Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Wed Sep 26, 2018 9:51 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 219 posts ]  Go to page Previous 17 8 9 10 11 Next
Author Message
 Post subject: Re: AuzObjects
PostPosted: Tue May 22, 2018 9:44 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 11:16 pm
Posts: 1254
more water stuff !

Attachment:
lock preview.PNG
lock preview.PNG [ 43.99 KiB | Viewed 909 times ]


please comments on that lock, so i can maybe modify it before it get released ;)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzObjects
PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2018 1:01 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 11:16 pm
Posts: 1254
No comments ?

well too late now because it s coded :P

(comments on how to make it look better are still welcome though)

Probably will be in one of the next release of Auz newobjects from Garry G


Attachments:
Non nommé, 01_01_1990#15.png [178.65 KiB]
Not downloaded yet
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzObjects
PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2018 1:25 pm 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor

Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 7:52 pm
Posts: 423
Location: Den Haag, The Netherlands
it looks fantastic! :bow:

_________________
All my projects are GPLv2 License.

Dutch landmark Object Set Workshop viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75071
My stations workshop viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74749


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzObjects
PostPosted: Wed May 23, 2018 5:02 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 11:16 pm
Posts: 1254
Silverx50 wrote:
it looks fantastic!


nah, your stuff look fantastic, mine are just fine :mrgreen:

here have some more teaser :

Attachment:
ship in lock.png
ship in lock.png [ 2.53 KiB | Viewed 824 times ]


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzObjects
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2018 9:43 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 2494
Location: Newcastle, Australia
I been a bit quiet here lately as working on a project with romazoon.

We are working on:
Canals with Locks.
Improving the Culverts in previous object sets.
Swamps
More Houses.
Retaining Walls (Object Foundations)
Some higher fences that you would often see along side railway tracks in built up areas to try reduce the noise affecting the residence nearby.
Some improved Fake Rivers with a variety of junctions.
Improving the Storm Water Drains in previous object sets .. putting a wall along the edge to make them look deeper than the ground level. Might also make them a bit narrower so not as wide as what rivers and Canals are.

======================================

Came up with a idea for buildings on slopes.

Previous slope templates was only designed for ground tiles. But I made some higher ones so can also add some buildings and tall objects to go on a slope something like this.
Attachment:
StaggeredBuildingsonSlopes.png
StaggeredBuildingsonSlopes.png [ 25.59 KiB | Viewed 709 times ]


It does way with the Foundations that would normally appear if the building was level instead of staggered.

If you want to do your own here the sprite and NML code.

The Template:
Attachment:
Embankment_slopehigh.png
Embankment_slopehigh.png [ 6.31 KiB | Viewed 709 times ]


The NML Code:
Attachment:
TestSlopeHigh.txt [7.2 KiB]
Downloaded 11 times

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzObjects
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2018 10:27 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 11:16 pm
Posts: 1254
i can t resist to tease you guys some more...even if it still need a bit of polishing on some edges


Attachments:
Satminster Transport, 05_11_1990.png [506.85 KiB]
Not downloaded yet
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzObjects
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2018 12:02 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2011 1:51 pm
Posts: 1602
Location: The Netherlands
Quote:
We are working on:

Cool stuff! :bow:
Quote:
i can t resist to tease you guys some more...even if it still need a bit of polishing on some edges

Looks very nice! :bow:
Will the north facing endings of the locks get the same pointed endings like the south facing ones (those at the low water end)?
As those look awesome!

_________________
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzObjects
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2018 12:18 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 11:16 pm
Posts: 1254
Thank you !

Quast65 wrote:
Will the north facing endings of the locks


well, i was wondering what to draw today, i think i know now ;)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzObjects
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2018 12:25 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2014 6:10 pm
Posts: 1081
Those sluices have have functional lock doors?

_________________
My experimental openTTD server: 149.156.194.203:3979 non-standard client, now testing: JGRPP http://tiny.pl/ggnch
Projects: Reproducible Map Generation patch, NewGRFs: Manpower industries, PolTrams, Polroad, 600mm narrow gauge, preindustrial houses, wired, ECS industry extension.
Addicted to freeciv longturn.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzObjects
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2018 1:23 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 2494
Location: Newcastle, Australia
In game depending what file you load to decide what your foundations look like .. I seeing if some object ones might be good as well using some of the stones and bricks from the "ogfx-landscape"

Also has another idea for me as a Retaining Wall as shown in this image.

I done bricks, stone, and stone with moss and also looking as sandstone walls.

Also making them with fences on top of the Retaining Wall as can see in pic.

Showing off some bridge work too.
Attachment:
RetainingWall1.png
RetainingWall1.png [ 410.34 KiB | Viewed 650 times ]


The unfortunate part is these walls waste a tile .. looking at idea make a few sets with a pedestrian subway and make some parks and recreation areas.

The image I use is part of the screenshot I hope I can get finished in time.

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzObjects
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2018 1:52 pm 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor

Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 7:52 pm
Posts: 423
Location: Den Haag, The Netherlands
GarryG wrote:
It does way with the Foundations that would normally appear if the building was level instead of staggered.

If you want to do your own here the sprite and NML code.


thanks for these GarryG, will be very useful.

romazoon wrote:
i can t resist to tease you guys some more...even if it still need a bit of polishing on some edges


very impressed with what I'm seeing here. very inspirational.

_________________
All my projects are GPLv2 License.

Dutch landmark Object Set Workshop viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75071
My stations workshop viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74749


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzObjects
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2018 2:04 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 2494
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Thanks you all for your compliments.

Just quickly made a subway to go with the retaining wall and fence.

Do more eventually for the other stone walls.

It now midnight .. I should have been in get long ago .. ni ni all


Attachments:
Subway.png
Subway.png [ 29.51 KiB | Viewed 635 times ]

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzObjects
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2018 2:36 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 11:16 pm
Posts: 1254
McZapkie wrote:
Those sluices have have functional lock doors?


sorry i teased you a bit too much :mrgreen:

Doors are not functionnal, neither animated...at least for now.

functionnal : who knows, i saw newstations, rail type and much more feature got already in, and NRT in the pipe, there is even some experimentalish airports...so who knows maybe next thing is waterways types :mrgreen:

animated : it could be animated as a new object, we just lack the coding skill and i have no clue how many door sprites is required for animation...
On this topic, anyone know if that animation could be done to the overlaping graphics parts, which would cover a functional lock ? well, because if yes we could have kinda functionnal/eyecandy locks, maybe except there is no way to detect a ship is entering the lock though... (a three tile long lock, like the utilisable one, is on my to do list to replace the existing one, i could plan it to receive animated door placed via a newobject)



About the north facing lock, would that do ?
Attachment:
lock north face preview.PNG
lock north face preview.PNG [ 11.36 KiB | Viewed 629 times ]
i haven t tried to make the sloped wall as straight as the south version...because i saw many in reality have this rounded wall at one end, because the lock entry is usually much narrower than the actual water way it s serving (like on this photo : https://fr.wikipedia.org/wiki/%C3%89clu ... alande.jpg ). I might try to do a one tile lock, that would connect to a two tile wide river, or three tile wide, might be easier to get that rounded effect then.

GarryG wrote:
uickly made a subway to go with the retaining wall and fence.

excellent idea there !

Silverx50 wrote:
ery impressed with what I'm seeing here. very inspirational.


thank you !inspirationnal you say ? if you need my sprites to get started with your inspiration just say so via PM, ill gladly share all the tiles i have so far. it might modestly help getting started with some water tile and help also for making compatible stuff ;)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzObjects
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2018 3:07 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2011 1:51 pm
Posts: 1602
Location: The Netherlands
Quote:
anyone know if that animation could be done to the overlaping graphics parts, which would cover a functional lock

Sure, but it will very likely glitch/clip heavily and that would limit its visual effect a lot.
Quote:
except there is no way to detect a ship is entering the lock though

That is the biggest issue.... ;(
Quote:
so who knows maybe next thing is waterways types

Lets hope :mrgreen:
Quote:
animated

I've got some animations in my beach-objects set and in my fake-airport-objects set, they are in NFO though and its been a very long time since I did those.... Cant help with NML-animations...
However I do believe some people are working on some in NML, I believe this set is currently being actively worked on:
https://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=70306
Quote:
i have no clue how many door sprites is required for animation

I think you need at least 12 steps:
1. all doors closed, water at high point.
2. doors at high point half open.
3. doors at high point full open (maybe double or triple that step, could look nice when it looks paused at open position for a while, you might then even add a ship going in)
4. doors at high point half closed
5. doors at high point closed
6. waterlevel drops halfway
7. waterlevel drops to lowest point
8. doors at lowest level halfway open
9. doors at lowest level full open (again, maybe double or triple that step)
10. doors at lowest level halfway closed
11. doors at lowest level full closed
12. waterlevel fills halfway
And then back to step-1
Quote:
About the north facing lock, would that do ?

Personally I really like the straight look, but that is just a matter of personal taste. How does that rounded one look in normal zoom? Zoomed in doesnt aways give the best type of look ;-)

_________________
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzObjects
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2018 3:17 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 18, 2014 6:10 pm
Posts: 1081
Well, it is weird than nobody implemented functional sluices with raising water level, instead of these funny slopes :)
Of course such approach would have drawback: one ship per lock - but it is rather good feature, because by now channels/rivers are OP having unlimited capacity (BTW, didn't original TTD had limited capacity of a lock?)

_________________
My experimental openTTD server: 149.156.194.203:3979 non-standard client, now testing: JGRPP http://tiny.pl/ggnch
Projects: Reproducible Map Generation patch, NewGRFs: Manpower industries, PolTrams, Polroad, 600mm narrow gauge, preindustrial houses, wired, ECS industry extension.
Addicted to freeciv longturn.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzObjects
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2018 3:24 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Oct 17, 2008 12:17 pm
Posts: 2381
Location: Virgo Supercluster
I'm fairly sure mb has drawn an animated lock. I think he's shown it off at some point ;)


And yeah, animations in NML are super easy if you just want to do simple cycles. If you paint all stages in a row and they are properly defined in a spritelayout then basically all you need to do is something like sprite_lock(0) for your object and with proper animation triggers and everything set it'll "count" up the sprites to 1, 2, 3 ... however many you set ... and start over again.

It obviously gets more complicated if you want to do more than that but I'm sure that can be figured out ^^


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzObjects
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2018 4:26 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Jun 20, 2010 11:16 pm
Posts: 1254
Pyoro wrote:
I'm fairly sure mb has drawn an animated lock


i believe there is an animated lock in ttd patch...so maybe it s not necessary to reinvent the wheel there.

If the owner of the copyrights from the ttd patch lock read us...i d love to hear if we could reuse those sprites as newobject (better than nothing)

Pyoro wrote:
And yeah, animations in NML are super easy if you just want to do simple cycles. If you paint all stages in a row and they are properly defined in a spritelayout then basically all you need to do is something like sprite_lock(0) for your object and with proper animation triggers and everything set it'll "count" up the sprites to 1, 2, 3 ... however many you set ... and start over again.


good news for my coder, so i supose it s mainly up to me if i do the sprites or not then :lol:

btw thanks quast for the detailed list of sprites needed, much appreciated !

also, i don t know why earlier i tried to do a rounded version while the straight wall version was just so much simpler to draw !
Attachment:
lock north face preview.PNG
lock north face preview.PNG [ 3.2 KiB | Viewed 598 times ]


also you are right about the glitch from overlaping animated lock, it might be pretty ugly, but well, if i produce all the sprites for an non overlaping newobject it will be fairly easy to simply try and see what kind of glitch we get then decide from there ;)


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzObjects
PostPosted: Tue May 29, 2018 5:13 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2011 1:51 pm
Posts: 1602
Location: The Netherlands
Quote:
the straight wall version was just so much simpler to draw

I like that look!
Quote:
if i produce all the sprites for an non overlaping newobject it will be fairly easy to simply try and see what kind of glitch we get then decide from there

Certainly, always worth a try.

_________________
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzObjects
PostPosted: Sat Jun 09, 2018 5:31 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 2494
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Been taking so long to finish the swamps that trees are starting to die.
Attachment:
Swampy.png
Swampy.png [ 95.45 KiB | Viewed 453 times ]


Just a little more to do and these should be finished .. see if can make a few overlaps to go over rivers to allow boats to travel through the swamps.

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691


Top
   
 Post subject: Re: AuzObjects
PostPosted: Mon Jul 16, 2018 8:27 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 2494
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Been making fences and retaining walls for the AuzRailObject set.

The fences are slope aware and also will follow along the top or bottom of the slopes.
Attachment:
Railway Fences.png
Railway Fences.png [ 401.43 KiB | Viewed 198 times ]

2 types of fences .. wooden and wire mesh and they can be build in all directions. (Unfortunately I haven't made wire mesh fences to go on top of the retaining walls yet).

There are 3 types of retaining walls .. brick, stone and stone with Moss. I made these walls so they will match the OpenGFX+Landscape foundations.

You will find these in the Menu named "AuzRailObjects: Fences and Retaining Walls (Foundations)".

If like to try here the game file and also the source files.


Attachments:
AuzRailObjects.grf [1.89 MiB]
Downloaded 22 times
File comment: Source Files
AuzRail.rar [3.64 MiB]
Downloaded 15 times

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 219 posts ]  Go to page Previous 17 8 9 10 11 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.