NewGRF Translator

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

Alberth
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 4763
Joined: 09 Sep 2007 05:03
Location: home

Re: NewGRF Translator

Post by Alberth »

And an update about the cases:

For languages with cases, eints was adding translations for all cases, and on the second edit then claiming those translations were missing string commands (which is technically correct, but euhm, somewhat unwanted :) )..
The only way out was to make all cases a proper translation, even if it was not needed (cases should only be used when they are used, and different from the default case).

This problem was fixed by allowing empty strings in cases (useful if you ever want to remove a case), adapting the checks (it's ok for empty strings to have missing string commands), and last but not least, suppressing output of such empty strings to the language overview and output language file.

GunChleoc
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 106
Joined: 21 Dec 2012 12:34
Contact:

Re: NewGRF Translator

Post by GunChleoc »

Excellent! That will prevent me from getting repetitive strain injury from all the copy/pasting :D

GunChleoc
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 106
Joined: 21 Dec 2012 12:34
Contact:

Re: NewGRF Translator

Post by GunChleoc »

Is it possible to add a button/link to skip a string while translating?

Sometimes, I have to ask a question about a source string before I can translate a string, and then I have to go back to the project's page, then choose my language, and then find & select the next string manually. So, such a link would save me a lot of time :)

Alberth
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 4763
Joined: 09 Sep 2007 05:03
Location: home

Re: NewGRF Translator

Post by Alberth »

GunChleoc wrote:Is it possible to add a button/link to skip a string while translating?
Not really.

The only thing stored by eints are the changes you make in the language files.
There is no information storage per-user (thus, no user-based preferences), and it doesn't keep track of who performed a previous request either.

For the software, every request you do is the first one. It decides what to return purely based on the language files (actually, an internal representation of it). It queries Redmine only for authorization whether you are allowed to do what you request.

Thus, while you can add a button, there is no way currently to make it functional.


What could be done is to add a button like "Start fixing", which brings you to an edit-page of a somewhat random string to translate. However, it could bring you to the same string again, since that button is a new request, which has no knowledge what you did before.
You can add a feature request for it at the eints project at devzone.


Lack of user-specific storage still feels like the right decision to me. It keeps the translator system light-weight, and perhaps even made it feasible in the first place.
For more advanced features, it may be better to make it a full-blown web application, but that's a whole new ball game.

GunChleoc
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 106
Joined: 21 Dec 2012 12:34
Contact:

Re: NewGRF Translator

Post by GunChleoc »

Feature request added: https://dev.openttdcoop.org/issues/6395

I understand that this might take some time, so I will be patient :D

frosch
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 981
Joined: 20 Dec 2006 13:31
Location: Aschaffenburg

Re: NewGRF Translator

Post by frosch »

GunChleoc wrote:
frosch wrote:Because not every translator has access to every project, there is now a filtered overview page (via 'Profile' link in the top-right), which lists only stuff you have permission for.
It might be good to list these anyway, so a translator can request permissions if he/she wants to contribute to more projects. Maybe a separate list for this?
Done :) I've just included them into the same list.
⢇⡸⢸⠢⡇⡇⢎⡁⢎⡱⢸⡱⢸⣭⠀⢸⢜⢸⢸⣀⢸⣀⢸⣭⢸⡱⠀⢰⠭⡆⣫⠰⣉⢸⢸⠀⢰⠭⡆⡯⡆⢹⠁⠀⢐⠰⡁

GunChleoc
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 106
Joined: 21 Dec 2012 12:34
Contact:

Re: NewGRF Translator

Post by GunChleoc »

Thanks! You are reacting really fast on requests :)

frosch
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 981
Joined: 20 Dec 2006 13:31
Location: Aschaffenburg

Re: NewGRF Translator

Post by frosch »

We've enabled Albert's newest feature.

Commit messages now look like:
https://dev.openttdcoop.org/projects/ogfx-industries/repository/revisions/0dc73ea5d619 wrote: Update: Translations
gd_GB: 19 changes by GunChleoc
https://dev.openttdcoop.org/projects/isr/repository/revisions/04034147aedd wrote: Update: Translations
it_IT: 5 changes by Snail
So, translators are now not only generally listed on the project pages, they are also credited in the commit messages.
⢇⡸⢸⠢⡇⡇⢎⡁⢎⡱⢸⡱⢸⣭⠀⢸⢜⢸⢸⣀⢸⣀⢸⣭⢸⡱⠀⢰⠭⡆⣫⠰⣉⢸⢸⠀⢰⠭⡆⡯⡆⢹⠁⠀⢐⠰⡁

TadeuszD
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 330
Joined: 07 Nov 2011 19:32
Location: PL

Re: NewGRF Translator

Post by TadeuszD »

I received the error when I created new pl_PL translation for FISH project using "Start New" button in my profile:
Error: 500 Internal Server Error
Sorry, the requested URL 'http://translator.openttdcoop.org, translator.openttdcoop.org/makelanguage/fish/pl_PL' caused an error:
Internal Server Error
The translation was created, but the status line looks strange:
pl_PL Done! Delete Download ? ? ? ? ?
I cann't edit previously "created" translation because of error:
Error: 404 Not Found
Sorry, the requested URL 'http://translator.openttdcoop.org, translator.openttdcoop.org/translation/fish/pl_PL' caused an error:
Missing language statistics
:(
Image

TadeuszD
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 330
Joined: 07 Nov 2011 19:32
Location: PL

Re: NewGRF Translator

Post by TadeuszD »

Creating language using option "Start new translation" from Project Overview does not works too... :(
I will wait for fixing this bug...
Image

frosch
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 981
Joined: 20 Dec 2006 13:31
Location: Aschaffenburg

Re: NewGRF Translator

Post by frosch »

Hopefully fixed. Please try again :)
⢇⡸⢸⠢⡇⡇⢎⡁⢎⡱⢸⡱⢸⣭⠀⢸⢜⢸⢸⣀⢸⣀⢸⣭⢸⡱⠀⢰⠭⡆⣫⠰⣉⢸⢸⠀⢰⠭⡆⡯⡆⢹⠁⠀⢐⠰⡁

TadeuszD
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 330
Joined: 07 Nov 2011 19:32
Location: PL

Re: NewGRF Translator

Post by TadeuszD »

Thanks! It works. :)
Image

Jogio
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 34
Joined: 08 Jan 2012 21:46

Re: NewGRF Translator

Post by Jogio »

Hi,
I want to apply as translator for this new site, too.
Are you sure the sign up link works right? I think it sends you to a login window and that didn't let me login.
Can somebody sign me up manually please. :-)

I can do german translation for polish pkp train set first if that is ok.

User avatar
planetmaker
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 9415
Joined: 07 Nov 2007 22:44
Location: Sol d

Re: NewGRF Translator

Post by planetmaker »

Jogio wrote:Hi,
I want to apply as translator for this new site, too.
Are you sure the sign up link works right? I think it sends you to a login window and that didn't let me login.
Can somebody sign me up manually please. :-)

I can do german translation for polish pkp train set first if that is ok.
Well. In order to become a translator you need to register with the DevZone in the first place. I (or anyone else) can only assign you to projects once you created an account there.

Jogio
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 34
Joined: 08 Jan 2012 21:46

Re: NewGRF Translator

Post by Jogio »

Ok, now I understand. :-)
Found out how to apply the right way now, so someone can accept it. Thanks for your help, planetmaker.

User avatar
mart3p
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1032
Joined: 31 Oct 2005 21:00
Location: UK

Re: NewGRF Translator

Post by mart3p »

I'm getting a 504 Gateway time-out when I try to connect to eints. It not just me, Telk (the ISR Korean translator) is experiencing the same problem.
Image

User avatar
planetmaker
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 9415
Joined: 07 Nov 2007 22:44
Location: Sol d

Re: NewGRF Translator

Post by planetmaker »

mart3p wrote:I'm getting a 504 Gateway time-out when I try to connect to eints. It not just me, Telk (the ISR Korean translator) is experiencing the same problem.
Sorry, the VM didn't startup properly again after a reboot. It's up and running again.

User avatar
mart3p
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1032
Joined: 31 Oct 2005 21:00
Location: UK

Re: NewGRF Translator

Post by mart3p »

Thanks planetmaker. :)
Image

TadeuszD
Transport Coordinator
Transport Coordinator
Posts: 330
Joined: 07 Nov 2011 19:32
Location: PL

Re: NewGRF Translator

Post by TadeuszD »

I encountered problem with NewGRF translator in Polish PKP Set 2.0 project.
Yesterday ~38 changes in german translation was created. At 2015-02-07 17:48 eints commited 12 of them to the project repository. Now is 2015-02-08 20:01. After more than 24h there are still ~26 changes not commited. Something is broken?
Image

Alberth
OpenTTD Developer
OpenTTD Developer
Posts: 4763
Joined: 09 Sep 2007 05:03
Location: home

Re: NewGRF Translator

Post by Alberth »

Yep, devzone Redmine was down at the normal synchronisation time.
Being a retired OpenTTD developer does not mean I know what I am doing.

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Google [Bot], Google Adsense [Bot] and 14 guests