRF track sets can be compatible with eachother even though they don't know about eachother.

To illustrate this:

Say we have GRF track set A and another one B

A defines track type 1) and says that anything build for 1) can run on vanilla electric rail

B defines track type 2) and says that anything build for vanilla electric rail can run on 2)


my game looks at this and says if 1) can run on ERAIL and ERAIL can run on 2), then 1) can also run on 2).

I hope that made sense and I didn't missunderstand the problem.

SimYouLater
Director
Director
Posts: 582
Joined: 03 Apr 2016 20:19

Re: Australian Railway Tracks

Post by SimYouLater » 29 Apr 2018 18:17

KeldorKatarn wrote:Can you try that with my version of the game? I changed the way compatibility is set. If one Grf track set says it's compatible with vanilla electric rail and other grf says EL rail is compatible to IT, then the game uses the transitive assumption and makes both grfs compatible with eachother. That makes sure two GRF track sets can be compatible with eachother even though they don't know about eachother.

To illustrate this:

Say we have GRF track set A and another one B

A defines track type 1) and says that anything build for 1) can run on vanilla electric rail

B defines track type 2) and says that anything build for vanilla electric rail can run on 2)


my game looks at this and says if 1) can run on ERAIL and ERAIL can run on 2), then 1) can also run on 2).

I hope that made sense and I didn't missunderstand the problem.
The issue is that TYTX is not coded for compatibility with RAIL, but we can't figure out how to code TYTX to allow RAIL trains on it. We've looked at NuTracks, but it looks like it I need to include RAIL and ELRL sections in the code.
Licenses for my work...
You automatically have my permission to re-license graphics or code by me if needed for use in any project that is not GPL v2, on the condition that if you release any derivatives of my graphics they're automatically considered as ALSO GPL v2 (code may remain unreleased, but please do provide it) and carry this provision in GPL v2 uses.
Please ask someone in-the-know to be sure that the graphics are done by me. Especially TTD-Scale, long story.

KeldorKatarn
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 274
Joined: 13 Apr 2010 21:31

Re: Australian Railway Tracks

Post by KeldorKatarn » 29 Apr 2018 20:55

I have no idea how the newGRFs define it. BUT. When I worked in the code I saw that rail sets can define what engine-railtype has power on what track railtype. So you can define TrackXYZ has power on ELRAIL and ELRAIL has power on TrackXYZ. But don't ask me WHERE you define that.

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2973
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Australian Railway Tracks

Post by GarryG » 29 Apr 2018 21:43

SimYouLater wrote:The issue is that TYTX is not coded for compatibility with RAIL, but we can't figure out how to code TYTX to allow RAIL trains on it. We've looked at NuTracks, but it looks like it I need to include RAIL and ELRL sections in the code.
Wonder if write in a code like I did to some of my tracks.

The pioneering Lines for instances I gave them the codes NSWE and NSWR.

I just used the codes to one of the tracks I didn't want in NuTracks and changed the references to those to track codes.

If you want my AuzTrack codes let me know.
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStatins: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

SimYouLater
Director
Director
Posts: 582
Joined: 03 Apr 2016 20:19

Re: Australian Railway Tracks

Post by SimYouLater » 29 Apr 2018 22:00

GarryG wrote:
SimYouLater wrote:The issue is that TYTX is not coded for compatibility with RAIL, but we can't figure out how to code TYTX to allow RAIL trains on it. We've looked at NuTracks, but it looks like it I need to include RAIL and ELRL sections in the code.
Wonder if write in a code like I did to some of my tracks.

The pioneering Lines for instances I gave them the codes NSWE and NSWR.

I just used the codes to one of the tracks I didn't want in NuTracks and changed the references to those to track codes.

If you want my AuzTrack codes let me know.
Yeah, it would probably come in handy to have the code. Thanks!
Licenses for my work...
You automatically have my permission to re-license graphics or code by me if needed for use in any project that is not GPL v2, on the condition that if you release any derivatives of my graphics they're automatically considered as ALSO GPL v2 (code may remain unreleased, but please do provide it) and carry this provision in GPL v2 uses.
Please ask someone in-the-know to be sure that the graphics are done by me. Especially TTD-Scale, long story.

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2973
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Australian Railway Tracks

Post by GarryG » 29 Apr 2018 22:11

SimYouLater wrote:Yeah, it would probably come in handy to have the code. Thanks!
Here all the files I use to make AuzTracks.

Practice with the 2 I added NSWE and NSWR .. rename the reference of one to TYTX and the other ELTX and see what happens.

I think we are allowed 15 or 16 tracks total in the codes and I only have 11 in this so plenty room for extending and changes.

Cheers pal
Attachments
AuzTracks2SourceCodes.rar
(1.81 MiB) Downloaded 20 times
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStatins: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2973
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Australian Railway Tracks

Post by GarryG » 02 May 2018 11:07

Made a second track set with no fences so it will work with the Overlap Platforms I experimenting with.

The will look like this with wide ballast.
OverlapPlatform4.png
OverlapPlatform4.png (56.07 KiB) Viewed 1239 times
Attachments
AuzTracksNoFences.grf
(643.33 KiB) Downloaded 28 times
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStatins: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

SimYouLater
Director
Director
Posts: 582
Joined: 03 Apr 2016 20:19

Re: Australian Railway Tracks

Post by SimYouLater » 02 May 2018 16:56

GarryG wrote:Made a second track set with no fences so it will work with the Overlap Platforms I experimenting with.

The will look like this with wide ballast.
OverlapPlatform4.png
No way to prevent fences from showing up in the code? What about putting a station building next to the tracks?
Licenses for my work...
You automatically have my permission to re-license graphics or code by me if needed for use in any project that is not GPL v2, on the condition that if you release any derivatives of my graphics they're automatically considered as ALSO GPL v2 (code may remain unreleased, but please do provide it) and carry this provision in GPL v2 uses.
Please ask someone in-the-know to be sure that the graphics are done by me. Especially TTD-Scale, long story.

User avatar
Quast65
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1652
Joined: 09 Oct 2011 13:51
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Australian Railway Tracks

Post by Quast65 » 02 May 2018 17:13

No way to prevent fences from showing up in the code?
The overlap has (logically) no effect at all on the track that it overlaps.
What about putting a station building next to the tracks?
That indeed does the trick (as I also pointed out in Garry's Auzstations thread), that way you can use any trackset that has fences.
Projects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.

KeldorKatarn
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 274
Joined: 13 Apr 2010 21:31

Re: Australian Railway Tracks

Post by KeldorKatarn » 02 May 2018 19:12

SimYouLater wrote:
GarryG wrote:Made a second track set with no fences so it will work with the Overlap Platforms I experimenting with.

The will look like this with wide ballast.
OverlapPlatform4.png
No way to prevent fences from showing up in the code? What about putting a station building next to the tracks?
*cough* In my version you can turn them off *cough* ;)

User avatar
Quast65
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1652
Joined: 09 Oct 2011 13:51
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Australian Railway Tracks

Post by Quast65 » 02 May 2018 19:32

*cough* In my version you can turn them off *cough*
Ofcourse, but then they are always and everywhere off along that railtype.
Some players may not want that (I have them off always by the way in my games ;-) )
Projects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.

KeldorKatarn
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 274
Joined: 13 Apr 2010 21:31

Re: Australian Railway Tracks

Post by KeldorKatarn » 02 May 2018 22:28

Having them off alone a sepcific line can only be done with specific rail types. Mine supports 32 types but I still think that would be a major waste of rail types. better to switch them off and possibly build newGRF object fences where they are wanted.

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2973
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Australian Railway Tracks

Post by GarryG » 02 May 2018 23:11

Thanks fellas for your feedback.

I don't like fences too .. and think object fences are nicer in as there are a variety of fence types in my object sets and hope add a few more eventually.

But without fences in my set (which is green grass or snow) I end up with extra wide ballast. .. Maybe I ned to narrow the ballast a bit?
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStatins: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

SimYouLater
Director
Director
Posts: 582
Joined: 03 Apr 2016 20:19

Re: Australian Railway Tracks

Post by SimYouLater » 03 May 2018 00:18

GarryG wrote:Thanks fellas for your feedback.

I don't like fences too .. and think object fences are nicer in as there are a variety of fence types in my object sets and hope add a few more eventually.

But without fences in my set (which is green grass or snow) I end up with extra wide ballast. .. Maybe I ned to narrow the ballast a bit?
I absolutely love the wide ballast and grass fences. It's not too much trouble to put a station building in front of the fake platform, just leave it as-is.
Licenses for my work...
You automatically have my permission to re-license graphics or code by me if needed for use in any project that is not GPL v2, on the condition that if you release any derivatives of my graphics they're automatically considered as ALSO GPL v2 (code may remain unreleased, but please do provide it) and carry this provision in GPL v2 uses.
Please ask someone in-the-know to be sure that the graphics are done by me. Especially TTD-Scale, long story.

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2973
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Australian Railway Tracks

Post by GarryG » 03 May 2018 01:11

SimYouLater wrote:I absolutely love the wide ballast and grass fences. It's not too much trouble to put a station building in front of the fake platform, just leave it as-is.
Shall leave them in ..
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStatins: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

SimYouLater
Director
Director
Posts: 582
Joined: 03 Apr 2016 20:19

Re: Australian Railway Tracks

Post by SimYouLater » 23 May 2018 04:46

GarryG wrote:...
I found a bug with the signals.
Attachments
qWorks, 01_23_3013.png
(493.3 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Licenses for my work...
You automatically have my permission to re-license graphics or code by me if needed for use in any project that is not GPL v2, on the condition that if you release any derivatives of my graphics they're automatically considered as ALSO GPL v2 (code may remain unreleased, but please do provide it) and carry this provision in GPL v2 uses.
Please ask someone in-the-know to be sure that the graphics are done by me. Especially TTD-Scale, long story.

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2973
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Australian Railway Tracks

Post by GarryG » 23 May 2018 08:15

SimYouLater wrote:I found a bug with the signals.
Took a while to figure that out but found one of my signal sprites was the problem.

Here's both copies of my AuzTracks, one with and one without the fences.
Attachments
AuzTracksNoFences.grf
(643.36 KiB) Downloaded 32 times
AuzTracks.grf
(662.48 KiB) Downloaded 39 times
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStatins: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2973
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Australian Railway Tracks

Post by GarryG » 29 May 2018 13:40

Wallyweb taught me how to design bridges and coded some for me .. and now I having a go at making bridges and coding them.

Been busy with other projects so only done a few so far.

The road bridges are .. Steel Girder and Iron Platting. The Iron Platting often seen crossing over railway lines and there are a some crossing creeks.

There are 3 types of railway bridges in this pic: A Iron Platting .. these see in Sydney crossing over road ways and also water ways. The next has wooden bridges each end of a steel girder bridge.

Some of these bridges courtesy of the American Bridge set as practising using their images and coding.
Attachments
Bridges.png
Bridges.png (276.82 KiB) Viewed 887 times
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStatins: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

Silverx50
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 425
Joined: 13 Apr 2007 19:52
Location: Den Haag, The Netherlands

Re: Australian Railway Tracks

Post by Silverx50 » 29 May 2018 13:56

Those bridges look great GarryG.
You really are a man of wonder, you've created so much content and of great quality.
makes me want to step up my own developments. can't wait to see what other bridges you come up with.
All my projects are GPLv2 License.

Dutch landmark Object Set Workshop viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75071
My stations workshop viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74749

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2973
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Australian Railway Tracks

Post by GarryG » 03 Jun 2018 00:26

I got several projects going at moment hope eventually to get some finished.

Have any of you tried Quast65 catenary set called "Qatenary" .. some of his set also found in Waypoints to give a different effect with the posts and supports. He given me permission to copy his idea and I made these.
OverheadWaypoints-1.png
OverheadWaypoints-1.png (66.04 KiB) Viewed 819 times
Unfortunately being Waypoints they are coded in NFO where my tracks are in NML.

So when I finish these Catenary Waypoints they will be in a separate file with my Waypoints I made in my station sets.
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStatins: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 8 guests