Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Sun Dec 17, 2017 7:50 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 77 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: AuzObjects
PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2017 10:46 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 12:17 pm
Posts: 2209
Location: Virgo Supercluster
In Garry's defense, there's some tiles for that - not for all cases, but for the sides - and it does help a bit. I mean, that example was just me slapping them randomly in the first place I thought about ;) I wouldn't do this with the OTTD ones either, they'd look too repetitive too.

But the "photographic" graphics aren't quite my taste either way. Or, well, don't fit with the GRFs, in my eyes. They otherwise look great ^^;


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzObjects
PostPosted: Sat Jan 07, 2017 10:55 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 1972
Location: Newcastle, Australia
The rocks something I need to experiment with some more .. that why I did so many trying to get some that look good.

Hope to go train spotting and riding again in a few weeks time so see if can get a few more stone pictures that might look better to work with.

Cheers fellas

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74510
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzObjects
PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2017 5:18 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2004 10:02 am
Posts: 2732
GarryG wrote:
Code:
    building {
        sprite: spriteset_telephone_wires(0);
        hide_sprite: nearby_tile_height(0, 0) >= snowline_height;
        xoffset: 0; //from NE edge
        yoffset: 0; //from NW edge
        zoffset: 0;
        xextent: 16;
        yextent: 32;
        zextent: 0;
    }

building {
        sprite: spriteset_telephone_wires_SNOW(0);
        hide_sprite: nearby_tile_height(0, 0) < snowline_height;
        xoffset: 0; //from NE edge
        yoffset: 0; //from NW edge
        zoffset: 0;
        xextent: 16;
        yextent: 32;
        zextent: 0;
    }

}


Thinking by setting the zextent to 0 might have worked. But unfortunately it didn't.


Yeap, it's your sprite layout that defines the bounding box. zextent of 0 is going to cause you problems. I was always reccomended to set the X/Y/Z extents as close to the actual size of the sprite as possible and then fiddle with it to optimise performance afterwards.

_________________
Former NewGRF Coder and Sprite Artist

14:40 <orudge> I can't say I discriminate against any particular user
14:41 <Aegir> orudge: I can!


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzObjects
PostPosted: Sun Jan 08, 2017 6:12 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 1972
Location: Newcastle, Australia
I think the problem is that the pole is part of the overlap section and that what it doing overlapping what ever is on that tile.
Attachment:
Safeworking and Telephone Wires3.png
Safeworking and Telephone Wires3.png [ 39.73 KiB | Viewed 1302 times ]

Pic on left has post of roof .. that post is part of the overlap .. the post to left of it is actual tile.

I deleted it on the right pic. The brown mark is where the first pole was.

Players can place these wires either way have overlap to the left or the right.
As shown here.
Attachment:
Safeworking and Telephone Wires4.png
Safeworking and Telephone Wires4.png [ 18.83 KiB | Viewed 1302 times ]


I almost finished the telephone wires including a slope aware set .. but I not happy with the wires following the railway lines heading North-South and the East-West as they are too far from the railway lines. And some poles on the slopes don't line up with poles on the flat sections.
Attachment:
Safeworking and Telephone Wires5.png
Safeworking and Telephone Wires5.png [ 95.24 KiB | Viewed 1302 times ]


If all goes well finish it tonight

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74510
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzObjects
PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2017 3:02 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 1972
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Now got the telephone wires hogging the railway line.
Attachment:
Safeworking and Telephone Wires6.png
Safeworking and Telephone Wires6.png [ 255.78 KiB | Viewed 1261 times ]

I've included some Telegraph wires as well if want to connect a signal box or a staff hut to the main telephone wires. .. they can be used as dummy wires with McZapkie's WIRED too.

If you like to try here the file.
Attachment:
File comment: Version 2
AuzObjects_Rail.grf [2.71 MiB]
Downloaded 24 times


I going to do a few tests with it see if any other wire combination will be handy.

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74510
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzObjects
PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2017 3:24 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Mon Feb 09, 2004 10:02 am
Posts: 2732
GarryG wrote:
I think the problem is that the pole is part of the overlap section and that what it doing overlapping what ever is on that tile.


Yeap. Exceeding your tile boundaries will confuse the hell out of the sprite-sorter, getting your z-extent right can help to mitigate problems but if the sprite is larger than the tile then you'll always be struggling.

I think I saw a patch talking about getting support for NewObjects being buildable over other objects which will hopefully one-day sidestep the need for such tricks if it ever makes trunk.

Love your work mate, it was a pleasant surprise after being away from the community for so long :)

_________________
Former NewGRF Coder and Sprite Artist

14:40 <orudge> I can't say I discriminate against any particular user
14:41 <Aegir> orudge: I can!


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzObjects
PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2017 10:19 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 1972
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Here's the source files to all the AuzObject sets.

They are coded in NML and they include sprites, NML files documents and the NewGRF file.

I hope to put the NewGRF files on Bananas shortly.

Part 1


Attachments:
AuzObjects_BridgesAndEmbankmentsSource.rar [3.26 MiB]
Downloaded 19 times
AuzObjects_FakeRailwayLinesSource.rar [2.44 MiB]
Downloaded 18 times
AuzObjects_FakeRoadsSource.rar [5.33 MiB]
Downloaded 18 times

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74510
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzObjects
PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2017 10:21 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 1972
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Part 2


Attachments:
AuzObjects_FakeTrainsSource.rar [2.24 MiB]
Downloaded 16 times
AuzObjects_FarmsSource.rar [4.04 MiB]
Downloaded 16 times
AuzObjects_Fences.rar [2.83 MiB]
Downloaded 22 times

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74510
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzObjects
PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2017 10:22 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 1972
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Part 3


Attachments:
AuzObjects_LandAndWaterSource.rar [4.58 MiB]
Downloaded 20 times
AuzObjects_LandscapeSource.rar [7.83 MiB]
Downloaded 16 times
AuzObjects_RailSource.rar [10.59 MiB]
Downloaded 15 times

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74510
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzObjects
PostPosted: Mon Jan 09, 2017 10:56 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 1972
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Part 4


Attachments:
AuzObjects_TownsSource.rar [3.64 MiB]
Downloaded 19 times

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74510
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzObjects
PostPosted: Thu Jan 12, 2017 12:17 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 1972
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Wonder if I be able to do Fencing at the next Olympics.

First is suppose to be a weatherboard Fence and after I put this pic here see that front fence is basically wrong as most houses I know with the weatherboard fences only have along the side sand back .. they usually have a low white picket fence at front.

The other fence suppose to be a stone fence that usually found in UK and Europe countries .. maybe other places too. Suppose to be 3 pixels high and 2 pixels wide.

Haven't done any gates for the stone fences yet.


Attachments:
File comment: Weatherboard Fence
weatherboardFence1.png
weatherboardFence1.png [ 26.91 KiB | Viewed 1144 times ]
File comment: Stone Fence with Moss
Stone Fences2.png
Stone Fences2.png [ 456.75 KiB | Viewed 1144 times ]

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74510
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzObjects
PostPosted: Thu Jan 19, 2017 4:07 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 1972
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Added these buildings to AuzObjects_Towns.

As I update the AuzInd160 set any new buildings I make will be added to this object set too.

Will be included in Version 2.

Can have a early look if like as I've included the NewGRF .. will add this to Bananas later when I finish the updates to the Industry set.


Attachments:
Outer Suburbs2.png
Outer Suburbs2.png [ 10.04 KiB | Viewed 1041 times ]
ButcherandBaker.png
ButcherandBaker.png [ 6.54 KiB | Viewed 1041 times ]
AuzObjects_Towns.grf [1.48 MiB]
Downloaded 24 times

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74510
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzObjects
PostPosted: Sun Jan 22, 2017 3:53 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 1972
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Hi all,

I left a message on viewtopic.php?f=14&t=75497 to ask about the meet they having in UK.

Got me thinking if we in Australia could do something similar?

I've ask "orudge" TT Meet 2017: Birmingham 10th Anniversary Meet - VOTE FOR DATES what's involved and hope hear from him soon.

Maybe meet some where mutual for a few hours and have a chin wag and see what happens from there.

I live in Newcastle so if any one from this area or even Sydney area maybe do a return train ride to Dungog, Muswellbrook or Sydney and gasbag on the train.

Cheers

Garry

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74510
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzObjects
PostPosted: Mon Feb 06, 2017 7:05 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 1972
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Been making access roads to use around railway sidings.

They have level crossings and can be used with the Fake Gravel Roads from the AuzObjects_FakeRoads set.
Attachment:
AccessRoads-1.png
AccessRoads-1.png [ 184.13 KiB | Viewed 891 times ]

I changed the graphics to the Goods Shed and the Loading Banks and Wool Dumps so they can be used with the new Gantry Cranes.

I'll test for a few more days to make sure I not leave anything out and if all goes well will release on Bananas later in week.

If you like to test it for me too as might be something you might like me to add or improve.
Attachment:
AuzObjects_Rail.rar [712.7 KiB]
Downloaded 16 times


Cheers

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74510
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzObjects
PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2017 2:23 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 12:17 pm
Posts: 2209
Location: Virgo Supercluster
Do those gravel roads actually make sense? I mean, you have that gravel-like/paved-liked ground there anyway, why would anyone build a different-color gravel road on top of that? ^^;


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzObjects
PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2017 9:04 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 1972
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Pyoro wrote:
Do those gravel roads actually make sense? I mean, you have that gravel-like/paved-liked ground there anyway, why would anyone build a different-color gravel road on top of that? ^^;


That's a good comment .. never thought of it that way .. I can remove most of them .. cheers pal.

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74510
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzObjects
PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2017 9:36 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 1972
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Glad Pyoro mentioned about the roads .. no idea why I never thought of it .. must be old age affecting me :)

Looking at one of my photos of a railway station I worked it has the gravel roads approaching the railway yards, but under the gantry crane and other areas that vehicles can drive it just all crushed ballast dust.

So I going to remove that roads and the level crossing maybe make them a bit darker grey so they can be seen.

Cheers all

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74510
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzObjects
PostPosted: Tue Feb 07, 2017 11:01 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 12:17 pm
Posts: 2209
Location: Virgo Supercluster
Or mark them with some yellow/white lines or posts or something.

Sometimes it gets easy to be caught up in creating something without thinking too much about it. Especially since OTTD is so abstract. For example, I never really thought what type of ground those original IRS ground tiles represent precisely. Gravel? Or something sealed? (< I hear this is Australian English. How appropriate...)
Anyway, I'm sure there are actually a few cases where something similar as those gravel roads exists irl. I can think for example of a slate pit in my home region where they put different gravel on some paths and parking spots for reasons not known to me ^^; Basically, if you can think of it, someone has done it for some reason. ;)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzObjects
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2017 1:42 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 1972
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Pyoro wrote:
Or mark them with some yellow/white lines or posts or something.


I think I could put level crossing posts to mark where vehicles can cross railway lines in the railway yards. This way they be easier to see where they are.

Quote:
I never really thought what type of ground those original IRS ground tiles represent precisely


The reason some places used the blue metal dust (crushed ballast) was because it packs down better then normal gravel so when it rains it doesn't get washed away and have pot holes and water channels forming.

This pic is one of the Stations I worked at Euabalong West. Took this from top of the wheat silos. Passenger Train is the Silver City Comet traveling from Broken Hill To Orange. The freight train in the crossing loop is heading west to either Adelaide or Perth. The wheat train in the Goods siding on right is loading wheat directly from road trucks as it is harvest time. The wheat will be going to a flour mill in Sydney.

The grain loading rumps are gravel but that was not controlled by the railways .. it belonged to the Wheat Board. The Wool Dump and loading ramp up has the crushed metal dust on it and so does the road going under the gantry crane.

The railway tracks that can see on far left used to go to a loco siding where there was a turntable when station was first opened in 1919. I was there for 7 years in the 1980s the foundation work to the turntable was still there, but turntable had been removed. The siding when I was there had 2 other sidings attached to it .. one was a perway siding were it stored track maintenance machines and the other had 6 water columns for filling water wagons to supply isolated stations between here and Menindee. The water columns are connected to a water tower which is just off to the left of that siding.


Attachments:
Euabalong West.png
Euabalong West.png [ 312.54 KiB | Viewed 800 times ]

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74510
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzObjects
PostPosted: Wed Feb 08, 2017 12:50 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 1972
Location: Newcastle, Australia
I've removed the gravel access roads from AuzObjects_Rail and replaced them with some crushed ballast tiles.
Attachment:
gantry_008.png
gantry_008.png [ 7.31 KiB | Viewed 765 times ]

There are 2 types one with the rails as per the above pic and a set without the rails.

The access roads I had as Level Crossings I moved those to the AuzObjects_FakeRailwayLines.
Attachment:
gantry_012_SNOW.png
gantry_012_SNOW.png [ 7.07 KiB | Viewed 765 times ]

I left the gravel roads as they be handy for access roads to farms and Industries in the area.
Also made some crushed ballast level crossings to represent yard access.

Hope can get these finished for release in a few days time.

Thanks again Pyoro for bring this to my attention.

Cheers

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74510
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 77 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.