Auz Lineside and Roadside Objects

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3236
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Auz Lineside and Roadside Objects

Post by GarryG »

Changes to Power Poles.

Before to go up a slope with the Power Poles with 3 wires .. you needed 4 different poles with wires at different angels.

Will soon be able to do it with just 2 as per this image.
alterationstopowerpoles.png
alterationstopowerpoles.png (573.49 KiB) Viewed 900 times
This image is for the NE (North-East) Slope. Pole 1 is level terrain and pole 2 used to go up 1 slope at a time. Poles need to go on level terrain and have 2 spaces between them.

This has freed up poles 3 and 4 which I hope I can alter to go up other types of slopes.

Just goes to show .. many months ago my knowledge of making object images wasn't real good but I got by. But with practice and much help from other members on this forum I've been able to make improvements to what I've done.

Cheers
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3236
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Auz Lineside and Roadside Objects

Post by GarryG »

The Hills Are Alive with the Sound of Electricity.

Changing the 3 Wire Poles so will go up and over almost all types of slopes and terrain.

The few that it no align properly .. if your game doing well should have plenty of money to hire a bulldozer to alter the slope a bit.

There will be at least 8 tiles in total for each direction. I have numbered them in the Labels 1 to 8 so hope it makes easier to use.

To do slopes where they step up a as this image shows .. Tiles 1 to 3 will get you to the top except for one place .. as you can see where I bulldozed the area so easier to see.
Wires on slopes.png
Wires on slopes.png (502.77 KiB) Viewed 860 times
When you do the continuous slopes there are 2 areas that wires no align properly.
Wires on the high slopes.png
Wires on the high slopes.png (580.86 KiB) Viewed 860 times
Be easier for you to bulldoze the hills to align those few places then for me to make 3 or 4 more Poles.

Still need to do other 3 directions. With luck might have them done Thursday night Australian EST.

Cheers
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

Silverx50
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 427
Joined: 13 Apr 2007 19:52
Location: Den Haag, The Netherlands

Re: Auz Lineside and Roadside Objects

Post by Silverx50 »

very impressive :bow:
All my projects are GPLv2 License.

Dutch landmark Object Set Workshop viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75071
My stations workshop viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74749

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3236
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Auz Lineside and Roadside Objects

Post by GarryG »

Thanks pal,

Going to be interesting when I try doing the High Towers .. hope ones I doing now will give me the templates I need.

Cheers
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
wallyweb
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5632
Joined: 27 Nov 2004 15:05
Location: Canada

Re: Auz Lineside and Roadside Objects

Post by wallyweb »

A suggestion:
Put your poles at the top edge of a slope tile. Then offer four flat tiles, each with the poles along a different edge. This will solve the problem of wires magically changing slope in mid-air.

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3236
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Auz Lineside and Roadside Objects

Post by GarryG »

wallyweb wrote:A suggestion:
Put your poles at the top edge of a slope tile. Then offer four flat tiles, each with the poles along a different edge. This will solve the problem of wires magically changing slope in mid-air.
Thanks Wallyweb, will give that a try.
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3236
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Auz Lineside and Roadside Objects

Post by GarryG »

wallyweb wrote:A suggestion:
Put your poles at the top edge of a slope tile. Then offer four flat tiles, each with the poles along a different edge. This will solve the problem of wires magically changing slope in mid-air.
Taken your advice wallyweb. Haven't started on the slopes yet, but your idea makes a big improvement on the level terrain. Allows a better variety of placing the poles as can be 2, 3 or 4 spaces apart as in the image.
OnTheEdge.png
OnTheEdge.png (558.91 KiB) Viewed 760 times
Thanks pal for the help
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

TTDFanDNUA
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 44
Joined: 27 Jul 2012 20:08
Location: Haarlem, the Netherlands

Re: Auz Lineside and Roadside Objects

Post by TTDFanDNUA »

Hi Garry,

Will it be possible to increase distance between two towers to 5 or even 6 cells by using some extended wire? I am asking because if it possible it will allow power line to cross highways and wide rivers/lakes. Please find below an example of highway, which needs 5 cells
Attachments
Photo.PNG
Photo.PNG (154.39 KiB) Viewed 752 times

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3236
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Auz Lineside and Roadside Objects

Post by GarryG »

TTDFanDNUA wrote:Hi Garry,

Will it be possible to increase distance between two towers to 5 or even 6 cells by using some extended wire? I am asking because if it possible it will allow power line to cross highways and wide rivers/lakes. Please find below an example of highway, which needs 5 cells
Good question .. if they done it for those roads then I guess its possible. Juts a matter of making the correct sprites I presume.

Let me finish what I doing for now and I see what I can do. Be nice to be able to do that as I like some places to cross for railway lines.

Cheers pal

Edit:

I think I know what they done with the roads above .. The centre sections are fake roads .. the beam looks like it unsupported in centre but had guess technically a invisible support in the middle.

I'll still give it a try ..
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3236
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Auz Lineside and Roadside Objects

Post by GarryG »

Hi all,

Still working on the power poles .. found out that the power poles with the 3 wires and 2 posts are called 'H-Frame Power Poles .. so I'll call them that from now on.

Having problems doing the slopes at moment .. maybe be cause I been at it too long last few days .. so time for a break and try again in a day or 2.

Tell me do the wires sag much on slopes in real? Wonder if they no sage much I make these wires straighter and hope make it easier to do.

Also thinking the wires on slopes might be easier if poles and wires are separate. Put a pole at bottom of first slope and place every 3 spaces going up the hills and then put in the wire.

On flat terrain could leave with both poles and wires so quicker to build.

Anyway I off to dream world .. Cheers
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3236
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Auz Lineside and Roadside Objects

Post by GarryG »

I should have been in dream world now but curiosity got the better of me. Wanted to see if can make longer overlaps for the Electricity Wires and possible other things.

Yes it can be done. I over lapped 3 tiles from each direction.
Longer Overlaps.png
Longer Overlaps.png (457.75 KiB) Viewed 683 times
However there will be glitchers.
The wires disappear in different places when scrolling in the area. Zoom in and out .. move backwards and forwards all causes the glitch. Some times can see all the wires and as can see by the image wires not showing above one of the trains. If a person does make these long overlaps .. you will have to put up with these problems.

Now I going to go dream world.

Cheers
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3236
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Auz Lineside and Roadside Objects

Post by GarryG »

Not sure if any other programmers will use or need to code any of their items that need to over lap more then 1 tile, but if you like to try .. here the one I did last night to overlap 3 tiles.

Many of you have helped me in the past to try and code and make things .. so a small way I might be able to return some of that kindness.
template_4squares.PNG
template_4squares.PNG (4.89 KiB) Viewed 642 times
The Yellow square is where the main object goes .. the green and blue are overlaps.

Code: Select all

template template_4squares(x,y,filename) {
    [x+18, y+8, 162, 156, -32, -125, filename]
    [x+194, y+8, 162, 156, -128, -77, filename]
    [x+370, y+8, 162, 156, -32, -77, filename]
    [x+546, y+8, 162, 156, -128, -125, filename]
	
}
I not sure if anyone will use the wires to overlap a large distance, but I will put them in.
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3236
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Auz Lineside and Roadside Objects

Post by GarryG »

Hi all,

This is latest results to get the H-Frame Power Poles to go up and down slopes. Can go up and down maximum of 3 continues slopes.
UpdatetoH-FramePowerPoles.png
UpdatetoH-FramePowerPoles.png (335.89 KiB) Viewed 626 times
Changing the poles to wallywebs idea gives extra variety on level terrain as poles when crossing roads and rails can be 2, 3 or 4 spaces apart.

But I still haven't mastered the wires properly on the slopes.

TTDFanDNUA idea about seeing if can expand up to 5 to 6 cells .. I've had a go at this and in next issue (be later today), there are 2 lots. Between the 2 of them can cross 4, 5 or 6 tiles that you might have rails, roads, etc on. But remember they do have the glitch so if you use just have to suffer with this problem. Never know might eventually in the future figure a way to fix.

I know some of you like the Towers to go on slopes .. so do I .. but first see if every one is happy with how I did these H-Frames first.

Will be release test version of the Auz_Lineside_Objects I hope within the next few hours.
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3236
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Auz Lineside and Roadside Objects

Post by GarryG »

I decided to put the next version of Auz_Lineside_Objects for players to test for me over the weekend as is.

It has the alterations to H-Frames plus where can crossover items up to 6 tiles.

There is also a set of H-Frames with No wires. I left them in as I have other plans for them.
Auz_Lineside_Objects.grf
(2.66 MiB) Downloaded 24 times
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

TTDFanDNUA
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 44
Joined: 27 Jul 2012 20:08
Location: Haarlem, the Netherlands

Re: Auz Lineside and Roadside Objects

Post by TTDFanDNUA »

Thank you very much Garry for the implementation this request in the newest version!

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3236
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Auz Lineside and Roadside Objects

Post by GarryG »

TTDFanDNUA wrote:Thank you very much Garry for the implementation this request in the newest version!
Hope you have downloaded the version I have above and give it a test .. let me know if you think it worth putting up with the glitches.

Cheers
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3236
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Auz Lineside and Roadside Objects

Post by GarryG »

I started doing slopes for the high towers. It a bit slower to do then the H-Frame Power Poles.
High Towers on Slopes.png
High Towers on Slopes.png (29.38 KiB) Viewed 560 times
Alignment just a pixel or 2 out where the slope wires re-join the wires for the tower at the top of slopes.
When get that bit working good will look at others.

Good night
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

TTDFanDNUA
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 44
Joined: 27 Jul 2012 20:08
Location: Haarlem, the Netherlands

Re: Auz Lineside and Roadside Objects

Post by TTDFanDNUA »

GarryG wrote:
TTDFanDNUA wrote:Thank you very much Garry for the implementation this request in the newest version!
Hope you have downloaded the version I have above and give it a test .. let me know if you think it worth putting up with the glitches.

Cheers
Yeah, I've downloaded it and despite a glitch I like this! Thanks a lot!

Are you going to add the same for another tower in the future?
Attachments
Example2.PNG
(211.38 KiB) Not downloaded yet

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3236
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Auz Lineside and Roadside Objects

Post by GarryG »

TTDFanDNUA wrote:
Yeah, I've downloaded it and despite a glitch I like this! Thanks a lot! Are you going to add the same for another tower in the future?[/quote]

I hope to be able to do the others too eventually.

Glad you like what I done.

Cheers
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

User avatar
GarryG
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3236
Joined: 14 Feb 2015 00:44
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: Auz Lineside and Roadside Objects

Post by GarryG »

Have you got some great games going with the H-Frame Power Poles yet? Well be prepared to change it all. Thanks to Wallyweb he given me some ideas on how to make it even better.

I've managed to make the H-Frame power poles slope aware.
HFramesSlopeAware.png
HFramesSlopeAware.png (485.16 KiB) Viewed 446 times
Can place them anywhere you like.
The tiles and wires are separate pieces. The poles have wires attached to the left and these can be placed anywhere .. then select the wires to fill in the gaps.

Only done this direction at moment and as can be seen there a few wires a few pixels out of alignment.

When I get the alignment right will work on other direction.

Its a slow process so not sure when I have this finished.
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
AuzSubwayStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=85335

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests