Vactrain Set Development Thread - 1.0.1 Now Available

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

User avatar
Emperor Jake
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3051
Joined: 24 Apr 2007 09:37
Location: Straya

Vactrain Set Development Thread - 1.0.1 Now Available

Post by Emperor Jake » 30 Jan 2018 15:17

Welcome to the development thread for the Vactrain Set. I’ve been working on this update on and off for the past few years, rewriting it to include most of the features promised in the release thread.

Version 1.0.1 is now available! It's also on Bananas now! The source code is on page 2 of this thread.

Changelog:

2018-01-31 Version 1.0 Beta
- Complete and thorough recode of the set
- Completely new train selection with new graphics
- New track graphics and maglev compatibility
- Implemented cost parameters

2018-07-22 Version 1.0.1
- Added infrastructure cost parameter
- Added maglev compatibility parameter
- New translations: Dutch, Esperanto, improved German



Things that will be in future releases (in order of importance)
  • More Translations
  • Balance/Capacity tweaks
  • Express Cargo Vans
  • A Parameter to remove universal cargo wagons (allow express cargos only)
  • Different loads for cargo wagons (WIP)
  • Sound effects
  • Custom signals, tunnels, eyecandy
  • Make alt text adjust to different units, i.e. kW and mph

I’ve also made my own version of the bridge speed limit GRF: the Vactrain Set Companion, now available on bananas. This small NFO project may include station and waypoint tiles in the future, but for now it's a very simple optional addon.

Feedback, bug reports, suggestions and translations go below :)
Attachments
vactrain-preview.png
A small preview of the train list and new rails
vactrain-preview.png (69.63 KiB) Viewed 4649 times
vactrain_1.0.1.tar
Vactrain Set 1.0.1, 2018-07-22
(206 KiB) Downloaded 155 times
Last edited by Emperor Jake on 22 Jul 2018 15:05, edited 3 times in total.
--Stuff I made (or helped make)--
ImageImageImageImage

--My Award-Winning Screenshots and Videos--

User avatar
Emperor Jake
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3051
Joined: 24 Apr 2007 09:37
Location: Straya

Re: Vactrain Set Dev Thread - Beta Available

Post by Emperor Jake » 30 Jan 2018 15:18

More downloads...
Attachments
vactrainset_1.0BETA_src.tar
Vactrain Set 1.0 Beta 1 Source Code and GRF, 2018-01-30
(1.46 MiB) Downloaded 94 times
vactrain_companion_src.tar
Vactrain Set Companion 0.1.0 Source Code and GRF, 2018-01-30
(26.5 KiB) Downloaded 82 times
language_pack.tar
Language pack for translators. Includes a German translation by me, which could probably be improved.
(19.5 KiB) Downloaded 57 times
--Stuff I made (or helped make)--
ImageImageImageImage

--My Award-Winning Screenshots and Videos--

Kruemelchen
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 130
Joined: 18 Feb 2017 17:47

Re: Vactrain Set Dev Thread - Beta Available

Post by Kruemelchen » 30 Jan 2018 16:42

I really like the new vactrains, great work with this set!!

It's a great feature they can run on normal maglev tracks as well, very convenient :)

Btw, I attached an updated version of your (already very well) German translation
Attachments
german.lng
(6.59 KiB) Downloaded 53 times

User avatar
Erato
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 375
Joined: 25 May 2015 09:09
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Vactrain Set Dev Thread - Beta Available

Post by Erato » 30 Jan 2018 17:40

Looks great!

Also, some translations:
I don't know what this meant:

Code: Select all

lang: 7F
so I didn't change it. But here, take this:
Attachments
esperanto.lng
(6.62 KiB) Downloaded 54 times
dutch.lng
(6.81 KiB) Downloaded 54 times
No pics no clicks. Seriously.
ImageImageImageImageImageImage

mrjack2
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 47
Joined: 21 Jan 2016 23:04

Re: Vactrain Set Dev Thread - Beta Available

Post by mrjack2 » 18 Mar 2018 01:34

Quick observations from trying to get it to interact with NuTracks:

1) It must be placed above NuTracks on GRF list, otherwise the maglev infrastructure and construction costs are nerfed (practically nothing)
2) Infrastructure maintenance is too low compared to NuTracks scale (equivalent to the second highest speed when it should be maybe 2x maglev costs) with no setting to change this (unlike other costs)

goremaniac
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 23
Joined: 25 Aug 2008 08:00

Re: Vactrain Set Dev Thread - Beta Available

Post by goremaniac » 05 May 2018 14:10

This is a lovely set. Just one suggestion, Fenglong is chinese name,so probably you need to change flag associated with FL-8 and FL-5 to chinese flag instead of India and Russia flag.

Also a suggestion:- Try making your set 32 bpp supported

User avatar
Emperor Jake
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3051
Joined: 24 Apr 2007 09:37
Location: Straya

Re: Vactrain Set Dev Thread - Beta Available

Post by Emperor Jake » 08 May 2018 15:37

mrjack2 wrote: 2) Infrastructure maintenance is too low compared to NuTracks scale (equivalent to the second highest speed when it should be maybe 2x maglev costs) with no setting to change this (unlike other costs)
I agree there should be a setting to change infra costs, I've put it on my to-do list :)
goremaniac wrote:This is a lovely set. Just one suggestion, Fenglong is chinese name,so probably you need to change flag associated with FL-8 and FL-5 to chinese flag instead of India and Russia flag.

Also a suggestion:- Try making your set 32 bpp supported
The FL-8 and FL-5 originally had Chinese flags, but there were too many Chinese flags and I wanted to give the BRICS nations some representation. The story behind them is that they're Chinese developed and built but sold to Russia and India as part of a greater pan-Asian vactrain network.

As for 32bpp, I don't intend to ever make 32bpp art for any of my NewGRFs, sorry :)
--Stuff I made (or helped make)--
ImageImageImageImage

--My Award-Winning Screenshots and Videos--

SimYouLater
Director
Director
Posts: 586
Joined: 03 Apr 2016 20:19

Re: Vactrain Set Dev Thread - Beta Available

Post by SimYouLater » 08 May 2018 16:40

Emperor Jake wrote:
mrjack2 wrote: 2) Infrastructure maintenance is too low compared to NuTracks scale (equivalent to the second highest speed when it should be maybe 2x maglev costs) with no setting to change this (unlike other costs)
I agree there should be a setting to change infra costs, I've put it on my to-do list :)
goremaniac wrote:This is a lovely set. Just one suggestion, Fenglong is chinese name,so probably you need to change flag associated with FL-8 and FL-5 to chinese flag instead of India and Russia flag.

Also a suggestion:- Try making your set 32 bpp supported
The FL-8 and FL-5 originally had Chinese flags, but there were too many Chinese flags and I wanted to give the BRICS nations some representation. The story behind them is that they're Chinese developed and built but sold to Russia and India as part of a greater pan-Asian vactrain network.

As for 32bpp, I don't intend to ever make 32bpp art for any of my NewGRFs, sorry :)
To be honest, I don't get 32bpp. It means I can't have larger than default zoom or I see buildings and vehicles that don't match the remaining graphics.
Licenses for my work...
You automatically have my permission to re-license graphics or code by me if needed for use in any project that is not GPL v2, on the condition that if you release any derivatives of my graphics they're automatically considered as ALSO GPL v2 (code may remain unreleased, but please do provide it) and carry this provision in GPL v2 uses.
Please ask someone in-the-know to be sure that the graphics are done by me. Especially TTD-Scale, long story.

User avatar
Quast65
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1652
Joined: 09 Oct 2011 13:51
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Vactrain Set Dev Thread - Beta Available

Post by Quast65 » 08 May 2018 17:51

SimYouLater wrote:To be honest, I don't get 32bpp. It means I can't have larger than default zoom or I see buildings and vehicles that don't match the remaining graphics.
See this post from Gwyd:
viewtopic.php?f=26&t=77141&start=100#p1206659
In short, as I understand it, 32bpp means you can use any color and because of that you can make structures look a lot smoother/detailed, than with using the "old" Openttd palettes.
Projects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.

SimYouLater
Director
Director
Posts: 586
Joined: 03 Apr 2016 20:19

Re: Vactrain Set Dev Thread - Beta Available

Post by SimYouLater » 08 May 2018 18:03

Quast65 wrote:
SimYouLater wrote:To be honest, I don't get 32bpp. It means I can't have larger than default zoom or I see buildings and vehicles that don't match the remaining graphics.
See this post from Gwyd:
viewtopic.php?f=26&t=77141&start=100#p1206659
In short, as I understand it, 32bpp means you can use any color and because of that you can make structures look a lot smoother/detailed, than with using the "old" Openttd palettes.
No issue with more colors, but if you're going to do 32bpp, keep in mind that some people want to be able to zoom to 4x without a mismatch of graphics.
Licenses for my work...
You automatically have my permission to re-license graphics or code by me if needed for use in any project that is not GPL v2, on the condition that if you release any derivatives of my graphics they're automatically considered as ALSO GPL v2 (code may remain unreleased, but please do provide it) and carry this provision in GPL v2 uses.
Please ask someone in-the-know to be sure that the graphics are done by me. Especially TTD-Scale, long story.

User avatar
Erato
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 375
Joined: 25 May 2015 09:09
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Vactrain Set Dev Thread - Beta Available

Post by Erato » 08 May 2018 18:18

SimYouLater wrote:
Quast65 wrote:
SimYouLater wrote:To be honest, I don't get 32bpp. It means I can't have larger than default zoom or I see buildings and vehicles that don't match the remaining graphics.
See this post from Gwyd:
viewtopic.php?f=26&t=77141&start=100#p1206659
In short, as I understand it, 32bpp means you can use any color and because of that you can make structures look a lot smoother/detailed, than with using the "old" Openttd palettes.
No issue with more colors, but if you're going to do 32bpp, keep in mind that some people want to be able to zoom to 4x without a mismatch of graphics.
You didn't read Quast65 or Gwyd's posts, they mentioned that the extra-zoom a) isn't what defined 32bpp and b) is achievable in 8bpp
No pics no clicks. Seriously.
ImageImageImageImageImageImage

SimYouLater
Director
Director
Posts: 586
Joined: 03 Apr 2016 20:19

Re: Vactrain Set Dev Thread - Beta Available

Post by SimYouLater » 08 May 2018 20:44

Erato wrote:
SimYouLater wrote:
Quast65 wrote: See this post from Gwyd:
viewtopic.php?f=26&t=77141&start=100#p1206659
In short, as I understand it, 32bpp means you can use any color and because of that you can make structures look a lot smoother/detailed, than with using the "old" Openttd palettes.
No issue with more colors, but if you're going to do 32bpp, keep in mind that some people want to be able to zoom to 4x without a mismatch of graphics.
You didn't read Quast65 or Gwyd's posts, they mentioned that the extra-zoom a) isn't what defined 32bpp and b) is achievable in 8bpp
I misunderstood them. Sorry. :oops:
Licenses for my work...
You automatically have my permission to re-license graphics or code by me if needed for use in any project that is not GPL v2, on the condition that if you release any derivatives of my graphics they're automatically considered as ALSO GPL v2 (code may remain unreleased, but please do provide it) and carry this provision in GPL v2 uses.
Please ask someone in-the-know to be sure that the graphics are done by me. Especially TTD-Scale, long story.

User avatar
kamnet
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6614
Joined: 28 Sep 2009 17:15
Location: Eastern KY
Contact:

Re: Vactrain Set Dev Thread - Beta Available

Post by kamnet » 09 May 2018 04:10

The confusion comes from the doomed 32bpp Full Zoom project which combined:
1) 32bpp color palette
2) 4x zoom
3) Blender/3D-rendered graphics instead of hand drawn/pixel pushed graphics.

Casual users will need to untangle themselves from those notions and accept that all three are separate concepts.

User avatar
Erato
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 375
Joined: 25 May 2015 09:09
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Vactrain Set Dev Thread - Beta Available

Post by Erato » 11 May 2018 16:07

Emperor Jake wrote:Things that will be in future releases
  • Make alt text adjust to different units, i.e. kW and mph (haven't figured this out yet)
You could have this as a parameter.

Also, could you add a parameter so the Vactrain Set doesn't always override the default maglev tracks? So that it's a separate thing.
No pics no clicks. Seriously.
ImageImageImageImageImageImage

User avatar
Zoeff
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 33
Joined: 29 Jul 2005 15:22
Location: Haarlem, Netherlands

Re: Vactrain Set Dev Thread - Beta Available

Post by Zoeff » 11 May 2018 20:10

Just got back to this game for the first time in a very long time, interesting to see mods like this!

Looking forward to seeing this major update completed! :D

User avatar
Gwyd
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 685
Joined: 17 Apr 2017 16:52
Location: Western Ile-de-France Region

Re: Vactrain Set Dev Thread - Beta Available

Post by Gwyd » 11 May 2018 20:46

kamnet wrote:The confusion comes from the doomed 32bpp Full Zoom project which combined:
1) 32bpp color palette
2) 4x zoom
3) Blender/3D-rendered graphics instead of hand drawn/pixel pushed graphics.

Casual users will need to untangle themselves from those notions and accept that all three are separate concepts.
Done viewtopic.php?f=26&t=83238&p=1206919#p1206919

User avatar
Emperor Jake
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3051
Joined: 24 Apr 2007 09:37
Location: Straya

Re: Vactrain Set Dev Thread - Beta Available

Post by Emperor Jake » 12 May 2018 06:32

Erato wrote: Also, could you add a parameter so the Vactrain Set doesn't always override the default maglev tracks? So that it's a separate thing.

Good idea, but do you mean the whole railtype(including the speed limit) or just the graphics? I assume this is for better compatibility with MTS.
--Stuff I made (or helped make)--
ImageImageImageImage

--My Award-Winning Screenshots and Videos--

User avatar
Erato
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 375
Joined: 25 May 2015 09:09
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Vactrain Set Dev Thread - Beta Available

Post by Erato » 12 May 2018 09:53

Emperor Jake wrote:Good idea, but do you mean the whole railtype(including the speed limit) or just the graphics? I assume this is for better compatibility with MTS.
I presume that with he first one you mean making VACT incompatible with MGLV as well?

Both is fine. Make a dropdown parameter. That would allow the player the freedom to choose.

It is for MTS compatibility, but it has a usecase outside of MTS.
No pics no clicks. Seriously.
ImageImageImageImageImageImage

User avatar
Zoeff
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 33
Joined: 29 Jul 2005 15:22
Location: Haarlem, Netherlands

Re: Vactrain Set Dev Thread - Beta Available

Post by Zoeff » 23 May 2018 14:07

Just messed around with it in singleplayer a bunch, and am loving the improvements! Being able to run them on regular maglev works wonderfully, and will make upgrading to it much easier.

Would it be possible to put this beta on BaNaNaS? I'd like to add it to my server for us to play around with, having it automatically downloadable would make things much more convenient. :D

User avatar
Emperor Jake
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3051
Joined: 24 Apr 2007 09:37
Location: Straya

Re: Vactrain Set Dev Thread - Beta Available

Post by Emperor Jake » 24 May 2018 16:29

This beta was meant as a bug testing release, since there don't seem to be any I'll post it to Bananas as soon as I get around to adding new features :)
--Stuff I made (or helped make)--
ImageImageImageImage

--My Award-Winning Screenshots and Videos--

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 6 guests