[NRT] RattRoads - 1.0.2 released 05-17-20!

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3440
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: [NRT] RattRoads - 0.4.1 released 05-15-19!

Post by GarryG »

Question what is NRT .. it not click with me.

When I first started doing the roads I was only intended to add just a gravel road and a few with fences using Andrew360s roads. His 6 roads and about 4 I was think of but I got carried away :roll:

Will have a look at some ideas and see.

Cheers
Soot Happens
Screenshot Of The Month Winner March 2020
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
AuzProjectReleases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
wallyweb
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5678
Joined: 27 Nov 2004 15:05
Location: Canada

Re: [NRT] RattRoads - 0.4.1 released 05-15-19!

Post by wallyweb »

GarryG wrote:
18 Dec 2019 01:12
Question what is NRT .. it not click with me.
Not Road Types ... Its what started this whole road type thing.
When I first started doing the roads I was only intended to add just a gravel road and a few with fences using Andrew360s roads. His 6 roads and about 4 I was think of but I got carried away :roll:
:lol:
Still getting good good vibrations?

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3440
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: [NRT] RattRoads - 0.4.1 released 05-15-19!

Post by GarryG »

wallyweb wrote:
18 Dec 2019 01:45
Not Road Types ... Its what started this whole road type thing.
So they to blame are they :D

Maybe the different sets that have the fake roads in might like to now to change them to actual roads? I used IDs 14 and 15 for the 2 Industrial Roads.

The grf I uploaded last night didn't code properly and still has the previous Industrial Roads in it. So try this one it will/should have the ISR road and the Concrete one.

As of an hour ago been 435 aftershocks .. This morning at 4:18 was a 5.3 and at 8:22 was a 4.9. The 5.3 might have been while all the dogs started barking this morning.
Attachments
RattRoadsAll.grf
(2.09 MiB) Downloaded 49 times
Soot Happens
Screenshot Of The Month Winner March 2020
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
AuzProjectReleases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
leifbk
Chairman
Chairman
Posts: 772
Joined: 23 Dec 2013 16:33
Location: Bærum, Norway
Contact:

Re: [NRT] RattRoads - 0.4.1 released 05-15-19!

Post by leifbk »

GarryG wrote:
17 Dec 2019 11:15
Still need to remove one of the dirt tracks, just haven't decided which one it should be yet.
I hope you keep the light one, because on the dark one the eGRVTS horses are very hard to see.

Uh, I thought of the dark brown original RattRoads. I'm testing your new version right now. Cool :)

Although the brown horses are still a little hard to see.
Selection_077.png
Selection_077.png (62.05 KiB) Viewed 1386 times

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3440
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: [NRT] RattRoads - 0.4.1 released 05-15-19!

Post by GarryG »

leifbk wrote:
18 Dec 2019 19:41
I hope you keep the light one, because on the dark one the eGRVTS horses are very hard to see.
That is a problem with the brown.

Been looking at farm tracks in Google Earth see if I can find something more suitable. I guess they be closest thing to how main roads would have looked back in the 1800s and earlier.

Some have a grey stone or gravel look from main road to farm house and buildings and the brown tracks leading off to the crops and other places on the farm. So might work if I change the dirt colour and see how gravel or grey stone will look.

We shall see what can do.
Soot Happens
Screenshot Of The Month Winner March 2020
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
AuzProjectReleases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3440
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: [NRT] RattRoads - 0.4.1 released 05-15-19!

Post by GarryG »

What if I make the tracks a gravel type?
Natural Tracks-1.png
Natural Tracks-1.png (47.05 KiB) Viewed 1349 times
My idea is to make these tracks look natural ground surface so can be used in games before motor vehicles.

Also changing the fence line on curves.
Curved Fence-1.png
Curved Fence-1.png (18.91 KiB) Viewed 1349 times
I see in real the fences follow the curves rather than do 90 degree turns.

Here the game file again with those few changes.
Soot Happens
Screenshot Of The Month Winner March 2020
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
AuzProjectReleases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
wallyweb
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5678
Joined: 27 Nov 2004 15:05
Location: Canada

Re: [NRT] RattRoads - 0.4.1 released 05-15-19!

Post by wallyweb »

GarryG wrote:
19 Dec 2019 02:10
What if I make the tracks a gravel type?
Call them gravel if you want, but they look like dry, dusty dirt to me. They look good.
For gravel you should replace most of the brown with grey.
Having both dirt and gravel as separate roads would be good.
My idea is to make these tracks look natural ground surface so can be used in games before motor vehicles.
Agreed.
Also changing the fence line on curves.
I see in real the fences follow the curves rather than do 90 degree turns.
ISR=Industrial Stations Renewal
The ISR roads are industrial station roads such as one might find around stations serving industries or rail/classification yards. Those roads are not fenced because if there is to be a fence, it surrounds the entire industry or rail yard.

Also, as station roads, keep the maximum speed at 50 km/h.

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3440
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: [NRT] RattRoads - 0.4.1 released 05-15-19!

Post by GarryG »

Call them gravel if you want, but they look like dry, dusty dirt to me. They look good.
That is a good name for them "Dusty Tracks". Shame we can not animate them when a vehicle travels along them they create dust.
For gravel you should replace most of the brown with grey.
The brown dirt road is in Andrews360 lot so will still have that one. In my set I'll do the dry dusty gravel ones.
Having both dirt and gravel as separate roads would be good.
Hope to do just that so have all types.

For now there be 2 road sets. The one that Andrew360 is doing and the one I am doing. It easier for him and me to work on them that way without us conflicting.

The 2 Industry Roads I did thinking just keep the ISR one as it suitable for inside the depot extensions. The other one thinking it can also be a dry dusty road with fences as the one I did/doing don't have fences. Be nice had both I think.
The ISR roads are industrial station roads such as one might find around stations serving industries or rail/classification yards. Those roads are not fenced because if there is to be a fence, it surrounds the entire industry or rail yard.
Industry roads will not have the fences. Just some of the asphalt roads and gravel roads will have fences.
Also, as station roads, keep the maximum speed at 50 km/h.
Wonder if this speed should be slower maybe 25 or 40. Andrew360is planning to allow players to set the speed parameters. Have the normal speed, double speed and what ever the speed of the vehicles are..
Soot Happens
Screenshot Of The Month Winner March 2020
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
AuzProjectReleases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
wallyweb
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5678
Joined: 27 Nov 2004 15:05
Location: Canada

Re: [NRT] RattRoads - 0.4.1 released 05-15-19!

Post by wallyweb »

GarryG wrote:
19 Dec 2019 05:11
Also, as station roads, keep the maximum speed at 50 km/h.
Wonder if this speed should be slower maybe 25 or 40. Andrew360is planning to allow players to set the speed parameters. Have the normal speed, double speed and what ever the speed of the vehicles are..
These are private roads not for general street travel ... Keep the options at 50 km/h (35mph) or lower.

User avatar
Andrew350
Director
Director
Posts: 555
Joined: 19 Dec 2011 07:54
Location: Washington State, USA
Contact:

Re: [NRT] RattRoads - 0.4.1 released 05-15-19!

Post by Andrew350 »

GarryG wrote:
19 Dec 2019 05:11
Andrew360 is planning to allow players to set the speed parameters.
Well, maybe. ;) I'm still not convinced making a speed parameter for each individual road is a great idea, while adding more options for pre-set speeds is certainly doable, although requires deciding on which speeds to use :)

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3440
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: [NRT] RattRoads - 0.4.1 released 05-15-19!

Post by GarryG »

Andrew350 wrote:
19 Dec 2019 06:10
Well, maybe. I'm still not convinced making a speed parameter for each individual road is a great idea,
I agree .. Honest I prefer the roads have a set speed that you and I decide and can not be changed. But we have some players who wear boots with lead in them and like to push the pedal to the metal. So maybe a parametrs for normal speeds that we set and no speed limits for the rev heads. :D
Soot Happens
Screenshot Of The Month Winner March 2020
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
AuzProjectReleases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
Andrew350
Director
Director
Posts: 555
Joined: 19 Dec 2011 07:54
Location: Washington State, USA
Contact:

Re: [NRT] RattRoads - 0.4.1 released 05-15-19!

Post by Andrew350 »

There's already a setting to disable speed limits entirely, although currently it is also tied to having "normal" costs. Maybe speed should be it's own setting without influencing any costs, especially since players can use a base cost mod to get the prices they want...

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3440
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: [NRT] RattRoads - 0.4.1 released 05-15-19!

Post by GarryG »

Maybe I do these roads but not sure what speed they should be. These taken in street where I staying.
This was yesterday
IMG_4304.png
(1.73 MiB) Not downloaded yet
And this today.
IMG_4328.png
(1.67 MiB) Not downloaded yet
Can we make roads that also allow boats?
Soot Happens
Screenshot Of The Month Winner March 2020
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
AuzProjectReleases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
kamnet
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 7164
Joined: 28 Sep 2009 17:15
Location: Eastern KY
Contact:

Re: [NRT] RattRoads - 0.4.1 released 05-15-19!

Post by kamnet »

Have a parameter that allows the player to set what slow/regular/high speed is. Then allow player to configure each road to slow/regular/high. Default setting is whatever the openttd default is.

User avatar
Andrew350
Director
Director
Posts: 555
Joined: 19 Dec 2011 07:54
Location: Washington State, USA
Contact:

Re: [NRT] RattRoads - 0.4.1 released 05-15-19!

Post by Andrew350 »

leifbk wrote:
18 Dec 2019 19:41
Although the brown horses are still a little hard to see.
I did a little bit of experimenting tonight to see if I could relatively easily (read: not redraw by hand ;)) change the coloring to give a nice result while allowing horses to be more visible. This handy animation shows off what I thought was the best result: (sorry it's zoomed in, GIMP must have done that!)
new_dirt.gif
new_dirt.gif (120 KiB) Viewed 1130 times
Might be kind of hard to tell from a still image, but I actually think I like it more, and it does show the brown horses a little better. Just wondering what you guys think though :)

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3440
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: [NRT] RattRoads - 0.4.1 released 05-15-19!

Post by GarryG »

I think the lighter one better .. not just show the horses a bit clearer but gives what Wallyweb mentioned before a "dry dusty look".
Soot Happens
Screenshot Of The Month Winner March 2020
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
AuzProjectReleases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3440
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: [NRT] RattRoads - 0.4.1 released 05-15-19!

Post by GarryG »

Had a go making some grey dirt road and track.
Grey Roads-1.png
Grey Roads-1.png (54.75 KiB) Viewed 1084 times
Being able to make these different roads and tested with my bridges and realised I have so bridging to do and also the roads that go over the bridges.

I never seen a road that has a dirt surface :roll:
Grey Roads-2.png
Grey Roads-2.png (57.14 KiB) Viewed 1084 times
So have some tweaking to do here.
Soot Happens
Screenshot Of The Month Winner March 2020
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
AuzProjectReleases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
leifbk
Chairman
Chairman
Posts: 772
Joined: 23 Dec 2013 16:33
Location: Bærum, Norway
Contact:

Re: [NRT] RattRoads - 0.4.1 released 05-15-19!

Post by leifbk »

GarryG wrote:
20 Dec 2019 05:33
I think the lighter one better .. not just show the horses a bit clearer but gives what Wallyweb mentioned before a "dry dusty look".
From what I remember of seeing dirt roads here in Norway at least, they're more like the colour of the gravel road in the tracks, with lines of green in between. More like this, actually:

Natural Tracks-1.png
Natural Tracks-1.png (47.05 KiB) Viewed 1077 times
Although I think there should be only three "tracks", the (broader) middle one being used in both directions.
Last edited by leifbk on 20 Dec 2019 09:44, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3440
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: [NRT] RattRoads - 0.4.1 released 05-15-19!

Post by GarryG »

leifbk wrote:
20 Dec 2019 09:36
Although I think there should be only three "tracks", the middle one being used in both directions
I been thinking something like that too. Keep this design, but put some extra gravel in the middle.
Soot Happens
Screenshot Of The Month Winner March 2020
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
AuzProjectReleases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
leifbk
Chairman
Chairman
Posts: 772
Joined: 23 Dec 2013 16:33
Location: Bærum, Norway
Contact:

Re: [NRT] RattRoads - 0.4.1 released 05-15-19!

Post by leifbk »

GarryG wrote:
20 Dec 2019 09:43
leifbk wrote:
20 Dec 2019 09:36
Although I think there should be only three "tracks", the middle one being used in both directions
I been thinking something like that too. Keep this design, but put some extra gravel in the middle.
If you just put "extra gravel in the middle", the mid track will become much too broad. It shouldn't be more than one and a half or at most double the width of the outer tracks. Ideally, the dirt track should look narrower than the more modern roads.

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 8 guests