Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Wed Sep 26, 2018 3:47 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 1420 posts ]  Go to page Previous 167 68 69 70 71
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2018 11:30 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2014 11:14 pm
Posts: 104
Location: Essex
Will the format of the set stay the same, with the choice to choose liveries in refit, accurate capacities, purchasing a whole train rather than the end carriages then trailers.

There were several things that made me dislike the old brsets before BR trains was made. Such as the end carriages and high speed carriages and them only having a capacity of 40 or something.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2018 11:32 am 
Offline
Director
Director
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2017 4:52 pm
Posts: 608
Location: Western Ile-de-France Region
We're going to copy over virtually all the code: it will work in a similar way but with more consistent graphics.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2018 1:07 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 7:31 pm
Posts: 6345
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Leanden wrote:
Redirect Left wrote:
Hopefully this means i can finally punish the north of England as much as they are in real life and shove Pacers everywhere on lines they're too small and slow for :twisted:


Pacers will be in the 1.0 release so yes you can :twisted:

Goooooood. My only issue with UKRS was no Pacers. So they either got something a bit too rubbish, or something a little bit too good, like a Sprinter >:(

Hopfully the coloring on the redo will be better too. No offense, but some of the units I found a little dull colored, coming across as stupidly dirty looking, and the quality often varies hugely between units. This is why I generally use UKRS, despite loving the additional units that BRT has that UKRS does not.

_________________
Image
Worst Behaved IRC Member of 2008, 2009 & 2010 - Go Me!


Last edited by Redirect Left on Thu Apr 05, 2018 1:24 pm, edited 1 time in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 05, 2018 1:21 pm 
Offline
Director
Director
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2017 4:52 pm
Posts: 608
Location: Western Ile-de-France Region
The release with all the gfx contributed will be a bit slap-dash. There may be many issues. It may take a couple of months. It shall be known as the corpse of BRTrains.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2018 7:37 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2015 3:03 pm
Posts: 83
How come only the BR08, and the BR13 are the only ones that are showing up on the dev.openttdcoop page? I'm looking through the repository to check how you did your livery overrides for one of my own projects.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2018 8:03 pm 
Offline
Director
Director
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2017 4:52 pm
Posts: 608
Location: Western Ile-de-France Region
A better place to look is our Dropbox repo: https://www.dropbox.com/sh/f06kuxqgb67sq13/AAB_q6bLAShR-Xg68VjMRlODa?dl=0


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Apr 08, 2018 11:07 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 7:25 pm
Posts: 2618
Location: Kent
Indeed, i unfortunately lost the ssh key when i updated my PC and found it a nuisance to get a new one added, so defaulted to drop box :P

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 5:40 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2014 11:14 pm
Posts: 104
Location: Essex
Hello,

Been no update in a while, does the statement above still apply and is there any more updates on current progress?

Thanks


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Jun 12, 2018 5:44 pm 
Offline
Director
Director
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2017 4:52 pm
Posts: 608
Location: Western Ile-de-France Region
There's been no updates because this isn't being developed much more. We're currently having a break and in a couple of months we'll release a "final" version before this GRF is "replaced" by BORTS. When the final version is released, we'll change this thread to say the GRF is unmaintained. For now though, we are able to do stuff. We're just not.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jul 14, 2018 6:05 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2014 11:14 pm
Posts: 104
Location: Essex
Any idea why some trains slow down through tunnels? Happens with e320s and hsts and some more that i cannot remember. Is this a br trains issue?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jul 14, 2018 6:36 pm 
Offline
Director
Director
User avatar

Joined: Mon Apr 17, 2017 4:52 pm
Posts: 608
Location: Western Ile-de-France Region
Afaik it happens with every train


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jul 14, 2018 7:21 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Sun Dec 16, 2007 10:24 pm
Posts: 1649
Location: Idaho, USA
willsym22 wrote:
Any idea why some trains slow down through tunnels? Happens with e320s and hsts and some more that i cannot remember. Is this a br trains issue?

Air resistance! :wink:

_________________
Eyecandy Road Vehicles | Fake Subways | Supercheese's NewObjects

"Fashions and cultures change, but steam trains shall always be majestic."
-Professor Hershel Layton


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jul 14, 2018 7:26 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 7:25 pm
Posts: 2618
Location: Kent
IIRC tunnels have a speed limit hardcoded into the game.

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jul 14, 2018 8:25 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2017 6:57 pm
Posts: 1544
Location: Courbevoie, near Paris, France
Leanden wrote:
IIRC tunnels have a speed limit hardcoded into the game.


They don't, although all trains slow down in tunnels. This works for e320s as well as for Class 66s.

_________________
NewGRFs by Tony Pixel :
North American Passenger Railroads
Not Enough Subways


My screenshots


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jul 14, 2018 8:30 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Mon Mar 03, 2014 11:14 pm
Posts: 104
Location: Essex
Any reason this happens to everything apart from 373s?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Jul 14, 2018 9:09 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2017 6:57 pm
Posts: 1544
Location: Courbevoie, near Paris, France
This, because 373 have such power they don't deccelerate as fast. I may be wrong...

_________________
NewGRFs by Tony Pixel :
North American Passenger Railroads
Not Enough Subways


My screenshots


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2018 12:12 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 7:25 pm
Posts: 2618
Location: Kent
Rechecked the game mechanics to confirm. Air drag coefficient is doubled for vehicles inside tunnels. The e320 (and i expect the e300) have so much power they can overcome this easily.

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jul 15, 2018 12:45 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 03, 2017 6:57 pm
Posts: 1544
Location: Courbevoie, near Paris, France
Leanden wrote:
Rechecked the game mechanics to confirm. Air drag coefficient is doubled for vehicles inside tunnels. The e320 (and i expect the e300) have so much power they can overcome this easily.


This, also because their aerodynamism allows them having very low air_drag_coefficient.

_________________
NewGRFs by Tony Pixel :
North American Passenger Railroads
Not Enough Subways


My screenshots


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jul 19, 2018 2:38 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Jul 01, 2015 3:03 pm
Posts: 83
What is BORTS?


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jul 19, 2018 6:25 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Thu Mar 19, 2009 7:25 pm
Posts: 2618
Location: Kent
TrainLover wrote:
What is BORTS?



BORTS??

_________________
Image


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 1420 posts ]  Go to page Previous 167 68 69 70 71

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.