Australian Railway Stations

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2987
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Australian Railway Stations

Post by GarryG » 31 May 2018 04:31

Found a few errors in some of my stations and the odd footbridge wasn't available .. that my biggest trouble when sit tooo long at computer I don't see some mistakes I make, some of it in graphics and some in using same ID twice which prevents some from loading.

So here is all the Station sets again.
Attachments
AuzStations_Part1_v005.grf
(2.06 MiB) Downloaded 36 times
AuzStations_Part2_v004.grf
(2.3 MiB) Downloaded 33 times
AuzStations_Part3_v003.grf
(2.6 MiB) Downloaded 32 times
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStatins: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2987
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Australian Railway Stations

Post by GarryG » 31 May 2018 04:37

Some changes I made ..

The Suburban Platforms some had a fence where the fence shouldn't be.

In the More Footbridge a few footbridges were missing.

The Catenary for the City Bitumen Platform had a few graphic issues.

The More Buffer Stops have been amalgamated into the AuzFreight Buffers.
Attachments
AuzStations_Part4_v003.grf
(2.57 MiB) Downloaded 41 times
AuzFreightStations_v008.grf
(3.53 MiB) Downloaded 38 times
AuzWaypointsAndMoreFreightStationsV4.grf
(2.15 MiB) Downloaded 41 times
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStatins: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2987
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Australian Railway Stations

Post by GarryG » 31 May 2018 04:53

A project I would like to work on before any of these sets are put on Bananas is to change all the Footbridges.

I have visited many stations past few months seeing how the footbridges are.

Single sided platforms the Footbridge isn't on the platform but to the side like in this pic. So I hope to do the same .. this way the one footbridge set can be used for all platforms.
Like this on at Awaba.
AwabaFootbridge.png
AwabaFootbridge.png (475.35 KiB) Viewed 2635 times
And some stations have the platform right at the end of the platform like this on at Sandgate.
SandgateFootbridge.png
SandgateFootbridge.png (315.18 KiB) Viewed 2635 times
So I been working on ideas to do the same and hope can arrange a few different footbridge designs.
One I like to try is this one at Fassifern which also has a lift.
Fassifern Footbridge.png
Fassifern Footbridge.png (542.4 KiB) Viewed 2635 times
Not sure how long it will take me as get some ideas and find it not work, so back to drawing board and try again .. but I hope win eventually.

Cheers
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStatins: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2987
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Australian Railway Stations

Post by GarryG » 31 May 2018 21:58

What I like to do with footbridges hope to end up something like this.
NewFootbridge-1.png
NewFootbridge-1.png (41.15 KiB) Viewed 2580 times
The one size fits all.

The Footbridge will probable need a fence between it and platform as well. Old Footbridge will have old fence.

When finish this idea instead of Footbridges be scattered in different menus to go with the different platforms, they can all be placed in one menu section.

Cheers all
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStatins: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

Silverx50
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 425
Joined: 13 Apr 2007 19:52
Location: Den Haag, The Netherlands

Re: Australian Railway Stations

Post by Silverx50 » 01 Jun 2018 21:05

You did the pictures you posted justice.
they look real nice, different from what we've been used to with footbridges for sure.
nice work on these.
All my projects are GPLv2 License.

Dutch landmark Object Set Workshop viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75071
My stations workshop viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74749

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2987
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Australian Railway Stations

Post by GarryG » 02 Jun 2018 00:34

Hope to do 3 versions of this old style bridge to include fences that go along the platforms.

This pic give you an idea .. if also shows a fix to bridge from previous image as the station signs was floating in top of the bridge.

I place a fence along the footbridge. Just need to change the fence at bottom of footbridge to match the platform fences.
NewFootbridge-2.png
NewFootbridge-2.png (29.03 KiB) Viewed 2508 times
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStatins: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2987
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Australian Railway Stations

Post by GarryG » 02 Jun 2018 04:47

I received a PM suggesting if when I make new station and platform sets if I could separate the 4 parts into:

Part 1: Normal Platforms
Part 2: Single Sided Platforms
Part 3: Island Platforms
Part 4: Non Track Stations and Platforms


I know some players like the normal platform type only . those players will only need to Load Parts 1 and 4 into their game.

If Like me I like Single Sided and Islands, then not need to Load Part 1.

Many Single Sided Platforms can also be used to make Island Platforms.

Island Platforms will only be those that Single Sided Platforms can not make.

What do you think if it be worth making these changes?
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStatins: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

SimYouLater
Director
Director
Posts: 596
Joined: 03 Apr 2016 20:19

Re: Australian Railway Stations

Post by SimYouLater » 02 Jun 2018 07:22

GarryG wrote:I received a PM suggesting if when I make new station and platform sets if I could separate the 4 parts into:

Part 1: Normal Platforms
Part 2: Single Sided Platforms
Part 3: Island Platforms
Part 4: Non Track Stations and Platforms


I know some players like the normal platform type only . those players will only need to Load Parts 1 and 4 into their game.

If Like me I like Single Sided and Islands, then not need to Load Part 1.

Many Single Sided Platforms can also be used to make Island Platforms.

Island Platforms will only be those that Single Sided Platforms can not make.

What do you think if it be worth making these changes?
Sounds good.
Licenses for my work...
You automatically have my permission to re-license graphics or code by me if needed for use in any project that is not GPL v2, on the condition that if you release any derivatives of my graphics they're automatically considered as ALSO GPL v2 (code may remain unreleased, but please do provide it) and carry this provision in GPL v2 uses.
Please ask someone in-the-know to be sure that the graphics are done by me. Especially TTD-Scale, long story.

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2987
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Australian Railway Stations

Post by GarryG » 02 Jun 2018 07:31

I'm working on reducing the platforms and changing some to non-track tiles.

Mainly the ones with Station Signs and Lighting so in long run will have a larger variety what can do with them.
PlatformSigns.png
PlatformSigns.png (32.1 KiB) Viewed 2468 times
Using a non-track sign gives you a variety of choices what platform type you like in front of the sign. Can be a nothing seats, flowers, trolleys. walk way between platforms, subway entrance or any of the 5 different platform types.

The signs come with 3 fence types as well.

The lights I have 2 types old style and a more modern style and you have the same variety to use them with other platforms.
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStatins: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
Quast65
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1652
Joined: 09 Oct 2011 13:51
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Australian Railway Stations

Post by Quast65 » 02 Jun 2018 13:07

Well, a reorganisation to a structure that you are going to stick to cant hurt, as the set has grown explosively in the last year or so.
I am just not sure if this should be done at GRF-level or at Purchasemenu-level...

If you are going for GRF-level, then choose the names of the GRFs wisely. Make sure they are clear about what is in them and think about what you are going to do if one of them is full and you have to continue in another GRF.

Personally, I would first go for a reorganisation at Purchasemenu-level.
First, you dont have to worry about the GRF-names too much (You could split up in 3 main GRFs, for example, Auz-passengerstations Part 1-2-3-etc, Auz-freightstations Part 1-2-3-etc and Auz-waypoints Part 1-2-3-etc).
Then you can go for a much more detailed Purchasemenu-structure, for example starting off with making separate structures for your platform-types, example:
- City Bitumen, normal platforms
- City Bitumen, single-sided
- City Bitumen, Island platforms
- City Bitumen, overlapping platforms (those for getting switches inside stations)
- City Bitumen, etc
- Suburban, normal platforms
- Suburban, single sided
Etc Etc Etc for the other platformtypes

Then add non-track stationbuildings

Then add non-track tiles (maybe split those up, depending on if you already can see certain groups/types within those)

Then add non-track overlaps

Finally you could add other things that might not fit into the above categories (also in the future for new ideas), like cargo-aware things.


You may then end up with a long list in the purchasemenu, but I think that a player then can find things easier and you can add new things easier (and place/add them in their categories easier).

But this is my personal view, I like having a large purchasemenu structure, where certain types/groups of things all have their own menu, others may certainly disagree ;-)

Also I think that you will eventually end up with a rather large menu-structure anyway, so splitting it up first in GRFs that may not be filled or can get confusing when they do get filled, isnt that great of an advantage/improvement...

In short, I think a well structured purchasemenu is more important, think/discuss about that first. Then you can choose if you want to put some of those into separate GRFs.
Projects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.

User avatar
STD
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1754
Joined: 02 Jul 2012 14:53
Location: Russia, Samara

Re: Australian Railway Stations

Post by STD » 02 Jun 2018 18:19

I read what you wrote Quast65. I fully agree with all that has been said in terms of the future development of different sets of railway stations from Australia :D .

Actually, for a start, we should divide into the following types:
(You could split up in 3 main GRFs, for example, Auz-passengerstations Part 1-2-3-etc, Auz-freightstations Part 1-2-3-etc and Auz-waypoints Part 1-2-3-etc).
And so on. The most important condition is that it is convenient for each player to look for the desired type of station in the selection menu :D .
[OpenTTD] STD screenshots
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
[OpenTTD] STD saved games - My finished scenarios and saves from the game
My Youtube channel - OpenTTD | Wiki xUSSR set (RU) | Wiki xUSSR set (EN) | Download the latest version of the xUSSR set
TT Screenshot of the Month - the page editor | Screenshot Of The Month Contest Winner: August 2017

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2987
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Australian Railway Stations

Post by GarryG » 02 Jun 2018 22:06

Thanks Quast65 and STD for feed back.

I think you are right with the purchase menu ID. Shall see if can make it looking better.

All the station pieces take up 4 GRFs at moment. Industries 2 GRFs but one of the also has Waypoints share so might be good idea to separate the Waypoints.


Speaking of Waypoints .. much thanks to Quast65 allowing me to use one of his ideas .. he has a Catenary set called "Qatenary".. and some of this is waypoints to get a different effect, so I tried his idea with my Catenaries and come up with this.
OverheadWaypoints-1.png
OverheadWaypoints-1.png (66.04 KiB) Viewed 2360 times
If cross 2 tracks only they look really good, but cross more than 2 get a glitch with some wires. Might need to make bounding boxes higher.

Unfortunately I can not code these into my Track set as one is coded in NML and other NFO. These will be included it my waypoint set.

Cheers all
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStatins: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2987
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Australian Railway Stations

Post by GarryG » 04 Jun 2018 09:11

Started coding in the new footbridges. Done 2 so far.
NewFootbridge-4.png
NewFootbridge-4.png (43.45 KiB) Viewed 2299 times
Done the stairs facing SW and SE, but having problems with the stairs facing NW and NE.

The stairs to the left are 1x1 non-track tiles .. the stairs and bridge section is a 1x1 non-track tile with overlapping.

Still to make the Island platform pieces.
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStatins: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2987
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Australian Railway Stations

Post by GarryG » 12 Jun 2018 01:05

Adding a Coal Stage to the station sets.
CoalStage2.png
CoalStage2.png (38.37 KiB) Viewed 2161 times
Still got the ramps to add and also make a set with Coal Hoppers and a Wagon with Sand.

So far comes in 3 parts .. the End piece with the Buffer Stops, Middle which you can add as many of these you like and the end with the sand chutes.

I have a set of Coal Stages in my object sets but not as nice as these. Plus the object ones I forgot to make them a bit wider so employees can walk between the hoppers and edge of the stage.

If all goes well might have these finished in a day or so.

Still working on the footbridges and subway stations. Having a few graphic issue ideas with those projects. So I doing other things until I get ideas on how to finish them.
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStatins: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2987
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Australian Railway Stations

Post by GarryG » 12 Jun 2018 09:05

Got some more done to the Coal Stage.
CoalStage3.png
CoalStage3.png (73.72 KiB) Viewed 2135 times
Now have a choice with or without the Hoppers and sand truck.
These work the same as a Island Station. Trains can go either side of the Coal Stage.
Can make it as long as you like.

I've split the stations sets into the following groups:

AuzStations_Part1
AuzStations_Part2
AuzStations_Part3
AuzStations_Part4
AuzFreightStations
AuzMoreFreightStations
AuzWaypoints

A big problem I have is I forget to add the changes to the Change-Log Files :roll:

Been finding a few graphic mistakes with some of the platforms and stations. Fixed some and still a few to fix.

Try and get them fixed in coming days and with luck will put the new files here when done.

Not sure when be put on Bananas as still some unfinished projects with these sets to complete.
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStatins: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2987
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Australian Railway Stations

Post by GarryG » 18 Jun 2018 02:45

Making more changes to the Station and Freight sets.

Several people suggested I remove the ballast from some platforms so that they will look better for those who use different railway tracks .. this I am in the process of doing.

To compensate for this I added a new railway track to my AuzTrack set. There is now a Marshalling Yard and Siding rail track that have the crushed ballast and have a speed of 40 km/h which I think is fast enough for trains entering and exiting sidings.


Many moons ago I started making a model of Sydney Railway Terminal and during construction lost power and corrupted the file so I gave up on it. Yesterday I started the process of rebuilding it and this where I up to at the moment.
Sydney-2.png
Sydney-2.png (53.92 KiB) Viewed 2021 times
The section under the clock tower isn't long enough .. realised after I did that I missing a couple of doors and the section to right that I was working on this morning also about 8 pixels short.

Need to go to Sydney as soon as weather allows to get some more photos of the buildings. Hope to do that next week.

Cheers
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStatins: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

Alberth
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 4720
Joined: 09 Sep 2007 05:03
Location: home

Re: Australian Railway Stations

Post by Alberth » 18 Jun 2018 10:13

Sydney station looks splendid already Garry, and it isn't even finished yet!
I am too much of a transport engineer to ever add such decorations, but it sure looks good.

When it is finished, you need anther of your vacations to play with your own set instead of drawing pixels :)
Being a OpenTTD developer does not mean I know what I am doing.
Also, other OpenTTD developers may have different opinions.

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2987
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Australian Railway Stations

Post by GarryG » 18 Jun 2018 10:43

Thanks Alberth,

Appreciate compliments.

Been working on the left wing most of day .. made a few mistakes in image above as it wasn't long enough.

I have a big vacation coming up in September (I hope it be that month) and finish all medical tests and stuff and hope to return to be with fiancée and kids again. Than I get less done as have to share my computer with the 3 kids :twisted:

Might get the left wing finished tonight.

Cheers
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStatins: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
Quast65
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1652
Joined: 09 Oct 2011 13:51
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Australian Railway Stations

Post by Quast65 » 18 Jun 2018 11:49

Cool that you are working on Sydney station again!

If I may give a little tip/suggestion:
Draw the Sydney Tower first with just the shaded textures.
Then add the darker lines at the edges as an extra layer.
Make that layer partly transparent (the amount of transparency is up to your taste).
That way it will get the texture a bit from the layer under it and it will blend in a bit more, look more like part of the building and will look a bit more subtle, rather than being so sharp right now.
This picture shows that those edges of the tower are rather subtle (depending on the amount of sunshine ofcourse ;-) ):
central-railway-station-sydney-australia-new-south-wales-84315728.jpg
central-railway-station-sydney-australia-new-south-wales-84315728.jpg (97.13 KiB) Viewed 1957 times
This is a handy technique to use for getting lines/features into a structure that has the same type of brickwork/texture.
Projects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2987
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Australian Railway Stations

Post by GarryG » 19 Jun 2018 11:01

Before I can do much more to Sydney Terminal I need to go to Sydney when weather allows to get a few more photos. Hope that will be Thursday next week.

In the mean time I started work on the Foot Bridges again this time with better luck in the design.

I intend to replace all the previous grey footbridges for Single and Island platforms and Waypoints with this design.

I want the stairs to be on a non-track tile each side of Single Sided Platforms like they are in real. (At least in my country.

Will design these to go with all platforms except the City Tile and Suburban platforms. Will re-design modern footbridges for all City Platforms and the Suburban Platforms.

Also like to design the stairs so at the ends be able to place stairs in what ever direction we wish (at least I hope I can do that).

The fence comes with the footbridge stairs. This new design of platform fence based on what was at Fassifern and a few other stations many many years ago. Will make some more for rest of platforms when get chance.

Some thing I might change on those footbridges is remove the middle Lights as I seen photos of old foortbridges with lights only above the stairs.

Cheers all
Attachments
OldStyleFootbridges1.png
OldStyleFootbridges1.png (415.05 KiB) Viewed 1849 times
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStatins: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests