Romazoon's Graphics thread

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

User avatar
romazoon
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1292
Joined: 20 Jun 2010 23:16

Romazoon's Graphics thread

Post by romazoon »

Swissfan has suggested that i create a thread for my graphics, i just can only aggree as i was thinking about it too actually !! ;)

So dear fellow Tycooner, here will be the repository for all the graphic that i have and will draw 8)


Let s start with "making work" the moderators.... Can you guys please move the conversation about my graphics to here ? or if you have better idea/proposition, please share it !
Romazoon's Rock Tile - Coastal Rocks - 1 tile (x2 zoom)- animated wawes.png
Romazoon's Rock Tile - Coastal Rocks - 1 tile (x2 zoom)- animated wawes.png (2.53 KiB) Viewed 4155 times

ALL Graphics presented as mine in this thread are released under GPL v2 license
Attachments
Cliff- Romazoon Rock Tiles-screen.png
Cliff- Romazoon Rock Tiles-screen.png (208.94 KiB) Viewed 4155 times
customized rock tiles.png
(190.12 KiB) Downloaded 7 times
Last edited by romazoon on 17 May 2018 15:04, edited 1 time in total.

User avatar
romazoon
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1292
Joined: 20 Jun 2010 23:16

Re: Romazoon's Graphics thread

Post by romazoon »

railway arch screenie.png
railway arch screenie.png (163.71 KiB) Viewed 4146 times
my first graphic. It's published thanks to zero.eight (and graphic were a little bit modded by him too). find it here : http://www.tt-forums.net/viewtopic.php? ... ch#p944172


Corcovado 2.png
Corcovado 2.png (16.84 KiB) Viewed 4146 times
and a ugly statue and favelas, sitting here until i rework them to make them look good....

User avatar
romazoon
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1292
Joined: 20 Jun 2010 23:16

Re: Romazoon's Graphics thread

Post by romazoon »

quote from Supercheese "Ah, another thing to notice is that there are actually two different, independent water-cycle color sets. As you can see in the attached TTDViewer screenshot, there are "glittery" and "dark" water cycles that act independently of each other. Thus, your sprite ends up having two sets of waves in it.

(In the vertical sample of colors you've got on the right, the bottom five colors and top five colors cycle independently of each other.)

In the event you may be having trouble using TTDViewer, it may be because you have not palettized your images. OTTD needs 8bpp, indexed images with wither the Dos or Windows palette applied. In GIMP at least, you can index your images by selecting Image -> Mode -> Indexed, and then choosing an appropriate palette (see this page for GIMP OTTD palettes). It is best to de-select the "Remove unused colors" option in GIMP."
Thanks, i corrected the coast tile rocks (in first post of this thread) with hopefully the right water animation now :)

and about the TTDviewer, i have no clue wich file i should run from the winrar file, once unzipped i don t see any exe. (and most of the file ask me wich program it should run them on...and i have no clue...i downloaded java and installed it but still no change.)

Edit : added reworked Cliff with animated water and transparent blue bakground. (i letted more green than necessary, and the foot of the trees, because i don t know exactly where my sprite should be cutted...)
Attachments
Romazoon's Rock Tiles - Cliff + animated water - for 2x2 tile.png
Romazoon's Rock Tiles - Cliff + animated water - for 2x2 tile.png (3.84 KiB) Viewed 4090 times

User avatar
romazoon
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1292
Joined: 20 Jun 2010 23:16

Re: Romazoon's Graphics thread

Post by romazoon »

i would like to have some advice on how can i texture the wall of that "fictive" station building i m drawing.

I tried a bit, so maybe some comments can also be a good start, so i know what looks better...
Attachments
no texture on wall
no texture on wall
gare simple wip.png (2.9 KiB) Viewed 3431 times
trying a bit random
trying a bit random
gare simple wip 2.png (3.09 KiB) Viewed 3431 times
and again
and again
gare simple wip 3.png (3.24 KiB) Viewed 3431 times


User avatar
romazoon
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1292
Joined: 20 Jun 2010 23:16

Re: Romazoon's Graphics thread

Post by romazoon »

Thanks Andythenorth, i should have thought of checking more what is actually existing :roll:

yes i'm looking for a stone effect, trying to keep the tone clear though. something in between "forbach" and "freiburg" from Michael Blunck.

will try a bit further until i get something more satisfying.

all my attempt so far are more looking like a building with chickenpox....
Attachments
Société des Transport Nationaux, 26 Avr 1939.png
(74.42 KiB) Downloaded 4 times

User avatar
andythenorth
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5200
Joined: 31 Mar 2007 14:23
Location: Lost in Music

Re: Romazoon's Graphics thread

Post by andythenorth »

CHIPS buildings are matched to original TTD base set station (which is yellow / pink).

I'll poke at your sprite a bit and post it here.

- EDIT -

Attached a quick hack, the colours used are from too many ranges, but getting the yellow effect is tricky. The main thing is shading the \ side darker for correct lighting, and adding a lot of shade under the roof eaves.
Attachments
parcels_office.png
parcels_office.png (3 KiB) Viewed 3384 times
station.png
station.png (3.11 KiB) Viewed 3377 times

User avatar
romazoon
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1292
Joined: 20 Jun 2010 23:16

Re: Romazoon's Graphics thread

Post by romazoon »

:shock: oh thanks for your valuable input :)

I see now much clearer where to apply the color shading, i did spotted on your textil mill the different colors used depending the direction of the wall, to reflect the shadow and started modifying my sprites, but didn t managed to do what you have just done now. and thanks for pointing out the roof eaves.

I will smoothen a bit the edge of the roof and repost to get some more critics or advice to make it eventually better.


Also, I'm planning to add a small one way road lane with a couple parking spot with cars in front of the building, but before i do, is there some vehicles already drawn i may reuse ? i m thinking about cars, no trucks or bus.
And finaly, what would be the trick to have the ground tile looking like the sidewalk used (i wish to make that adaptale to the different sidewalks...if that s possible)

Edit : added my touch after andy's touch

Edit2 : added more stuff
Attachments
i reduced the edge appearance of the roof, and added/corrected bits there and there.
i reduced the edge appearance of the roof, and added/corrected bits there and there.
gare tricorp 2x1 Romazoon.png (2.93 KiB) Viewed 3348 times
my last progress on the building...critics welcome.
my last progress on the building...critics welcome.
gare tricorp 2x1 Romazoon wip7.png (3.89 KiB) Viewed 3276 times
gare tricorp 2x1 Romazoon wip7.2(other view).png
gare tricorp 2x1 Romazoon wip7.2(other view).png (3.82 KiB) Viewed 3273 times

User avatar
romazoon
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1292
Joined: 20 Jun 2010 23:16

Re: Romazoon's Graphics thread

Post by romazoon »

and what about "my" house, any comments ? i m not finished...but i ll happily hear comments
Attachments
my house wip1.png
my house wip1.png (2.43 KiB) Viewed 3262 times

User avatar
V453000 :)
President
President
Posts: 947
Joined: 01 Feb 2011 11:22
Location: Beer

Re: Romazoon's Graphics thread

Post by V453000 :) »

Nice, but:

1. it is a bit flat, make the different direction walls have different brigtness to make it look more plastic ... for example have / walls brighter and \ walls darker etc

2. a great effect can have a few very bright pixels, here I would place a couple in the windows, especially the roof ones as a kind of reflection
ImageImageImage

User avatar
romazoon
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1292
Joined: 20 Jun 2010 23:16

Re: Romazoon's Graphics thread

Post by romazoon »

thanks for the tips :)

i actually already used one shade darker for \ walls, than for /walls, should i use two shade darker as main color for different direction of walls ?

and yes will do for the roof windows, i was not entirely happy and i was affraid this is mistaken for some solar pannel...

Edit: yep, the bright pixel is definitly giving a better look, and two shade darker for the shadowed side is definitly better looking too, thanks :)
Attachments
my house wip1.1.png
my house wip1.1.png (3.39 KiB) Viewed 3238 times
added more details
added more details
my house wip1.2.png (3.61 KiB) Viewed 3229 times

User avatar
V453000 :)
President
President
Posts: 947
Joined: 01 Feb 2011 11:22
Location: Beer

Re: Romazoon's Graphics thread

Post by V453000 :) »

What I learned from original ttd graphics:

1. pick a colour
2. use ALL of the shades it offers
3. rearrange the shades as you see fit
4. eventually add another colour
5. ...

I would go even further and not measure the shades much, just get the brightest, put it to highlights, grab the darkest, put it to the darkest corner, and go from there.

You can try something like 2nd darkest and 2nd brightest to always have some space to add something extra dark, or extra bright.

Use the palette fully! ;)

The bright pixel in the window could be much brighter, too :P Contrast is your friend


... it is also nicer to have it darken under the roof a bit more
ImageImageImage

User avatar
andythenorth
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5200
Joined: 31 Mar 2007 14:23
Location: Lost in Music

Re: Romazoon's Graphics thread

Post by andythenorth »

+1 to everything V said (and that doesn't happen often). :twisted:

Red tile roofs are tricky, you can use contrast to make them work.
Attachments
grain_mill_1.png
grain_mill_1.png (9.57 KiB) Viewed 3177 times

User avatar
romazoon
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1292
Joined: 20 Jun 2010 23:16

Re: Romazoon's Graphics thread

Post by romazoon »

thank you guys, i really appreciate how you two keep giving me some advice :bow:

I tried applying your advice, here are the result so far.
Attachments
my house wip1.3.png
my house wip1.3.png (4.35 KiB) Viewed 3104 times
my house wip1.4.png
my house wip1.4.png (5.3 KiB) Viewed 3096 times

User avatar
V453000 :)
President
President
Posts: 947
Joined: 01 Feb 2011 11:22
Location: Beer

Re: Romazoon's Graphics thread

Post by V453000 :) »

Looks good, I like the improvement!
ImageImageImage


User avatar
romazoon
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1292
Joined: 20 Jun 2010 23:16

Re: Romazoon's Graphics thread

Post by romazoon »

thanks you guys you can considers yourself the two godfathers of my house in 8bpp ;)

i don t have a coder, but in the eventuality i find one, is there something to do on my side graphically to make the trees (that i wish to see in the garden) be automatically being the same as the one used "ingame" (original TTD, OGFX, or even the ones from newgrf) ? I noticed the swedish house having a parameter to use the "default tree"...so i m wondering how it works.

Also i have another question, i have made long ago with the help of zero.height, the viaduc arch graphics, he coded it into a newgrf.
I now would like to try drawing some eyecandy on the grass tile in front of it, but i don t have the "exact" graphics, and i m not really able to unpack the grf with grfcodec (i tried grfcodec and failed so far to do anything with it...im probably allergic to commands)...I also won t be able to repack it... So here come the question finally : is there someone able to unpack the graphics for me and send it to me, and once i m done drawing, to repack it into the same newgrf ?
i will also ask via pm to zero.height if he can do it, just in case, but he seems rather inactive since a good while now, so i prefer already to look for someone else ;)


User avatar
romazoon
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1292
Joined: 20 Jun 2010 23:16

Re: Romazoon's Graphics thread

Post by romazoon »

yes indeed, i noticed that grocery store change trees according to what trees are loaded.

so basically how does it work ? it s just a matter of coding i supose ? or do i have to draw some spot for the trees ?
Attachments
UK Transport, 2 Mai 2122.png
lovely grocery store adapting to the trees used :)
(165.1 KiB) Downloaded 1 time
Last edited by romazoon on 04 Dec 2014 19:59, edited 1 time in total.

Eddi
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 7469
Joined: 17 Jan 2007 00:14

Re: Romazoon's Graphics thread

Post by Eddi »

it can be done completely with coding. from the "spritelayout" you can reference "childsprites" which either you define yourself, or reuse existing sprites from the baseset (or from a NewGRF which overrides the baseset sprite with actionA). you cannot reuse sprites from NewGRFs like train wagons or stuff.

for example the alpine(w).grf reuses the sprites of original houses and adds its own snowy roof to them.
You might not exactly be interested in Ferion, but if you are, have fun :)

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 4 guests