Fake Airport Objects Version 0.1 (released on Bananas)

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

User avatar
Quast65
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1653
Joined: 09 Oct 2011 13:51
Location: The Netherlands

Fake Airport Objects Version 0.1 (released on Bananas)

Post by Quast65 » 15 May 2015 11:56

Fake Airport Objects Version 0.1

The Fake Airport Objects Set provides a lot of (modular) object tiles to create your own fake airport.
Some tiles have multiple graphical representations.
Place the same tile multiple times on the same spot to change the graphical representation.
There are also some animated objects.

It looks like this:
FakeAirportObjects_V01.png
FakeAirportObjects_V01.png (211.9 KiB) Viewed 10332 times
Bigger screenshot:
FakeAirportObjects.png
(1.04 MiB) Downloaded 8 times
The GRF can be found on the ingame downloader (Bananas)

License: GPLv2

Credits:

Coding, Graphics alterations and new graphics by Quast65: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266

Many thanks to:

RSpeed tycoonfreak: http://www.tt-forums.net/memberlist.php ... le&u=10175
kamnet: http://www.tt-forums.net/memberlist.php ... le&u=31943
ISA: http://www.tt-forums.net/memberlist.php ... ile&u=8942
maquinista: http://www.tt-forums.net/memberlist.php ... le&u=11882
Lamoot: http://www.tt-forums.net/memberlist.php ... le&u=10707
Grigory1: http://www.tt-forums.net/memberlist.php ... ile&u=7300
Hans Kruzer: http://www.tt-forums.net/memberlist.php ... le&u=77176
Andrex: http://www.andreszsogon.com/
Uwe: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?t=25634
The Developers of the World Airliners Set: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=39227
The Developers of the Japan Set: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=5358
The Developers of the Total Town Replacement Set: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=8878
The Developers of the OpenGFX-Graphics Base Set: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=38122
The Developers of the IKARUS Set: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?t=44703
The Developers of the Light Road Vehicle Set: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=46583
The Developers of the Bobs Random British Vehicles Set: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=48651
The Developers of the Heavy Equipment Set (HEQS): http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=36&t=37912

And finally the Simuscape Community for their remarks and suggestions during the initial development of this project: http://www.simuscape.net

If I have forgotten someone, my apologies, please contact me and you will be added: http://www.tt-forums.net/memberlist.php ... le&u=57156

EDIT:
A GRF that changes the "normal" airports into a matching airport without buildings can be found here:
viewtopic.php?f=26&t=75389
Last edited by Quast65 on 26 Oct 2016 13:39, edited 3 times in total.
Projects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.

User avatar
Quast65
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1653
Joined: 09 Oct 2011 13:51
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Fake Airport Objects Version 0.1 (released on Bananas)

Post by Quast65 » 15 May 2015 11:57

.NFO:
fakeairportobjects_v0_1.nfo
(409.46 KiB) Downloaded 249 times
.PNG:
fakeairport.png
(666.08 KiB) Downloaded 8 times
Projects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.

Alberth
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 4731
Joined: 09 Sep 2007 05:03
Location: home

Re: Fake Airport Objects Version 0.1 (released on Bananas)

Post by Alberth » 15 May 2015 12:05

GPL requires you to compile the actual source, not a decompiled grf.
Being a OpenTTD developer does not mean I know what I am doing.
Also, other OpenTTD developers may have different opinions.

User avatar
Quast65
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1653
Joined: 09 Oct 2011 13:51
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Fake Airport Objects Version 0.1 (released on Bananas)

Post by Quast65 » 15 May 2015 12:09

It is the actual source.
This is the NFO I used to code the GRF.
The header of the NFO may confuse you, but I am not really sure what can be deleted without screwing up the codingprocess. So I just keep it all in ;-)

Also, just check the NFO with the PNG. A decompiled GRF will not give you the PNG like I have attached (with my workspace/try outs in it). The location of the sprites described in the NFO will be consistend with the location of the sprites in the PNG. Therefor the NFO is the actual source.
Projects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.

ColdIce
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 261
Joined: 25 Apr 2006 10:22
Location: Bucharest

Re: Fake Airport Objects Version 0.1 (released on Bananas)

Post by ColdIce » 15 May 2015 15:08

:shock: amazing. Thank you so much for this.
You're awesome
ImageImage

User avatar
ISA
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3378
Joined: 17 Oct 2005 20:56
Location: Estonia

Re: Fake Airport Objects Version 0.1 (released on Bananas)

Post by ISA » 15 May 2015 15:26

First thing what came into notice!
Ill miss some lamp posts! Use the one below for example! Also maybe some helicopters for the aprons...
So far I like it!
Attachments
LAMPS.PNG
LAMPS.PNG (1.17 KiB) Viewed 10238 times

User avatar
kamnet
Moderator
Moderator
Posts: 6719
Joined: 28 Sep 2009 17:15
Location: Eastern KY
Contact:

Re: Fake Airport Objects Version 0.1 (released on Bananas)

Post by kamnet » 15 May 2015 15:47

Great job! I look forward to using it in the future! And big props on doing it "old school" via NFO! I'm certain that wasn't easy.

One thing I just noticed, is it me or does RSpeed's air tower roof look like the Reddit mascot has been carefully hidden?
Attachments
rspeed-redit.png
rspeed-redit.png (8.73 KiB) Viewed 10228 times

User avatar
SkiddLow
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 300
Joined: 09 Jul 2012 00:44
Location: Surabaya

Re: Fake Airport Objects Version 0.1 (released on Bananas)

Post by SkiddLow » 16 May 2015 00:02

i can create the Ngurah Rai int'l airport, Soekarno-Hatta int'l airport, Kuala Namu int'l airport, Sultan Aji Muhammad Sulaiman airport, and other with Fake Airport Objects, so mimic with real version
(Everybody) SkiddLow's Back, alright.

My Screenshots

User avatar
SkiddLow
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 300
Joined: 09 Jul 2012 00:44
Location: Surabaya

Re: Fake Airport Objects Version 0.1 (released on Bananas)

Post by SkiddLow » 17 May 2015 12:53

Terminal 3 of Soekarno-Hatta Int'l airport with fake airport set.
Image
(Everybody) SkiddLow's Back, alright.

My Screenshots

User avatar
Ameecher
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 11907
Joined: 12 Aug 2006 15:39
Location: MK UK
Contact:

Re: Fake Airport Objects Version 0.1 (released on Bananas)

Post by Ameecher » 17 May 2015 13:15

I can't help feeling that the yellow lines are too thick. I love the concept but they are just too bright and prominent.
Image

User avatar
ISA
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3378
Joined: 17 Oct 2005 20:56
Location: Estonia

Re: Fake Airport Objects Version 0.1 (released on Bananas)

Post by ISA » 17 May 2015 13:16

About the approach lights.
Is there any particular reason You haven't animate them like in that post
I can see in game that You have used those sprites as one of the poles are always lit (second lowest)

User avatar
Quast65
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1653
Joined: 09 Oct 2011 13:51
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Fake Airport Objects Version 0.1 (released on Bananas)

Post by Quast65 » 17 May 2015 17:31

@Coldice, Thnx!

@ISA-1, Nice lamppost, is that your creation and if so, could I use it? Regarding helicopters, I havent really looked into that. I have to check if there is a set that has them under GPL-license.

@Kamnet, lol

@Skiddlow, nice to see the GRF in use!

@Ameecher, It was very difficult to get a nice tone of yellow using the colors available in my palette. I have experimented a lot with that and this was in my opinion the best I could make. Other tones were either too bright (or very pale yellow) or became more orange. Regarding thickness, that is also caused by some darker colors next to the actual yellow lines. Using only the yellow lines makes them really stick out and sharp, if you look carefully at how lines are drawn in the OpenTTD universe you will see that they are a bit blurred (for example look closely at the white lines of the normal airports) by adding some darker toned colors next to the lines. Using this method has the effect of making lines thicker, but it does actually fit in better with other graphics.
This picture could illustrate it a bit:
FakeAirport008.png
FakeAirport008.png (102.57 KiB) Viewed 9969 times
1 is without the blurring, 2 with blurring. The yellow lines are exactly the same, but 2 has extra colors on the edges of the yellow lines.
Still, if you could think up a better solution, I will be very open to that.

@ISA-2, I am not able to code Multi-tile animated objects, dont have the knowledge. So I used the watercycle colors, in my opinion they gave the same effect without having to learn extra codingskills (and therefor having to write a lot of extra code) and also having to draw a lot of graphics (animating tiles means A LOT of extra drawing ;-) ) Using watercycle colors does mean that the lights gradually light up and that could give the effect in a paused game that more than one pole is lit. However I dont see that one perticular pole is always lit, in my experience the sequence runs from the first pole (highest) to the last (lowest) as it should. Could you elaborate more, maybe with a screenshot?
Projects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.

User avatar
ISA
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3378
Joined: 17 Oct 2005 20:56
Location: Estonia

Re: Fake Airport Objects Version 0.1 (released on Bananas)

Post by ISA » 17 May 2015 18:52

1.Yes that's my lamppost from here. Use and make changes what You need.

2. Look at the picture I made green circle around the post what I was talking about. I let the game run, build all views and I didn't saw any animation what so ever. As I try to be as understandable as I can be I hope we talk about the same thing here :)
Attachments
Clipboard01.png
Clipboard01.png (24.59 KiB) Viewed 9953 times

User avatar
Quast65
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1653
Joined: 09 Oct 2011 13:51
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Fake Airport Objects Version 0.1 (released on Bananas)

Post by Quast65 » 17 May 2015 21:11

Aha, I see the problem.
Make sure you have turned "Full Animation" ON in the game options menu:
FakeAirport020.png
FakeAirport020.png (28.55 KiB) Viewed 9929 times
Projects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.

User avatar
Ameecher
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 11907
Joined: 12 Aug 2006 15:39
Location: MK UK
Contact:

Re: Fake Airport Objects Version 0.1 (released on Bananas)

Post by Ameecher » 18 May 2015 15:52

I think the narrow lines are far superior, in reality the taxi way markings are pretty narrow, no more than 30 cm wide I'd say.
Image

User avatar
Quast65
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1653
Joined: 09 Oct 2011 13:51
Location: The Netherlands

Re: Fake Airport Objects Version 0.1 (released on Bananas)

Post by Quast65 » 19 May 2015 02:00

We need a poll ;-)

Option 01
Option01.png
Option01.png (157.58 KiB) Viewed 9798 times
Option 02
Option02.png
Option02.png (157.37 KiB) Viewed 9798 times
Option 03
Option03.png
Option03.png (155 KiB) Viewed 9798 times
Projects: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=26&t=57266
Screenshots: http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php?f=47&t=56959

Winner of the following screenshot competitions:
sep 2012, jan 2013, apr 2013, aug 2013, mar 2014, mar 2016
All my work is released under GPL-license (either V2 or V3), if not clearly stated otherwise.

sunshare
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 279
Joined: 10 Oct 2014 00:43

Re: Fake Airport Objects Version 0.1 (released on Bananas)

Post by sunshare » 19 May 2015 02:26

wow very good these objects !! if these tracks could be used with the normal game would be a great goal. you imagine?

User avatar
Ameecher
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 11907
Joined: 12 Aug 2006 15:39
Location: MK UK
Contact:

Re: Fake Airport Objects Version 0.1 (released on Bananas)

Post by Ameecher » 27 May 2015 19:48

3 all the way for me!
Image

Boffis123
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 17
Joined: 08 Aug 2015 18:31

Re: Fake Airport Objects Version 0.1 (released on Bananas)

Post by Boffis123 » 16 Aug 2015 17:16

I downloaded the NewGRF from the Online content in the game, added it to the list of newGRFs I wanted in my game, but in the game there were still the original airports and nothing else, is it somewhere else or do I have to download it from any site on the internet? :bow:

Alberth
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 4731
Joined: 09 Sep 2007 05:03
Location: home

Re: Fake Airport Objects Version 0.1 (released on Bananas)

Post by Alberth » 16 Aug 2015 18:05

savegames have their own set of newgrfs and that cannot be changed as player. If you load a game, it uses its own set, and not the set of the title screen

To use the set newgrfs you created from the title screen, you have to start a new game
Being a OpenTTD developer does not mean I know what I am doing.
Also, other OpenTTD developers may have different opinions.

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests