Transport Tycoon Forums

The place to talk about Transport Tycoon
It is currently Mon May 21, 2018 7:25 am

All times are UTC




Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 
Author Message
PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2016 2:10 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2014 11:13 pm
Posts: 31
I'm searching for people willing to code those sprites into NewGRF

-- All my sprites are based on generic vehicles models (Iveco Stralis, Mercedes Sprinter....), if you want any of these don't hesitate --

This set is almost complete I just need help from people willing to code those :D
It includes 13 bus models and 27 different liveries.

In a near future I'll add tram to the set, yet I need help for coding/

All my sprites have openable doors, working orange warning lights and animated destination signs for some thanks to colossal404's Hungarian/Ikarus set.
Image
working doors
Image
working warning lights
Image
animated destination sign

Here are some exemples.
Image
Mercedes Citaro LE facelift - Transpole Lille Liane
Image
Mercedes Citaro LE facelift - Transpole
Image
Mercedes Citaro C2 - Transpole
Image
Renault Irisbus Agora GNC
Image
Irisbus Crossway - Transpole Liane
Image
Irisbus Crossway - Arc En Ciel
Image
Irisbus Citelis 18m GNC - Transpole Liane
Image
Irisbus Citelis 18m GNC - Transpole


Top
   
PostPosted: Fri Apr 15, 2016 6:03 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Jul 02, 2012 2:53 pm
Posts: 1603
Location: Russia, Samara
Excellent work, masterus. I watched all 4 topics, where you showed the sprites of transport. Very cool. I hope that you will help to encode in a set. Alternatively, you can ask assistance from the following user: planetmaker, Quast65, GarryG and others. Also look for themes that often lead various discussions.

_________________
STD screenshots
----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
STD saved games - My finished scenarios and saves from the game
My Youtube channel - OpenTTD | Wiki xUSSR set (RU) | Wiki xUSSR set (EN) | Download the latest version of the xUSSR set
TT Screenshot of the Month - the page editor | Screenshot Of The Month Contest Winner: August 2017


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Apr 16, 2016 4:30 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Tue Apr 24, 2007 9:37 am
Posts: 2949
Location: Straya
If you want that bus to bend you'll need to make separate sprites for the bus and trailer. Nice liveries otherwise, I think we need more non-company-coloured bus sets.

_________________
--Stuff I made (or helped make)--
ImageImageImageImage

--My Award-Winning Screenshots and Videos--


Top
   
PostPosted: Sat Apr 16, 2016 7:08 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Sat Jan 22, 2005 7:31 pm
Posts: 6281
Location: Wakefield, West Yorkshire
Those are fantastic looking sprites. Love the animations too!

_________________
Image
Worst Behaved IRC Member of 2008, 2009 & 2010 - Go Me!


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Apr 17, 2016 5:20 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2014 11:13 pm
Posts: 31
@Redirect Left thanks :mrgreen:

Emperor Jake wrote:
If you want that bus to bend you'll need to make separate sprites for the bus and trailer. Nice liveries otherwise, I think we need more non-company-coloured bus sets.

I agree for the non-company coloured.
Yet I use paint.net to make all my sprites, the sprites are already separated in different layers :D But I'll need to manually place the trailer sprites to the front like other front part of the bus.
Image
All my sprites blank generic vehicle models are also done on paint.net, so I've done all the options for each bus then I can freely add or remove them from a sprite depending on the bus equipement I want. This Citelis for exemple comes with a GNC tank, the blank generic Irisbus Citelis 18m has GNC, 3 or 4 door and many more options :D

@STD Thanks :mrgreen: I'll PM them to get help or otherwise to learn coding.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Apr 17, 2016 6:33 pm 
Offline
President
President
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 9:25 pm
Posts: 958
Location: ::1
Are you drawing these using one of the supported palettes? If not, you should make the switch now, before you draw too many in wrong color palette (or drawing them in 24bit color). I don't know how you select a specific palette using paint.net.


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Apr 17, 2016 6:53 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 5:15 pm
Posts: 6085
Location: Eastern KY
Sylf wrote:
Are you drawing these using one of the supported palettes? If not, you should make the switch now, before you draw too many in wrong color palette (or drawing them in 24bit color). I don't know how you select a specific palette using paint.net.


Just put them in 32bpp and don't worry about a color. :)

_________________
Do you like drones, quadcopters & flying toys? Check out Drone Strike Force!
Image

Base Music Sets: OpenMSX | Scott Joplin Anthology | Traditional Winter Holiday Music | Modern Motion Music
Other Projects: 2CC Trams | Modern Waypoints | Sprite Sandbox & NewGRF Releases | Ideabox | Town Names | Isle of Sodor Scenario | Random Sprite Repository
Misc Topics: My Screenshots | Forgotten NewGRFs | Unfinished Graphics Sets | Stats Shack | RoadTypes?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Apr 17, 2016 7:04 pm 
Offline
President
President
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 9:25 pm
Posts: 958
Location: ::1
kamnet wrote:
Sylf wrote:
Are you drawing these using one of the supported palettes? If not, you should make the switch now, before you draw too many in wrong color palette (or drawing them in 24bit color). I don't know how you select a specific palette using paint.net.


Just put them in 32bpp and don't worry about a color. :)

So, you envision this to be a 32bpp set drawn in pixel fashion?


Top
   
PostPosted: Sun Apr 17, 2016 8:33 pm 
Offline
Tycoon
Tycoon
User avatar

Joined: Mon Sep 28, 2009 5:15 pm
Posts: 6085
Location: Eastern KY
Sylf wrote:
kamnet wrote:
Sylf wrote:
Are you drawing these using one of the supported palettes? If not, you should make the switch now, before you draw too many in wrong color palette (or drawing them in 24bit color). I don't know how you select a specific palette using paint.net.


Just put them in 32bpp and don't worry about a color. :)

So, you envision this to be a 32bpp set drawn in pixel fashion?


There's no reason to remain beholden to the old 8bpp palettes.

_________________
Do you like drones, quadcopters & flying toys? Check out Drone Strike Force!
Image

Base Music Sets: OpenMSX | Scott Joplin Anthology | Traditional Winter Holiday Music | Modern Motion Music
Other Projects: 2CC Trams | Modern Waypoints | Sprite Sandbox & NewGRF Releases | Ideabox | Town Names | Isle of Sodor Scenario | Random Sprite Repository
Misc Topics: My Screenshots | Forgotten NewGRFs | Unfinished Graphics Sets | Stats Shack | RoadTypes?


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2016 9:41 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2014 11:13 pm
Posts: 31
kamnet wrote:
There's no reason to remain beholden to the old 8bpp palettes.


This is easier since I can use "official" colors I get from official companies logos :D

Yet to make things easier I use 10tens colors RGB and use a -/+20 between the sun facing part and the other.


Top
   
PostPosted: Mon Apr 18, 2016 3:51 pm 
Offline
President
President
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 9:25 pm
Posts: 958
Location: ::1
If you are going to use 32bpp png, then you should use the proper alpha channel, and not an arbitrary blue background. That blue backgroud won't automatically be transparent. Also, you should decide what to do for the 8-bit graphics that are required - to use empty graphics (I believe Pineapple Trains does this), or come up with an actual 8bpp version via conversion.

Also, is there any version of graphics that are scaled correctly for the actual newgrf?


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2016 1:07 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2014 11:13 pm
Posts: 31
Sylf wrote:
If you are going to use 32bpp png, then you should use the proper alpha channel, and not an arbitrary blue background. That blue backgroud won't automatically be transparent. Also, you should decide what to do for the 8-bit graphics that are required - to use empty graphics (I believe Pineapple Trains does this), or come up with an actual 8bpp version via conversion.

Also, is there any version of graphics that are scaled correctly for the actual newgrf?


You lost me :mrgreen:
Could you explain me plz ?

The graphic scale is good, I use a 2px/m for isometric and 2,5px/m for orthographic
The actual 50% used ratio is completely wrong..
Similiar things have already been done.


Top
   
PostPosted: Tue Apr 19, 2016 3:52 pm 
Offline
President
President
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 9:25 pm
Posts: 958
Location: ::1
When I click on those images, I see images of this size:
Attachment:
Mercedes-Benz Citaro 12m - LE - V1.0 - Transpole.png
Mercedes-Benz Citaro 12m - LE - V1.0 - Transpole.png [ 4.04 KiB | Viewed 1485 times ]

But with the pixel style of the drawing, I was expecting to see images of these size:
http://www.tt-wiki.net/wiki/DrawingSprites


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Apr 20, 2016 9:30 am 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2014 11:13 pm
Posts: 31
Oh those are 4x that allows easy viewing but the final ones will be the right size :D

How about the background, what colour should I put for plz ?


Top
   
PostPosted: Wed Apr 20, 2016 11:16 pm 
Offline
President
President
User avatar

Joined: Tue Nov 23, 2010 9:25 pm
Posts: 958
Location: ::1
It's not any specific color. You need to specify the transparency for the area you specify.
https://www.google.com/webhp?sourceid=c ... %20channel


Top
   
PostPosted: Thu Apr 21, 2016 8:13 pm 
Offline
Engineer
Engineer

Joined: Thu Nov 27, 2014 11:13 pm
Posts: 31
Sylf wrote:
It's not any specific color. You need to specify the transparency for the area you specify.
https://www.google.com/webhp?sourceid=c ... %20channel

Ah ok, but no need for specifying the transparency, Paint.net comes with a universal transparent background, the blue and green layer is just like the 4x zoom for a better view on the forum
Attachment:
Mercedes-Benz Citaro 12m LE - Transpole, Transpole Liane.png
Mercedes-Benz Citaro 12m LE - Transpole, Transpole Liane.png [ 1.97 KiB | Viewed 1302 times ]


Is it right ?


Top
   
Display posts from previous:  Sort by  
Post new topic  Reply to topic  [ 16 posts ] 

All times are UTC


Who is online

Users browsing this forum: Dave and 5 guests


You cannot post new topics in this forum
You cannot reply to topics in this forum
You cannot edit your posts in this forum
You cannot delete your posts in this forum
You cannot post attachments in this forum

Search for:
Jump to:  
Powered by phpBB © 2000-2018 phpBB Limited

Copyright © Owen Rudge/The Transport Tycoon Forums 2001-2018.
Hosted by Zernebok Hosting.