Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Sat Oct 20, 2018 8:18 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 176 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 69 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2014 5:22 pm 
Offline
Director
Director
User avatar

Joined: Tue May 03, 2005 8:50 pm
Posts: 529
Location: Somewhere in a country called Argentina
Other 2 questions:

1. Can you make worker yards spawn/fundable like banks in temperate? That's, replacing houses, but without any population limit. One problem is that banks can't be funded at game creation, would this also apply to WYs if changed?

2. How much heavy should turn YETI if all industries get their animation? Doing that for one increased 153MB, with your new method you said it would halve the size, but still that's like 75MB for each animated industry. That would rise the GRF size to something like 1 Gig, which would not be very accepted. Maybe it's better to leave everything static, with a reasonable 28MB filesize?

_________________
Sorry for my english I am argentinian
TTO don't crashes in Windows XP; XP crashes TTO

Formerly known as UnderBuilder.

MyMiniCity


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2014 6:59 pm 
Offline
President
President
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 11:22 am
Posts: 909
Location: Beer
Do not worry chrswk, the newGRF will keep being updated so you can simply play it to see what is new :P

nicfer: 1. why? Not much would be different to current state. Atm Worker Yard can be funded, only has to be on an empty tile instead of building tile - but some 30 manhattan tiles away from town center maximum.

2. the HALF was for 3X Machinery factory. Other animations are considerably smaller! :) Plus, not all industries will be animated (much). The new method means that the less animated, the less size I get.

Examples:

I attach all 5 examples of current animations, you can clearly see that they are so much smaller than 3X! :)
(3C doesnt even show the car all the time)


Attachments:
File comment: 3X
industry_3X_OVERLAY_f0000.png [1.05 MiB]
Downloaded 11 times
File comment: 3B
industry_3B_OVERLAY_f0000.png [879.96 KiB]
Downloaded 11 times
File comment: 3C
industry_3C_OVERLAY_f0020.png [864.72 KiB]
Downloaded 11 times

_________________
ImageImageImage
Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2014 7:00 pm 
Offline
President
President
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 11:22 am
Posts: 909
Location: Beer
... +2


Attachments:
File comment: 1X
industry_1X_OVERLAY_f0000.png [906.72 KiB]
Downloaded 11 times
industry_3AA_OVERLAY_f0000.png [885.86 KiB]
Downloaded 11 times

_________________
ImageImageImage
Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2014 7:50 pm 
Offline
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jul 19, 2012 6:04 pm
Posts: 327
Location: The Elizabeth Arkham Asylum for the Criminally Insane
Looks quite nice

_________________
Me
My Screenshots


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jul 24, 2014 8:48 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer

Joined: Sun Sep 09, 2007 5:03 am
Posts: 4672
Location: home
I have been playing the game of pushing cargo chains; build a circle of deliveries, and see what happens :)

I had a nice collection of worker yards, where the workers were moving to the quarry with a few feeders. Bringing building material nicely explodes the yeti production, the station to the top-right needs a bit more attention, I notcied :)
Attachment:
worker_yards.png [971 KiB]
Downloaded 11 times


Stone quarry seems to collect workers:
Attachment:
stone_quarry.png
stone_quarry.png [ 271.86 KiB | Viewed 2724 times ]

If I do more with the workers yard station at the top-right, the number of workers will probably grow even higher.

Stone gets moved to the stone/tree crusher aka construction yard:
Attachment:
construction_yard.png
construction_yard.png [ 305.34 KiB | Viewed 2724 times ]


No surprises here.

It takes a bit getting used to the continuous production, but I like it. In this short game, it seems to have a nice effect on the train flow, even with 2 platforms you can continuously have a train loading at one platform while the other platform is used for the departing and arriving train.


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2014 1:29 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 12:14 am
Posts: 7160
nicfer wrote:
One problem is that banks can't be funded at game creation, would this also apply to WYs if changed?
no, that is freely configurable by the NewGRF

_________________
You might not exactly be interested in Ferion, but if you are, have fun :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2014 7:19 am 
Offline
President
President
User avatar

Joined: Tue Feb 01, 2011 11:22 am
Posts: 909
Location: Beer
I think the production is even a bit too high Alberth, but yeah it all depends on how many worker yards you get.

After there are some bonuses and more motivation to get various industries, it should get a bit harder to get this much stuff so quickly :)

_________________
ImageImageImage


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Jul 25, 2014 9:44 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sun Feb 08, 2009 6:36 pm
Posts: 2377
Location: Alberta, Canada
Just for the record, I have been keeping tabs on this thread and looking at the pretty pictures you have been showing! But I can see why you may deviate elsewhere...

_________________
Image
Total Alpine Replacement Set: Industry, Town, Objects
**ATTENTION**: If anyone would like me to help draw snow stages in any of their GRFs let me know. I genuinely enjoy drawing them.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Jul 27, 2014 3:49 pm 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Fri Feb 12, 2010 2:30 pm
Posts: 506
Location: Luxembourg
as said in chat, perhaps you can note yourself to add some really basic "ground sprites" that are visible in transparent mode. even if it's just plain gray tiles, I can see where the industry is placed :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2014 8:19 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 9:01 pm
Posts: 211
Location: Midwest, US
When trying to play with Pikka's Pineapple Trains grf, looks like there is no support for the Uranium cargo from any of the wagons. Is this something that can be addressed in this grf, or is it something that the Pineapple Trains grf has to fix?

(by looking at the NML, looks like the Cargo code for Uranium is URAN, so unlikely there is support for that in common sets, which usually support all the "standard" cargo labels, as defined in http://newgrf-specs.tt-wiki.net/wiki/CargoTypes)


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2014 10:12 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon

Joined: Wed Jan 17, 2007 12:14 am
Posts: 7160
missing cargo support is generally the vehicle set's fault. it should use cargo classes, and should avoid cyclical exclusions.

_________________
You might not exactly be interested in Ferion, but if you are, have fun :)


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Aug 27, 2014 11:28 pm 
Offline
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 1:21 pm
Posts: 5304
Location: The Moon
Assuming URAN is bulk+non-pourable, this was indeed a blind spot in Pineapple Trains. I'll fix it next version.

Edit: apparently this isn't the problem. That's still a bug in Pineapple Trains though, so thanks. :)

_________________
Pikkarail.com blog | Patreon
Dev reference: NML Specs - NewGRF Specs - Savegame Internals - NoAi API - NoGo API


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Aug 28, 2014 1:28 am 
Offline
President
President
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 9:25 pm
Posts: 958
Location: ::1
YETI source says uranium is cc_hazardous.


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Aug 28, 2014 6:26 am 
Offline
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 13, 2004 1:21 pm
Posts: 5304
Location: The Moon
Sylf wrote:
YETI source says uranium is cc_hazardous.


If it's only that class, that's going to cause problems with most vehicle sets. :) It should probably have at least one of the basic cargo classes added too (express, bulk, piece, or liquid).

_________________
Pikkarail.com blog | Patreon
Dev reference: NML Specs - NewGRF Specs - Savegame Internals - NoAi API - NoGo API


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Aug 30, 2014 2:55 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 9:01 pm
Posts: 211
Location: Midwest, US
Added a new language translation for Russian - https://translator.openttdcoop.org/tran ... yeti/ru_RU but don't see it automatically be committed to the source repository. Is there anything I'm missing in the steps of what I should do?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Aug 30, 2014 2:57 pm 
Offline
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
User avatar

Joined: Wed Nov 07, 2007 10:44 pm
Posts: 9040
Location: Sol d
aantono wrote:
Added a new language translation for Russian - https://translator.openttdcoop.org/tran ... yeti/ru_RU but don't see it automatically be committed to the source repository. Is there anything I'm missing in the steps of what I should do?

When did you add / change that? The language changes are pushed to the repository once a day, around 18h GMT+2

_________________
Image
OpenTTD: manual | online content | translations | Wanted contributions and patches
#openttdcoop: blog | wiki | public server | DevZone | NewGRF web translator
DevZone - home of the free NewGRFs: OpenSFX | OpenMSX | OpenGFX | Swedish Rails | OpenGFX+ Trains|RV|Industries|Airports|Landscape | NML


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Aug 30, 2014 2:59 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 9:01 pm
Posts: 211
Location: Midwest, US
planetmaker wrote:
aantono wrote:
Added a new language translation for Russian - https://translator.openttdcoop.org/tran ... yeti/ru_RU but don't see it automatically be committed to the source repository. Is there anything I'm missing in the steps of what I should do?

When did you add / change that? The language changes are pushed to the repository once a day, around 18h GMT+2


It was yesterday, around 2pm CST (GMT+6).


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Aug 30, 2014 6:15 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 9:01 pm
Posts: 211
Location: Midwest, US
Just noticed a possible Bug. Looks like Steel is listed as a cargo twice.
The game is running no other GRF but YETI - Using version 1.4.2
Attachment:
Unnamed, 1st Jan 1949.png [390.29 KiB]
Downloaded 3 times

Attachment:
Unnamed, 1st Jan 1949#1.png [245.8 KiB]
Downloaded 3 times


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Aug 30, 2014 6:23 pm 
Offline
President
President
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 9:25 pm
Posts: 958
Location: ::1
aantono wrote:
Just noticed a possible Bug. Looks like Steel is listed as a cargo twice.
The game is running no other GRF but YETI - Using version 1.4.2
Attachment:
Unnamed, 1st Jan 1949.png

Attachment:
Unnamed, 1st Jan 1949#1.png

As far as I know, any original cargoes in each climate aren't disabled in the current version of YETI. So you'll see battery twice in toyland, food twice in arctic and tropical climate, etc.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Aug 30, 2014 6:27 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager

Joined: Thu Apr 15, 2010 9:01 pm
Posts: 211
Location: Midwest, US
Sylf wrote:
As far as I know, any original cargoes in each climate aren't disabled in the current version of YETI. So you'll see battery twice in toyland, food twice in arctic and tropical climate, etc.

Looking at the NML it looks like it is being disabled.
Code:
disable_item(FEAT_INDUSTRIES);

disable_item(FEAT_CARGOS, 0, 29);
// don't disable 30, it's used by NARS 2 for regearing and disabling it breaks NARS 2
disable_item(FEAT_CARGOS, 31, 31);


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 176 posts ]  Go to page Previous 1 2 3 4 5 69 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Scautura and 8 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.