[CZTR / 32bpp ] - Czech total replacement

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

Post Reply
perverted monkey
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 57
Joined: 02 Mar 2009 02:07

Re: CZTR - Czech total replacement / 32bit / Extrazoom

Post by perverted monkey »

Great artwork with the trees. I am puzzled somehow about the dark colour of the leaves. As single trees they are OK but when they form forests (plus their long shadows) it gets too dark. Creepy! :lol:
And those lovely engines!
OTTD is getting more polished and professional looking... :D

User avatar
Quast65
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1684
Joined: 09 Oct 2011 13:51
Location: The Netherlands

Re: CZTR - Czech total replacement / 32bit / Extrazoom

Post by Quast65 »

It does indeed look great!
Only thing I have doubts about are the shadows, not too keen on those... But that might be my "old-fashioned" way of thinking about how this game should look ;-)
Is there an option to turn those off?
Projects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.

LicTor
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 27
Joined: 02 Mar 2014 21:40

Re: CZTR - Czech total replacement / 32bit / Extrazoom

Post by LicTor »

Back to OpenTTD after two years and I'm stunned, this is excellent work!!! Looking forward to next stuff and will follow you on facebook as well ;)

I love particularly those "Zamračené", steam locomotives and 362/363 - jen tak dál! :bow:
Image

User avatar
stefino_cz
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 249
Joined: 02 Jul 2015 08:05
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: CZTR - Czech total replacement / 32bit / Extrazoom

Post by stefino_cz »

Thanks a lot :)
Quast65 wrote:It does indeed look great!
Only thing I have doubts about are the shadows, not too keen on those... But that might be my "old-fashioned" way of thinking about how this game should look ;-)
Is there an option to turn those off?
I don't think so. Our sets are based on shadows and in this case we will have to make 2 spritesets. We think that shadows give more realistic look than basic graphics without them. Yes - there are a glitches sometimes - two shadows do more darker result etc. but I think it is still ok. I think you will change an opinion when more sets will be released and the game get our graphics look :wink: I understand that it is quite strange when you have only tree graphics with shadows in the game where are no shadows.
Image

perverted monkey
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 57
Joined: 02 Mar 2009 02:07

Re: CZTR - Czech total replacement / 32bit / Extrazoom

Post by perverted monkey »

Is it possible to provide a version with softer shadows or you have used pixel art on the 3D rendered models and it is not?

User avatar
stefino_cz
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 249
Joined: 02 Jul 2015 08:05
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: CZTR - Czech total replacement / 32bit / Extrazoom

Post by stefino_cz »

perverted monkey wrote:Is it possible to provide a version with softer shadows or you have used pixel art on the 3D rendered models and it is not?
Yes, this is possible to make tree shadows more softer and lighter :wink:
Image

perverted monkey
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 57
Joined: 02 Mar 2009 02:07

Re: CZTR - Czech total replacement / 32bit / Extrazoom

Post by perverted monkey »

That's good news. Thanks. :D

User avatar
stefino_cz
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 249
Joined: 02 Jul 2015 08:05
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: CZTR - Czech total replacement / 32bit / Extrazoom

Post by stefino_cz »

CZTR Bus set available on Bananas !
Buses from Czech republic are available on Bananas :) First part of our buses destined for sounds testing. Set include sounds for Start and Stopped events. Please vote in this topic after you try this set. Have a fun!
bus_set_1_800600.jpg
bus_set_1_800600.jpg (377.2 KiB) Viewed 3289 times
Image

User avatar
stefino_cz
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 249
Joined: 02 Jul 2015 08:05
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: CZTR - Czech total replacement / 32bit / Extrazoom

Post by stefino_cz »

Something about our tunnels. The reason why are they longer - 2 tiles - is, because there are graphics glitches with our long vehicles. Car tunnel gives glitches too but the are not too big like trains. Train tunnels will be 2 tiles - no way. Updated road tunnels will be add in CZTR Road set v 1.0.1
tunnels.JPG
tunnels.JPG (93 KiB) Viewed 3191 times
little graphics glitch
little graphics glitch
tunnel_road.JPG (66.3 KiB) Viewed 3191 times
huge graphics glitch
huge graphics glitch
tunnel_train.JPG (56.97 KiB) Viewed 3191 times
Image

User avatar
stefino_cz
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 249
Joined: 02 Jul 2015 08:05
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: CZTR - Czech total replacement / 32bit / Extrazoom

Post by stefino_cz »

First bigger set will be realed after we solve problem with uploading big files to Bananas. Before you can look what the CZTR Ground set 1.0.0 includes :)

EDIT: Uploaded to Bananas
ground_set_800_600.jpg
ground_set_800_600.jpg (429.86 KiB) Viewed 3101 times
Image

TadeuszD
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 330
Joined: 07 Nov 2011 19:32
Location: PL

Re: CZTR - Czech total replacement / 32bit / Extrazoom

Post by TadeuszD »

stefino_cz wrote:Something about our tunnels. The reason why are they longer - 2 tiles - is, because there are graphics glitches with our long vehicles. Car tunnel gives glitches too but the are not too big like trains. Train tunnels will be 2 tiles - no way.
Meh... You can prepare simple workaround for these glitches... You need only prepare special sprite clipped to the tunnel portal tile. See example:
https://dev.openttdcoop.org/projects/pk ... 43a-x2.png

Forcing rail tunnels higher than standard TTD heigh is still a very bad idea!
Image

User avatar
stefino_cz
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 249
Joined: 02 Jul 2015 08:05
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: CZTR - Czech total replacement / 32bit / Extrazoom

Post by stefino_cz »

TadeuszD wrote:
stefino_cz wrote:Something about our tunnels. The reason why are they longer - 2 tiles - is, because there are graphics glitches with our long vehicles. Car tunnel gives glitches too but the are not too big like trains. Train tunnels will be 2 tiles - no way.
Meh... You can prepare simple workaround for these glitches... You need only prepare special sprite clipped to the tunnel portal tile. See example:
https://dev.openttdcoop.org/projects/pk ... 43a-x2.png

Forcing rail tunnels higher than standard TTD heigh is still a very bad idea!
And how to code it? Because we have one "fix" now due glithces on the bridges or stations, where we have special sprites for front articulated part of vehicle. So don't know if is it possible to add new fix to it.
380.png
(312.65 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Image

TadeuszD
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 330
Joined: 07 Nov 2011 19:32
Location: PL

Re: CZTR - Czech total replacement / 32bit / Extrazoom

Post by TadeuszD »

stefino_cz wrote:And how to code it?
Just only one switch:

Code: Select all

switch(FEAT_TRAINS, SELF, switch_bh_ryf, (extra_callback_info1&0xFF)==0 && other_veh_is_hidden(1)) {
    1: return sset_bh_ryf_cut;
    return sgroup_bh_ryf;
}
sgroup_bh_ryf - normal,"long" spriteset or spritegroup for vehicle,
sset_bh_ryf_cut - clipped spriteset (only / and \ views are needed)

In my set long vehicles are constructed from 2 or more articulated vehicles. The first vehicle is allways 8pt. long and all graphics are assiciated with it. Next vehicles are invisible.
If you are using symetric design (e.g. 1+8+1) with graphics associated with middle part, it schould work too, but the cutting point for spritesets will be shifted.
Image

User avatar
kamnet
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7249
Joined: 28 Sep 2009 17:15
Location: Eastern KY
Contact:

Re: CZTR - Czech total replacement / 32bit / Extrazoom

Post by kamnet »

May I suggest setting up an entry on wiki.openttd.org? Would make it easier to place all of this on the NewGRF list.

User avatar
kamnet
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7249
Joined: 28 Sep 2009 17:15
Location: Eastern KY
Contact:

Re: CZTR - Czech total replacement / 32bit / Extrazoom

Post by kamnet »

May I suggest setting up an entry on wiki.openttd.org? Would make it easier to place all of this on the NewGRF list.

User avatar
stefino_cz
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 249
Joined: 02 Jul 2015 08:05
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: CZTR - Czech total replacement / 32bit / Extrazoom

Post by stefino_cz »

CZTR Tram set available on Bananas !
Trams from Czech republic and tram railways are available on Bananas :)

CZTR Road set 1.0.1 available on Bananas !
Updated last version 1.0.0. New version has new one-tile tunnels ;)

:arrow: All inforamtions about updates available on first page of this topic :)
tram_set_800600.jpg
tram_set_800600.jpg (386.14 KiB) Viewed 2624 times
Image

User avatar
acs121
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1943
Joined: 03 Nov 2017 18:57
Location: Courbevoie, near Paris, France

Re: CZTR - Czech total replacement / 32bit / Extrazoom

Post by acs121 »

This set is going so well. I'm just excited for it to be finished.

User avatar
stefino_cz
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 249
Joined: 02 Jul 2015 08:05
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: CZTR - Czech total replacement / 32bit / Extrazoom

Post by stefino_cz »

Thanks :)

CZTR Tram set 1.0.1 is available in the game. Some graphics mistakes at Tatra T1 were removed :wink:
Image

User avatar
stefino_cz
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 249
Joined: 02 Jul 2015 08:05
Location: Czech Republic
Contact:

Re: CZTR - Czech total replacement / 32bit / Extrazoom

Post by stefino_cz »

First platform is in the game :)
nadrazi.JPG
(628.58 KiB) Not downloaded yet
Image

User avatar
acs121
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1943
Joined: 03 Nov 2017 18:57
Location: Courbevoie, near Paris, France

Re: CZTR - Czech total replacement / 32bit / Extrazoom

Post by acs121 »

Whoa...Impressive. It looks so much better than CS Station set.

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests