"Iron Horse" - A modular train set based slightly in reality

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

Bad_Brett
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 313
Joined: 01 Feb 2007 17:59
Location: Stockholm, Sweden

Re: "Iron Horse" - A modular train set based slightly in reality

Post by Bad_Brett »

andythenorth wrote:
14 Aug 2020 12:41
Far too much stuff and things. So I had an OpenTTD break.

Then I drew some pixels.

Pixels are much more fun than trying to admin parts of the OpenTTD project.

Here pixels.


pan_horse.png

pan_horse_2.png
So glad that you're back. Looking forward to try out the new stuff. :D



Ragin1_
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 13
Joined: 10 Dec 2018 05:58
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: "Iron Horse" - A modular train set based slightly in reality

Post by Ragin1_ »

I want those new trains real bad.

User avatar
Emperor Jake
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3173
Joined: 24 Apr 2007 09:37
Location: NSW Australia

Re: "Iron Horse" - A modular train set based slightly in reality

Post by Emperor Jake »

Nice, looks like you've put the Quicksilver addon out of business :D and what's this? progress on the NA roster?

(also Andy has something against 4-6-2s confirmed)

I've adapted some IH graphics into my Japan set addon, so your Japanese games will also have the benefit of slag ladles and torpedo cars...
Image

Lionic
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 172
Joined: 02 Jun 2014 09:13

Re: "Iron Horse" - A modular train set based slightly in reality

Post by Lionic »

I love the white 2-6-2. What will be it's maximum speed?

User avatar
DanMacK
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3906
Joined: 27 Feb 2004 20:03
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Re: "Iron Horse" - A modular train set based slightly in reality

Post by DanMacK »

andythenorth wrote:
14 Aug 2020 12:41
Far too much stuff and things. So I had an OpenTTD break.

Then I drew some pixels.

Pixels are much more fun than trying to admin parts of the OpenTTD project.

Here pixels.
Pixels is good. We loves new pixels. Breaks is also good. Mine has been too long... Look forward to new pixels!

User avatar
andythenorth
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5217
Joined: 31 Mar 2007 14:23
Location: Lost in Music

Re: "Iron Horse" - A modular train set based slightly in reality

Post by andythenorth »

Emperor Jake wrote:
19 Aug 2020 06:26
(also Andy has something against 4-6-2s confirmed)
Well spotted :) DanMacK has a secret dislike of 4-6-2s for numerology reasons, so I've avoided them. That's definitely the absolute truth.

Also, Japanese steel eh ;)

User avatar
andythenorth
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5217
Joined: 31 Mar 2007 14:23
Location: Lost in Music

Re: "Iron Horse" - A modular train set based slightly in reality

Post by andythenorth »

2.8.0 Beta 1 for your trying of.

Quite a big release, so releasing a beta for keen beans to test, in case I stuffed up.

Final version be done in a week or so, events permitting.

Changelog isn't done, I'll post some more later.

Headline: rebalanced the engine tech tree.

- richer early game (1900 ish) choices
- richer late game (2020 ish) choices
- more eye candy / fake UK realism options when choosing an engine
- a few engines stick around (and are useful) for longer, keeping more variety in available choices

Mostly correct docs are here, with new tech tree https://grf.farm/iron-horse/dev/html/te ... e_red.html
Attachments
iron-horse-2.8.0-beta-1.tar
(18.58 MiB) Downloaded 22 times

Ragin1_
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 13
Joined: 10 Dec 2018 05:58
Location: Newcastle, Australia

Re: "Iron Horse" - A modular train set based slightly in reality

Post by Ragin1_ »

Only bug I've found so far is with the viking sprite being slightly misaligned.
Image
Image
Other than that in my testing I can't really find anything.

User avatar
2TallTyler
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 167
Joined: 11 Aug 2019 18:15
Contact:

Re: "Iron Horse" - A modular train set based slightly in reality

Post by 2TallTyler »

Those are some beautiful docs for some beautiful trains. I spy several fun new additions to the Iron Horse family.

Have you considered autocoaches as an earlier variant of the DVT? They’d go well with some of the branch line steam engines. :D

User avatar
andythenorth
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5217
Joined: 31 Mar 2007 14:23
Location: Lost in Music

Re: "Iron Horse" - A modular train set based slightly in reality

Post by andythenorth »

Ragin1_ wrote:
23 Sep 2020 21:50
Only bug I've found so far is with the viking sprite being slightly misaligned.
Nice catch, thanks. :)
2TallTyler wrote:
24 Sep 2020 00:09
Have you considered autocoaches as an earlier variant of the DVT? They’d go well with some of the branch line steam engines. :D
It's a possibility for a future release yes. ;)

arikover
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 422
Joined: 15 Jun 2007 09:27
Skype: madchimiste
Location: Berlin, Deutschland

Re: "Iron Horse" - A modular train set based slightly in reality

Post by arikover »

It's cool to see some new engines!
I spotted something weird:
I don't see any technical difference between the Grub and the 0-6-0 Lamia. Actually, the Lamia has a somewhat weaker tractive effort, and is more expensive than the Grub. Seeing that the Lamia comes up 40 years after the Grub, shouldn't it be the other way around? (Lamia is cute though)

User avatar
andythenorth
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5217
Joined: 31 Mar 2007 14:23
Location: Lost in Music

Re: "Iron Horse" - A modular train set based slightly in reality

Post by andythenorth »

arikover wrote:
24 Sep 2020 22:58
I don't see any technical difference between the Grub and the 0-6-0 Lamia. Actually, the Lamia has a somewhat weaker tractive effort, and is more expensive than the Grub. Seeing that the Lamia comes up 40 years after the Grub, shouldn't it be the other way around? (Lamia is cute though)
Good spot. They're intended to be equivalent, just an eye candy choice between 2 very different sprites. Given that goal, it's weird that the Lamia appears later. :twisted:

I might line up the intro dates :)

User avatar
Emperor Jake
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3173
Joined: 24 Apr 2007 09:37
Location: NSW Australia

Re: "Iron Horse" - A modular train set based slightly in reality

Post by Emperor Jake »

I'm enjoying this new release. Here's some bugs/observations/suggestions: :)
  • I really like the new Railfreight and Freightliner style alternative liveries, though they don't seem to work as advertised for the Little Bear, Griffon, Fury and Resilient
  • When switching between liveries there is a very brief lag between the colours switching and the livery style switching (just thought it was interesting)
  • Perhaps the ctrl-click alternative liveries for the railcars should also show up on the site?
  • What in the world do those "i numbers" mean in the tech tree? tractive effort coefficient?
  • The little "Mr Train" quotes and background information are a nice touch
  • The classic NewCC Set (not the new one) has an interesting effect on the Railfreight variants because white becomes pale green
  • Pantographs don't go up on most custom NewGRF electric railtypes (I've already mentioned this regarding the dual mode vehicles - I guess this is related to the railtype limitations but it's a shame that some of IH's features don't work with the vast majority of track sets) EDIT: It's definitely possible to fix, since it works correctly on other sets like RUKTS
  • Alignments are 2 pixels off in the diagonals relative to the vast majority of other train GRFs (but this is only a problem when mixing different trainsets)

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 24 guests