AuzBridges

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3033
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: AuzBridges

Post by GarryG » 24 Aug 2018 02:08

Experimenting with idea by using other peoples work see if they blend together.

Using the UKRoadset with signs and the Dutch Road Furniture with signs gave me some ideas .. bridges also have signs on the approach so yesterday went travelling to confirm this.

Sure enough I saw the signs on the wooden road bridge at Awaba. It has black and white signs at the approach to the bridge and also the yellow reflectors painted on ends of the fences..
Awaba_Bridge.png
Awaba_Bridge.png (247.43 KiB) Viewed 1255 times
Rail bridges also had warning signs on the approach so see if can make some of these later too.

So I added the black and white signs to a few of my road bridges see how they would look. Some bridges might also get the yellow reflectors.
Signs on bridges.png
Signs on bridges.png (92.01 KiB) Viewed 1255 times
While making these changes also found a error with the wide bridges when making them 5 long so I fixed that.

Here the new file with the signs on those few bridges so you can see how they look in your games.
Attachments
australian_bridges.grf
(281.82 KiB) Downloaded 26 times
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3033
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: AuzBridges

Post by GarryG » 25 Aug 2018 03:40

Idea with some road bridges .. the abutments instead of the square brick and concrete look see if can make them bit more realistic with piles of gravel and a retaining wall..

These I called culverts as they based on some of my road objects.
Road Culverts.png
Road Culverts.png (75.06 KiB) Viewed 1201 times
The humps have white guide posts and the flat abutments got guide rails.

These mostly designed for going over flood planes, rivers and railway lines. Can be used to cross lakes and oceans if you like.

Will be making one more culvert with concrete culverts and/or water pipes.

Yet to make rail culverts to match.
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3033
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: AuzBridges

Post by GarryG » 30 Aug 2018 02:38

Built a Culvert for the railway lines.

It isn't intended for road vehicles and ships to pass under them. Can make them multi levels and lengths but may not look as nice if just used in one level.
Culvert Rail-5.png
Culvert Rail-5.png (131.96 KiB) Viewed 1119 times
I seeing if I can remove the box like abutments from most of my bridges and make them with retaining walls and rock/gravel sides like in this image.

If like to try what the culverts here the file.

Still a lot of work to be done before these be finished.
Attachments
australian_bridges.grf
(306.18 KiB) Downloaded 19 times
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3033
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: AuzBridges

Post by GarryG » 31 Aug 2018 04:24

Some wooden road bridges hope have in next issue.

Next issue may not be suitable for games already using the previous issues as I made a few changes.
Wooden Road Bridges-3.png
Wooden Road Bridges-3.png (74.78 KiB) Viewed 1064 times
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
acs121
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1949
Joined: 03 Nov 2017 18:57
Location: Courbevoie, near Paris, France

Re: AuzBridges

Post by acs121 » 31 Aug 2018 10:17

I like the culvert bridge. Maybe you could make a bridge with the same pillars and more space between them ? This bridge would do particularly great for urban areas.

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3033
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: AuzBridges

Post by GarryG » 31 Aug 2018 10:27

acs121 wrote:I like the culvert bridge. Maybe you could make a bridge with the same pillars and more space between them ? This bridge would do particularly great for urban areas.
I'll have a look at that idea .. might make a good wide bridge for double tracks and also freeway roads.

But not be tonight as Friday nights are footy nights .. Storm Vs Panthers .. I don't have any favourite team .. just like to watch a good game.

Cheers
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3033
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: AuzBridges

Post by GarryG » 01 Sep 2018 06:00

Working on the Stone Bridge in Sydney that crosses over Eddy Avenue.
Eddy Avenue Sydney.png
Eddy Avenue Sydney.png (6.11 KiB) Viewed 1004 times
The bridge in Sydney has 6 tracks. So hope make these bridges wide so hope look good for multiple Tracks.
Eddy Avenue Sydney 2.png
Eddy Avenue Sydney 2.png (5.65 KiB) Viewed 1004 times
See if I can make a road set too.
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3033
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: AuzBridges

Post by GarryG » 02 Sep 2018 05:58

Got a few new bridges done and changed graphics on some.

The Rail Bridges:
Rail Bridges Sept 2.png
Rail Bridges Sept 2.png (332.46 KiB) Viewed 962 times
The Road Bridges:
Road Bridges Sept 2.png
Road Bridges Sept 2.png (238.32 KiB) Viewed 962 times
These bridges are:

Bottom Row left to right:
Brick Bridge
Steel Girder Bridge
Steel Pillar Bridge
Iron Plate Bridge
Stone Pylon Bridge

Top Row left to right:
Culverts
Wooden Bridge with Trestle centre
Wooden Trestle Bridge
Wide Bridges
Sydney Bridges

Future work:

There is room for 3 more bridges for those whoplay the OpenTTD normal version. Those who play using the JGR set .. have room for 6 more bridges

The Stone Pylon Bridge in tend to replace this with a narrow version of the Sydney Bridge.

Another Culvert bridge .. hope to make it with pipes which means it not be suitable for more then 1 level in height.

A bridge based on the Cougal Bridge far north coast of New South Wales. If like to have a look see
https://www.bing.com/images/search?view ... ajaxhist=0

If like to play around with what I done so far and if see any graphic errors that I missed or suggestions let me know.
Attachments
australian_bridges.grf
(309.32 KiB) Downloaded 22 times
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335


User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3033
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: AuzBridges

Post by GarryG » 02 Sep 2018 22:31

ISA wrote:They are nice! As I have not use them yet Ill just ask... Are they rail and tarmac aware?
They are rail aware but not road. Not sure if can make road aware on some of them. If they was road aware it save a lot of work.

One thing you do remind me of is I forgot to adjust the different speeds VR and trains can cross the bridge. Those wide bridges should be high speed.

Cheers
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
acs121
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1949
Joined: 03 Nov 2017 18:57
Location: Courbevoie, near Paris, France

Re: AuzBridges

Post by acs121 » 02 Sep 2018 23:15

NotRoadTypes enables road-aware bridge.

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3033
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: AuzBridges

Post by GarryG » 02 Sep 2018 23:40

If able to make road bridges road aware, needs to be able to do them individual so can chose which ones road aware and which ones are not. That way wooden bridges will keep the wood plank look.
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
acs121
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1949
Joined: 03 Nov 2017 18:57
Location: Courbevoie, near Paris, France

Re: AuzBridges

Post by acs121 » 02 Sep 2018 23:47

This has been done with the covered bridge from Andrew350's bridge set.

User avatar
wallyweb
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5530
Joined: 27 Nov 2004 15:05
Location: Canada

Re: AuzBridges

Post by wallyweb » 03 Sep 2018 00:01

Rail types and, I assume, road types (NRT) have overlays that will be applied to the bridge's road or rail when the bridge is built from within the road or rail type's GUI menu. You do not need to make your bridges road or rail type aware. Note that for roads this only works in NRT.

Edit: If players want to keep your default bridge road surface, they should build their bridges from within the default road GUI and not from within a road type GUI.


User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3033
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: AuzBridges

Post by GarryG » 03 Sep 2018 03:27

Thanks guys for the information you provided above.

All my rail bridges will use what ever rail set you use.

But my road bridges have what I provided. These are same roads as the default roads from the game.

The road I did on the approach are UK roads.

Fixed a few issues with the bridges.

Had speeds wrong on many of them.

They are now set to the following:
Bridge 00 60 Wooden and Iron Plate
Bridge 01 60 Wooden Trestle
Bridge 02 100 Steel Girder Bridge
Bridge 03 200 Wide Bridges
Bridge 04 80 Iron Plate Bridge
Bridge 05 120 Brick
Bridge 06 200 Sydney Bridge
Bridge 07 80 Steel Pillar
Bridge 08 100 Stone Pylon Bridge
Bridge 09 To be drawn
Bridge 0A 200 Culverts
Bridge 0B To be drawn
Bridge 0C To be drawn
Bridge 0D To be drawn
Bridge 0E To be drawn
Bridge 0F To be drawn

Also improved the graphics on the Sydney bridge .. had too many holes in the railings .. I now made them a bit closer to how they are in real.
Sydney Bridges Update.png
Sydney Bridges Update.png (73.94 KiB) Viewed 875 times
Also added a few extra street lights to the Sydney road bridge. Could put the light on the abutments too, but the lights closes to you will glitch as vehicles will drive over them.

If any one wants the source to any or all the bridges let me know and will send to you.

Here the game file again with those improvements.
Attachments
australian_bridges.grf
(309.39 KiB) Downloaded 25 times
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
STD
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1757
Joined: 02 Jul 2012 14:53
Location: Russia, Samara

Re: AuzBridges

Post by STD » 03 Sep 2018 07:26

I really like these bridges :D . They look very beautiful. Nice work, GarryG. I just keep track of all the changes in this set, download the latest versions and check them in the game. While all suits me, the graphics errors I discovered. I'm thinking of using this set of bridges in my future games. The bridges look awfully cool :bow: .
[OpenTTD] STD screenshots
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
[OpenTTD] STD saved games - My finished scenarios and saves from the game
My Youtube channel - OpenTTD | Wiki xUSSR set (RU) | Wiki xUSSR set (EN) | Download the latest version of the xUSSR set
TT Screenshot of the Month - the page editor | Screenshot Of The Month Contest Winner: August 2017

User avatar
acs121
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1949
Joined: 03 Nov 2017 18:57
Location: Courbevoie, near Paris, France

Re: AuzBridges

Post by acs121 » 03 Sep 2018 07:36

What do you think about implementing the iconic Harbour Bridge of Sydney ?

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3033
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: AuzBridges

Post by GarryG » 03 Sep 2018 08:41

STD wrote:I really like these bridges :D . They look very beautiful. Nice work, GarryG. I just keep track of all the changes in this set, download the latest versions and check them in the game. While all suits me, the graphics errors I discovered. I'm thinking of using this set of bridges in my future games. The bridges look awfully cool :bow: .
Thanks kindly for your compliments.
acs121 wrote:What do you think about implementing the iconic Harbour Bridge of Sydney ?
Would love to do that one . but not sure how it would go as such a large bridge and has both rail and roads. What you think Wally would it be possible? Not necessary have both road and rail, but just with one or the other?

Had a go doing the Cougal bridge.
Cougal Bridge.png
Cougal Bridge.png (48.63 KiB) Viewed 855 times
Not designed for 1 level if ships and RV need to pass under it.

Cheers
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
acs121
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1949
Joined: 03 Nov 2017 18:57
Location: Courbevoie, near Paris, France

Re: AuzBridges

Post by acs121 » 03 Sep 2018 08:54

The RL bridge has road on one side and rail on the other. So it's possible as a large bridge with edges sticking together, like a few others.

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests