"Iron Horse" - A modular train set based slightly in reality

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

User avatar
Darthrafael
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 101
Joined: 03 Aug 2011 14:10
Location: Yes

Re: "Iron Horse" - A modular train set based slightly in reality

Post by Darthrafael »

andythenorth wrote:
02 Jan 2020 22:57
That's a bit special, also the default cargo should usually be Mail. Is that FIRS Extreme economy?
Isn't that just a feature of JGRs Patchpack? If you filter by cargo it automatically shows capacity and buys vehicles according to the selected cargo, and you can see it's filtered in the image.
andythenorth wrote:
02 Jan 2020 22:57
That's a bug that I've fixed for the next release....but it's given me an idea for a new train :D
Ooooh, more trains is always fun. Tell us moar :)
Hi~


User avatar
Comm Cody
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1058
Joined: 07 Mar 2008 22:21
Location: In a galaxy far far away.

Re: "Iron Horse" - A modular train set based slightly in reality

Post by Comm Cody »

I presume the Pullman coach will have cargo aging like the luxury coach?
Something goes here, hell if I know.

User avatar
andythenorth
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5216
Joined: 31 Mar 2007 14:23
Location: Lost in Music

Re: "Iron Horse" - A modular train set based slightly in reality

Post by andythenorth »

Comm Cody wrote:
04 Jan 2020 21:24
I presume the Pullman coach will have cargo aging like the luxury coach?
Same as the HSTs (a small bonus), just easier that way as it's using HST code. :D

Cargo aging does nothing anyway, unless you play long routes on large maps. :twisted:

EDIT: also renamed it to avoid confusion, Pullman was just a working title :)

Alberth
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 4763
Joined: 09 Sep 2007 05:03
Location: home

Re: "Iron Horse" - A modular train set based slightly in reality

Post by Alberth »

andythenorth wrote:
04 Jan 2020 22:17
EDIT: also renamed it to avoid confusion, Pullman was just a working title :)
While I was wondering if we would get a pushman too :D
Being a retired OpenTTD developer does not mean I know what I am doing.


User avatar
PikkaBird
Graphics Moderator
Graphics Moderator
Posts: 5472
Joined: 13 Sep 2004 13:21
Location: The Moon
Contact:

Re: "Iron Horse" - A modular train set based slightly in reality

Post by PikkaBird »

andythenorth wrote:
04 Jan 2020 22:17
renamed it to avoid confusion
That's a funny name for a train...


stb
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 36
Joined: 20 Sep 2013 20:26

Re: "Iron Horse" - A modular train set based slightly in reality

Post by stb »

Hi there,
It seems the speed of Athena isn't 60 as declared but 90 mph.
Also, can you introduce 60 mph freight wagons shortly after Saxon?
Waiting 10 more years (especially when playing with day length patch) after Saxon a bit annoying.

Thanks.

Diesel Power
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 221
Joined: 18 Jun 2016 19:05

Re: "Iron Horse" - A modular train set based slightly in reality

Post by Diesel Power »

andythenorth wrote:
02 Jan 2020 22:57
That's a bit special, also the default cargo should usually be Mail. Is that FIRS Extreme economy?
The default is mail, I was looking for vehicles that carry supplies. Yup, FIRS 4.


Auge
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 420
Joined: 23 Oct 2006 02:07
Location: Berlin

Re: "Iron Horse" - A modular train set based slightly in reality

Post by Auge »

Hello

Nice carbon black hoppers :D . But the speed limits are with 60 to 95 mph (96,6 to 153 kph) a bit overvalued, aren't they?

Tschö, Auge

Diesel Power
Traffic Manager
Traffic Manager
Posts: 221
Joined: 18 Jun 2016 19:05

Re: "Iron Horse" - A modular train set based slightly in reality

Post by Diesel Power »

Found a bug. the bi-mode locos only recognize the low speed electrified tracks from Nutracks as such, none of the others.
Attachments
The Snow Shifters, 31st Dec 1972.png
(163.9 KiB) Not downloaded yet



User avatar
Darthrafael
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 101
Joined: 03 Aug 2011 14:10
Location: Yes

Re: "Iron Horse" - A modular train set based slightly in reality

Post by Darthrafael »

I'm having a ton of fun with Iron Horse! But I had two questions/ideas/thingies I wanted to ask about.

I'm used to playing with sets like UKRS2, and playing with Iron Horse gives a far... quieter game. Any chance of running sounds like in UKRS2 ever being added to the game?

And what about a parameter option (that probably should normally be false) that allows players to buy the doubled-up locomtives as single locomotives? It would probably mainly be for decorative purposes, but being able to buy single Chinook or Flindermouse units could be fun to play with.

Speaking of which, the Flindermouse and Peasweep are listed incorrectly in the tech tree; it says they appear in the 30s and 60s respectively, while they're closer to the 1900s and 1930s respectively with their introduction dates/visual appearance.
Hi~

Shinkansen500
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 37
Joined: 01 Dec 2015 12:20

Re: "Iron Horse" - A modular train set based slightly in reality

Post by Shinkansen500 »

I as use Iron Horse in all games by now, is a great set very well done!

I as just like to know If would be a American based version trains. I have some images of fictional based US units that could be usefull. ALCO-based units, some Turbotrains units in 70/80s, generic mega power units. Just some ideas :D

Image

Image

Somethings like this guys would be good on American Iron Horse.

User avatar
andythenorth
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5216
Joined: 31 Mar 2007 14:23
Location: Lost in Music

Re: "Iron Horse" - A modular train set based slightly in reality

Post by andythenorth »

Shinkansen500 wrote:
01 Apr 2020 23:07
I as just like to know If would be a American based version trains. I have some images of fictional based US units that could be usefull. ALCO-based units, some Turbotrains units in 70/80s, generic mega power units. Just some ideas :D
Yes, I would like to do North American roster. There are many other newgrfs I should finish first :)

Fake trains are nice ;) There are many more in this site: http://sbiii.com/bwapocdx.html#apocndex

Shinkansen500
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 37
Joined: 01 Dec 2015 12:20

Re: "Iron Horse" - A modular train set based slightly in reality

Post by Shinkansen500 »

andythenorth wrote:
02 Apr 2020 05:56
Shinkansen500 wrote:
01 Apr 2020 23:07
I as just like to know If would be a American based version trains. I have some images of fictional based US units that could be usefull. ALCO-based units, some Turbotrains units in 70/80s, generic mega power units. Just some ideas :D
Yes, I would like to do North American roster. There are many other newgrfs I should finish first :)

Fake trains are nice ;) There are many more in this site: http://sbiii.com/bwapocdx.html#apocndex
I Know about that site. Some very interesting ideas. The guy that make some GG-1 derivated units pass to me all that creations, and some ever never seen UP based GTEL units. If you like, i have some units both proposed and imaginary and i can pass list if some units that i think could be a good start point if some basic informations. :)

User avatar
andythenorth
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 5216
Joined: 31 Mar 2007 14:23
Location: Lost in Music

Re: "Iron Horse" - A modular train set based slightly in reality

Post by andythenorth »

Far too much stuff and things. So I had an OpenTTD break.

Then I drew some pixels.

Pixels are much more fun than trying to admin parts of the OpenTTD project.

Here pixels.

More trains!
More trains!
pan_horse.png (151.7 KiB) Viewed 348 times
Also fewer trains!  Your choice.
Also fewer trains! Your choice.
pan_horse_2.png (37.92 KiB) Viewed 348 times

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 7 guests