AuzObjects

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2973
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: AuzObjects

Post by GarryG » 16 Jul 2018 08:36

Would you like to add some Swamps to your game.
Swampy.png
Swampy.png (95.45 KiB) Viewed 1832 times
Attachments
AuzWaterAndLandscapeObjects.grf
(3.95 MiB) Downloaded 63 times
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStatins: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2973
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: AuzObjects

Post by GarryG » 13 Aug 2018 12:54

Been train travelling today visiting stations and talking to people .. met a person who plays OpenTTD and uses some of the files I released.

Got talking about the Power poles I have in the object sets and how I unable to design the poles and wires to go up many slopes due to the different ways the slopes are made.

He suggest I remove the wires and just have the poles. Says wires not visible above in real as he said he a pilot and flies smaller Cessna planes.

It will allow the high voltage towers to be placed any where you like if there are no wires to worry about.

I've been thinking for some time to make a few other types of power poles, so if I not need the wires, will make these a lot easier to introduce too.

So I wonder will removing the wires be a good idea?
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStatins: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
Quast65
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1652
Joined: 09 Oct 2011 13:51
Location: The Netherlands

Re: AuzObjects

Post by Quast65 » 13 Aug 2018 13:18

Why not both?
Projects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2973
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: AuzObjects

Post by GarryG » 13 Aug 2018 23:45

Quast65 wrote:Why not both?
Why didn't I think of that . keep what I done so far and make some with out the wires as well.
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStatins: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

TTDFanDNUA
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 39
Joined: 27 Jul 2012 20:08
Location: Haarlem, the Netherlands

Re: AuzObjects

Post by TTDFanDNUA » 25 Aug 2018 15:00

That's really nice idea to have more power poles! Thank you Garry for this suggestion! Personally I'm playing with scenarious where electric towers don't have wires for the same reason: the wires are too thin to be seen from the air

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2973
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: AuzObjects

Post by GarryG » 26 Aug 2018 03:45

TTDFanDNUA wrote:That's really nice idea to have more power poles! Thank you Garry for this suggestion! Personally I'm playing with scenarious where electric towers don't have wires for the same reason: the wires are too thin to be seen from the air
Shall see what I can do ..

Some other objects I like to do:

If you notice along river banks and water ways where the electric wires cross the water there are some signs each side to warn boat crews what height the wires are.

Also like to do some old abandon bridge pylons to stick out of the water.

But before I start any these like to get the bridge set finished.

Cheers
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStatins: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2973
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: AuzObjects

Post by GarryG » 26 Aug 2018 13:44

Change of plans .. I did some power poles without wires and warning signs.
Poles without Wires-1.png
Poles without Wires-1.png (91.44 KiB) Viewed 1493 times
Made a few extra types as can be seen in the image.

If like to try here the game file .. got no idea when or if it will get to Bananas.
AuzTownObjects.grf
(3.99 MiB) Downloaded 64 times
As mentioned several pages back hope to create new Object sets and most likely be called:
AuzFarmAndFencesObjects
AuzRailObjects
AuzFakeRailsAndTrainsObjects
AuzTownObjects
AuzRoadObjects
AuzWaterAndLandscapeObjects

But when I started making this several months ago, had a power blackout before I saved the spreadsheets with all the new information. Going to take me sometime to sort it out and re-do.

Cheers all
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStatins: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

andres1555
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 29
Joined: 03 Sep 2018 20:24

Re: AuzObjects

Post by andres1555 » 05 Sep 2018 14:02

GarryG wrote:Change of plans .. I did some power poles without wires and warning signs.
Poles without Wires-1.png

Made a few extra types as can be seen in the image.

If like to try here the game file .. got no idea when or if it will get to Bananas.
AuzTownObjects.grf

As mentioned several pages back hope to create new Object sets and most likely be called:
AuzFarmAndFencesObjects
AuzRailObjects
AuzFakeRailsAndTrainsObjects
AuzTownObjects
AuzRoadObjects
AuzWaterAndLandscapeObjects

But when I started making this several months ago, had a power blackout before I saved the spreadsheets with all the new information. Going to take me sometime to sort it out and re-do.

Cheers all

Is it possible to joint these grfs in only one grf file?
I really love them, but I must choose between them because I exceed the amount of GRFs active per game.

User avatar
piratescooby
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 296
Joined: 21 Nov 2014 12:39
Location: The Granite City.

Re: AuzObjects

Post by piratescooby » 05 Sep 2018 15:16

viewtopic.php?t=73469 , play with JGR's Patch Pack , you can then play with 255 Grf's plus many other great goodies .

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2973
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: AuzObjects

Post by GarryG » 05 Sep 2018 23:22

I like to try join some as since learning how to make railway stations and bridges there are some objects that could be removed, especially in "AuzFakeRailsAndTrainsObjects" and "AuzRailObjects"

I am restricted to 255 objects in each set.

JGR's patch may allow for more objects in a set, but the sets I make need to be designed so can be played in other OpenTTD 1.8.0 and some of the previous versions.

AuzTownObjects already has 205. Be nice to add the AuzRoadObjects to it, but it has 90 objects.

AuzFarmsAndFences .. Had 127 at moment. But like to add more Fences to this so that can build fences running north-south and East-West (angles).

AuzRailObjects .. has 111

AuzFakeRailsAndTrainsObjects .. has 229

AuzWaterAndLandscapeObjects .. 151 and counting
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStatins: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
kamnet
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6606
Joined: 28 Sep 2009 17:15
Location: Eastern KY
Contact:

Re: AuzObjects

Post by kamnet » 06 Sep 2018 18:23

JGR's Patch Pack makes both more objects (total) available and more NewGRFs available, but it doesn't make more objects available in each NewGRF. That's technically maxed out at 255.

User avatar
jimbob
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 76
Joined: 24 Nov 2014 21:13
Location: At a desk
Contact:

Re: AuzObjects

Post by jimbob » 22 Sep 2018 19:54

I really like your town buildings, do you have any ambition to release a town replacement grf?
Image
Real life transport planner
My projects:Link to my UK Scenario|Scenario Builder GS
Do check out my 3D unity transport game: transporter

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2973
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: AuzObjects

Post by GarryG » 22 Sep 2018 23:23

jimbob wrote:I really like your town buildings, do you have any ambition to release a town replacement grf?
Not at this stage .. something I would like to do later on once I caught up with the projects I working on at the moment.
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStatins: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2973
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: AuzObjects

Post by GarryG » 23 Sep 2018 00:04

FENCES.

When placing fences in a game, it shame a whole tile is wasted with the fence along just ne edge. Some times wonder if fences be better if they was in centre of the tiles. I think might look nicer around properties and Industries and also in farms.

Whatcha reckon?
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStatins: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
Quast65
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1652
Joined: 09 Oct 2011 13:51
Location: The Netherlands

Re: AuzObjects

Post by Quast65 » 23 Sep 2018 00:21

Always a nice addition to the fences you already have.
VAST+fences GRF already has fences (and walls) in the middle of a tile by the way, handy to look at to figure out where you have to place your fences.
Projects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2973
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: AuzObjects

Post by GarryG » 23 Sep 2018 00:42

Quast65 wrote:Always a nice addition to the fences you already have.
VAST+fences GRF already has fences (and walls) in the middle of a tile by the way, handy to look at to figure out where you have to place your fences.
I knew some sets already had them, just forgot which ones. I working n slope aware set now and see how they look on farms to se if any animals will escape. :D
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStatins: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
Pyoro
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2465
Joined: 17 Oct 2008 12:17
Location: Virgo Supercluster

Re: AuzObjects

Post by Pyoro » 24 Sep 2018 11:12

Usually I build fences "from the outside". The issue with having fences in the middle is that you can't have any sort of groundtile. Or I mean, you can have, but it'd only fit the specific purpose you code/draw them with.

User avatar
Quast65
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1652
Joined: 09 Oct 2011 13:51
Location: The Netherlands

Re: AuzObjects

Post by Quast65 » 24 Sep 2018 11:28

I mostly use fences when there is a transition of ground, so for example concrete to grass, then indeed you have to use a full tile (either grass or concrete) with a fence at the edge.
However I can imagine that for rural areas (for example farms) it can be nice to have a fence in the middle.

For example you have a field with grain on one side and a ploughed field on the other side.
If you want to place a fence between them you will get a full tile of grass on one of the sides, having the fence in the middle then will look nicer, more symmetric so to say.
Projects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2973
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: AuzObjects

Post by GarryG » 24 Sep 2018 12:02

Both ideas for fences will be ok so players have a choice to suit where they building them and what effect they want.

Hope to make centre fences for most of them and also be nice if the fences I have can also be built in a north-south and a east-west direction too.

Shall experiment and see.

Cheers
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStatins: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
jimbob
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 76
Joined: 24 Nov 2014 21:13
Location: At a desk
Contact:

Re: AuzObjects

Post by jimbob » 26 Sep 2018 10:02

GarryG wrote:
jimbob wrote:I really like your town buildings, do you have any ambition to release a town replacement grf?
Not at this stage .. something I would like to do later on once I caught up with the projects I working on at the moment.
Do you have an up to date source you could share? I could see if I can turn the new objects code into town objects?
Image
Real life transport planner
My projects:Link to my UK Scenario|Scenario Builder GS
Do check out my 3D unity transport game: transporter

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 10 guests