Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Sun Aug 19, 2018 4:24 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 1094 posts ]  Go to page Previous 151 52 53 54 55 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Dec 16, 2016 3:28 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2008 10:26 pm
Posts: 3822
Skype: neko-master
Location: Oshawa, Ontario, CANADA
I think the only way to make something look like solid rock rather then a pile of rocks and boulders would maybe try to get some layering going like how some rock faces are, you can see layers of rock and deposits from other time.

_________________
Image Proud Canadian Image
Nekomasters Projects! (Downloads available on BaNaNaS!) \(>^w^<)/
# NARS ADD-ON SET 2CC | 2cc Rapid Transit For Me! (2ccRTFM) | 2cc Wagons In NML (2ccWIN)
# NML Category System (Organize your GRFS!) <- TT-Forums Exclusive Download!


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Dec 16, 2016 5:48 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 2433
Location: Newcastle, Australia
NekoMaster wrote:
I think the only way to make something look like solid rock rather then a pile of rocks and boulders would maybe try to get some layering going like how some rock faces are, you can see layers of rock and deposits from other time.


That what I did for the Canyon Walls .. used rock layers .. There's a road between Warwick and Toowoomba on Queensland Australia .. there is a road leading of that road heading easterly through the mountains towards Ipswich. I have some photos I took of some rock cuttings years ago. I've shrunk them down and hoping I can get something from these. I have a few other photos somewhere along that same road, just need to find them. Also have some photos of railway cuttings along the railway line between Warwick and Cherry Gully which I might get something from as well.


Attachments:
rockface.png
rockface.png [ 27.36 KiB | Viewed 1631 times ]
rockface2.png
rockface2.png [ 30.31 KiB | Viewed 1631 times ]

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Dec 16, 2016 10:35 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 3:05 pm
Posts: 5293
Location: Canada
GarryG wrote:
I kinda like the canyon wall type slopes better then the rocky ones .. like to try make some solid rock walls/cliffs instead of rocky .. tried a few times but at moment just looks like a grey tile nothing to really show that it suppose to be solid rock.
Just recolour the red to gray. For the transitions, use the half tiles with the flat parts being grass.

_________________
wallyweb on tt-forums: Screenshots - Projects - Releases
wallyweb on Simuscape: Projects - Releases
Other Stuff: TTDPatch 2.6 "Nightly" download - cirdan's OpenTTD branch (New Map Features)
Screenshot Of The Month Contest Winner: August 2015 - Tied May 2016 - January 2018


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Dec 16, 2016 12:53 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2011 1:51 pm
Posts: 1588
Location: The Netherlands
Quote:
Strange part is I tested your beach sands and some other slope objects from other peoples sets and they was ok not had that problem.

I have just checked it with my beachtiles and those 3 pixels do also appear at the end of my tiles:
Attachment:
Example217.png
Example217.png [ 48.29 KiB | Viewed 1586 times ]

But not at the link-ups between my tiles.... However there is a big difference between your slope-aware tiles and mine (and so probably also with the others you tested it with that dont have problems), my tiles have a boundingbox!
Attachment:
Example218.png
Example218.png [ 49.29 KiB | Viewed 1586 times ]

So, adding boundingboxes to your objects will probably fix the problem. However I havent coded automatic slope-aware objects in NML yet, so I cant really help with that, but I suppose it wouldnt be too difficult and some more experienced NML-coder can help.

Quote:
some of those slope tiles I will go back and just extend the slope over those 3 tiles.

I would not do that!! Stick to your correct templates!! You will only enlarge the issue with the 3 wrong pixels by using a wrong template, as others may use your work to make new GRFs and thus continue to add those incorrect pixels.
Do the following, report the issue with the pixels to devs of Base-OGFX (the thread is here: https://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=38122 ), so that they can fix the obvious bug in their graphics and/or add boundingboxes to your GRF.

_________________
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Dec 16, 2016 1:16 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 3:05 pm
Posts: 5293
Location: Canada
Quast65 wrote:
my tiles have a boundingbox!
The NewGRF Specs define the objects Action2 Sprite Layout as
Code:
<Sprite-number> * <Length> 0F <set-id> 00 <groundsprite> <buildingsprite> <xoffset> <yoffset> <xextent> <yextent> <zextent>

The three values that control the bounding box are <xextent> <yextent> <zextent>.
I'm not familiar with NML but I would be very surprised if it did not have a way to set these values.

_________________
wallyweb on tt-forums: Screenshots - Projects - Releases
wallyweb on Simuscape: Projects - Releases
Other Stuff: TTDPatch 2.6 "Nightly" download - cirdan's OpenTTD branch (New Map Features)
Screenshot Of The Month Contest Winner: August 2015 - Tied May 2016 - January 2018


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2016 6:11 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 2433
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Haven't done any more to the creeks as been playing around with Canyon Walls. Took me a while to have them line up properly on different slopes but think got it ok now.

This result to date.
Attachment:
canyonwalls3.png
canyonwalls3.png [ 192.48 KiB | Viewed 1492 times ]

Not sure when be available for you to try as want to make some grey rocks similar to these.

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2016 4:56 pm 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor

Joined: Fri Apr 13, 2007 7:52 pm
Posts: 421
Location: Den Haag, The Netherlands
that looks mighty impressive Garry! :bow:

_________________
All my projects are GPLv2 License.

Dutch landmark Object Set Workshop viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75071
My stations workshop viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74749


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2016 5:38 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2016 8:01 pm
Posts: 27
Hello Garry! What do you think of making objects like piers with auz whater objects?


Attachments:
File comment: L.A. Píer
download.jpg
download.jpg [ 10.72 KiB | Viewed 1446 times ]

_________________
:]
Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Dec 19, 2016 9:30 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 2433
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Silverx50 wrote:
that looks mighty impressive Garry!


Thanks pal for compliment. Just a few minor touch up to do then do a grey set and hope be ready. Then hope to get the creeks finished.

joaozinhoplbr wrote:
Hello Garry! What do you think of making objects like piers with auz whater objects?


That not a bad idea .. will look into it when get chance .. busy with a few other projects at moment.

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 20, 2016 7:27 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 8:56 pm
Posts: 3321
Location: Estonia
GarryG wrote:
Haven't done any more to the creeks as been playing around with Canyon Walls. Took me a while to have them line up properly on different slopes but think got it ok now.

This result to date.
canyonwalls3.png
Not sure when be available for you to try as want to make some grey rocks similar to these.

Well done. Reminds me planet Mars :)

_________________
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2012 July, winner!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2013 May, winner tie with Purno!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2014 February, winner!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2014 June, winner tie with alluke!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2014 April, winner!

My screen shot thread ---> Have a look


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Dec 22, 2016 6:23 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 2433
Location: Newcastle, Australia
This is the 4th time I tried to add the Auz_Landscape_Objects and Auz_Water_Objects files and each of the previous times the forum has closed and the last time ask me to log in again.

See what happens this time.

Changes a few things .. all lakes, rivers and creeks moved from Auz_Water_Objects to Auz_Landscape_Objects.

You will find the Canyon Walls I been working on .. There is 3 lots ,, the slopes same on all, just the flat tile different on each. Not sure what flat tiles to use. Intend to keep 2 and change the other one to grey rocks later.

Finished all the flowing creeks and rivers .. now flow 4 different directions. Sorry rapids not been done yet. Hope to do these after Christmas.

Anyway if like to test and see what you think here Verion 10 of the 2 files.
Attachment:
Auz_Landscape_Objects.grf [3.22 MiB]
Downloaded 27 times

Attachment:
Auz_Water_Objects.grf [1.08 MiB]
Downloaded 34 times


See if I can do some work to the AuzFakeRailwayLines for a while as want to finish the locomotive depot and add some other buildings. Not sure if I will add the overhead wires .. get the other ideas finished first and see if any room left for them.
Hope to add this turntable.
Attachment:
75ftTurntable[1].png
75ftTurntable[1].png [ 5.7 KiB | Viewed 1325 times ]

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Dec 23, 2016 4:24 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 2433
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Do you like making Scenarios and making them to scale?

I do .. so to help me I made up some Survey Markers to help map the distance between towns and Industries and also to map out where like railways and roads to go.
Attachment:
SurveyMarkers.png
SurveyMarkers.png [ 6.67 KiB | Viewed 1279 times ]


There are 2 coloured pegs .. white and a orange .. the idea of this if you want to mark maybe every kilometre or Mile so you not lose count where your up to especially over long distances.

The orange pegs will also help players who survey through the snow.

In game play it cost 30 to lay on flat cleared tiles and get refund of 24 when you bulldoze it or lay railway lines over the top. On slopes cost will more.

Anyway if like to try here the file as I added it to AuzFakeRailwayLines_Add-ons.
Attachment:
File comment: Version 6
AuzFakeRailwayLines_Add-ons.rar [40.71 KiB]
Downloaded 27 times

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Dec 23, 2016 1:19 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 2:53 pm
Posts: 1641
Location: Russia, Samara
Use in game Auz objects (1912 year) - Farms. Train set - xUSSR Railway set.
Three examples:
Attachment:
Bloggs & Co., 5-е ноя 1912 г..png [1.84 MiB]
Not downloaded yet

Attachment:
Bloggs & Co., 5-е ноя 1912 г.#1.png [1.95 MiB]
Not downloaded yet

Attachment:
Bloggs & Co., 5-е ноя 1912 г.#2.png [1.67 MiB]
Not downloaded yet

_________________
[OpenTTD] STD screenshots
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
[OpenTTD] STD saved games - My finished scenarios and saves from the game
My Youtube channel - OpenTTD | Wiki xUSSR set (RU) | Wiki xUSSR set (EN) | Download the latest version of the xUSSR set
TT Screenshot of the Month - the page editor | Screenshot Of The Month Contest Winner: August 2017


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Dec 24, 2016 12:39 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 2433
Location: Newcastle, Australia
STD wrote:
Use in game Auz objects (1912 year) - Farms. Train set - xUSSR Railway set.Three examples:


Thanks STD for sharing your screen shots and how using some of my objects .. much appreciated :D .

Everyone has there own way of using NewGRF add-on in games and by seeing the screen shots how they being used, helps the coders on ideas and improvements.

Many of the objects I did I only knew how to do 1 tile objects at the time .. doing objects using more then 1 tile I knew very little about so stayed away from that.

Some of the objects I did on single tiles was meant to be joined in game if players wished to make them larger looking.

Two of these was the Shearing Shed and the Milking Shed.
Attachment:
ShearingShedandMilksheds1.png
ShearingShedandMilksheds1.png [ 15.69 KiB | Viewed 1213 times ]

The pic shows how I intended them to be used and seen in several screen shots from different players they used different :) .

The Shearing Shed can go side by side .. the building with the big Doors side and front sheep go in there .. and the other building with the 4 small doors are where the sheep come out when they been sheared. There are heaps of different fences I did to put the sheep in or can have empty pens.

The Milking Shed was planned that the small building goes on the side of larger building. This is where milk is stored after cows have been milked. Many many years ago the milk was placed in milk cans, but these days there is a big storage tank in that building.

Making this pic to show every one make me realise I forgot to add pens with dairy cows in them waiting to be milked and out the back should be more cows that have been milked.

Now I know more about using 2 or more tiles to place buildings on I intend to re-do some object sets. By doing this it will allow me to add some different objects and help stop the errors I had before with "undefined string" problems.

So in the 2017 hope to start re-doing some objects sets and making room for new types.

Like to take this opportunity to wish every one who visit these forums a
Merry Christmas and New Year.

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Dec 25, 2016 11:41 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 2433
Location: Newcastle, Australia
I started to build my scenario last few days and discovered some of the Fake Railway Lines from are a few pixels out and not lining up properly. The tracks that are from North-West to South East are the main ones .. how I missed them before I got no idea.

This morning I found out why .. I measured my sprites wrong which means I going to need to do all those fake railway lines again. Guess this will take me the rest of the year to do if not longer.

Cheers

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2016 12:05 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2008 10:26 pm
Posts: 3822
Skype: neko-master
Location: Oshawa, Ontario, CANADA
Garry, I know you already have a bunch of work to deal with and what not, but I have another idea for some shore line/river bank tiles, and they probably don't have to be slope aware.

Ever seen stuff like this?

Image

Image

Image

Basically its a bunch of loose rock contained in a wire mesh cage and I believe it's to control erosion and hold back loose dirt near shear banks and dirt cliffs around rivers and shorelines. Its quiet common in my city around many creeks and rivers.

I was thinking that the ground and foundation texture would look like that, though there may have to be diagonal sprites for diagonal slopes so that you dont get a zig-zag effect.

I tried my best to give an idea how it might look for the diagonals which will have to probably be separate form the normal tiles.\

(See attached picture made in Paint.net)


Attachments:
rock_wall_thingy.png [370.67 KiB]
Not downloaded yet

_________________
Image Proud Canadian Image
Nekomasters Projects! (Downloads available on BaNaNaS!) \(>^w^<)/
# NARS ADD-ON SET 2CC | 2cc Rapid Transit For Me! (2ccRTFM) | 2cc Wagons In NML (2ccWIN)
# NML Category System (Organize your GRFS!) <- TT-Forums Exclusive Download!
Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2016 12:26 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Nov 27, 2004 3:05 pm
Posts: 5293
Location: Canada
NekoMaster wrote:
Ever seen stuff like this?
They're called gabions. You can see them in game in one of my screenshot contest entries where I built them under a bridge to get a causeway effect.

Image

_________________
wallyweb on tt-forums: Screenshots - Projects - Releases
wallyweb on Simuscape: Projects - Releases
Other Stuff: TTDPatch 2.6 "Nightly" download - cirdan's OpenTTD branch (New Map Features)
Screenshot Of The Month Contest Winner: August 2015 - Tied May 2016 - January 2018


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2016 12:32 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 2433
Location: Newcastle, Australia
NekoMaster wrote:
Garry, I know you already have a bunch of work to deal with and what not, but I have another idea for some shore line/river bank tiles, and they probably don't have to be slope aware.


That idea could be worth looking at when get chance.

Using OpenGFX+Landscape and change in Set parameters the type of foundation can get a similar effect. I've set the Type of Foundation to Mossy gray stone.
Attachment:
Rockfoundationsonwater1.png
Rockfoundationsonwater1.png [ 16.18 KiB | Viewed 1099 times ]


I done some grey rocks for canyon walls .. this the result so far compared with the red canyon walls.
Attachment:
redandgreyrocks1.png
redandgreyrocks1.png [ 36.19 KiB | Viewed 1099 times ]

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Dec 27, 2016 1:55 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 2:53 pm
Posts: 1641
Location: Russia, Samara
Excellent work, GarryG. I really like it :D .

_________________
[OpenTTD] STD screenshots
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
[OpenTTD] STD saved games - My finished scenarios and saves from the game
My Youtube channel - OpenTTD | Wiki xUSSR set (RU) | Wiki xUSSR set (EN) | Download the latest version of the xUSSR set
TT Screenshot of the Month - the page editor | Screenshot Of The Month Contest Winner: August 2017


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Dec 28, 2016 10:38 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 2433
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Seen pics of canyon walls and cliffs showing the rock layers on a angle so had a go at doing some myself.

This the result to date.
Attachment:
redandgreyrocks2.png
redandgreyrocks2.png [ 29.8 KiB | Viewed 982 times ]


I some experimenting to do Canyon Walls to remove the blotches. Once I get these Canyon Walls finished will start working on some transition rocks.

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License.
AuzTrains & NSWTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
AuzInd (Industry Set): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 1094 posts ]  Go to page Previous 151 52 53 54 55 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.