Elevated Subway Bridges set

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

User avatar
wallyweb
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5560
Joined: 27 Nov 2004 15:05
Location: Canada

Re: [PixelTeam] Elevated Subway Bridge set

Post by wallyweb » 28 Dec 2017 09:42

Tony Pixel wrote:What format of image you use:png or bmp?
png or pcx; bmp

User avatar
acs121
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1944
Joined: 03 Nov 2017 18:57
Location: Courbevoie, near Paris, France

Re: [PixelTeam] Elevated Subway Bridge set

Post by acs121 » 24 Jan 2018 10:58

wallyweb wrote:Did you know that the Montréal, Canada subway (Métro) does not have rails? It has rubber tires. 8)
True, but it has guiding bars. However, in Paris, where i live, and at Lausanne, in Switzerland, where i come from, the metros have normal track, but with the guiding bars. It is mostly because subways running on normal tracks need to take pneumatic-equipped tracks to go to their depot for service.A subway for normal tracks, like the MF88, can then run on pneumatic-equipped tracks autonomously, however pneumatic subways like the MP89 need to be attached to a shunter which will get them to their destination.

User avatar
wallyweb
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5560
Joined: 27 Nov 2004 15:05
Location: Canada

Re: [PixelTeam] Elevated Subway Bridge set

Post by wallyweb » 24 Jan 2018 11:35

acs121 wrote:
wallyweb wrote:Did you know that the Montréal, Canada subway (Métro) does not have rails? It has rubber tires. 8)
True, but it has guiding bars. However, in Paris, where i live, and at Lausanne, in Switzerland, where i come from, the metros have normal track, but with the guiding bars. It is mostly because subways running on normal tracks need to take pneumatic-equipped tracks to go to their depot for service.A subway for normal tracks, like the MF88, can then run on pneumatic-equipped tracks autonomously, however pneumatic subways like the MP89 need to be attached to a shunter which will get them to their destination.
The guiding bars in Montréal's Métro are also the power source. The rubber tires allow stations to be built closer to the surface as the trains can more easily climb the slopes and best of all for the passengers, the trains are very, very quiet. 8)

User avatar
acs121
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1944
Joined: 03 Nov 2017 18:57
Location: Courbevoie, near Paris, France

Re: [PixelTeam] Elevated Subway Bridge set

Post by acs121 » 24 Jan 2018 15:15

wallyweb wrote:
acs121 wrote:
wallyweb wrote:Did you know that the Montréal, Canada subway (Métro) does not have rails? It has rubber tires. 8)
True, but it has guiding bars. However, in Paris, where i live, and at Lausanne, in Switzerland, where i come from, the metros have normal track, but with the guiding bars. It is mostly because subways running on normal tracks need to take pneumatic-equipped tracks to go to their depot for service.A subway for normal tracks, like the MF88, can then run on pneumatic-equipped tracks autonomously, however pneumatic subways like the MP89 need to be attached to a shunter which will get them to their destination.
The guiding bars in Montréal's Métro are also the power source. The rubber tires allow stations to be built closer to the surface as the trains can more easily climb the slopes and best of all for the passengers, the trains are very, very quiet. 8)
It's the same for our Paris Metro. The MP59 is very quiet, however the MP89, for reasons of powerful motorisation to provide a high horsepower (our subway has stations very close to each other unlike you UK or US guys), makes even more sound than a normal metro.

User avatar
Gwyd
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 700
Joined: 17 Apr 2017 16:52
Location: Western Ile-de-France Region

Re: [PixelTeam] Elevated Subway Bridge set

Post by Gwyd » 24 Jan 2018 15:48

acs121 wrote: (our subway has stations very close to each other unlike you UK or US guys)
Our stations aren't exactly distant: in London (where I live), Covent Garden and Leisticer Square are about 200 meters apart, with most in the city less than 500 meters apart. But then you get out the city, and stations can be kilometres apart. However, I'm going off topic. The closest we have to metro bridges is heavy rail in areas like the north east of London (Hackney, Enfield) and some most of the southern suburbs.

User avatar
acs121
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1944
Joined: 03 Nov 2017 18:57
Location: Courbevoie, near Paris, France

Re: [PixelTeam] Elevated Subway Bridge set

Post by acs121 » 24 Jan 2018 19:05

Yes, in city centers stations aren't distant. And like you say, then you get out, and then you need to walk kilometers for a subway.
But in Paris, even when you get out stations aren't distant. Line 13, for example, from Porte de Saint-Ouen (when we get out of Paris) to Saint-Denis Université, you have to go through 5 stations. This is not the case in London if you want to get to zone 3.

User avatar
Pilot
General Forums Moderator
General Forums Moderator
Posts: 7521
Joined: 04 Aug 2010 15:48
Location: Manchester

Re: [PixelTeam] Elevated Subway Bridge set

Post by Pilot » 24 Jan 2018 21:12

Can we please just get this back on topic, and about bridges, instead of all these useless/petty arguments that everyone (and I'm the first to admit I've also been involved in the past) appears to be having with acs121. There is no real need to derail another topic and talk about the gap between stations on Underground/Metro lines on a topic about Subway Bridges!

I'm interested in seeing some Bridges!

User avatar
wallyweb
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5560
Joined: 27 Nov 2004 15:05
Location: Canada

Re: [PixelTeam] Elevated Subway Bridge set

Post by wallyweb » 24 Jan 2018 21:23

Pilot wrote:I'm interested in seeing some Bridges!
Tony has a rough demo for him to test but it is too far from complete to preview or release. Hopefully I'll be able to complete the contract and deliver the product to him during the first week in February. 8)

EDIT! Oops! :oops: Tony posted his demo in the first post of this topic. It should be save-game safe for when the final product is delivered. :D

Tony Pixel
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 428
Joined: 14 Oct 2017 11:06
Location: Ukraine

Re: [PixelTeam] Elevated Subway Bridge set

Post by Tony Pixel » 25 Jan 2018 05:14

wallyweb wrote:EDIT! Oops! :oops: Tony posted his demo in the first post of this topic. It should be save-game safe for when the final product is delivered. :D
Ok, I will write what it's beta ver.
Image
Sprite artist and NewGRF developer, NML coder. My projects:
Screenshots: New York City Subway Episodes
NewGRFs: Not Enough Subways Set | North American Passenger Railroads | Elevated Subway Bridge | Over-sized Train Set | Tony Pixel's Subway Equipment Set

I use GPLv2+ license.

Tony Pixel
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 428
Joined: 14 Oct 2017 11:06
Location: Ukraine

Re: [PixelTeam] Elevated Subway Bridge set

Post by Tony Pixel » 06 Feb 2018 12:58

New version is attachet to first post.
Image
Sprite artist and NewGRF developer, NML coder. My projects:
Screenshots: New York City Subway Episodes
NewGRFs: Not Enough Subways Set | North American Passenger Railroads | Elevated Subway Bridge | Over-sized Train Set | Tony Pixel's Subway Equipment Set

I use GPLv2+ license.

Tony Pixel
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 428
Joined: 14 Oct 2017 11:06
Location: Ukraine

Re: [PixelTeam] Elevated Subway Bridge set

Post by Tony Pixel » 04 Mar 2018 17:24

GRF uploaded at BaNaNaS. Search it with tags Subway, Transit, Bridge :) .
Image
Sprite artist and NewGRF developer, NML coder. My projects:
Screenshots: New York City Subway Episodes
NewGRFs: Not Enough Subways Set | North American Passenger Railroads | Elevated Subway Bridge | Over-sized Train Set | Tony Pixel's Subway Equipment Set

I use GPLv2+ license.

User avatar
acs121
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1944
Joined: 03 Nov 2017 18:57
Location: Courbevoie, near Paris, France

Re: [PixelTeam] Elevated Subway Bridge set

Post by acs121 » 07 Mar 2018 00:59

Tony Pixel wrote:GRF uploaded at BaNaNaS. Search it with tags Subway, Transit, Bridge :) .
Super-Great ! Now people just have to find it in BaNaNaS, instead of searching here.

Tony Pixel
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 428
Joined: 14 Oct 2017 11:06
Location: Ukraine

Re: [PixelTeam] Elevated Subway Bridge set

Post by Tony Pixel » 07 Mar 2018 07:15

acs121 wrote:
Tony Pixel wrote:GRF uploaded at BaNaNaS. Search it with tags Subway, Transit, Bridge :) .
Super-Great ! Now people just have to find it in BaNaNaS, instead of searching here.
They also can use in-game content searcher :) .
Image
Sprite artist and NewGRF developer, NML coder. My projects:
Screenshots: New York City Subway Episodes
NewGRFs: Not Enough Subways Set | North American Passenger Railroads | Elevated Subway Bridge | Over-sized Train Set | Tony Pixel's Subway Equipment Set

I use GPLv2+ license.

Tony Pixel
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 428
Joined: 14 Oct 2017 11:06
Location: Ukraine

Re: [PixelTeam] Elevated Subway Bridge set

Post by Tony Pixel » 07 Mar 2018 07:22

Good news! I started drawing of the second part - wooden old bridges. They were popular in 20-60s years of XX century. Also steel structures under bridge will have brown color with rusty tiles 8) .
Image
Sprite artist and NewGRF developer, NML coder. My projects:
Screenshots: New York City Subway Episodes
NewGRFs: Not Enough Subways Set | North American Passenger Railroads | Elevated Subway Bridge | Over-sized Train Set | Tony Pixel's Subway Equipment Set

I use GPLv2+ license.

Tony Pixel
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 428
Joined: 14 Oct 2017 11:06
Location: Ukraine

Re: [PixelTeam] Elevated Subway Bridge set

Post by Tony Pixel » 25 May 2018 17:31

So, summer goes to town... Khm, I start work with the second bridge.
Image
Sprite artist and NewGRF developer, NML coder. My projects:
Screenshots: New York City Subway Episodes
NewGRFs: Not Enough Subways Set | North American Passenger Railroads | Elevated Subway Bridge | Over-sized Train Set | Tony Pixel's Subway Equipment Set

I use GPLv2+ license.

SimYouLater
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 668
Joined: 03 Apr 2016 20:19

Re: Elevated Subway Bridges set

Post by SimYouLater » 02 Nov 2019 10:01

Any chance I could get the source code?
Licenses for my work...
You automatically have my permission to re-license graphics or code by me if needed for use in any project that is not GPL v2, on the condition that if you release any derivatives of my graphics they're automatically considered as ALSO GPL v2 (code may remain unreleased, but please do provide it) and carry this provision in GPL v2 uses.
Please ask someone in-the-know to be sure that the graphics are done by me. Especially TTD-Scale, long story.

Tony Pixel
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 428
Joined: 14 Oct 2017 11:06
Location: Ukraine

Re: Elevated Subway Bridges set

Post by Tony Pixel » 02 Nov 2019 10:05

SimYouLater wrote:
02 Nov 2019 10:01
Any chance I could get the source code?
Heck, I already forgot that I submitted something like this :D
Generally I just created the sprites, you can ask Wally for the code.
Image
Sprite artist and NewGRF developer, NML coder. My projects:
Screenshots: New York City Subway Episodes
NewGRFs: Not Enough Subways Set | North American Passenger Railroads | Elevated Subway Bridge | Over-sized Train Set | Tony Pixel's Subway Equipment Set

I use GPLv2+ license.

SimYouLater
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 668
Joined: 03 Apr 2016 20:19

Re: Elevated Subway Bridges set

Post by SimYouLater » 02 Nov 2019 10:09

Tony Pixel wrote:
02 Nov 2019 10:05
SimYouLater wrote:
02 Nov 2019 10:01
Any chance I could get the source code?
Heck, I already forgot that I submitted something like this :D
Generally I just created the sprites, you can ask Wally for the code.
wallyweb wrote:
24 Jan 2018 21:23
Pilot wrote:I'm interested in seeing some Bridges!
Tony has a rough demo for him to test but it is too far from complete to preview or release. Hopefully I'll be able to complete the contract and deliver the product to him during the first week in February. 8)

EDIT! Oops! :oops: Tony posted his demo in the first post of this topic. It should be save-game safe for when the final product is delivered. :D
I'm hoping to get both the code and the sprites. Thanks in advance, I'll be sure to credit both of you.
Licenses for my work...
You automatically have my permission to re-license graphics or code by me if needed for use in any project that is not GPL v2, on the condition that if you release any derivatives of my graphics they're automatically considered as ALSO GPL v2 (code may remain unreleased, but please do provide it) and carry this provision in GPL v2 uses.
Please ask someone in-the-know to be sure that the graphics are done by me. Especially TTD-Scale, long story.

Tony Pixel
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 428
Joined: 14 Oct 2017 11:06
Location: Ukraine

Re: Elevated Subway Bridges set

Post by Tony Pixel » 02 Nov 2019 10:12

SimYouLater wrote: I'm hoping to get both the code and the sprites. Thanks in advance, I'll be sure to credit both of you.
Basically, I can send my half of work when I will get to PC. If it's not the secret, what are You going to do with them? :)
Image
Sprite artist and NewGRF developer, NML coder. My projects:
Screenshots: New York City Subway Episodes
NewGRFs: Not Enough Subways Set | North American Passenger Railroads | Elevated Subway Bridge | Over-sized Train Set | Tony Pixel's Subway Equipment Set

I use GPLv2+ license.

SimYouLater
Chief Executive
Chief Executive
Posts: 668
Joined: 03 Apr 2016 20:19

Re: Elevated Subway Bridges set

Post by SimYouLater » 02 Nov 2019 10:17

Tony Pixel wrote:
02 Nov 2019 10:12
SimYouLater wrote: I'm hoping to get both the code and the sprites. Thanks in advance, I'll be sure to credit both of you.
Basically, I can send my half of work when I will get to PC. If it's not the secret, what are You going to do with them? :)
I'm going to try and create a bridge set where the graphics are dependent on the railtype or roadtype, to work around the limit of 16 bridges.
Licenses for my work...
You automatically have my permission to re-license graphics or code by me if needed for use in any project that is not GPL v2, on the condition that if you release any derivatives of my graphics they're automatically considered as ALSO GPL v2 (code may remain unreleased, but please do provide it) and carry this provision in GPL v2 uses.
Please ask someone in-the-know to be sure that the graphics are done by me. Especially TTD-Scale, long story.

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: zerg_x and 2 guests