(UNIV) Canadian Train Set Development - *Update 11/09/11*

Discuss, get help with, or post new graphics for TTDPatch and OpenTTD, using the NewGRF system, here. Graphics for plain TTD also acceptable here.

Moderator: Graphics Moderators

User avatar
hovering teacup
Route Supervisor
Route Supervisor
Posts: 429
Joined: 03 Feb 2004 12:40

Post by hovering teacup »

LRC is cool! both the real one and DanMack's work. the short and low carriage says it's a high-speed train set.
------------------------
Image

User avatar
krtaylor
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 11774
Joined: 07 Feb 2003 01:58
Location: Washington DC, USA
Contact:

Post by krtaylor »

DanMacK wrote:
krtaylor wrote:Whoa. Yeah, that is short. I still think it would want to be 2 pixels higher - one more on the side, one more on the roof.
Well I drew them 2 pixels lower than regular passenger cars, so that would kind of defeat the purpose wouldn't it? ;)
Really, it's only 2 pixels shorter? I thought it was like 4 shorter. Huh. I guess I'm not real good at estimating distances.
Development Projects Site:
http://www.as-st.com/ttd
Japan, American Transition, Planeset, and Project Generic Stations available there

User avatar
metalangel
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1091
Joined: 20 Mar 2004 14:41
Location: Toronto

Post by metalangel »

Question here... did the LRC ever used to run double-headed? Because I was lucky enough to ride it once from Montreal to Toronto just befoer they started decommissioning the LRC engines, and I seem to remember our train was really long with an engine at both ends, like an Acela Express of Class 43.

User avatar
DanMacK
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3903
Joined: 27 Feb 2004 20:03
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Post by DanMacK »

Yes, LRC's were originally designed as push-pull with a power car at both ends. Damn I miss those things.

User avatar
RPharazon
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1088
Joined: 07 Apr 2004 20:51
Location: CYYC/CYBW

Post by RPharazon »

You NEED the Calgary C-Train, maybe just for passenger purpouses and even get the passenger count exactly right.
Since i live in Calgary i can get you photos of the C-Train and the count of people in 1 passenger car.
Imagination! Here, you learn what it is to be human. You are a creator of order, of beautiful shapes and systems, an organizer of chaos.

User avatar
DanMacK
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3903
Joined: 27 Feb 2004 20:03
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Post by DanMacK »

Well, if I do that, why not add TTC Subway cars or Vancouver Skytrain? ;)

User avatar
RPharazon
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1088
Joined: 07 Apr 2004 20:51
Location: CYYC/CYBW

Post by RPharazon »

Sure, Why not? :lol:
Imagination! Here, you learn what it is to be human. You are a creator of order, of beautiful shapes and systems, an organizer of chaos.

User avatar
DanMacK
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3903
Joined: 27 Feb 2004 20:03
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Post by DanMacK »

*KICK*

Can't let this fall off the bottom yet... Will start working on this soon

User avatar
DanMacK
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3903
Joined: 27 Feb 2004 20:03
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Post by DanMacK »

Darnit...double Post

Well... I will get a website up for this soon...I promise...

User avatar
DanMacK
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3903
Joined: 27 Feb 2004 20:03
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Post by DanMacK »

Well, since it looks like Raven's got the Japan Set Steamers under control, and I refuse to let this thread drop off the bottom of the board for very long, here's a slight update on what's goign on. I've got to revise the boilers on my CPR steamers a bit, but here are the locomotives and cars I have drawn (sides only) for.

More on the way shortly.
Attachments
Canadian Set in-progress locos.
Canadian Set in-progress locos.
CanSet.png (13.36 KiB) Viewed 7461 times

User avatar
krtaylor
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 11774
Joined: 07 Feb 2003 01:58
Location: Washington DC, USA
Contact:

Post by krtaylor »

Looks nice! I suppose this one will be for the Arctic environment?
Development Projects Site:
http://www.as-st.com/ttd
Japan, American Transition, Planeset, and Project Generic Stations available there

User avatar
DanMacK
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3903
Joined: 27 Feb 2004 20:03
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Post by DanMacK »

Yeah, and possibly the Temperate climate too. It's not ALL snow and ice up here ;)

User avatar
krtaylor
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 11774
Joined: 07 Feb 2003 01:58
Location: Washington DC, USA
Contact:

Post by krtaylor »

DanMacK wrote:Yeah, and possibly the Temperate climate too. It's not ALL snow and ice up here ;)
No, and that's the truth. I was in Montreal last summer and it was ABSURDLY HOT AND HUMID. I mean, we're talking Panama here. It was awful, I went home early.
Development Projects Site:
http://www.as-st.com/ttd
Japan, American Transition, Planeset, and Project Generic Stations available there

User avatar
way_2_fun
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3015
Joined: 03 Nov 2002 18:42
Location: Canada

Post by way_2_fun »

If you don't vote for the Liberals, I'll complement your work! :mrgreen:
Image

User avatar
DanMacK
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3903
Joined: 27 Feb 2004 20:03
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Post by DanMacK »

Nahh, I'm voting Green =>They're Pro-Rail ;)

User avatar
DanMacK
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3903
Joined: 27 Feb 2004 20:03
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Post by DanMacK »

Blatant Bump...

Here is the revised image of the Canadian locos (and coaches) I have done. Some have been repainted and other have been redetailed. Eventually I plan to get a trackign page up for this set. Once I actually get some spritesets finished, I'll get a page up. More progress soon, just need to conplete my work on the USSet first.
Attachments
Canadian Set In-Progress Shot
Canadian Set In-Progress Shot
CanSet1.png (23.22 KiB) Viewed 7335 times

Singaporekid
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 1966
Joined: 21 May 2004 07:39
Location: Singapore

Post by Singaporekid »

Can i do this loco?
Attachments
mountain2.gif
mountain2.gif (16.54 KiB) Viewed 7322 times
<+Raichase> ugh, I just ate some of my beard D:

User avatar
DanMacK
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3903
Joined: 27 Feb 2004 20:03
Location: Ontario, Canada
Contact:

Post by DanMacK »

Actually singapore kid, I've already got it started (see below).

Not really looking for help on this right now, merely doodling and seeing what I can draw, how it looks and if a Canadian set is viable. If I need help, I'll definitely ask ya'.
Attachments
CNR U1F Mountain Prelim
CNR U1F Mountain Prelim
CNRU1F.png (3.31 KiB) Viewed 7309 times

User avatar
way_2_fun
Tycoon
Tycoon
Posts: 3015
Joined: 03 Nov 2002 18:42
Location: Canada

Post by way_2_fun »

Nice work Dan, cannot wait to get these in gameplay. Canada has (had) a suprising ammount (<-why does that look wrong?) of trains.

krtaylor wrote:
DanMacK wrote:Yeah, and possibly the Temperate climate too. It's not ALL snow and ice up here ;)
No, and that's the truth. I was in Montreal last summer and it was ABSURDLY HOT AND HUMID. I mean, we're talking Panama here. It was awful, I went home early.
Not to go OT, but in Northern Alberta, we're in the middle of a "drought" one might say. Hasn't rained for over a month, and we have to grow crops and support cattle!!
Image

DanielLorbach
Engineer
Engineer
Posts: 1
Joined: 04 May 2004 08:45
Location: Cologne
Contact:

Post by DanielLorbach »

What about this one:

Image

Post Reply

Return to “Graphics Development”

Who is online

Users browsing this forum: No registered users and 9 guests