Silverx50's Workshop

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

Silverx50
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 425
Joined: 13 Apr 2007 19:52
Location: Den Haag, The Netherlands

Re: Silverx50's sets

Post by Silverx50 » 17 May 2016 22:25

I have been working on some more buildings lately.
I kind of like my rendition of Rotterdam CS but I was going to go and finish is but I have some doubts.
first of all, I like big buildings in openttd thus I mostly draw big buidlings that take up a lot of space.
right now its on a 4x4 tile and I don't think it should be any bigger. but still I have this feeling that it looks cramped.
I'm think of extending the roof more towards the left covering a bit more of the side of the building.
well feedback welcome as always.

don't pay to much atention to the colors.
Attachments
Rotterdam CS.png
Rotterdam CS.png (6.04 KiB) Viewed 1700 times
All my projects are GPLv2 License.

Dutch landmark Object Set Workshop viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75071
My stations workshop viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74749

User avatar
Quast65
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1661
Joined: 09 Oct 2011 13:51
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Silverx50's sets

Post by Quast65 » 18 May 2016 01:59

Wow! That is an extremely difficult shape you are doing right now, will look forward to see how you manage to draw it.
Also, but this might be a matter of personal opinion, I think that right now it is too high. It has the hight of some skyscrapers in OpenTTD-world.
Maybe scale it down a bit, that may result in losing some details, but it might fit in better in the OpenTTD-environment (and also takes up a little less space).

But, again, I look forward to your progress!! :bow:
Projects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.

Silverx50
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 425
Joined: 13 Apr 2007 19:52
Location: Den Haag, The Netherlands

Re: Silverx50's sets

Post by Silverx50 » 19 May 2016 09:07

thanks for the feedback. going to make some changes and lower the building somewhat.
was busy working on another building and then when I put it in game I see that it's way to big......something I really need to pay attention too.
Castalia.png
Castalia.png (6.27 KiB) Viewed 1628 times
like what I made but it's unusable. back to the drawing board with this one.
All my projects are GPLv2 License.

Dutch landmark Object Set Workshop viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75071
My stations workshop viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74749

User avatar
Quast65
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1661
Joined: 09 Oct 2011 13:51
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Silverx50's sets

Post by Quast65 » 19 May 2016 14:41

lol, the The Hague Boobies ;-) (in Dutch: Haagse Tietûh)
Projects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.

Silverx50
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 425
Joined: 13 Apr 2007 19:52
Location: Den Haag, The Netherlands

Re: Silverx50's sets

Post by Silverx50 » 19 May 2016 22:19

Made some progress on this tonight.
still needs work but am pretty happy where its heading. also planning on creating some extra tiles to extend the station and think that if I have time
I'll also make the Rotterdam platforms. hope someone is willing to code it though.
feedback always welcome.

I've also added the image of delftse Poort. this is also a building I want to do in the near future. just wondering on the size.
I'm think a 4x4 or maybe make it modular in some parts like the new babylon building. thoughs?
Attachments
Rotterdam CS1.png
Rotterdam CS1.png (8.11 KiB) Viewed 1547 times
Delftse poort5.jpg
(78.27 KiB) Not downloaded yet
All my projects are GPLv2 License.

Dutch landmark Object Set Workshop viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75071
My stations workshop viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74749

User avatar
Quast65
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1661
Joined: 09 Oct 2011 13:51
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Silverx50's sets

Post by Quast65 » 21 May 2016 11:45

Excellent work on Rotterdam CS, The shape and hight of the roof looks very good now! :bow:
I know its still work in progress, so maybe you are going to do this, but the roof now goes straight down at the ends, are you going to try to shape it like the real building where the endings go a bit back inside again?
Difficult to explain, so I mean this:
Example24.png
Example24.png (761.62 KiB) Viewed 1474 times
With regards to Delftse Poort, Modular might be difficult as the buildings are connected via the lower structure. But 4x4 would be max size, otherwise it will become too huge.

Regarding Castalia, try to scale it down to a 2x1 or 3x1. That might work.

And... I dont know if it is possible, but what about also coding these buildings as industries, that can only be funded by a player (so not automatically generated at the start of, or during a game or by an AI-player)? For example, producing mail and passengers and accepting various goods and passengers, that way those big buildings also have a use, rather than being extremely pretty ;-) Like I said, maybe not possible, but a coder with experience with industries might be able to shine some light on that.
Projects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.

Silverx50
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 425
Joined: 13 Apr 2007 19:52
Location: Den Haag, The Netherlands

Re: Silverx50's sets

Post by Silverx50 » 21 May 2016 13:35

have made some more progress on my Den Haag City objects. Redrew the Castalia making it smaller and I must say I much prefer it now.
DHCO.png
DHCO.png (55.2 KiB) Viewed 1467 times
Well there are lots of buildings I still want to do from the Hague.
Quast65 wrote:Regarding Castalia, try to scale it down to a 2x1 or 3x1. That might work
tried 2x1 but it became to cramped and the roof just won't look right at that size so went for a 2x2 tile size and I think it works pretty well.
Quast65 wrote:With regards to Delftse Poort, Modular might be difficult as the buildings are connected via the lower structure. But 4x4 would be max size, otherwise it will become too huge.
yes agreed.
Quast65 wrote:Excellent work on Rotterdam CS, The shape and hight of the roof looks very good now!
I know its still work in progress, so maybe you are going to do this, but the roof now goes straight down at the ends, are you going to try to shape it like the real building where the endings go a bit back inside again?
Difficult to explain, so I mean this:
I'm gonna give it a try.
Quast65 wrote:And... I dont know if it is possible, but what about also coding these buildings as industries, that can only be funded by a player (so not automatically generated at the start of, or during a game or by an AI-player)? For example, producing mail and passengers and accepting various goods and passengers, that way those big buildings also have a use, rather than being extremely pretty Like I said, maybe not possible, but a coder with experience with industries might be able to shine some light on that.
that would be a nice if it's possible. well hope someone knows how to do this. it would make them work similar to the hotel in FIRS right?

@Quast65 I've been able to code New Babylon thanks to you :bow:
busy making templates for the larger buildings now based on the code you provided. 8)

Going to try and finish Den Haag CS next, been putting it off lately.
All my projects are GPLv2 License.

Dutch landmark Object Set Workshop viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75071
My stations workshop viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74749

User avatar
Pyoro
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2475
Joined: 17 Oct 2008 12:17
Location: Virgo Supercluster

Re: Silverx50's sets

Post by Pyoro » 21 May 2016 13:46

Silverx50 wrote:that would be a nice if it's possible. well hope someone knows how to do this. it would make them work similar to the hotel in FIRS right?
It's nothing difficult. Something like this.

Code: Select all

item(FEAT_INDUSTRIES, jap_district_1) {
	property {
		substitute: INDUSTRYTYPE_TEMPERATE_BANK;
		layouts: [
				tilelayout_jap_district_1,
				tilelayout_jap_district_2,
			];
		life_type:  IND_LIFE_TYPE_BLACK_HOLE;
		prod_cargo_types:   [PASS, MAIL];
		accept_cargo_types: [PASS, MAIL, GOOD];
		spec_flags: bitmask(IND_FLAG_DO_NOT_FORCE_INSTANCE_AT_MAP_GENERATION, IND_FLAG_NO_PRODUCTION_INCREASE);
		name: string(STR_JAP_DISTRICT_1);
		prod_multiplier: [40, 8];
		prob_map_gen: 0;
		prob_in_game: 0;
		fund_cost_multiplier: 200;
		map_colour: 143;
	}
}
Prop_map_gen and prob_in_game are probabilities of generating the industry during game creation and during funding new industries, so setting it to 0 makes them player-only. And the flags are probably self explanatory. ;)

User avatar
Leanden
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2620
Joined: 19 Mar 2009 19:25
Location: Kent

Re: Silverx50's sets

Post by Leanden » 21 May 2016 13:51

Id be happy to code something like this, im still learning but all these different aspects will help me fully grasp nml
Image

User avatar
Quast65
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1661
Joined: 09 Oct 2011 13:51
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Silverx50's sets

Post by Quast65 » 21 May 2016 14:44

tried 2x1 but it became to cramped and the roof just won't look right at that size so went for a 2x2 tile size and I think it works pretty well.
Yes it does indeed!! :bow:

And good to see some coders offering help!
Projects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.

Silverx50
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 425
Joined: 13 Apr 2007 19:52
Location: Den Haag, The Netherlands

Re: Silverx50's sets

Post by Silverx50 » 21 May 2016 19:18

Leanden wrote:Id be happy to code something like this, im still learning but all these different aspects will help me fully grasp nml
thanks for the offer. let me know when your ready then I can supply you with the images.
All my projects are GPLv2 License.

Dutch landmark Object Set Workshop viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75071
My stations workshop viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74749

User avatar
Leanden
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2620
Joined: 19 Mar 2009 19:25
Location: Kent

Re: Silverx50's sets

Post by Leanden » 21 May 2016 19:39

Oh im ready now but start me with something easy like platforms :P
Image

Silverx50
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 425
Joined: 13 Apr 2007 19:52
Location: Den Haag, The Netherlands

Re: Silverx50's sets

Post by Silverx50 » 21 May 2016 20:42

Leanden wrote:Oh im ready now but start me with something easy like platforms
I don't have anything simple at the moment... :(
All my projects are GPLv2 License.

Dutch landmark Object Set Workshop viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75071
My stations workshop viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74749

User avatar
Leanden
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2620
Joined: 19 Mar 2009 19:25
Location: Kent

Re: Silverx50's sets

Post by Leanden » 21 May 2016 22:15

Or a fixed size building would work too ;)
Image

Silverx50
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 425
Joined: 13 Apr 2007 19:52
Location: Den Haag, The Netherlands

Re: Silverx50's sets

Post by Silverx50 » 21 May 2016 22:59

Had been working on Hof toren these last few weeks got stuck but got it going this afternoon.
hoftoren.png
hoftoren.png (8.38 KiB) Viewed 1385 times
Leanden wrote: Or a fixed size building would work too
De Kroon2.png
De Kroon2.png (10.05 KiB) Viewed 1385 times
de drie torens.png
de drie torens.png (9.94 KiB) Viewed 1385 times
Will these work or to big?
All my projects are GPLv2 License.

Dutch landmark Object Set Workshop viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75071
My stations workshop viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74749

User avatar
Leanden
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2620
Joined: 19 Mar 2009 19:25
Location: Kent

Re: Silverx50's sets

Post by Leanden » 21 May 2016 23:12

What size are those intended for?
Image

Silverx50
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 425
Joined: 13 Apr 2007 19:52
Location: Den Haag, The Netherlands

Re: Silverx50's sets

Post by Silverx50 » 21 May 2016 23:19

the first two are 3x3 and the biggest one is 3x5

this castilia is a 2x2
Attachments
new castalia.png
new castalia.png (8.87 KiB) Viewed 1375 times
All my projects are GPLv2 License.

Dutch landmark Object Set Workshop viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75071
My stations workshop viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74749

User avatar
Leanden
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2620
Joined: 19 Mar 2009 19:25
Location: Kent

Re: Silverx50's sets

Post by Leanden » 21 May 2016 23:54

Objects or Station Tiles? (I dont know if ive ever seen multi-tile objects tbh)
Image

User avatar
wallyweb
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5568
Joined: 27 Nov 2004 15:05
Location: Canada

Re: Silverx50's sets

Post by wallyweb » 22 May 2016 03:11

Leanden wrote:(I dont know if ive ever seen multi-tile objects tbh)
Objects can range anywere from 1x1 to 15x15 tiles.

User avatar
Leanden
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 2620
Joined: 19 Mar 2009 19:25
Location: Kent

Re: Silverx50's sets

Post by Leanden » 22 May 2016 08:54

wallyweb wrote:
Leanden wrote:(I dont know if ive ever seen multi-tile objects tbh)
Objects can range anywere from 1x1 to 15x15 tiles.

Can you give me an example of a newgrf with a multitile object?
Image

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google Adsense [Bot] and 12 guests