Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Sun Sep 23, 2018 5:13 pm

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 221 posts ]  Go to page Previous 17 8 9 10 11 12 Next
Author Message
PostPosted: Thu Mar 23, 2017 1:42 am 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 7:54 am
Posts: 426
Location: Washington State, USA
toha_bangbang wrote:
will there be any changes to the current system that you have to deliver both cargoes and the shrinking of towns?

Not right now, no, I feel like I've got it where I want it. Nothing is set in stone though, so things may change in the future. :)

_________________
WSF Ferry Set [WIP] || American Road Replacement Set || NightGFX Base Graphics Set || Wasteland [WIP] || RattRoads (NRT Only) || American Bridge Replacement Set [WIP]


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Jul 26, 2017 10:08 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2017 10:07 pm
Posts: 2
Is this still being worked on or is it dead? If it's dead, does anyone else have any inclination to pick it up and carry the torch?


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jul 27, 2017 1:34 am 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 5:15 pm
Posts: 6165
Location: Eastern KY
Fuerfrost wrote:
Is this still being worked on or is it dead? If it's dead, does anyone else have any inclination to pick it up and carry the torch?


Just because it's not being worked on doesn't mean it's dead. The previous post by Andrew350 seems to indicate that, for now, it's finished. Not dead.

_________________
Do you like drones, quadcopters & flying toys? Check out Drone Strike Force!
Image

Base Music Sets: OpenMSX | Scott Joplin Anthology | Traditional Winter Holiday Music | Modern Motion Music
Other Projects: 2CC Trams | Modern Waypoints | Sprite Sandbox & NewGRF Releases | Ideabox | Town Names | Isle of Sodor Scenario | Random Sprite Repository
Misc Topics: My Screenshots | Forgotten NewGRFs | Unfinished Graphics Sets | Stats Shack | RoadTypes?


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jul 27, 2017 2:10 am 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 7:54 am
Posts: 426
Location: Washington State, USA
Don't worry, it's not dead, just on hold until I find the time.

I know I keep saying that and then months go by without progress, but I promise none of my sets are abandoned, including this one :wink:

_________________
WSF Ferry Set [WIP] || American Road Replacement Set || NightGFX Base Graphics Set || Wasteland [WIP] || RattRoads (NRT Only) || American Bridge Replacement Set [WIP]


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Jul 27, 2017 2:43 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Wed Jul 26, 2017 10:07 pm
Posts: 2
Good, because I freaking love this pack


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Aug 08, 2017 9:29 am 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2017 10:03 am
Posts: 209
Destroyed houses (red houses) doesn't accept building material.
Town doesn't grow or fixed even clean food is delivered.
Are these two things bug?

_________________
Sent from my Ubuntu 16.04 LTS


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Aug 08, 2017 2:07 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2014 12:39 pm
Posts: 243
Location: The Granite City.
ir1n1o57 wrote:
Destroyed houses (red houses) doesn't accept building material.
Town doesn't grow or fixed even clean food is delivered.
Are these two things bug?

Had the same problem when I started playing , I am sure all cargos have to be delivered approx the same time , takes time but worth the challenge , the save file is from a ongoing experimental game made with jgrpp.0.20.1 and a shed load of grf's .I am finally getting the main town rebuilt .


Attachments:
Jones & Co., 16th Oct 2183.sav [2 MiB]
Downloaded 16 times
Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Aug 09, 2017 11:56 am 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Thu Jun 01, 2017 10:03 am
Posts: 209
I delivered clean food and building materials into the town, but town is STILL destroyed.
Maybe irradiated food is required too, I think.

_________________
Sent from my Ubuntu 16.04 LTS


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Aug 09, 2017 12:48 pm 
Offline
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
User avatar

Joined: Fri Nov 21, 2014 12:39 pm
Posts: 243
Location: The Granite City.
ir1n1o57 wrote:
I delivered clean food and building materials into the town, but town is STILL destroyed.
Maybe irradiated food is required too, I think.

Do not forget about water ,also don't ship out to many wastelanders.


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Aug 09, 2017 10:09 pm 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 7:54 am
Posts: 426
Location: Washington State, USA
Like piratescooby said, water is a key cargo for all town stages, and you have to make sure ALL cargoes are delivered in the same two month period or it won't count.

_________________
WSF Ferry Set [WIP] || American Road Replacement Set || NightGFX Base Graphics Set || Wasteland [WIP] || RattRoads (NRT Only) || American Bridge Replacement Set [WIP]


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Aug 09, 2017 11:26 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Aug 16, 2008 10:26 pm
Posts: 3828
Skype: neko-master
Location: Oshawa, Ontario, CANADA
Remember kids, people die without water :)

no point in living in a place you can't get water. Why do you think most major cities today grew up around lakes or rivers or on the coast

_________________
Image Proud Canadian Image
Nekomasters Projects! (Downloads available on BaNaNaS!) \(>^w^<)/
# NARS ADD-ON SET 2CC | 2cc Rapid Transit For Me! (2ccRTFM) | 2cc Wagons In NML (2ccWIN)
# NML Category System (Organize your GRFS!) <- TT-Forums Exclusive Download!


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed May 16, 2018 8:42 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2008 2:38 am
Posts: 11
I encountered a problem trying to make a scenario using Wasteland 0.3.0 in JGR's patch pack. I suspect the cause is actually either something I did wrong in the scenario editor, or a bug in jgrpp, but either way I found that when I started the scenario all the secondary industries were closing down almost instantly (as in I could build the fastest vehicle I had to try to transport cargo to them and the industry would be gone before it arrived), with nearly all the chemical plants, cement plants, food labs, etc. disappearing by the time I hit April of the first in-game year.

Manual industries doesn't work for new industry sets, but I had a look at it's source code and then took advantage of Wasteland's GPL license to make a modified version.

The diff below can be applied to wasteland.nml to add an additional boolean parameter. It defaults to false, and when set to true it should prevent all secondary industries (Chemical Plants, Food Labs, Steel Mills, Cement Plants, Trading Posts and Offshore Colonies) from either closing down or being randomly built during the game. I haven't tested it extensively, but in theory it shouldn't prevent them from being built by a player or randomly generated at the start of a new game.

As an added bonus, I have also flagged all the appropriate sprites (and hopefully only those) with the ANIM flag so that nmlc won't keep spitting out animated pixel warnings.

I can post a modified grf, or separated patches (one for the parameter and one for the ANIM flags) here if anyone is interested, I'm holding off on the grf for the moment because I haven't modified much of the file header and I don't want to cause people to bug Andrew350 over any problems I may have created.


Attachments:
File comment: Patch for wasteland.nml
wasteland-mod.diff [149.38 KiB]
Downloaded 9 times
Top
   
PostPosted: Fri May 18, 2018 6:13 pm 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 7:54 am
Posts: 426
Location: Washington State, USA
For the problem with industries closing down: I haven't seen this behavior myself, nor have I had any other reports about it. I just ran a quick test to make sure it wasn't a scenario thing, and had no industries close down after more than a year of game time (OpenTTD 1.6.1). That leads me to believe it's not a problem with the grf, but something with your game, maybe the patchpack. Might be worth bringing it up in the patchpack thread if you haven't already. Not much point in altering the grf if it's a problem elsewhere. :wink:

As for the animated pixel warnings, I've never seen those since I still compile with NML 0.3 :mrgreen: Could be useful to silence them I suppose for anyone wanting to compile on newer versions; however, looking through the changes it looks like the majority of sprites you've masked don't (and probably will never) have animated pixels. All of the vehicle sprites for example shouldn't have anything animated.

_________________
WSF Ferry Set [WIP] || American Road Replacement Set || NightGFX Base Graphics Set || Wasteland [WIP] || RattRoads (NRT Only) || American Bridge Replacement Set [WIP]


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri May 18, 2018 6:24 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Fri Apr 14, 2017 3:51 pm
Posts: 108
Location: Czech Republic
The industries end when they do not receive all the raw materials in time, but I considered this in the Wasteland Newgrf as a normal phenomenon.

_________________
Owner and admin of servers:
Experimental games 01 (92.63.57.152:3979), Experimental games 02 (92.63.57.152:3879), Experimental games 03 (92.63.57.152:3779).
My heightmaps: Flat Earth Map and United nations logo
My scenarios: Game Fallout 1,2,3 Map scenario
My gamescripts: City Founder GS
My newGRFs: ---


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri May 18, 2018 6:41 pm 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 7:54 am
Posts: 426
Location: Washington State, USA
Yes they will close down eventually, but they shouldn't all disappear within a few months, that's definitely not right!

_________________
WSF Ferry Set [WIP] || American Road Replacement Set || NightGFX Base Graphics Set || Wasteland [WIP] || RattRoads (NRT Only) || American Bridge Replacement Set [WIP]


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat May 19, 2018 6:08 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2008 2:38 am
Posts: 11
Andrew350 wrote:
For the problem with industries closing down: I haven't seen this behavior myself, nor have I had any other reports about it.


Yeah, it's weirdly specific to that scenario. I think the bug, if there even is one, affects the scenario editor. I don't see the problem with "New Game" using Wasteland and jgrpp. I also tried creating a different scenario using exactly the same exe, settings and grfs and I didn't see the problem there either.

I suspect that I managed to do something that left all the industries in my problem scenario in a state where the game thinks they've been sitting idle for a long time. I tried destroying and re-building the industries in the editor, but that didn't seem to help at all.

While creating the scenario I did change both the start date and the grf configuration several times. I suspect that the latter may be the proximal cause, and would also lead most developers to, not unreasonably, respond to a bug report by asking me to go away and not come back until I can reproduce the problem in a game where I haven't messed with the newgrf settings while it was running.

I wouldn't have mentioned the problem here, except that I thought that the static secondaries patch might be of interest to someone (plenty of people have downloaded manual industries) and it seemed appropriate to explain why I made it.

p.s. For anybody who actually decides to apply that diff I posted, I have realized since posting it that I missed the offshore colony. If you want a full set of static secondary industries then you should change the colonies' life_type and prob_in_game values before compiling wasteland.nml (lines 3528 and 3541).

Andrew350 wrote:
All of the vehicle sprites for example shouldn't have anything animated.


You sure about that?

Most of the vehicle sprites I flagged were ships, so I just started a new game in 2090 and built an "Arcadia" and a "Eurybia" (the two freighters available at the time, both vehicles I flagged as having animated sprites). Both ships have visible-in-game flashing red features near the stern when traveling in any direction except down. The Eurybia's look like flashing navigation lights, I think the Arcadia's animation is either accidental or intended to represent an open fire for a steam boiler.

I'm fairly certain that I have incorrectly flagged some sprites that aren't animated, but are part of a spriteset that includes animated sprites. The problem I had was that nmlc warnings gave the wrong line numbers: It reported the line where the spriteset started rather than the line where the offending sprite was defined. So when I started off manually adding ANIM flags I just flagged all the sprites in each block nmlc complained about.

I didn't realize until I'd already made quite a few changes that I could work out the exact sprite it was complaining about by comparing the coordinates, and I didn't go back to fix my overzealous flagging. As a result, in many cases I flagged all the members of a spriteset as animated if any sprites in the set had animated pixels. I don't think I added ANIM flags to any sprites in spritesets that don't have at least one animated sprite.

If you like, I'm willing to go back over the sprites more carefully (i.e. write a script to parse the nmlc warnings and flag exactly the sprites they refer to) and upload a new diff.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat May 19, 2018 9:40 pm 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 7:54 am
Posts: 426
Location: Washington State, USA
cnww wrote:
While creating the scenario I did change both the start date and the grf configuration several times. I suspect that the latter may be the proximal cause, and would also lead most developers to, not unreasonably, respond to a bug report by asking me to go away and not come back until I can reproduce the problem in a game where I haven't messed with the newgrf settings while it was running.


If it hasn't happened again, then that's probably the cause. Now go away until you reproduce it cleanly :P

cnww wrote:
I wouldn't have mentioned the problem here, except that I thought that the static secondaries patch might be of interest to someone (plenty of people have downloaded manual industries) and it seemed appropriate to explain why I made it.


I can see the benefit, it can be very frustrating building up a whole network only to have the target industry disappear, especially in Wasteland. In fact I was thinking more about it yesterday, and I almost think turning off spawning/closing of all industries would make sense, especially considering the environment. Plus, it looks a little odd to see a "new" industry get built only to end up as rubble, or having a clearly abandoned factory announce that it's shutting down :lol: It would lead to a more "static" map, which is honestly more realistic given the circumstances of the game world. That leaves the player to fund new industries if they have to, but otherwise the world would just kind of stay as it was. That's more or less how I envisioned the play style from the beginning anyway, I just never changed the standard spawning behavior for gameplay reasons, but now I'm thinking I definitely should :P

I'll keep "normal" behavior as an option (maybe with primary and secondary kept separate), but I think the static industries are actually more in the spirit of the set. :)

cnww wrote:
Andrew350 wrote:
All of the vehicle sprites for example shouldn't have anything animated.


You sure about that?


Whoops, I guess I never zoomed in to see those pixels flashing. Those sprites are just borrowed from OpenGFX anyway as placeholders, but they shouldn't be animated. I'll fix that.

cnww wrote:
If you like, I'm willing to go back over the sprites more carefully (i.e. write a script to parse the nmlc warnings and flag exactly the sprites they refer to) and upload a new diff.


If you'd like, yes. :) I won't use it on my own build (yet), but if you provide a patch with just the ANIM flags I can also add it as a separate file in the source bundle of the next release, that way others have easy access to it for compiling with newer versions of NML (and it doesn't just end up buried in this thread).

I wasn't planning on making an 0.3.1, but now I'm hoping to work on these little changes (and a couple others) and maybe get a minor release out tomorrow :)

_________________
WSF Ferry Set [WIP] || American Road Replacement Set || NightGFX Base Graphics Set || Wasteland [WIP] || RattRoads (NRT Only) || American Bridge Replacement Set [WIP]


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat May 19, 2018 11:53 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2008 2:38 am
Posts: 11
It turns out it's difficult to script template changes, so I ended up adding flags to a few templates by hand.

I think the attached diff adds the minimal set of ANIM flags needed to compile wasteland-0.3.0 with nmlc 0.4.4 without animated pixel warnings, but it's possible that the flags in template_train_88 might apply to a few non-animated sprites using that template.

AFAICT the sloped terrain templates are only used for terrain with water, so they should be correct because all water is animated.

As an aside: I compiled both the original and patched versions of wasteland.nml and the resulting grf files are bit-for-bit identical. This suggests that literally the only effect of the ANIM flag is to suppress any "x of y pixels are animated" warning nmlc would have otherwise generated for the sprite the flag is applied to.


Attachments:
wasteland-anim-flags.diff [156.42 KiB]
Downloaded 20 times
Top
   
PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2018 1:44 am 
Offline
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
User avatar

Joined: Mon Dec 19, 2011 7:54 am
Posts: 426
Location: Washington State, USA
Thanks cnww for providing the patch, I've included that in the source bundle attached in the first post. :)

========================

And on that note, 0.3.1 is now released and posted in the usual places. This update only adds a couple of things and is only useful for starting new games; any current saves can continue using 0.3.0 without missing anything. What's changed:

- A new parameter for disabling the included railtypes, as per NekoMaster's request

- Two more parameters for enabling static primary and secondary industries (thanks to cnww)

- and a couple of other very minor code changes

So not a lot of features to get excited about, unless you're interested in keeping industries from spawning or closing down, or want to use a track set(s) for different trains. Enjoy :)

_________________
WSF Ferry Set [WIP] || American Road Replacement Set || NightGFX Base Graphics Set || Wasteland [WIP] || RattRoads (NRT Only) || American Bridge Replacement Set [WIP]


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon May 21, 2018 12:51 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Sun Sep 07, 2008 2:38 am
Posts: 11
Glad to see you updating :D

I've been playing the custom scenario I mentioned earlier, and I noticed something odd: Mineral mine production never seems to increase even at 100% transported. This scenario is known to be slightly broken, but I thought I'd look into it anyway and see if I could figure out why.

I'm sufficiently unfamiliar with NML that I may have this totally wrong, but AFAICT the code for mineral mines works as follows:

Line 1070 sets the production level randomly to a value ranging from 6 to 32 (using the switch block starting on line 519) when a mineral mine is built.

Line 1071 sets the "random_prod_change" callback to always return CB_RESULT_IND_PROD_NO_CHANGE so mineral production cannot change randomly.

Line 1068 sets the "monthly_prod_change" callback to use a switch "switch_mineral_mine_reset_wastelander_amount".

The "switch_mineral_mine_reset_wastelander_amount" switch statement starting on line 1028 sets or clears a variable depending whether the industry has wastelanders, but doesn't change the underlying production rate.

Then actual production is determined by the "mineral_mine_produce_256_ticks" which produces at either the production rate or 2x the production rate depending on the wastelanders variable set in the other switch (which it may also update), but again, doesn't seem to change the underlying production rate.

Unless I've misunderstood, the implication seems to be that a mineral mine has a randomized production level (e.g. 16 units every 256 ticks) when it's first created, and can only ever produce at either it's initial random level or 2x that level (while consuming wastelanders).

If that's true, is it a bug or a feature?

p.s. Line numbers are from 0.3.1. The scenario is using my slightly-hacked 0.3.0, but the relevant code seems to be the same in both versions.

--------
EDIT:

I added a simple monthly production change to mineral mines by creating a new switch block that does simple increment/decrement changes based on the percent of cargo transported. It ended up looking like this:

Code:
switch (FEAT_INDUSTRIES, SELF, switch_primary_prod_change, transported_last_month_pct_1) {
  0..25:   (production_rate_1 > 6 ? CB_RESULT_IND_PROD_DECREMENT_BY_1 : CB_RESULT_IND_PROD_NO_CHANGE);
  26..75:  CB_RESULT_IND_PROD_NO_CHANGE;
  75..100: (production_rate_1 < 255 ? CB_RESULT_IND_PROD_INCREMENT_BY_1 : CB_RESULT_IND_PROD_NO_CHANGE);
}

switch (FEAT_INDUSTRIES, SELF, switch_mineral_mine_reset_wastelander_amount, [
  STORE_PERM(LOAD_PERM(0), 1),
  STORE_PERM(0, 0)
  ]) {
  //CB_RESULT_IND_PROD_NO_CHANGE;
  switch_primary_prod_change;
}


It seems to work as I intended:

I have a mineral mine that's been producing either 48 or 54 units per month for the last 53 years (AFAICT it's production rate is 6 and the production interval allows it to produce 8 or 9 times per calendar month).

I applied the code change in late November, and as of February 1 it's showing production of 63 units for the month of January, which is in the area I'd expect.

In theory a call to switch_primary_prod_change could replace the current CB_RESULT_IND_PROD_NO_CHANGE in all the wastelander-accepting industries (which I think may all suffer from the same lack of increases) as long as they only produce one cargo.

I am worried that it may break things if I deliver wastelanders to a mineral mine where production_rate_1 is already over 127, as that would give it a total production rate over 255. According to https://newgrf-specs.tt-wiki.net/wiki/N ... _variables the limit is 255, but I'm not sure if your produce block works around that (i.e. I don't know if actual production limited to 255 units per cycle or if it's just that production_rate_1 is an 8-bit unsigned int).

p.s. In case anybody wants to use it, I am releasing the code above under a Creative Commons CCZero 1.0 License (i.e. you can do whatever you like with my code, but still need to respect Andrew350's GPL license for his stuff).

EDIT2: Added an extra conditional to the switch block so it won't almost-instantly close down unserviced mines. I should probably add some sort of counter like the NML industry example, but currently I'm too lazy so it just never lowers the production rate below 6.


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 221 posts ]  Go to page Previous 17 8 9 10 11 12 Next

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: PeteB and 11 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.