Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Sat Feb 23, 2019 6:00 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 711 posts ]  Go to page Previous 132 33 34 35 36 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Feb 07, 2019 12:21 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 2857
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Added another Industry called Grain Temporary Storage.
Attachment:
Grain Temporary Storage1.png
Grain Temporary Storage1.png [ 19.23 KiB | Viewed 1557 times ]

The blue is tarpaulins they place on the ground to put the grain on and cover the grain with the traps.

These storage can hold around 50,000 tonnes of grain.

I also made some object ones 3x1 tile size as well as some with trucks on them.
Attachment:
Grain Temporary Storage2.png
Grain Temporary Storage2.png [ 48.58 KiB | Viewed 1557 times ]

still got some work to do to these so not be available for you to try just yet.

One idea I have is instead of farms producing Cereal Crops and Grain Crops .. they all produce Grain. This can represent all grains such as Maize (Corn), Wheat, Oats, Barley and others.

You take the grain to the Grain Silos, Grain Bulk storage or the Grain Temporary Storage. These places produce the individual types of grain to be taken to other Industries where required.

They can also produce Grain Seed to be taken back to the farms to grow more crops.

More to come later.

Cheer

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2019 7:20 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 2857
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Made 2 more Industries .. both Commercial Businesses.

This one accepts Furniture, Textiles and Flour and produces Marine Supplies and Farm Supplies. Main idea of those cargoes for now that they are all new cargo types.
Attachment:
Commercial_1.png
Commercial_1.png [ 22.81 KiB | Viewed 1500 times ]

This one when I am able to code the Industries to accept more then 3 cargoes and produce more then 2, it will replace many of the shop Industries.
Attachment:
Commercial_2.png
Commercial_2.png [ 25.4 KiB | Viewed 1500 times ]

They both build close to towns.

With the introduction of the Grain Temporary storage, I added SEED to the Cargoes.

All Farms that was producing Cereal Crops or Grain Crops now produce GRAIN and Accept Plant Seeds (so they can grow more crops).

Take the Grain to Grain Silos, Grain Bulk Storage sheds, or Grain Temporary Storage.

Can obtain the Plant seeds from those 3 places or from the Bulk Grain Terminal (Used to be Bulk Terminal A).

The Grain Silos produce Seed and Corn (Maize), the Grain Bulk Storage produces Cereal and seed, and the Grain Temporary Storage produces Wheat and Seed.

The Bulk Grain Terminal (Used to be Bulk Terminal A) accepts Cereal, Corn (Maize) and Wheat and produces Plant Seed and Grain.

I don't plan to do any more coding this weekend .. I think some play time is in order.

If you like to play as well, here is auzInd9 with those new Industries and changes to cargoes.

EDIT:

New version of AuzInd9 to one I put here just a short time ago .. I just forgot to change some of the messages to the Grain silos and some other Industries


Attachments:
AuzInd9Feb8.rar [1.76 MiB]
Downloaded 16 times

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2019 6:09 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2018 8:31 am
Posts: 49
Wool storage sheds - On one side is an overlap of about 2 squares, seemingly empty, but it can not be built


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Feb 08, 2019 9:52 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 2857
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Argus wrote:
Wool storage sheds - On one side is an overlap of about 2 squares, seemingly empty, but it can not be built


Thanks for the report .. shall have a look at that later today.

I played around with it last night for a while seeing what can be improved.

I plan to play around with it all weekend and see what could be added and what could be removed.

I think I could remove the Fast Food as seemed funny it producing so much food. It was producing 70 tons. Can you imagine all those hamburgers. :D .

Cheers

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Feb 09, 2019 9:10 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Tue Oct 16, 2018 8:31 am
Posts: 49
What about a normal restaurant instead?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Feb 09, 2019 9:37 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 2857
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Argus wrote:
What about a normal restaurant instead?


Maybe if I put some shops next to it and make it a 4x2 size tile might look better producing food.

Seems funny taking a train load of food away from a Restaurant or a Fast Food.

I been running the game last night and today .. I played the game for 20 years last night and just 1 Industry closed and many industries were constructed during that time.

Today let the game run for a lot longer and didn't notice any close.

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Feb 09, 2019 10:01 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jan 14, 2010 11:45 pm
Posts: 307
Wouldn't restaurants and fast food places be food sinks, not food producers? You'd
only deliver ingredients to them - the food leaves inside the customers, one customer at a
time. And given that the cargo volumes are so high, you would probably have a wholesaler,
market or maybe a caterers as the delivery target, rather than individual restaurants.

For example, almost all cheap Chinese takeaway food in the UK is produced in one or a couple of
factories. That's why so many Chineses have the same menus. In OTTD terms, we'd deliver
food to the factory, which would be a food sink, and its vehicles would deliver to the
individual restaurants. That final delivery stage is out of scope for OTTD, I'd have thought.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Feb 09, 2019 10:21 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 2857
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Simons Mith wrote:
Wouldn't restaurants and fast food places be food sinks, not food producers?


Yep that what I thinking too.

The Restaurant or Fast Food on its own I think it waste of resources. Silly that it produces FOOD and silly if it accepts lots of stuff and not produce anything as well.

So making the Restaurant or Fast Food with several other shops like I did with the Commercial Industries is the go.

The Restaurant or Fast Food could accept food ingredients but don't produce anything. The joining shops can produce the cargoes.

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Feb 09, 2019 12:24 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 2857
Location: Newcastle, Australia
I fixed the Woolshed problem .. I just can't count the number of squares. I coded for a 6x6 tile set instead of a 6x4. :roll:

Also changed some graphic settings to some farms. I separated them a bit so not so cluttered and also look a bit better if on any slopes.

Hope tomorrow or when get chance I will re-do the Fast Food and add a building next to it. The Fast Food can still accept the ingredients and the other building can produce things. Any suggestions what type of building it could be and what it could produce?

Any how .. my bedtime .. cheers all

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2019 2:21 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 2857
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Looks like no my errors found.

I've uncluttered the farms so the buildings are spread out a bit over a 5x5 area.
(Dairy Farm on Left and agriculture on right)
Attachment:
Farms.png
Farms.png [ 32.9 KiB | Viewed 1129 times ]


I now wonder what other Industries I could split in half so a road or rail spur line could go down the middle.

Here the update to AuzInd9.

It has the problem with WoolShed fixed and the changed position of buildings in the farms. The Fast Foods still there for now.

I intend to test these for a while with the OpenTTD 1.9.0 Beta 1 and Beta 2 that has been released and if no problems found see what else I can do with them.


Attachments:
AuzInd9Feb10.rar [1.76 MiB]
Downloaded 13 times

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2019 10:07 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 2:53 pm
Posts: 1741
Location: Russia, Samara
I have this set still not try to use in the game. First you need to understand the production chains. Quite a lot of different structures compared to the same FIRS. But it certainly adds a huge plus to this set. I've only checked it in the scenario editor so far. But in any case, thank you very much for the work done :wink: . Everything looks very cool and beautiful :)) !

Regards, STD (Aleksey).

_________________
[OpenTTD] STD screenshots
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
[OpenTTD] STD saved games - My finished scenarios and saves from the game
My Youtube channel - OpenTTD | Wiki xUSSR set (RU) | Wiki xUSSR set (EN) | Download the latest version of the xUSSR set
TT Screenshot of the Month - the page editor | Screenshot Of The Month Contest Winner: August 2017


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Feb 10, 2019 10:52 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 2857
Location: Newcastle, Australia
STD wrote:
I have this set still not try to use in the game. First you need to understand the production chains. Quite a lot of different structures compared to the same FIRS. But it certainly adds a huge plus to this set. I've only checked it in the scenario editor so far. But in any case, thank you very much for the work done . Everything looks very cool and beautiful !


I would not worry too much about keeping this AuzInd9 as it just a test t see how it handles extra cargoes and to see if all the bugs are gone from the coding.

The cargo chain I did was only a rough one to get ideas on what a person could make.

Now comes the fun part .. to design it all properly. As mentioned before I like to make 3 sets that can be used together or individually something like the ECS Industry set.

It'll probably take me weeks or more to design it.

But at least AuzInd9 will be fun for those who like the extra cargoes and AuzInd10 for just 32 cargoes.

Cheers

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 5:15 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 2857
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Been experimenting to see if I can get RVs and trains to go inside a Industry to load and unload.

And been successful.

This is a 4x4 size Industry with a train passing through it. In side the Industry I placed a platform to get the train to stop there.
Attachment:
4x4Industry.png
4x4Industry.png [ 18.74 KiB | Viewed 892 times ]

And this a 6x6 Industry has trucks going in one door and out the other.
They can also drive through and out the back if like as well. Inside the road does a loop at far end and on one of the roads is a truck loading bay.
Attachment:
6x6 Industry.png
6x6 Industry.png [ 18.3 KiB | Viewed 892 times ]


The doors did glitch at first so I re-designed them so have bigger doors that don't look odd. So made some concertina doors where they slide back to the ends when open.

Also to stop glitching the sections where the RVs and trains enter has to be set back from the front of the Industry. If just 1 wide, needs to be set back 1 title and 2 wide (for 2 roads) need to be set back 2 tiles.

So you can try if like I and let me know if you like this idea.

I changed the graphics in AuzInd9 so that the Cold Storage is the 4x4 and Distribution Centre is the 6x6.

Cheers


Attachments:
AuzInd9Feb11.rar [1.78 MiB]
Downloaded 17 times

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 9:03 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sat Jun 18, 2016 7:05 pm
Posts: 78
Wow! :shock: This is amazing. I've seen this done with objects but not industries. great work! This opens up many more possibilities.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Feb 11, 2019 10:14 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 2857
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Diesel Power wrote:
Wow! :shock: This is amazing. I've seen this done with objects but not industries. great work! This opens up many more possibilities.


It is going to put thinking caps on to see what other Industries could have this idea included in the design.

Doing overlaps with Industries are technically not overlaps. It really is the building being made to look taller and every thing hides behind it.

In this image for instance. The building is the actual Industry.

The 2 yellow squares can be where you make the roof of the fake buildings but they are actually part of the main building.

The green lines up each side is the boundary how wide the fake sections can be and can be as tall as you like.
Attachment:
Industry Overlaps-1.png
Industry Overlaps-1.png [ 4.64 KiB | Viewed 650 times ]

Hope understand that.

Here the source if any one like to use it.

It has 4x4 and some 6x6 sprites and coding.


Attachments:
AuzIndTest.rar [3.05 MiB]
Downloaded 13 times

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691
Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Feb 12, 2019 10:39 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 2857
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Looks like I be experimenting a lot with the overlaps in Industries.

Had a go at doing some Coal Mines.

Loading Trucks: The Truck Loading bays are under those buildings.
Attachment:
Coal Mine.png
Coal Mine.png [ 43.6 KiB | Viewed 496 times ]

Loading Trains: I used the mining platforms from one of my station sets for the platforms. ISR/DWE also has some platforms that can be used.
Attachment:
Coal Mine2.png
Coal Mine2.png [ 75.23 KiB | Viewed 496 times ]

As you can see there are no buildings in front of where the RVs and Trains load.
Those were made from these sprites.
Attachment:
CoalMineSprite_1.png
CoalMineSprite_1.png [ 36.97 KiB | Viewed 496 times ]

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Feb 12, 2019 2:27 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 2:53 pm
Posts: 1741
Location: Russia, Samara
Great job! I really like what you're doing with Auztralian Industries. Looks very beautiful :bow: .

Regards, STD.

_________________
[OpenTTD] STD screenshots
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
[OpenTTD] STD saved games - My finished scenarios and saves from the game
My Youtube channel - OpenTTD | Wiki xUSSR set (RU) | Wiki xUSSR set (EN) | Download the latest version of the xUSSR set
TT Screenshot of the Month - the page editor | Screenshot Of The Month Contest Winner: August 2017


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Feb 12, 2019 10:36 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 2857
Location: Newcastle, Australia
STD wrote:
Great job! I really like what you're doing with Auztralian Industries. Looks very beautiful .


Making the overlaps gives the Industry another way of playing them, but does have one problem.

You could end up with a split level Industry. Ending up on 2 levels like in these pics.
Attachment:
Split Level-1.png
Split Level-1.png [ 112.59 KiB | Viewed 320 times ]

I think the Coal mine idea with the overlap at far end (NE Edge) best idea as you can level the land under the over lap.
Like this:
Attachment:
Split Level-2.png
Split Level-2.png [ 59.23 KiB | Viewed 320 times ]

But unfortunately you can not do this with the other image as the overlaps are in the middle.
Could end up with something like this: Can see the road goes up a level.
Attachment:
Untitled-5.png
Untitled-5.png [ 31.57 KiB | Viewed 320 times ]


I will be doing more experimenting over the next several days to find away around this.

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2019 10:39 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2011 1:51 pm
Posts: 1644
Location: The Netherlands
NFO:
Land shape flags (0D)
This property defines which slopes the tile can be built on.
Bit 4 Value 10
Can only be built on flat land
https://newgrf-specs.tt-wiki.net/wiki/Action0/Industry_Tiles

NML:
LSF_ONLY_ON_FLAT_LAND
This tile can only be built on flat land
https://newgrf-specs.tt-wiki.net/wiki/NML:IndustryTiles

_________________
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Feb 13, 2019 10:53 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Feb 14, 2015 12:44 am
Posts: 2857
Location: Newcastle, Australia
Quast65 wrote:
LSF_ONLY_ON_FLAT_LAND


thanks for that.

I've have got that line in the code, but the split industries sometimes still built 2 levels.

_________________
Soot Happens
All my projects are GPLv2 License unless stated.
Auz Project Releases: viewtopic.php?f=67&t=84725
AuzTrains: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74193
Auz Industry Sets: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=74471
AuzObjects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75657
AuzBridges: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75248
AuzStations: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=76390
AuzTracks: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=82691


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 711 posts ]  Go to page Previous 132 33 34 35 36 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Baidu [Spider] and 4 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2019 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2019.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.