Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Fri Nov 17, 2017 7:33 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 41 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri May 15, 2015 11:56 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2011 1:51 pm
Posts: 1427
Location: The Netherlands
Fake Airport Objects Version 0.1

The Fake Airport Objects Set provides a lot of (modular) object tiles to create your own fake airport.
Some tiles have multiple graphical representations.
Place the same tile multiple times on the same spot to change the graphical representation.
There are also some animated objects.

It looks like this:
Attachment:
FakeAirportObjects_V01.png
FakeAirportObjects_V01.png [ 211.9 KiB | Viewed 7316 times ]


Bigger screenshot:
Attachment:
FakeAirportObjects.png [1.04 MiB]
Downloaded 8 times


The GRF can be found on the ingame downloader (Bananas)

License: GPLv2

Credits:

Coding, Graphics alterations and new graphics by Quast65: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266

Many thanks to:

RSpeed tycoonfreak: http://www.tt-forums.net/memberlist.php ... le&u=10175
kamnet: http://www.tt-forums.net/memberlist.php ... le&u=31943
ISA: http://www.tt-forums.net/memberlist.php ... ile&u=8942
maquinista: http://www.tt-forums.net/memberlist.php ... le&u=11882
Lamoot: http://www.tt-forums.net/memberlist.php ... le&u=10707
Grigory1: http://www.tt-forums.net/memberlist.php ... ile&u=7300
Hans Kruzer: http://www.tt-forums.net/memberlist.php ... le&u=77176
Andrex: http://www.andreszsogon.com/
Uwe: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?t=25634
The Developers of the World Airliners Set: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=39227
The Developers of the Japan Set: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=5358
The Developers of the Total Town Replacement Set: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=8878
The Developers of the OpenGFX-Graphics Base Set: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=38122
The Developers of the IKARUS Set: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?t=44703
The Developers of the Light Road Vehicle Set: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=46583
The Developers of the Bobs Random British Vehicles Set: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=48651
The Developers of the Heavy Equipment Set (HEQS): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=36&t=37912

And finally the Simuscape Community for their remarks and suggestions during the initial development of this project: http://www.simuscape.net

If I have forgotten someone, my apologies, please contact me and you will be added: http://www.tt-forums.net/memberlist.php ... le&u=57156

EDIT:
A GRF that changes the "normal" airports into a matching airport without buildings can be found here:
https://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75389

_________________
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.


Last edited by Quast65 on Wed Oct 26, 2016 1:39 pm, edited 3 times in total.

Top
   
PostPosted: Fri May 15, 2015 11:57 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2011 1:51 pm
Posts: 1427
Location: The Netherlands
.NFO:
Attachment:
fakeairportobjects_v0_1.nfo [409.46 KiB]
Downloaded 171 times

.PNG:
Attachment:
fakeairport.png [666.08 KiB]
Downloaded 8 times

_________________
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri May 15, 2015 12:05 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 5:03 am
Posts: 4504
Location: home
GPL requires you to compile the actual source, not a decompiled grf.

_________________
Being a OpenTTD developer does not mean I know what I am doing.
Also, other OpenTTD developers may have different opinions.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri May 15, 2015 12:09 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2011 1:51 pm
Posts: 1427
Location: The Netherlands
It is the actual source.
This is the NFO I used to code the GRF.
The header of the NFO may confuse you, but I am not really sure what can be deleted without screwing up the codingprocess. So I just keep it all in ;-)

Also, just check the NFO with the PNG. A decompiled GRF will not give you the PNG like I have attached (with my workspace/try outs in it). The location of the sprites described in the NFO will be consistend with the location of the sprites in the PNG. Therefor the NFO is the actual source.

_________________
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri May 15, 2015 3:08 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 25, 2006 10:22 am
Posts: 261
Location: Bucharest
:shock: amazing. Thank you so much for this.
You're awesome

_________________
ImageImage


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri May 15, 2015 3:26 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 8:56 pm
Posts: 3251
Location: Estonia
First thing what came into notice!
Ill miss some lamp posts! Use the one below for example! Also maybe some helicopters for the aprons...
So far I like it!


Attachments:
LAMPS.PNG
LAMPS.PNG [ 1.17 KiB | Viewed 7222 times ]

_________________
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2012 July, winner!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2013 May, winner tie with Purno!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2014 February, winner!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2014 June, winner tie with alluke!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2014 April, winner!

My screen shot thread ---> Have a look
Top
   
PostPosted: Fri May 15, 2015 3:47 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 5:15 pm
Posts: 5874
Location: Eastern KY
Great job! I look forward to using it in the future! And big props on doing it "old school" via NFO! I'm certain that wasn't easy.

One thing I just noticed, is it me or does RSpeed's air tower roof look like the Reddit mascot has been carefully hidden?


Attachments:
rspeed-redit.png
rspeed-redit.png [ 8.73 KiB | Viewed 7212 times ]

_________________
Do you like drones, quadcopters & flying toys? Check out Drone Strike Force!
Image

Base Music Sets: OpenMSX | Scott Joplin Anthology | Traditional Winter Holiday Music | Modern Motion Music
Other Projects: 2CC Trams | Modern Waypoints | Sprite Sandbox & NewGRF Releases | Ideabox | Town Names | Isle of Sodor Scenario | Random Sprite Repository
Misc Topics: My Screenshots | Forgotten NewGRFs | Unfinished Graphics Sets | Stats Shack | RoadTypes?
Top
   
PostPosted: Sat May 16, 2015 12:02 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 12:44 am
Posts: 296
Location: Surabaya
i can create the Ngurah Rai int'l airport, Soekarno-Hatta int'l airport, Kuala Namu int'l airport, Sultan Aji Muhammad Sulaiman airport, and other with Fake Airport Objects, so mimic with real version

_________________
Image Image
My Screenshots SRVS


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun May 17, 2015 12:53 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 09, 2012 12:44 am
Posts: 296
Location: Surabaya
Terminal 3 of Soekarno-Hatta Int'l airport with fake airport set.
Image

_________________
Image Image
My Screenshots SRVS


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun May 17, 2015 1:15 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2006 3:39 pm
Posts: 11841
Location: MK UK
I can't help feeling that the yellow lines are too thick. I love the concept but they are just too bright and prominent.

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun May 17, 2015 1:16 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 8:56 pm
Posts: 3251
Location: Estonia
About the approach lights.
Is there any particular reason You haven't animate them like in that post
I can see in game that You have used those sprites as one of the poles are always lit (second lowest)

_________________
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2012 July, winner!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2013 May, winner tie with Purno!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2014 February, winner!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2014 June, winner tie with alluke!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2014 April, winner!

My screen shot thread ---> Have a look


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun May 17, 2015 5:31 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2011 1:51 pm
Posts: 1427
Location: The Netherlands
@Coldice, Thnx!

@ISA-1, Nice lamppost, is that your creation and if so, could I use it? Regarding helicopters, I havent really looked into that. I have to check if there is a set that has them under GPL-license.

@Kamnet, lol

@Skiddlow, nice to see the GRF in use!

@Ameecher, It was very difficult to get a nice tone of yellow using the colors available in my palette. I have experimented a lot with that and this was in my opinion the best I could make. Other tones were either too bright (or very pale yellow) or became more orange. Regarding thickness, that is also caused by some darker colors next to the actual yellow lines. Using only the yellow lines makes them really stick out and sharp, if you look carefully at how lines are drawn in the OpenTTD universe you will see that they are a bit blurred (for example look closely at the white lines of the normal airports) by adding some darker toned colors next to the lines. Using this method has the effect of making lines thicker, but it does actually fit in better with other graphics.
This picture could illustrate it a bit:
Attachment:
FakeAirport008.png
FakeAirport008.png [ 102.57 KiB | Viewed 6953 times ]

1 is without the blurring, 2 with blurring. The yellow lines are exactly the same, but 2 has extra colors on the edges of the yellow lines.
Still, if you could think up a better solution, I will be very open to that.

@ISA-2, I am not able to code Multi-tile animated objects, dont have the knowledge. So I used the watercycle colors, in my opinion they gave the same effect without having to learn extra codingskills (and therefor having to write a lot of extra code) and also having to draw a lot of graphics (animating tiles means A LOT of extra drawing ;-) ) Using watercycle colors does mean that the lights gradually light up and that could give the effect in a paused game that more than one pole is lit. However I dont see that one perticular pole is always lit, in my experience the sequence runs from the first pole (highest) to the last (lowest) as it should. Could you elaborate more, maybe with a screenshot?

_________________
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun May 17, 2015 6:52 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Oct 17, 2005 8:56 pm
Posts: 3251
Location: Estonia
1.Yes that's my lamppost from here. Use and make changes what You need.

2. Look at the picture I made green circle around the post what I was talking about. I let the game run, build all views and I didn't saw any animation what so ever. As I try to be as understandable as I can be I hope we talk about the same thing here :)


Attachments:
Clipboard01.png
Clipboard01.png [ 24.59 KiB | Viewed 6937 times ]

_________________
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2012 July, winner!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2013 May, winner tie with Purno!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2014 February, winner!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2014 June, winner tie with alluke!
TT-Screenshot Of The Month - 2014 April, winner!

My screen shot thread ---> Have a look
Top
   
PostPosted: Sun May 17, 2015 9:11 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2011 1:51 pm
Posts: 1427
Location: The Netherlands
Aha, I see the problem.
Make sure you have turned "Full Animation" ON in the game options menu:
Attachment:
FakeAirport020.png
FakeAirport020.png [ 28.55 KiB | Viewed 6913 times ]

_________________
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon May 18, 2015 3:52 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2006 3:39 pm
Posts: 11841
Location: MK UK
I think the narrow lines are far superior, in reality the taxi way markings are pretty narrow, no more than 30 cm wide I'd say.

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue May 19, 2015 2:00 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Oct 09, 2011 1:51 pm
Posts: 1427
Location: The Netherlands
We need a poll ;-)

Option 01
Attachment:
Option01.png
Option01.png [ 157.58 KiB | Viewed 6782 times ]


Option 02
Attachment:
Option02.png
Option02.png [ 157.37 KiB | Viewed 6782 times ]


Option 03
Attachment:
Option03.png
Option03.png [ 155 KiB | Viewed 6782 times ]

_________________
Projects: viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue May 19, 2015 2:26 am 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator

Joined: Fri Oct 10, 2014 12:43 am
Posts: 279
wow very good these objects !! if these tracks could be used with the normal game would be a great goal. you imagine?


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed May 27, 2015 7:48 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 12, 2006 3:39 pm
Posts: 11841
Location: MK UK
3 all the way for me!

_________________
Image


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Aug 16, 2015 5:16 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sat Aug 08, 2015 6:31 pm
Posts: 17
I downloaded the NewGRF from the Online content in the game, added it to the list of newGRFs I wanted in my game, but in the game there were still the original airports and nothing else, is it somewhere else or do I have to download it from any site on the internet? :bow:


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Aug 16, 2015 6:05 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 5:03 am
Posts: 4504
Location: home
savegames have their own set of newgrfs and that cannot be changed as player. If you load a game, it uses its own set, and not the set of the title screen

To use the set newgrfs you created from the title screen, you have to start a new game

_________________
Being a OpenTTD developer does not mean I know what I am doing.
Also, other OpenTTD developers may have different opinions.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 41 posts ]  Go to page 1 2 3 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 6 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2017 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2017.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.